SPIED: Leopaard CS10 arrives in Malaysia for testing

IMG_2132

No, that’s not a typo – it really is spelt the Leopaard CS10, with two A’s. The Chinese SUV has been spotted by our reader Sean Woo, undergoing testing here in Malaysia in left-hand drive form. As yet, it is unclear what to make of the car’s presence here, but it appears the GAC Changfeng sub-brand is considering a market introduction in the future.

Launched at the Shanghai Motor Show last year, the CS10 possesses handsome, if unadventurous and derivative styling, with headlights that look to have been nicked from the Volkswagen Touareg and a rear end from a Porsche Cayenne. Inside, there’s a dashboard that’s reminiscent of a facelifted W204 Mercedes C-Class, a Range Rover-esque four-spoke steering wheel, an Android-based navigation system and five seats.

Under the bonnet sits a turbocharged Mitsubishi-derived 2.0 litre 4G63T four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 174 hp at 5,250 rpm and 250 Nm of torque between 2,400 and 4,800 rpm – Changfeng is so proud of the Japanese connection that the engine cover says “Mitsubishi Power” and even sports the three diamond logo. Power is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed dual wet clutch transmission.

Measuring 4,663 mm long, 1,875 mm wide and 1,700 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,700 mm, the CS10 is smack in the middle of the C-segment SUV class dominated by the Honda CR-V, Mazda CX-5 and Nissan X-Trail, although it is quite a bit wider. So, what do you think of this Chinese big cat?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Local 3rd Brand on May 23, 2016 at 2:29 pm

So are they going to rebadge the car and at the same time officially introduce the third local brand in the country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • WT Fuchhhh on May 23, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Should rebrand it as Leotard, cos easy to tear and breakdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • blackbox on May 23, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Everything sound good until I saw the dual clutch gearbox. Even European car having many difficulty when using dual clutch, they just too ambitious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
    • there’s no problem with wet dual clutch. the problematic ones are dry dual clutch. bashing without knowledge much?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
    • Abdullah on May 23, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Nothing wrong with his comment. It says Mitsubishi sourced engine, no mention of a copy gearbox or gearbox manufactured under license. Which means is a china gearbox. Good luck rebuilding it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • Le John on May 23, 2016 at 6:05 pm

This shows your stupidity on gearboxes, Oh a dual clutch ? Ohhh many problems. Please do your research before bashing or something and not just “Oh my friend said this or that”. I have been using a Volkswagen’s Jetta with DSG for 4 years without problem. So shut up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
      • Abdullah2 on May 23, 2016 at 7:35 pm

Why so sensitive, once ppl say dsg, all the vw kaki Sakit hati. Janganlah perasan sangat. I think Abdullah was just trying to imply that China made stuffs cannot be trusted. Not even conventional 4 speeders, they’re talking about dual clutch systems. I know they’re good at making/ copying if you pay a premium price for it, but for me I also doubt the quality control of the gearbox made. How to do research? The car is not sold here. Even if they’re sold here, how sure you’re getting the same spec? I know your Jetta no problem, I also know someone’s Jetta& golf got problem. So? Your car made in China kah?
        Anyway good luck entering the 5th year. Tension betul budak vw ni.

• drMpower on May 24, 2016 at 8:16 am

moron,

he just saying even european is struggling with it, what makes China think they can perfect it

in the case of VW, yes they did well. ur piece shit work well. good. but some other people shit having problem.

shit brand, shit driver

• i love dual clutches … better than 4 speed auto … or even CVT…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Mechs on May 23, 2016 at 6:40 pm

You must be working at workshop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
      • Sammy Loo on May 23, 2016 at 8:01 pm

pretty sure he is having good business with those dual clutch cars

With 4 speed auto especially those from Toyota, the business is bad for the workshop and also tow car

• Tong Sampah on May 23, 2016 at 3:34 pm

smart people will discuss for RHD factory produce locally for RHD market..

• Bahomet on May 23, 2016 at 3:44 pm

sounds like a chimera.

• this one super duper coppy (since they use douuble a) still ok ka

• Kancil Hybrid on May 23, 2016 at 3:46 pm

I want to buy this. VR4 engine. Change air filter, big intercooler and exhaust and it can beat Macan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • A Chinese Rojak !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Johnny on May 23, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Our iPhones are made in China. So why not? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • vyseus on May 23, 2016 at 3:56 pm

price it right and you have your market here. Definitely go for a test drive. If good enough might just get it.

• Clearly they copied some design cues from other brand and made it into production fast. They don’t need to tease and tease the public especially when the model they are teasing is a discontinued model.

• This is copy pasta job, like combination of different part of kereta potong

• Can I put VW badge on this and call it VW? Since it has dual clutch gearbox and all that, u know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • adoi_adoi on May 23, 2016 at 4:57 pm

which era are you from silly?
      so only VW has dual clutch to you ?
      ahahaha fyi mercedes, bmw, ferarri, ford, renault, gtr35 etc are using dual clutch a.k.a twin clutch transmission already…

• Annual leave on May 23, 2016 at 6:43 pm

No wonder SC is full everytime. No annual leave left

• Does this crap look like a mercedes, bmw, ferarri, ford, renault, gtr35 etc? Get a hint, bub.

• adoi_adoi on May 24, 2016 at 10:53 am

it doesn’t matter whether it look like or not. let’s stick to the dual clutch a.k.a twin clutches topic silly. is dual clutches / twin clutches only available in vw to you ? you get the hint yet silly ?

• bodojohn on May 24, 2016 at 11:19 am

crap or not tak tau lagi but surely anytime better than the crap you driving

• tokmoh. on May 23, 2016 at 7:49 pm

If its wiring harness costs rm53k, yes you can.

VW now not only famous laughing stock for DSG, but also rm53k wiring harness huehuehue

• Hopefully this PRC is just visiting Malaysia and will fly back to China soon… and never return.

JPJ, don’t bother granting a visa to dubious characters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Dun gip choice, kata Gov is cruel and heartless.
      Give choice pulak, tell it to balik t0ngs@n.
      Winliaolor!

• tokmoh. on May 23, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Our supreme leader is the greatest. He knows many rakyat terasa when last time say tak suka, keluar.

He has repented. Now tak suka, cannot keluar for 3 years. Better still, no more balik tongsan, but tongsan now come to us.

I <3 pm, pm is love, pm is life.

• Support! Support!

• If it is using Punch CVT, even made in China i think it is reliable. Many are moving p1 cars ady on road.

DSG i dun dare yet.

• LOL…. ini macam pendatang haram lah…. GRO and others class. But shares similarity with P1 which slept around so much with other partners….

• gonggok on May 23, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Was intrigued untl I saw the dual-clutch gearbox. Wet or not it is unnecessarily complex. Don’t fall into the dual clutch hype. If it is truly the best option Mercedes would use it in the S and E class. Performance? Aston and fast AMGs seem to do fine with conventional autos…

• Firdaus on May 23, 2016 at 4:49 pm

the keyword here is Mitsubishi….
    only failed car companies sell their engines to other car manufacturers!
    how come nobody wants to buy those extra cam tak pro engines from Proton ah??

I’ve just bashed 2 car companies in one go!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • crash on May 23, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Toyota also failed company because it supplies engine to Lotus ?
      Like you say “only failed car companies sell their engines to other car manufacturers ” .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • And at same time became both ignorant and stupid. So whats ur point?

• klata-klata on May 23, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Toyota source diesel engines from BMW, and some petrol BMW engines for their Lexus brand. So does Nissan’s premium brand Infinity – repackaged BMW engines.

• Toyota sell engine to Bmw too…Bmw sell the engine to Toyota also…both fail company?lol

• stupid! even U.S sources foreign engine for their rocket.

• FIST (Member) on May 23, 2016 at 5:18 pm

not this generation of Chinese cars yet. maybe two more generations then can only consider

• Dat name tho

• Leafable on May 23, 2016 at 5:43 pm

I think I’m going to be sick.

• Ptptn on May 23, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Macan like silhouette, a touch of RR, C-class facelift interior..hmm

• Aero (Member) on May 23, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Yeeeessss, more Chinese cars for our market… welcome, welcome !

No really, don’t laugh off the new Chinese cars, you’ll be surprised how good some of them really are. The problem now is that there are too few local businesses who want to or know how to ‘play’ in the automotive sector. What we have are companies like Hong Seng and Berjaya Auto which own the franchise rights to multiple Chinese brands in our market. In the end, we have no real diversity, despite the ‘diversity’… sad.

• Raj Mohan on May 23, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Saw this car in Penang this afternoon… Looks awesome.

• Hope the Landwind would come soon at half of evoque price. More value for money products for consumers

• Would like it better if the rear plate is located on the boot door. Now it’s just a huge blank sheet of metal

• Big cat no copycat yes

• Levin on May 24, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Wait…. did i just read 4G63T? Isn’t that the same engine that was used in Lancer Evo? Looks like this car has some serious tuning advantage with that powerplant.

• Steel Of Man on May 24, 2016 at 4:37 pm

That aircond vent is straight out of a w204 C class

• Steel Of Man on May 24, 2016 at 4:39 pm

climate control design oso from w204 c class

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 24, 2016 at 10:46 pm

Wooo… I hope the price will be below 100K. If it’s priced between 120-150K, it’s is going to spend it’s life time in showroom for display only.