VIDEO: Toyota Sienta 1.5V – quick walk-around tour

UMW Toyota currently has its upcoming Toyota Sienta MPV on preview at the My Auto Fest 2016 event at MIECC. We took the opportunity to record a quick walk-around tour of the new compact MPV with sliding doors, fresh from its ASEAN debut at the 2016 Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS) last month.

The car seen here appears to be a Malaysian-spec model. The equipment on the display car is close to the top-spec Q variant sold in Indonesia, but here it sports the V badge instead. This includes bi-LED projector headlights, fog lights, LED combination tail lights and 16-inch two-tone machine-finish alloy wheels.

On the inside, there’s a black-and-brown interior colour scheme, keyless entry, push-button start, dual electric sliding rear doors, a 4.2-inch TFT LCD multi-info display, automatic air-conditioning with a separate rear blower and a rear in-car entertainment monitor.

Safety-wise, three airbags (including a driver’s knee airbag), all-round disc brakes, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and Hill Start Assist (HSA) are fitted here.

Something to take note of is the interesting way the third row seats can be folded under the second row seats to maximise rear storage height. You’ll be able to watch a demonstration of this in our walk-around video.

The Sienta will come in as a CBU import from PT Toyota Motor Manufacturing Indonesia’s new Factory II in Karawang, West Java. The sole engine option will be a new 2NR-FE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine from the facelifted Avanza – in Indonesian form it produces 107 PS and 143 Nm, up from 105 PS and 136 Nm on our Avanza. Drive is sent to the front wheels through continuously variable transmission (CVT).

GALLERY: Toyota Sienta previewed at My Auto Fest 2016

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Looking good! A good package IMO..safety specs is acceptable especially against toyota a current lineup..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Same L00 on May 20, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Received 30++ calls today about this. Price not confirmed yet. Booking not now but very very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
      • Cheaply build. Unless pipu is blind or is really cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
        • Philips Muthu on May 22, 2016 at 9:43 am

UMW which is Government owned will price this at RM90k. Don’t worry, they prihatin to the rakyat and will take out the airbags and just keep 2. Also they will take out VSC to untung more.

• Above comment on May 22, 2016 at 7:39 pm

When peria dupe talking……..

• umw toyota is DAP crony lah!

• Same L00 on May 23, 2016 at 12:12 pm

If Toyota is DAP crony, you think your beloved BN will let it operate for so long… little john is having better imagination now lol.

Tell u a secret, it actually belonged to Ironman. lol x1000

• Love the seat going under the front row, how did they free up space to allow such a thing?

• Havisecc on May 20, 2016 at 6:56 pm

That front DRL looks stunning..wondering why car makers don’t adopt these sort of smooth LED lights instead of those sebijik sebijik type..

• Krool on May 20, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Will there be a hybrid variant on sale here?

• jolly_idiot on May 20, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Si beh cramp. If the price is not competitive. Alza is a better choice being about the same size but not same price. But I do feel Alza is slightly bigger inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • crash on May 20, 2016 at 8:04 pm

But Alza don’t have sliding doors.This is a major difference.

• Jolly_idiot on May 21, 2016 at 12:24 am

Why u need a sliding door for such a tiny winny car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Diesel-Power!!! on May 21, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Sliding door is good when parking in narrow space and also access during raining. And another advantage is the rear aircond blower which is absent in alza. Unless Alza come with a rear blower. But the disadvantage in Sienta is the non sliding 2nd row seat and the narrow leg room in the third row. Actually I dun think any good of hiding the seat under the 2nd row, ppl buy mpv to use primary as ppl mover not goods mover..im a potential buyer to trade in my 7yrs old mini mpv as a weekend car..but After looking at the seating arrangement, im kinda disappointed…really hope that Honda bring in the Mobilio or Proton plz launch a new exora with a 6speed auto with 1.6turbo. There is really limited choice for below Rm90k MPV.

• Looks so cramp, reminds me of Toyota Rush.

• karam singh on May 21, 2016 at 9:19 pm

This is Toyota’s take on the small MPV. Toyota also has Raum MPV, which was introduced in 1997. Of course, it is a JDM only.

For compact MPV Toyota has wish.

For large MPV, Toyota has estima, ipsum

For luxury MPV, Toyota has Alphard and vellfire.

• Albert on May 22, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Datuk Karam Singh,
        Toyota launching anything now to fight Honda.
        Protong,seeing the sales of Exora mampus,is launching a new MPV called Proton Syiok.
        They are launching Hondana,Saga,Persona facelifts but consumers want MPV.
        So they are coming out with Protong Syiok.
        Just check this out.

• takNakP1 on May 20, 2016 at 7:40 pm

easily 80k above.

• crash on May 20, 2016 at 8:03 pm

This is something to replace the discontinued Honda Freed.
    However, the 2nd row of seats look so straight and legroom looks tight.
    The powered sliding door is very useful for elderly passengers to get in and out of the car.

• Crappy Outalingam on May 21, 2016 at 10:09 am

You have forgotten that Honda has a Freed successor named Mobilio – which I think the third row is seemingly more spacious than what’s inside the Sienta

• Zerokool on May 20, 2016 at 9:32 pm

From what i see, the last row is not meant for adults. Probaly for kids up to primary school. Would serve a young family well

• Makes for a very practical town runabout. Love the fold off backseats and the sliding doors. Exterior design a bit on the weird side but still better than the arguably weirder-looking old Freed. If it’s around 80k, I’m not complaining.

• The 3rd row hiding the chairs when not needed to 2nd row is just awesome!!!

• USDfan on May 21, 2016 at 12:32 pm

10 times better than alza…alza is cheapo design fr poor people only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • You judge a person’s wealth by the car he drives? That’s the stupidest assumption ever.

• Malaysian are lausy critics on May 21, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Small tyre.Even my Rottweiler can sit & sleep in between the big gap.So many bad comment on new proton gap but suddenly everyone can’t see this in Toyota.Malaysian are funny

• The car was no longer in MIECC today..

• Kenneth on May 22, 2016 at 1:16 am

Anyone know why the car was not there during the second day, I also cannot find it as the place was replaced with altis or fortuner. Maybe, the car is a bit faulty?

• Viosfan on May 22, 2016 at 10:51 am

Tak laku issit?

• You can’t get wrong when you buy a Toyota.

• Uncle tepi sikit!

• Budleee Bazz on May 23, 2016 at 9:53 am

oh wow and I thought Honda “magic seat” was fancy