2016 Mazda 3 facelift – first image seen in brochure

Mazda 3 Axela hatchback facelift-01

It appears that an image of the facelifted Mazda 3 (in hatchback form) has surfaced on online portal, Carscoops. That said, this is in fact the facelifted Mazda Axela (as it’s known in Japan).

A few things to note: visually, the facelifted Mazda 3 sports updates that bring it closer to the facelifted CX-3. Changes include a reshaped grille with a repositioned Mazda logo. Also apparent are the thicker chrome extensions (a la the Mazda 2), which is integrated neatly into the subtly redesigned headlamps.

Going down the lower portion of the fascia, there’s a larger intake along with a new pair of front fog lamps, which sport a larger opening and a strip of chrome. At the side, the door mirrors appear to have been slightly repositioned as well. Although the rear has yet to be seen, expect it to sport some updates too.

In earlier spyshots, the layout of the facelifted Mazda 3’s dashboard appears to have been retained to a great extent. The changes however, include a new steering wheel.

Of greater significance is a new electronic parking brake and a repositioned Commander Control unit and gear selector, which appear to be closer to the centre stack. As a result, there’s more stowage space at the centre console, also thanks to the redesigned armrest/storage box.

Based on the text in the brochure, the hatchback model seem to sport a 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D inline four-cylinder diesel engine too. So guys, what do you think of the facelifted Mazda 3? Share your comments below.

GALLERY: 2016 Mazda 3 CKD Sedan

GALLERY: 2016 Mazda 3 CKD Hatch

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Heaven on May 24, 2016 at 12:45 pm

That’s nifty. Nice and elegant design. Mazda designs the best looking cars amongst jap makes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • Tak happy, pukul Najix lah! on May 24, 2016 at 12:46 pm

This car has few major dislike in these two year user comment.

1) Tyre noise, Yokohama tyre getting louder after 40% wear off
    2) Cant sex in rear seat coz too cramp
    3) I-stop kick start vibration getting significant after 6 months
    4) Stiff suspension not for long distance drive. old ppl suffer neck & back pain
    5) Sould red touch up not possible due to 4 coat, 3 owen processs
    6) FC not as good as spec sheet, as 2 litre engine
    7) Great trade in value lost. at least RM30k lost for trade in after 1 year pakai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
    • Not Toyota Fan on May 24, 2016 at 3:34 pm

For #2, new Gen 10 Civic be big enough for karma sutra positions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • John X on May 24, 2016 at 4:44 pm

I’ve owned the car for two years now as well. Let’s address your qualms.
      1. Yeah, the road noise is there, independent of which tyres you’ve got with the car. Fortunately, the stock sound system is good enough to drown it out.
      2. Yeah, the rear is smaller than other options. However if you’re using the car with 2 people most of the time, it is a tradeoff that works in your favour.
      3. I don’t seem to have any issues with i-stop yet.
      4. Yeah, suspension is stiff, and there is body roll as well, but it isn’t exceptionally bad.
      5. I dont have the red car.
      6. FC is very good, I have no idea what you’re on about.
      7. You’ve used it for one or two years?

I’ll tell you what I really like about this car.
      1. The interior feels the most luxurious amongst it’s peers. The plastics are soft touch, and textured. The driving seating position is nice, and buttons and the dash is laid out within reach.
      2. For a stock sound system, this is very good.
      3. Physical button for the volume. (New Civic does not have this, and its bit of a reach to get it adjusted).
      4. Great torque.
      5. Feels a lot more well built than cars more expensive than it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • ColaBear on May 24, 2016 at 1:29 pm

pls improve the sound insulation…

• Pakulupapito on May 24, 2016 at 6:58 pm

If mazda fix this, it would be unfair for other car…hehehe

• All these new mazdas look alike, but they are all very handsome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Sack the designers on May 24, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Not unique, sack the designers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
      • Pakulupapito on May 24, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Sack all the audi designers too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • W204 C63 AMG on May 24, 2016 at 5:55 pm

And the BMW and Merc designers too.

• topkek on May 24, 2016 at 6:32 pm

When p1 is bashed you dun bash other automakers pulak. No wonder got lu tak sukak lu keluar reply.

Topkek

• FIST (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 11:48 am

Porsche designers should go out first

• just wanna know, when will it coming to malaysia?

• tishaban on May 24, 2016 at 3:13 pm

New Honda Civic, facelifted Mazda 3. Good choices for the consumer looking for a new car in the C-segment. At least these local manufacturers are willing to provide decent levels of safety equipment across the range.

• notakata on May 24, 2016 at 6:33 pm

You confirm it doesn’t have takata airbags?
      Sked die faster

• Zoom Zoom on May 24, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Mazda 3 design is nice and really fun to drive & fully loaded. Best in class. But now I think the new civic has a better overall package. More powerful turbo, better NVH, larger interior space and booth, better resale value & after sales service and cheaper parts too + 5 yrs warranty. Mazda 3 Vs new civic now! Which car will win?

• failur on May 24, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Both fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • rchoo on May 24, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Turbo is the way to go, combustion is more complete and with significant Horsepower and Torque increase without any additional fuel. Every car manufacturer should move towards Turbo.

• W204 C63 AMG on May 24, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Bull shit. Anyone that have driven turbo cars will agree the fuel economy is shit in city drive. Only a hybrid will give you good numbers in city drive.

• rchoo on May 25, 2016 at 1:23 am

How could Turbo cause additional fuel usage in a car in city drive? TURBO is really independent of the valve, cylinder and fuel feed, it simply provide more compressed air to the combustion chamber and result in a more complete combustion to increase ignition pressure and thus HP and Torque. And you call yourself C63 AMG? – A renown Mercedes-Benz Turbo model.

• koorz on May 25, 2016 at 2:26 pm

This W204 C63 AMG is her wet dream car lor, now driving kanciul

• jambantoyota on May 24, 2016 at 6:34 pm

So where is Toyota roadmap last time wanted to go for more cc rather than turbocharging?

• Wiwiwiw on May 24, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Proton Preve still look the same as it was launched in 2010. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • ColaBear on May 24, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Now we have Peugeot 408 eTHP, Honda Civic 1.5Turbo, Ford Focus 1.5 Ecoboost and Mazda 3 2.0…
    aside the after sales service, which one you prefer?

• Pakulupapito on May 24, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Dammit e-brake, new steering wheel and new armrest. I should have wait.

• good bye civic, I have been waiting for so so so long Skyactiv-D!

• chinonlee on May 24, 2016 at 10:38 pm

It may not arrive in MY after all… Been waiting for so long.
      Bermaz, what are you waiting for!!!

• i got info from mazda distributor, 2.2D are coming for cx5, m6, m3 very very soon ( might be before raya )…just be patient

• funnyman on May 24, 2016 at 9:45 pm

one of the best looking design out there. posh inside. i love it except for the mzd connect screen which isnt as bright as the new C200. Hope the new facelift screen would use LED display and comes with front led headlights. better insulation maybe? give me a skyD engine. perfect car. i would part with my hard earned monnehhh

• Loy Y.S. on May 24, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Looking closer to the brochure, the writing says,”On the left, a hybrid -s L package”.. A hybrid!

• stowage on May 24, 2016 at 11:01 pm

even more “stowage” space. haha good one

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 26, 2016 at 1:21 am

cx3 got facelift?

• dilemma Man on May 26, 2016 at 2:09 pm

when will the facelift launch in malaysia? someonr please tell me. i m about to put booking on current ckd.

• David Ng on May 27, 2016 at 7:31 pm

We have 6 different specifications for the Mazda 3 in Australia. I own a 2014 SP25 Astina hatch, Titanium Flash in colour. It has a 2.5 litre engine outputting 138kW and 250 Nm torque. I like the car because, as an older driver, I appreciate the many driver aids, auch as blind spot monitoring, radar cruise control, autononmous braking, cross taffic warning, lane departure warning and so on. The 7″ MZD Infotaintment system is also a gem with 9 speaker Bose audio, blue tooth, voice control, Sat Nav, Gracenote database, and others. The bi-Xenon automatic headlights are the brightest on any car I have owned, and the automatic high beam dipping and turn feattures work very well. The front leather seats with red stitching have heating controls, and the dual-zone air con and driver’s seat electric adjustment is very useful, as is the Heads’ Up display showing speed, navigation prompts and distance to car in front. I use the sun roof quite often in winter.

My main complaints relate to the tyre configuration – the low profile 215 x 45 Dunlop tyres on 18′ alloy wheeels do give a bit of noise on rough surfaces, and the ride is quite firm. The 16′ wheels on the lower spec variants are more compliant.

FC is quite good, I get abotu 8.8L/100km overall mainly driving in the suburbs and with I-Stop disabled most of the time.

There is a comparison of this car with the Merc A Class in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RVsmaSt8qTo