Renault and Groupe PSA supposedly in talks with Proton over a possible strategic partnership – report

Proton_Iriz_Review_-019

Renault and Groupe PSA – previously known as PSA Peugeot Citroen – are supposedly in talks with national automaker Proton over a possible strategic partnership, The Edge reports. The publication cites industry sources familiar with the matter as saying that discussions are ongoing with the automaker’s parent, DRB-Hicom.

The sources add that there’s a possibility that a scenario might come about where the French automakers could buy into Proton. “It could happen. They could buy into Proton, but it’s not certain yet,” a source told the publication.

The news of talks with more foreign automakers comes in the wake of Proton obtaining a soft loan of RM1.5 billion from the government. The loan is said to come with a set of terms, and it has been revealed that Proton will agree to all of them.

This includes providing a convincing business model along with a strategic plan to expand its domestic and international markets. Both will be overseen by a special task force that will be set up and it will be led by Pemandu chief executive Datuk Seri Idris Jala.

The government has said it will set a timeline for Proton to implement its turnaround plan. It added that it would not interfering in the company’s operation, but will monitor the company based on the conditions set by the Ministry of Finance.

The supposed discussions with Renault and PSA add to the list of possible enterprise partners. Last June, Proton signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) and licence agreement with Suzuki to form a long-term strategic collaboration and partnership. The collaboration will allow Proton access to Suzuki’s models, platforms, powertrain and automotive technology, while the Japanese carmaker will provide specific technical assistance for the selected products and scope.

While the deal initially only enables Proton to sell rebadged Suzukis, it does allow both companies to explore jointly developing new models, something that is a possibility, according to a report last month. It’s said that the partnership could eventually expand into a deeper research and development collaboration.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Matt.W on May 23, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Then I have to sell off my 208….darn…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Same L00 on May 23, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Unless Renault and PSA can touch on Proton parts manufacturing chain, else there is no hope on QC. They are just pouring FOREIGN DONATION for Proton only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Albert on May 23, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Same Loo,
        “Strategic partnership” will involve more cries for FUNDS.
        1.5 bILLION ALMOST whacked cukup cukup,so they will ask for another 1.5 B in the grand name of R and D.(Research and DONATION(to my pocket))
        easy mah,LHDN just got to work harder je.
        Just watch their next move.They think rakyat bodoh.
        Mentality lebih teruk daripada pengemis.
        Shambolic car manufacturer of Asia award 2105

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Have to pay back, not free

• Same L00 on May 24, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Pay back my “F number plate”! End of the day, they just contra a few Perdana to government, then debt cleared.

• Peter on May 23, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Learned new stuff: Research & Donation!
          After many yrs observing our GLC companies, they ‘re more towards Relax &et Donated

• Now it’s Peugeot, my, my, we’re moving up the food chain, no more Japanese marques, we now move on to the continental brands. Lest we forget, proton is better than BMW according to some of our local big wigs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Andas on May 23, 2016 at 4:54 pm

I believe peugeot will be p1’s 3rd wife.. 1st wife from china while 2nd with japan..

• Don’t understand.. DRB Hicom no money? Why must Gov loan them money? Any risk? Why not get bank loan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • ProtonGSC on May 23, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Well said, hope the management answer the questions…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Management? what management? you mean the bunch if mismanagers who call themselves proton professional hot seat occupiers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • rchoo on May 23, 2016 at 1:42 pm

DRB will have to sell more than 50% or else no deal.

If DRB have access and rebadge Peugeot, Peugeot image will suffer, that being the case, I will ditch Peugeot from now onwards. no more Peugeot. I will wait and see the development, no Peugeot for the time being for me.

• Nieko on May 23, 2016 at 1:49 pm

WOOW that fast

• rchoo on May 23, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Better don’t, Proton is the untouchable. It is wan san 瘟神。

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • 祈佑天翼 on May 24, 2016 at 9:05 am

瘟神,”Wen shen”, in a standard Chinese pronunciation

• Ex VGM staff on May 23, 2016 at 1:55 pm

I believe the project took off some 20/years ago with Citroen AX and then later powerplants for Waja 1.8 and savvy 1.2 manual and AMT

• malaysian on May 23, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Renault? Aiyoo, last time Waja 1.8 & Savvy use Renault parts no good. French companies seemed to put P1 in a bad state e.g. Renault (Waja 1.8, Savvy), Citroen (Tiara)

• Mimau on May 23, 2016 at 3:02 pm

tbh those Renault parts are actually pretty reliable; it’s just that they are really expensive (and limited) since they’re imported all the way from Europe, and most Proton’s own mechanic have limited knowledge/experience on fixing them back then.. doesn’t only happen to Proton, we all know it’s a common issue with French cars in Msia

• frossonice on May 23, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Not Renault la. Renault is with Nissan.

Its PSA Groupe = Peugeot & Citroen. Dongfeng of China own about 14% of the group also. So, China got a little involvement.

• frossonice on May 23, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Renault won’t bid for Proton since they already have cheap car brand (Dacia and Datsun). So only PSA Groupe is more viable option here.

• This is the time now for France PSA to raise the white flag and run the opposite direction!

• Proton is really a CURSED company. any partner who tried to work with them got into trouble. VW was in talks and now they are in trouble, same with Mitsubishi and Suzuki, now it is Renault and PSA turn. DRB must sell proton and let it become self sufficient. when Renault or PSA bosses wee the mess in Proton, they will run away for sure. Renault and PSA starting ti make a name in Malaysia and if they join with Proton they are finished. Honda was smart to pull out…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 7:48 pm

Well, VW previously got in talk with Proton and niw in triuble, so Proton is cursed?

So dramatic, superstitious even. Not expecting that is the 21st century.

• The problems were due to themselves, why dragged in p1?

• ProTongkat on May 23, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Here come another tongkat to keep proton breathing…

• rockybalboa on May 23, 2016 at 2:09 pm

30 years after founded, still cannot stand on his own feet. It’s a shame to the country!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Andas on May 23, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Well, that that to mitsu.. shame to them..

• taknaktoyota on May 24, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Tell that to Toyota that still do rebadging, lol
      And the list continues………

• Not to bash proton but proton is having endless partnerships with so many brands previously and it always ends up nothing much happened except for probably rebadging one of the model of the cars . That’s it . I hope the partnership is serious this time that it would go further than just rebadging the other brand’s car

• nazreen on May 23, 2016 at 2:17 pm

}
    if,
    proton + peugeot = no good
    else if,
    proton + nissan = good

{

this is only happened in malaysia.
    never ending complain country.

• Saitam on May 23, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Why is Proton sleeping with so many partners?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Slept with Mitsubishi. Renault. Honda. Suzuki. Sounds like a low-class hooker.

Somewhere along the way had time to adopt and then bastardize Lotus. Poor parenting pulak. Don’t even mention babydumping MV Agusta…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
  • oh mak lu on May 23, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Rubbish talking to rubbish…

• IMHO, instead of having countless exploratory meetings and partnership discussions, why cant Proton’s management work towards tackling basic issues plaguing the Proton name, as well as its finances? For as start, start working on these basic pressing issues:
    -Proton has to Trim Down its Bloated ‘Upper Management’. Too many Chiefs and managers, too high of an Overhead cost to bear, in comparison to its dismal annual vehicle sales.
    -Look into providing assembly service to any interested car brands, that are selling CBU vehicles in Malaysia. Increase Capacity Utilisation in your Shah Alam and Tanjung Malim Plants. These Plant setup costs are sunk, and has to be amortized somehow.
    -Focus on selling Proton vehicles in Developing markets, and close down sales outlets or exit from Developed countries. Although it is nice to have a presence, but if there is very low or no sales, it is pointless to be in that market.
    -Proton has to Trim down headcount in its procurement departments.
    In short, It is pointless to appoint ‘Apple polishers’ to run an Automotive company, as it is proven time and time again for Proton. Proton needs a small, capable team of Engineers, Accountant, Legal, Quality, procurement and Administrative personnel; who are not ‘shackled’ by ‘influential agents’ of the ruling government, and are dedicated in turnaround of said brand….But Alas..will it happen!! Only time will tell…..

• suhaimee on May 23, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Pls pls get it right this time.
    Put all the pride & self ego behind.
    We are talking long term sustainability.
    And also don’t let this be another MAS where the CEO jumped ship after only 1 year.
    If P1 is serious about this then just let go.
    Don’t let crony suppliers , lop sided contracts and political influence be an obstacle.
    We wish P1 all the best. !!

• W204 C63 AMG on May 23, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Why can’t Proton find a more capable partners? All the manufacturers they are talking to are struggling just like Proton itself, Mitsubishi is struggling, Suzuki is struggling , PSA is struggling too.

• Andas on May 23, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Have u heard 7 budget airlines just agreed for an alliance in order to fight with airasia? There u go my reason.. just imagine if one of these budget airline propose for JV with airasia, surely tony will makan them.. either u with us or against us.. same here, different scenario only..

• Heaven on May 23, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Oh no! The last time they had a collaboration, things went downhill for Proton. And Nissan used to have bulletproof vehicles but since the alliance, this is not the case anymore….Heck, my Navara needed a clutch change within 17,000 km that cost a bomb. Maybe I got a buah limau

• azrai on May 23, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Renault-Nissan-Mitsubishi alliance should also acquire Proton and will be more competitive. Carlos Goshen please consider buying 45% of Proton shares.

• Johan on May 24, 2016 at 12:21 am

There u go.
      Why 45 & not 51 percent ?
      That was what happened when VW
      wanted management control over P1.
      If this kinda ego is still there then this JV will bound to fail.

• kumar on May 23, 2016 at 3:40 pm

Too late P1. Too late.

• SS saja on May 24, 2016 at 11:06 am

What if people tell u that you r too late to repent before u die?

• French Toast on May 23, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Hope Mr. Carlos Ghosn will see that Proton management improve their quality and products. We might have our very own Proton RS !

• R.I.P Nissan Malaysia if partnership success.TC going to be replaced by crony.

• helmi on May 24, 2016 at 9:08 am

Peugeot / Citroën NOT Nissan Renault Mitsu
      Dont get confused. !!

• Firdaus on May 23, 2016 at 4:57 pm

oh no….not again.
    mark my word…malaysians dont like left hand signal stalks!
    it’s better for proton to stick to suzuki….right hand signal stalk!

• Renault-Nissan-Mitsu-P1 global alliance? To challenge VW hegemony?

• common sensor on May 23, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Too many hantu(s) in Proton; PSA will not dare .. no conclusion to any discussion. Wanna bet?

• Strategic p/ship? And the ship is sinking.

• one thing tho, proton don’t break as much as peugeots, renaults are getting better due to component sharing with nissan

• Aero (Member) on May 23, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Could this be another engine deal… for the Iriz in Europe ? I don’t want to speculate, but I would much prefer if Proton didn’t work with Renault/ PSA… it’s hard to ignore the Savvy, Waja 1.8 and Tiara.

• bukapintubayartol on May 23, 2016 at 10:27 pm

What happened to the plans PSA had with Naza?

• normal_user on May 24, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Its difficult to imagine that Proton is sourcing for multiple partners and asking for tech benefits, like a polygamy marriage. I am pretty sure Suzuki executives are not really comfortable with this piece of news. Unless if the purported partnership is supposedly for diesel engine supply for exports to Euro markets (last time they had this kind of talks, but never materialized).

• sniper on May 24, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Proton needs a partner for the export market I guess this strategic partnership is about. However, we know no consumer will purchase any cars without having at least 3S centers maybe be Renault/PSA would ask Proton what in it for me? Proton what can you offer that Renault/PSA does not have? Huh.