Suzuki admits to improper fuel economy test methods

2016-maruti-suzuki-vitara-brezza- 004

After Mitsubishi, another Japanese automaker has admitted to using improper fuel economy testing methods. Suzuki Motors is the automaker in question. However, it stated that it was not deliberately manipulating data and it appears to be unintentional, as the company assures users “to continue use of its products at ease.”

According to the company, 16 domestic models (available in Japan only) currently on sale are affected. The 16 cars include the Suzuki Alto, Alto Lapin, Wagon R, Hustler, Spacia, Every, Carry, Jimny, Solio, Ignis, Baleno, SX4 S-Cross, Swift, Escudo 2.4, Escudo and the Jimny Sierra.

After reviewing the cars, the automaker found that instead of submitting measured data of the cars through the coasting test, it had actually submitted a build-up of measured data of individual components during rolling resistance and air resistance tests in the wind tunnel. Upon verification of adequateness, it then compared it with measured data of the car through the coasting test.

That said, after further investigations, the company believes that while there is a slight discrepancy, “all certified values remained within the range of measurement deviation,” Suzuki stated, adding, “therefore, we consider it not necessary to amend the driving resistance value applied, nor the fuel efficiency value measured using the driving resistance value.”

Suzuki also believes that the part of the issue was due to the location of its Sagara proving ground, which is situated on top of a hill, nearby a sea with weather conditions (such as wind conditions) that made testing difficult, particularly affecting the final results of the tests. Although it appears to be unintentional, the admission had caused Suzuki’s shares to drop by 11%, but it has since rebounded.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Habis lah Proton! on May 23, 2016 at 10:04 am

Ha ha ha. Typical Proton. Marry a screwed up company.

Now we know why Suzuki wanted to marry Proton. The Japanese are clever. They found a nice scapegoat Proton to bear the shame, malu and financial burden that comes with a cheating scandal like this.

there goes our RM1.5 billion loan to Proton. Goes down the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 76
    • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 10:29 am

Well, from what I’ve read, it only affects Japanese domestic models.

Sorry for crashing your parade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 82
      • Pity Rakyat Malaysia on May 23, 2016 at 10:35 am

Only a foolish person will say this. Japan company go bust, still affects Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 60
        • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 10:41 am

So thank god Proton still haven’t launched any Suzuki model, eh?

Whatever rocks your boat then. As long as people don’t need to resort to label other people as ‘foolish person’, fine by me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 74
          • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 10:53 am

If Suzuki go bankrap, can always JV with another car company!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • Kuan Yew on May 23, 2016 at 10:59 am

ungul is in denial. Blind is blind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
          • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 11:09 am

Well, by merely stating the fact as of current, next thing I know is being labeled as “in denial”.

Just wow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • Same L00 on May 23, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Proton no fuel economy test then safe lor.
            Even if they bluff in the test, so what? You can’t touch them in Malaysia. And they knew they are safe conning customer for decades in Malaysia, that’s why once you cross Malaysia to Thailand/Singapore, you won’t see Proton cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
          • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 7:31 pm

No fuel economy test? I’d say it’s what every car assemblers got in mind for in Malaysia since they do get tax break (EEV, etc). Even Proton seems to be gunning for it for their next mill.

And ironically, some currently EEV-certified cars are the worst offenders in case of real-world numbers. Some even matched P1’s not-so-EEV newer mills real-world numbers, while actually being much lighter in the whole chassis. But of course, since the offender is not Proton, less drama ensues.

• Uitm Economics on May 23, 2016 at 10:41 am

Utim and Mara economics. Parent company got no effect on subsidiary or partnerships.

Like oil prices. Oil prices overseas got no effect on Petronas performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
    • Operation Manager on May 23, 2016 at 10:30 am

Jipon oso LIAR … & Jipon company trap & use P1 Gv fund (6%) for recovery, when the time recover back its time to divorce with P1 again…

• Pity Rakyat Malaysia on May 23, 2016 at 10:37 am

But Proton try to trick rakyat, say now with Suzuki, Proton is on recovery !!!! Cukur Cukur Cukur.

Then Suzuki will use our RM1.5 billion to recover, then they will buand Proton after they become healthy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
    • Tim Yap on May 23, 2016 at 11:20 am

Suzuki will now be a pariah company in the car world. OMG, our Protons will be now nama busuk too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Habis lah Proton! on May 23, 2016 at 10:12 am

Proton directors should resign with this news. This means they did not do due diligence and investigations with a company they were marrying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 41
    • Dr strange on May 23, 2016 at 10:27 am

Resign? no way they will never let their 5 – 6 figure salaries go away. they will blame it on none DRB suppliers and Vendors as usual and will victimize their people as usual. this is KARMA DRB, punishment is on the way… remember all the good staff you fired when you took over proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
      • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 10:35 am

One thing I’ve still perplexed over anti-Proton sentiments are:

1. “Please close one of your factory. ‘Dismiss’ lots of them already la….”
        2. “This is KARMA, remember you fired bla bla bla”

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

I’d hope nobody addressed me as a Proton’s fanboy. In fact, personally, I’m more inclined towards idea #1. But at least, be consisten lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
        • Uitm Economics on May 23, 2016 at 10:42 am

Proton fanboy cannot understand economics?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
          • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 10:54 am

Replied to the wrong post eh? Since the context is much different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Pity Rakyat Malaysia on May 23, 2016 at 10:34 am

VW can tahan a scandal cause they very big and huge. Mitsubishi with the scandal, nearly pushed the company to bankruptcy.

But tiny Suzuki cannot withstand such a scandal. It will go bust. And the sinking ship will sink Proton with it.

Proton CEO and Directors should resign. They cannot blame the world now.

Badly managed Proton, pity the rakyat of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
    • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 10:43 am

…and just imagine the “What If” situation if Proton accepts the much earlier “VW deal”, that some still perceive it to be ultra bad decision by P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
    • Chickenatr on May 23, 2016 at 10:50 am

‘They cannot blame the world now’
      While at the same time, clearly telling on how the ‘Suzuki affairs’ is not even P1’s mistake. All while spewing ‘Badly managed P1’.

Self-contradictory is the new trend, perhaps?

• kenot on May 23, 2016 at 10:47 am

While other car company manipulated fuel consumption for their car, I still respect to proton. Without doubt, they honestly stated fuel consumption for suprima S 9.1L/100KM.

• malaysian on May 23, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Only when cruising. In town driving will get you >10L/100km.

• reeve on May 23, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Clearly you never own one. Even Exora turbo is more frugal than 2.0l Camry in traffic jam. Btw both are are 1.4 tonne monsters

• this page is all war between rakyat and proton marketing people who are paid to like or dislike. shame on proton, try to prove themselves right here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 7:06 pm

‘Proton marketing people?’ Please la don’t make such joke, even general public do realise that their marketing is almost non-existent in function.

But yeah, comment like this makes me wonder. Even when P1 have nothing to fault with the issue on the article, they’ll still be bashed real ‘kaw’.

Next thing I’ll expect, when Suzuki workers got cirit birit : Proton’s responsible, eh?

Congrats.

• Alson P on May 23, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Suzuki’s market share drop drastically.. Time to buy all shares.. Make Suzuki our subsidiary.. Clever Nissan already bought Mitsubishi when share price hit bottom.. Mitsubishi with the scandal, nearly pushed the company to bankruptcy.. A company or very rich person will buy Suzuki soon or later.. We or someone else..
    Suzuki have access car market around the world.. If we own Suzuki then we have access for car market around the world..

TPPA

• B-Unggul on May 23, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Can be somewhat hard for P1, DRB or the big G. Almost improbable, even.

I’ve just read somewhere, IINM even the Maruti-Suzuki JV is much bigger compared to the parent company itself. Even their stocks in that market didn’t dropped sharply post-announcement. Still significantly affected, but not really jeopardising (single digit). So I’d guess they’ve already got better suitor in case they’re ripe for takeover bid.

As per Nissan, I thought they didn’t have much choice since Mitsubishi is currently producing cars for them too.

• seancorr (Member) on May 23, 2016 at 12:20 pm

One by one they come out into the light and admit. Who’s next?

• Tahniah to Proton for maintaining their integrity in all their business dealings. As the giants of the automobile industry are slowly beginning to crumble one by one for their breach of trust & data manipulation, Proton is the only company which follows the principles of amanah, telus & ikhlas. As a result, Proton can use this to market more vehicles and increase market share. Hidup Proton! Its not only in the drive but its in the people who drive the company forward!

• Smlok on May 23, 2016 at 7:46 pm

No wonderlah my swift does not save fuel as Suzuki claimed now only I know y