2016 Kia Sorento launched in Malaysia – 2.2 LS diesel, 2.4 MS petrol and 2.4 HS petrol, RM156k-RM176k

2016 Kia Sorento launch-1

Previewed yesterday, the new 2016 Kia Sorento has finally been launched in Malaysia. The UM-generation seven-seater SUV – replacing the outgoing XM – is available in a base diesel variant, along with mid- and high-spec petrol models.

Let’s start with the prices. The 2.2 LS diesel gets the ball rolling at RM155,888 – putting it slightly above equivalent base-spec, petrol-powered competitors – while the 2.4 MS petrol is priced at RM165,888. At the top of the range sits the 2.4 HS petrol at RM175,888. All prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

The new Sorento is a massive thing, measuring a whopping 95 mm longer (4,780 mm), 5 mm wider (1,890 mm) and 15 mm lower (1,685 mm) than before, with a wheelbase some 80 mm longer (2,780 mm). It’s considerably larger than rivals like the five-seat Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5, seven-seat Nissan X-Trail and Mitsubishi Outlander, and even its sibling, the seven-seat Hyundai Santa Fe.

2016 Kia Sorento launch-9

The handsome styling makes the most of that bulk, with sweptback twin-barrel headlights framing the trademark ‘tiger nose’ grille, now with a more three-dimensional look and inset with “diamond” studs. The fluid surfacing flows without much adornment towards the rear of the car, where you’ll find trapezoidal tail lights, large rear fog lights and a skid plate that matches the one at the front.

Inside, there’s a much more upscale cabin, with an expansive dashboard (plus a stitched top panel), a new three-spoke steering wheel from the new Optima (minus the flat-bottomed rim) and satin chrome air-con vent surrounds that jut out from the dash. The 40:20:40 split-folding second-row seats can slide and recline, and the third row can be folded 50:50 to provide 605 litres of luggage capacity.

Powering the new Sorento is a choice of either a 2.2 litre R CRDi turbodiesel delivering a punchy 200 PS at 3,800 rpm and 441 Nm of torque between 1,750 and 2,750 rpm, or the ubiquitous 2.4 litre Theta II MPI CVVT petrol producing 172 PS at 6,000 rpm and 224 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Drive is sent to all four wheels on all models via the new Dynamax all-wheel-drive system and a six-speed automatic transmission.

2016 Kia Sorento launch-30

Despite being at the bottom of the range, the 2.2 LS doesn’t want for kit, coming with automatic halogen projector headlights with LED daytime running lights, 17-inch wheels (which admittedly look tiny under the big body), keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone automatic climate control with an ioniser and second-row air vents, as well as front and rear parking sensors

Other features include an automatic engine start-stop system, automatic wipers, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror and a 3.5-inch Supervision multi-info display. You only get fabric seats, however, and there’s no reverse camera to help you park the leviathan. There’s no Bluetooth connectivity, either.

The 2.4 MS ditches start-stop, but bumps things up with 19-inch Y-spoke alloys, LED tail lights, a shark fin antenna, an acoustic front windscreen, eight-way power-adjustable front seats with driver’s side electric lumbar support and leather upholstery.

2016 Kia Sorento launch-23

Also included is a touchscreen infotainment system with Bluetooth connectivity, a reverse camera, second-row sunblinds, a separate third-row air-con blower, a powered tailgate and a rear tonneau cover.

Sitting at the very top of the range, the 2.4 HS gets all the bells and whistles, including adaptive xenon headlights, chrome 19-inch ten-spoke wheels, park assist and a full seven-inch Supervision virtual colour speedometer and multi-info display.

Safety-wise, all models get six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, a tyre pressure monitoring system and ISOFIX child seat anchors. So, what do you think of the new 2016 Kia Sorento? Sound off in the comments section after the jump; you can also read what we think of how the new SUV drives through our review here.

GALLERY: Kia Sorento 2.2 LS

GALLERY: Kia Sorento 2.4 MS
GALLERY: Kia Sorento 2.4 HS

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 11:52 am

ckd or cbu?

• greenbean on May 25, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Toyota Fortuner @ rm 200K, anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Naza Nazak on May 25, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Dulu ada panoramic roof.. sekarang hilang…Harga naik lagi … CELAKA BETUL. pUI !

• Same L0rr on May 25, 2016 at 2:43 pm

What for? Buy Kia at RM160K? trade in next year on can sale RM60K? Sushi car bad RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 65
      • Pakulupapito on May 25, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Did you just said “sushi car bad RV”??? It might be true in a few years. Kimchi ftw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
        • Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2016 at 5:36 pm

How to sell this car when Nissan X-Trail, Mazda CX5 are better alternatives? Yes they are smaller than Sorento, but, not really much smaller. Slightly smaller.

Buy Kia Sorento today at RM176k, next year sell, to get RM70k also you will be lucky. Like the last Sorento, this Sorento will be a big failure.

Buy Nissan or Mazda at Rm125k, next year sell RM100k also no problem.

When time to top up loan, that is when you will cry like a baby. Most Santa Fe, Sorento, Tucson owners actually cry. They get a shock. They all say, “4 years I have been paying every month also, now I got to top up RM50k to trade in my car”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
          • People like me buy a car not ro resell, i will use my car up to 10 years or more, used car value drop a lot even for a toyota, estima owners also crying, sell cannot cover loan, new cars are cheap now, my honda city 2013 cost 80 k, now 80 k also, if you look at the inflation rate, new cars are becoming cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • safety 1st on May 30, 2016 at 4:20 pm

First the author made a mistake to compare the Sorento with CRV or CX-5. Its like comparing Accord with Civic or BMW x5 with x3, they are in different class all together!!
            You should compare the Sorento based on the size and class with the like of X5, Q7, Land Rover then you will see that rm170k ish price tag make real sense when you can save more than half a million compare with the german/brit equivalent.
            Kunta Kinte some buyer will put safety, styling and functionality at the top of their buying list before the RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 05, 2016 at 11:43 am

First of all, kimchis can only be compared with the likes of Mahindra, Tata, Geely, Great Wall because they belong to that category of manufacturers. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • K_POP on May 25, 2016 at 4:51 pm

The Diesel variant still cheaper than the rest of its rival. I believed Korean made are more safety conscious than other brands that offers the look and price attraction. Total 6 airbags that u cannot add on. 200HP/441nm torque. Value for money. Auto Dual Air-Cond for 7 seaters, not bad…….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
        • Josh Ling on May 26, 2016 at 3:00 am

ya that’s what i thought too. it’s actually rather good value for the money, if you can look past some of the rather basic and not-so-good-looking stuff, like the antenna pole and bulb type rear lamps etc.

for me the diesel is the pick of the range.

• Danny on May 25, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Nyum, nyum….. ;-P~~~

• Will now wait for another 2 years for 2nd hand :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Smarties on May 25, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Gonna cancel Audi Q7 order for this gem!

Sorento way to goooo!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
    • tokmoh. on May 25, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Yea, i wanna buy this from sam loo for rm10k, cuz he said no Rv, sure can sell me for rm10k only, right?

Meanwhile sam loo sell tin milo fortuner with no vsc huehuehue

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • policeman on May 25, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Korea dan plastik takkan berpisah. Hidup plastik.

What’s the plastic to metal ratio of this car? 40:60?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 52
    • Pakulupapito on May 25, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Plastic is a very general terms here. There are different kind of plastics serving different purposes and some are even stronger than metal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • kopiokaokao on May 25, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Plastic surgery is very famous in Korea :)

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2016 at 11:03 am

So, I guess to you, the plastic that makes up a plastic bag, a straw and an automotive component are one and the same?

• nabill (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 12:09 pm

I just hope we wont see ladies driving this thing in car parks, they already struggle with a kelisa size, this thing they gonna bang left, right and center….
    Anyway.. Looks very classy… No funny chromes… Good job Kia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • They should have offered the diesel in higher spec as well. Almost no reason to get the underpowered petrol engine for such a big car. Wished they brought in the turbocharged petrol as well.

And who thought chrome rims are a good idea? Keep the bling for the Americans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • my thoughts exactly bro!!!!!!

if im gettin one of these, id definitely go for the diesel. no point of gettin a gas guzzling petrol for this behemoth, but i do want to opt for the cheapskate spec….

• Pakulupapito on May 25, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Thats the scenario in malaysia almost for all brands. Diesel only for low spec.

• A sad mismatch in spec and engine output.. and where’s the ice cube DRL’s for the high spec? Sun/moonroof?

What were they thinking when they decided on the spec to bring into Malaysia?

• policeman on May 25, 2016 at 1:02 pm

They thought cheapskate Malaysian like yourself can’t afford to pay the cost for additional kit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on May 25, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Sportage is the rival for CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Can the extra accessories can be add as and option like the reverse camera if customer want to add in for the diesel.

• seancorr (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Can’t afford a Q7? Here’s your answer. Totally dislike them putting the diesel at the bottom of the range with no reverse camera and Bluetooth and it’s almost 3 years late into the market. Better wait for the facelift I suppose and where’s the awesome looking Carnival?

• When was the last time a real guy dreamt of driving an MPV? All the family men out there aspire for a big macho 7-seater SUV now. Times have changed.

• Elchino on May 25, 2016 at 2:08 pm

D 2.2 ltr is what v r looking for but sadly, it is poorly spec. Will Nasa allow us to add reverse camera, leather seats etc as optional? Some buyers may not mind paying an extra for better spec

• Black Dog on May 25, 2016 at 3:29 pm

2.2L diesel is the way to go. Actually 17″ rims will save lots of money when changing rubbers.

But the size is a nightmare for parking in our miniature space built for Kancils. Even driving is not easy, need to be careful of vehicles and pedestrians on the far left.

I know because I’m driving a XM now.

• Wow..from far look like Jaguar..that grill.

• applegreen on May 25, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Image ID – 498939

nyum nyum nyum

• joyrider on May 25, 2016 at 4:30 pm

One of the car launch model picture reveals her breast patch – isn’t such dressing a bit too much. Should have been more elegant, instead.

• leather and reverse camera for the 2.2D please..then i’m sold..

• Wow. I wish they had the diesel at least as a middle variant. I truly enjoyed the Hyundai Santa Fe when I owned it between 2008 to 2011. Good economy, spacious.

May still consider the oil burner I guess, but I’d be jealous of the highest spec when I drive by one…

• Saitam on May 25, 2016 at 5:48 pm

One thing you can count on Naza, is they always get the models right.

• wow…… more masculine look. Im comparing now side by side with santafe

• contender on May 25, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Why buy now ? Wait for 2017 for them to clear 2016 unsold stocks with 30k discount ….then your resale value would not be so bad and still a new car rather than buying 2 year old KIA Sorento at 120K

• Lpost on May 25, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Ugly kia dashboard. Look so old.

• Congrats KIA. World class again.

• Sorento vs Santa Fe on May 25, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Where is the huge panoramic sunroof?? All kimchi suv, Tucson, Sorento, Sportage sudah facelift… now Santa Fe still old but better than these junk…Santa Fe Premium comes with 6 airbags, 2.2crdi AWD, hands-free smart liftgate, huge panoramic sunroof, 7 seats, 19inch alloy wheels, etc..but price rm200k..

• SUV-4WD-Diesel-6 speed auto on May 25, 2016 at 11:37 pm

Santa Fe comes with 4 options… 2.4 elegance, premium and 2.2 elegance and premium…why kia copy spec like fortuner?? Good diesel in low spec but bad petrol in full spec..SUV needs more torque bro!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 25, 2016 at 11:42 pm

Get the Santa Fe instead. It can at least be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • hukaka on May 26, 2016 at 8:13 am

this 2.4 petrol engine its not a fuel saver,
    but this car build quality its good,last generation audio pretty decent too,but this model its missing the subwoofer.
    but the second have value its real bad.three years depreciation almost 50%…..

• Rizal on May 26, 2016 at 8:35 am

Malaysian mentality still harping on 2nd hand value. You want 2nd hand value, go and buy property, not car. Cars are liability, not asset. Those harping on 2nd hand value here I presume must be either Japs Sales Person or 2nd hand dealer.

• PDW7275 on May 26, 2016 at 9:05 am

Nice and perky.. mmmm…. :P

• kiddd on May 26, 2016 at 9:08 am

Dear Paul..
    Hopefully you can make comparison between region about this model.. or maybe all the new car was launched here..
    So that we will see what package we get or not..

• Ikan bilis on May 26, 2016 at 9:24 am

Say no to AP king

• Holofanboi on May 26, 2016 at 11:51 am

Man…this one is tempting as all hell. I just got married so i know im bound to need a family car but deciding between this or a 3 series is a dilemma ;_;

Logic? Or passion? Gaaaaaaaaaah

• Very good safety specs. This should be the benchmark to all car makers, hear this UMW and P2

• don chan on May 26, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Pity the 2.2crdi gets the lowest specs of the lot. Naza Kia got their marketing plan all wrong. I would be interested in the most powerful & yet frugal Sorento if it came in better specs.

• don chan on May 26, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Pity the 2.2 crdi Sorento comes with the lowest specs. Naza Kia has got their marketing plan all wrong. I would be interested in their most powerful and yet frugal SUV if it came with higher specs.

• Actual car looks so much better, perceived quality is very high for an SUV this price. Only sad parts is the diesel spec, it will be perfect if there is a 2.2 CRDI MS varient with leather seat, bluetooth, reverse cam and 3rd row air cond.

• I think that cheaper diesel going to sell like hotcakes. 200hp + 440nm torque…that one powerful engine & proven wt the santa fe already

• Nowadays, in order to win the market, news cars are becoming cheaper. For this RM175 you get SPAS, smart parking assist system. Self parking into parallel and perpendicular parking spot with precision. Say hello to confident parking manoeuvres. Ive seen and tested during launching….

• Test drove both 2200cc diesel and 2400cc petrol yesterday.
    Mind you, the 3rd row of diesel version doesn’t have aircon outlets!! The kids who are sitting at the back would feel hot! Aircon is a must in hot weather like Mysia!

• Jeremy on Jun 01, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Tested as well, crdi very powerful, but some how the seats are overly soft, rear absorbers a bit noisy over bump.

If these 2 items could be firmer with reverse camera; it will be a perfect SUV over santa fe.

• Pakcik on Jul 09, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Which one better in term of pick up John?

• John,

Which outlet you managed to test drive?

• no issue if the oil burner version do not have leather or reverse camera..can always install aftermarket..in ebay there are a lot to choose from..what matter is the engine and tx..all the options are only jacking the price up unnecessarily.

• Tested both LS and HS with 5+1 passengers. LS has got the best drive (zoom zoom) and comfort (65 series tyres and possibly also due to the software fabrics seats). I can live with no 3rd row A/C and the rear view camera can be added on latter. If concerned with no spare tyre, the spare wheel carrier can be added (same as the XM Sorento) for RM4xx, exclude labour. Can buy used or space saver tyre for cheap.

The HS felt underpowered when tried spirited driving, i.e. High revving sound but car maintaining same momentum, not going any faster. Comfort level felt harsh as all the road roughness are felt in the cabin, due to the lower profile tyres and maybe also the leathers seats are tougher as compared to the fabrics. Thus the vibrations from the harsher drive are felt on the seats.

I almost sign for the LS until I read that B10 Biodiesel is in effect.
    http://paultan.org/2016/06/01/b10-biodiesel-at-reach-stations-nationwide-mpic/

Lagi dumbfounded, B20 in 2018.
    http://paultan.org/2016/04/01/mba-pushes-for-b10-bio-diesel-in-2016-b20-in-2018/

Only test they did was went for a Cameron Highland trip without the car breaking down. Wtf!? Or should I say Malaysia Boleh?

Paul Tan and team, do you have any official statement from Naza Kia on the Biodiesel? Thank you.

• Jeremy on Jun 03, 2016 at 5:14 pm

The driver seat can be adjusted, probably that’s why you think the fabric seat is good. Better try out the 2nd row. You can put your hand under the seat to feel the spring… overly soft, will not last.

Off market (not KIA panel) fit of reverse camera can void your warranty, better check first.

The spare tyre is under the 3rd row seat.

• Thanks for your reply.

There’s no spare tyre for LS. A tyre repair kit is provided instead. The spare tyre carrier (a pulley like device) is missing too, so to add a spare tyre you got to buy the carrier as mentioned.

Not sure about the spring of the seats. There’re reverse cameras with its own screen. No need swap out the head unit which will of course kill the warranty.

On a side note, Naza Solutions S/B at 222 there which sells the exact same HU (in fact there are the supplier and installer for the MS and HS). Need to check if installed there warranty will be in tact or not.

• Oh, that he passengers also felt more comfortable in the LS. They also felt the vibrations from the road harshness in the HS. I guess the tyre play a large role on ride comfort.

• Anil Rabindranath on Jun 05, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Was so looking forward in trading my M.Gradis for the Diesel High Spec like the ones sold in Singapore….totally disappointed and will look elsewhere. Naza should listen to customers for feedback before deciding on specs!!!

• alexc on Nov 12, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Anl large SUV without sunroof is totally unacceptable for me at least. NAZA even make the Diesel version as low spec is a big let down…

• simiJJ on Nov 20, 2016 at 4:28 pm

The spec of the Diesel engine make me wanna vomit….Naza maybe is the first Kia agent who bring in mid size SUV without panaromic roof for all variant