2016 Kia Sorento on display at dealers before launch

Kia_Sorento_Petrol_HS_Ext-2

Although the 2016 Kia Sorento will only be launched tomorrow, dealers in Klang Valley have already begun showing the new seven-seater SUV, along with full specifications for each variant. As previously reported, the handsome UM-generation model – replacing the outgoing XM – will be available in a base 2.2 LS diesel, along with 2.4 MS and 2.4 HS petrols.

Powering the new Sorento is a choice of either a 2.2 litre CRDi turbodiesel delivering a punchy 200 PS at 3,800 rpm and 441 Nm of torque between 1,750 and 2,750 rpm, or the ubiquitous 2.4 litre MPI CVVT petrol producing 172 PS at 6,000 rpm and 224 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Drive is sent to all four wheels on all models through a six-speed automatic transmission.

Right, let’s get down to business. The 2.2 LS is expected to be priced at RM158k, putting it slightly above equivalent base-spec, petrol-powered competitors. It gets LED daytime running lights, 17-inch wheels (which admittedly look tiny on the massive new Sorento) and keyless entry with push-button start.

Inside, there’s an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, dual-zone automatic climate control with an ioniser, second-row air-con vents, front and rear parking sensors and a 3.5-inch Supervision multi-info display. You only get fabric seats, however, and there’s no reverse camera to help you park the leviathan. There’s no Bluetooth connectivity, either.

The 2.4 MS, set to cost RM168k, bumps things up with 19-inch Y-spoke alloys, LED tail lights, a shark fin antenna, an acoustic front windscreen, a touchscreen infotainment system with Bluetooth connectivity, a reverse camera, eight-way electric front seats with driver’s electric lumbar support, leather upholstery, second-row sunblinds, a separate third-row air-con blower, a powered tailgate and a rear tonneau cover.

(Left to right) spec sheets for the Sorento 2.2 LS, 2.4 MS and 2.4 HS. Click to enlarge

The RM178k 2.4 HS gets all the bells and whistles, including adaptive xenon headlights, chrome 19-inch wheels, park assist and a full seven-inch Supervision virtual colour speedometer and multi-info display.

Safety-wise, all models get six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, a tyre pressure monitoring system and ISOFIX child seat anchors. So, what do you think of the new 2016 Kia Sorento? Sound off in the comments section after the jump; you can also read what we think of how the new SUV drives through our review here.

Interested in buying one? Register your interest by clicking here.

GALLERY: Kia Sorento 2.2 LS

GALLERY: Kia Sorento 2.4 MS
GALLERY: Kia Sorento 2.4 HS

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• the 2.2D is definitely much worth than fortuner and everest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Is even better to buy it 2nd hand couple years later. Totally worth it!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • diesel on May 24, 2016 at 10:59 pm

why diesel for low spec model only? it has better power, and should have better fuel consumption than the petrol version. and oemji, much torque!!!

• Fooled on May 24, 2016 at 11:07 pm

kimchi no RV. 2yrs car drop rm 80K!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Bagus la, so people can buy it cheaper. But when I try finding good 2nd 2yrs sorento, can’t get that 80k price..aiyo..

• KIASU on May 24, 2016 at 8:16 pm

What a name for a car .. Killed In Accident

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 48
    • Selling for sgd 160K = rm480k in Singapork.

No thks to their “fine” gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Gonggok on May 24, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Ehem, it recently got the highest marks for NCAP, and all models have got full safety specs as standard.

• CheapSkateNaza on May 24, 2016 at 8:21 pm

What happened to the Panoroof ? This is what happens when KIA Korea appoints NAZA who has eyes on MONEY ONLY with poor service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • The panoroof will cost you a boom and not to mention our weather. Better they offer a full spec safety kits rather then the unnecessary item/cosmetics item in their car. Not like some new model launch recently, you want full safety kits, you pay 200k+ for it.

• Ali Cakap Kosong on May 25, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Go take a look at the previous Sorento. It comes with Panoroof… why the latest without ? DUHH!!

• I am driving a 2011 Sorento. For the last 5 years and 3 months, I opened less than 10 times. My 3 daughters were very excited with feature, but that last only a few times. I went to see the new model yesterday morning and contemplating now to buy it. It is a good car and serves my family well.

• nabill (Member) on May 24, 2016 at 8:24 pm

The base model looks such a good value… Great diesel power, ginormous interior… Too much metal for the money… How much is that pathetic Fortuner again??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • brazbuz on May 24, 2016 at 8:57 pm

There you go the cheapest diesel-powered large suv in msia. 6airbags and vsc as standard too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • I cant wait to get one, turbo diesel and same price as petrol engine, suv petrol pls give way, tq

• Honestly its really well specced, but damn expensive especially the 2.4HS. They should just have 1 diesel and 1 petrol variant, if the top spec was under RM165k I’ll go make a booking tmrw.

• BeemerFreak on May 24, 2016 at 11:49 pm

Then you would have said it was damn expensive and if 140k you book day after tomorrow also…have some sense this is a 7 seater at the price of an equivalent 5 seater

• mohdfaiz88 on May 24, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Why Sportage 4WD in Malaysia has panaromic roof and New Sorento high-end spec don’t have?

• Leafable on May 24, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Err high spec missing the 360 view camera, adaptive cruise control, LDWS, RCTA, BSD, Vent seats, OEM navigation with 10 speakers and sun roof.

• Firdaus on May 24, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Wait…after 1 year u can get an used one for 50% of the price.That plastic looks so cheapo!

• Pakulupapito on May 25, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Aku ketuk kepala hang kalau aku cari tahun depan tak dapat half price

• Mohd Faizul on May 24, 2016 at 10:01 pm

That Diesel engine are really good for this heavy kia. Too bad Naza Kia make it as a base model.That diesel is my choice

• Gonggok on May 24, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Great safety spec standard for all models…the 2.2 diesel is a very attractive deal at 158k.

• Hammy Gan on May 24, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Where’s the moon roof? Seems like all the new Korean cars are omitting the moon roof. First Hyundai Tucson, now Kia Sorento. Truly disappointing.

• Pakulupapito on May 25, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Musim hujan maa…you can’t see moon anymore. If no hujan then there are also haze.

• omnigunk on May 24, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Pathetic and boring looking interior

• at least Hyundai Santa Fe CDRI diesel version offers much better spec compares to KIA LS 2.2 diesel….amid at higher price..

• bawang on May 25, 2016 at 10:17 am

Errr, isn’t santa fe diesel only comes with 2 airbags ?
      All kia models are equipped with 6 airbags.

• Zulfahmi Fadillah on May 24, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Jonathan.. do you know..naza also bring the new sportage as well?

• Maria on May 24, 2016 at 11:48 pm

So sad HS diesel is not available.I really admire this car as it get positive review from foreigner especially the diesel one.Again naza tried to rip the spec…Where’s korean trademark panoramic sunroof,AEB,LDW,360 camera,SPAS.
    I just hope they could accept special order for those option

• Day2Day on May 25, 2016 at 12:55 am

I’ve been looking forward to this 7-seater based on the rave reviews it’s received in major markets.

All that build-up has led to quite a disappointment.

The most punchy engine is the most basic model here. The panoramic roof hasn’t found its way into any of the models. A number of other features can’t even be found in the most expensive model.

What a letdown… It just wouldn’t feel like I’m getting the car that it should be.

• shawal on May 25, 2016 at 12:59 am

High spec diesel is missing

• Sammy Loo on May 25, 2016 at 1:05 am

Fortuner is definitely a better buy, much more premium interior and exterior, best reliability and RV in class.

This kimchi junk will be death on launch (sales) and u can get it half the price in only 2 years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Sammy 'Hailat' Loo on May 25, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Fortuner is definitely a ‘misfortune’ to buy, much more cheap interior and exterior with longkang spec (RM186k junk car doesn’t even have brake assist, let alone stability control), taik reliability and hailat RV in class.

Once this so-called kimchi junk launched, that MisFortuner will be death on launch (sales) and even FOC, owners will be surrounded with misfortune (or suay) everyday.

• Josh Ling on May 25, 2016 at 1:20 am

despite the rather bare-bone spec of the diesel model, i still think it’s the pick of the range, especially when you compare with that tin-kosong fortuner……i bet it’s a hoot to drive around too with that powerful diesel engine!

• seancorr (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 3:39 am

Aw crap the diesel gets the bare minimum spec. Reverse camera should have been standard for this huge SUV and there is no BT either? Hello it’s 2016, not 2006 Naza.

• WankerBoy on May 25, 2016 at 9:11 am

Ahem, your rm200k bmw also don’t have reverse camera and keyless entry.

• kenot on May 25, 2016 at 7:47 am

One of the bad side buying kia or Hyundai car is they getting old to fast.

• Landslide Era for Korean vehicles…..

• therealmaserati on May 25, 2016 at 9:29 am

Only stupid people buy this car. So damn ugly plus low resale value. Plus lousy service.

• therealmaserati on May 25, 2016 at 9:31 am

The fortuner or outlander looks ten times better and its japanese ! Nice to drive with good RV. Avoid korean crap at all costs

• Pakulupapito on May 25, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Pftttt typical malaysian…lit of big country like the US are praising these korean vehicle

• Elchino on May 25, 2016 at 9:47 am

Just let us make d choice! If v cannot afford then v buy d base model 2.2 crdi model otherwise spec it up, as many don’t mind paying a little more. I think Kia does not want to compete directly with Santa Fe 2.2 model

• Ben Yap on May 25, 2016 at 9:58 am

great car, poor brand value.

• waters on May 25, 2016 at 10:10 am

178k for a POS Kia??? What’s the world coming to

• Sammy 'Hailat' Loo on May 25, 2016 at 7:11 pm

186k for a POS ToYoTaiK MisFortuner, somemore not even comes with brake assist and VSC??? What’s the world coming to

• mohsin on May 25, 2016 at 10:39 am

No ice cube fog lamp?
    Stock clearance of 2015 model?
    Why a new Sportage (read Macan) has an ice cube fog lamp?

• hahaha on May 25, 2016 at 11:19 am

IMO they make the diesel variant as the cheapest one right here because they want people to buy the diesel variant. Diesel is more powerful and yet more economical in terms of $$.

• The power for the diesel looks massive. But is let down on spec count. What a shame.

• 2015 Santa Fe Premium 2.2 CRDi is much much better than Sorento…it comes with panoramic sunroof, 6 airbags, hands-free smart liftgate and full spec for diesel engine ..you pergi check paultan news, 2015 Santa Fe, 6 airbags…