Haval H2 launched – three variants, RM87k to RM98k

Haval H2 launch-01

Following earlier previews, the Haval H2 has been officially launched. Haval’s sole Malaysian distributor Go Auto hopes that with the introduction of the H2, it will be able to capture a bigger slice of the SUV market in Malaysia. The company targets to sell 1,000 units of the H2 for 2016, which is classified as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV).

The Haval H2 is available in three variants – the base Standard model starts from RM87,246.01, while the Comfort variant is priced at RM95,997.97. The top-range Premium variant is priced at RM98,915.29. All prices quoted are inclusive of GST and excludes insurance.

All variants come with a five-year/150,000 km warranty. In addition to that, for limited time only, Go Auto is offering a three-year/60,000 km (whichever comes first) free maintenance package, inclusive of service and labour. Go Auto mentioned that the initial 100 units of the Haval H2 will be CBU models, and it aims to have CKD models by September 2016.

The H2 measures in at 4,335 mm long, 1,814 mm wide and 1,695 mm high, with a wheelbase of 2,560 mm and ground clearance of 133 mm. All models come equipped with front ventilated disc brakes and rear disc brakes, but the Premium model gets red brake callipers.

Suspension-wise, the Haval H2 is equipped with a MacPherson strut suspension at the front and a multi-link suspension at the rear. Also standard for all models is electric power steering, electric parking brake and an adjustable telescopic four-way steering column.

To differentiate the variants, the Standard comes in three different single-tone colours and a Haval Red/Classic Black two-tone colour. The Comfort variant includes all colours but adds on two two-tone colours including Classic Black/Titanium White and Brownish Brown/Titanium White. The Premium variant is only available with the two-tone paint schemes mentioned, but it gets a two-tone interior as standard.

External equipment on the Standard variant include a shark fin roof antenna and an aluminium alloy roof rack. The Comfort and Premium variants, on the other hand, add on automatic headlamps and wipers, as well as a sunroof. All variants are equipped with manually-adjustable halogen headlamps, LED daytime running lights and front fog lamps.

Inside, the Standard variant does not get audio and Bluetooth controls on the steering wheel, cruise control or a tonneau cover, a dual-zone automatic air conditioning, ambient lighting or electrically-foldable side mirrors with turn signals.

Furthermore, it also ditches the leather upholstery, six-way electrically-adjustable driver’s seat, afront active headrest, rear centre armrest with storage case and reverse camera – all these items are only available on the Comfort and Premium variants. Also exclusive to the upper two variants is a six-speaker sound system, the Standard model making do with just four speakers.

All other features can be found in all three variants. These features include a 3.5-inch TFT trip computer, secondary instrument panel, gear shift indicator, keyless entry system, button start system, adjustable central armrest and stainless steel threshold and a Bluetooth hands-free system. Other notable items include an anti-glare rearview mirror and outside temperature indicator.

Safety-wise, both the Comfort and Premium variants come with six airbags (dual front, dual front side and side curtain) and a blind spot monitoring system, while the Standard model only has dual airbags. All three, however, are equipped with electronic stability programme, a tyre pressure monitoring system, a collision-detecting fuel cutoff system, reverse sensors, immobiliser and an anti-theft alarm system.

Under the hood, all Haval H2 models are front-wheel drive and fitted with the same turbocharged 1.5 litre VVT engine which generates 147 hp at 5,600 rpm and 210 Nm of torque from 2,200 rpm to 4,500 rpm. As for transmission, the Standard variant is mated solely to a six-speed manual, while both the Comfort and Premium models are paired to a six-speed automatic transmission.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Gargantia on May 25, 2016 at 3:20 pm

The spec seem promising… Can even local made Proton make that with that price???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
    • Cannnn! If our home market have a population base of 1 billion potential customers. Why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
      • Proton on May 25, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Agree with you.. If malaysian knows on how to support local industries… They can even sale the suprima at 70k+- price.. A bit cheaper for producing it in volume…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • No better grille design?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Blue label h2 more good looking… this red label h2 interior and exterior look complicated…
      And hope them bring in 1.3 turbo direct injection new engine…

• thepolygonal on May 25, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Actually looks ok. These kind of rpicing used to be what the koreans offer. Times changed I guess. I have been into the H2 at Go Glenmarie and yes… it does tick the correct check boxes :D Just wasn’t given the chance to test drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • China_car on May 25, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Will paultan be writing a driven review on this suv?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Plair Cho Keng on May 25, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Quite an impressive built-in active and passive safety gadgets with just around 90k for a big car.Better than conventional jepunis.But wait!! Better to change the Haval name to Havoc first,to prepare yourself for high blood tensions due to service,parts & reliable issues..Go for safer Honda..Wait for BRV coming soon..Sufficient power,reliable & peace of mind.If wanna wait for Toyota,their new plant & new models ready to battle in 2019 onwards.Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
    • Buat Hal on May 25, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Wait till end of year,u can get 30k discount to clear old stock!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Tan Beng Hooi on May 25, 2016 at 9:21 pm

At least they are trying. Giving 6 airbags including curtain airbags, ESP and blind spot monitoring. Not like some Brand selling for 150k just 2 airbags and some are even worst with ads of Euroncap 5stars but spec wise are watered down. Don’t discount the Chinese, look at Huawei and Xiaomi. Nowadays Chinese firms employed lot of design gurus and techs from the “AngMoh” & Japs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Chris Teoh on May 25, 2016 at 3:53 pm

China automakers have been really advancing with huge momentum this few years. Small engine with turbo dual clutch gearbox wet transmission. They took a lot of shares in their own car market from Jap/German. Light years ahead of proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • BAMYouHaveAIDS on May 25, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Wooo war of the SUVs is going on in Malaysia and it’s going strong.

• Saw this car when i was in china, not bad. Hope other major china brands like geely and trumpchi also will start selling here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Near to RM 100K for Auto comfort.

I will go for 1.8 HRV.

Price it below RM 80K with 5 years free maintenance then will be something to consider. Otherwise, just another syiok sendiri marketing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
  • Gaylord on May 25, 2016 at 4:02 pm

should be 70xxx at max

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • fake no quality china cars. why so expensive?
    china car selling price should be under 40k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 49
  • Joyrider on May 25, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Sounds like a value buy “On paper spec”. I wonder how is the quality and durability of China car nowadays.

• vardy on May 25, 2016 at 4:22 pm

We got a winner in Haval.

Much better value than HR-V, CX-3, ASX or even Subaru XV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • LOK CHYI YEU on May 25, 2016 at 4:24 pm

China vehicle really rises very fast….. their design already good looking and their price also not bad (Bad also becoz of our duty).

Their country is developing super fast unlike ours which has been standing still for 50 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 26
    • Yes, when we are still learning to stand still, they have conquered standing still. 50 years is nothing to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • johnny deep deep on May 25, 2016 at 4:58 pm

if ur like their home much ,
      then u try live there country, see u can still survive like today & can stil talk talk nia here.
      LOLz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
    • LOK CHYI YEU, while I respect your opinion, I am here to tell you that you are completely wrong! Malaysia has grown by leaps and bounds! Look at the infra projects and growing townships. Pls la, take yr cynicism to Melbourne or something…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 92
      • I am agree with you for our townships is growing rapidly in recent years. for china, please pay a visit to their country and understand whats grown by leaps and bounds. Accept the fact, else we will not grow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
        • That’s why our gomen money siphoning got international standard lo

• BeemerFreak on May 25, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Malaysia has grown only enough to stay relevant. We were the Asian dragons of the 80s and now look where we stand in the face of others. For god sake even UAE is progressing faster than us, and you with your 80s mentality are still standing still.
        Remembering and cherishing history is indeed good, but never be complacent.
        I love Malaysia as much as any Malaysian and only want my country to be the best, which sadly isn’t at the helm of you know who.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
      • Saitam on May 25, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Most of the growth were in the 90s to early 2000s.
        Since then, the growth was slow.
        And in terms of car industry (since this is a car forum), standing still would be a compliment to us.
        LOK has a point, if not for the duties, this china product would undercut what P1 and P2 could offer.

Infra projects? The new LRT you mean (again since we are in this forum). That, was funded by issuing retail sukuk. Something that we can’t actually afford but expect the future generations to pay. Nothing to be too proud of if you ask me.

But ya, you are right. LOK did exaggerate that we had standstill for the past 50 years.
        Who are we to compare with China whom have had 4000 years of written history right? They probably standstill longer than us. So lets compare with Singapore than.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • China power on May 25, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Obviously, you haven’t been to China. I’ve been to China from time to time, I say say that their growth for the past 15 years actually exceeded all our stupid Rancangan Malaysia (RMK) for the past 50 years. In just 15 years, they have emerged as the second largest economy in the world, thousands of new townships and HSR linking the entire east coast of China, just to name a few.

Talking about Automotive sector, China is progressing very very fast, probably in less than 10 years time, they are getting to what Hyundai or Kia is today in terms of technical competency (marketing aside). Well, let’s hope that the 1.5 billion bail out recipient is not very far outpace by then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • Malaysia Hardware strong but software still remain window 97 ….lol

• nabill (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Wd u dare to buy?

• Keep on condemning your own country. Very, very good while the life of people there much worse then ours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
      • I am malaysian on Mar 05, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Definitly you need to go there see for yourself. China is bigger then south east asia bro. Try shanghai first for a start

• Operation Manager on May 25, 2016 at 4:26 pm

98k, same same to HRV price …???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • MusTanG on May 25, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Interesting.

What about H2’s score for NCAP?

• Sammy Loo on May 25, 2016 at 4:41 pm

even the cheap M4 cannot sell well, get this dim sum car you will regret more than kimchi cars

Want a proper turbo engine? Get the Lexus NX200t or RX200t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • tokmoh. on May 25, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Volvo XC60 > all

Now no more tak suka, balik tongsan.

Now tak suka, tongsan come to us. I <3 PM.

• But some pipu says dun wan china cars, telling them to balik tongsan woh! How leh?

• Muzzy on May 25, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Daayuuummmm. For under rm100k for the range top model, that is a bargain for a C-segment class. Probably would sale a lot if only the problem now is just the brand’s from China. Will keep an eye for this though.

• Kumar on May 25, 2016 at 4:56 pm

China NCAP 5 star rating.

• DPCraft on May 25, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Exterior design not appealing, but the interior design is quite acceptable.

• yes,china more advance than us , they even put plastic into baby milk and kill their own people..wealth is not the only way to judge success..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • Chris Teoh on May 25, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Msia is more advane than them. We got lot more funny stories than them. If I really need to state few

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • U mean like telling the world and sky they r for transparency and open tender but at belakang direct contract gip to someone cuz underpriced-bungalow-no-pool?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • FYI, CCTV China openly exposed the news and their government actively solves this problem and improve their health monitoring system. They didn’t concealed the news. You so narrowly minded.

• nabill (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Dimensions n even design looks suspiciously like the ASX

• The person who wrote this article should really reconsider his writing style. Informations are scattered all around and unclear, I can’t even differentiate between Comfort and Premium on their specs difference after reading it.

You’re writing an article, not a book.

• Technician on May 25, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Design and price not bad..how about the engine is it reliable??

• Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2016 at 5:35 pm

china car will always fail in Malaysia. Already 10 years Cherry trying so hard to penetrate. Still cannot.

Haval also got big showroom in Glenmarie but nobody goes there.

In Malaysia, nobody dare spend RM100k to buy China car. Car is car. It is not handphone like Meizu, Xiaomi or Huawei. Buy Rm500, lousy also can throw the handphone in tong sampah.

How do you throw a Rm100k car into Tong Sampah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • takNakP1 on May 25, 2016 at 6:42 pm

i wonder how much it will sell without price control. similar cheap & break market like Xiaomi?

• Ben Yap on May 25, 2016 at 5:37 pm

the 1.5 turbo is faster or a CRV?

• DPCraft on May 26, 2016 at 10:17 am

This 1.5 turbo about the same as the 2.0 CR-V, slower than a 2.4 CR-V.
      references: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9G-BaREh5s
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njgbiwKl4_g
      2.0 CR-V takes about 11 seconds, Haval H4 1.5 turbo takes 11.89 seconds.

• Why people want to buy china brand vehicle, it is not a smartphone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Low2215 on May 25, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Don’t laugh at China car guys. At the rate the ringgit is dropping and the rate the car price is climbing. This is what we can afford in the future…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • tokmoh. on May 25, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Quite possibly, this is the cheapest turbo car we can get in manual? Hnnnggghhh

Not bad, I like it.

• Nabil Shamsudin on May 25, 2016 at 7:14 pm

When it comes to ‘Made in China’ people won’t dare to buy. I must say that this car is reasonable enough with features offered. Plus with the 1.5 turbocharged engine, i find it powerful for such size. Just lack of info bout the safety and quality. Need to ask feedback from owners, since the test drive unit is not that much. If people give good feedback, if i could, i would love to own this car. Haha

• Akira on May 25, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Not sure whether this car quality is ok or not but China is way way more advance than Malaysia in many sector. The problem is, they lost their humanity achieving the it.

• The only chinese car brand I will ever consider buying is Qoros.

• Nelson on May 25, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Looks great and with those attracting equipments,i will definitely buy one!
    Yes,it may be a little expensive,but spec-wise? I think it’s worth it,even HRV don’t have some of the things that this one has.

• am i reading this right,”wheelbase of 2,560 mm”? seems like not much legroom.

• Josh Ling on May 26, 2016 at 12:25 am

wah….first time i know that a yet-to-be-CKD model can be classified as EEV and enjoy all the incentives as well, even before it is assembled locally. wow……malaysian govt is really full of surprise!

• Ikan bilis on May 26, 2016 at 9:32 am

Hoe come did not mention engine from which manufacturer?

• Ikan bilis on May 26, 2016 at 9:36 am

For those laughing and question about made in China, their cars export to more markets than Proton able to…there is not a proton export to China as well, and it’s more courage to buy proton than made in China as a fact..

• Really dislike current trend offering only 2wd crossover without 4wd options. The choice for fully functional 4wd models becomes limited.

• I downloaded the brochure and it says that the power is distributed between front and rear wheels through an electronic control unit which decides how much power is required for each. This is similar to the all time four wheel of other SUVs. I request Paul Tan to please check and confirm it before giving any verdict.

• XCRoad on May 26, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Impressive spec, body look like Audi. Seat, interior also look like Audi.. Don’t know how reliable it is after 3 years.

• The most important thing to buy a car is reliability and comfort. Accesories is a nice to have….dont blind yourself…

• therealmaserati on May 30, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Sat in this car at their roadshow in 1U. Tell u what, i am damn impressed with their interior quality.

Me driving a Mercedes, i can tell u that the interior feels like a 300k car. Very premium and the doors close like a Lexus.

Not sure about the reliability but this car looks like a winner. Definately better than the Korean Junks of Kia and Hyundai.

• Dear paultan Editors,

Thanks for sharing H2 with us.
    Hope to know more on the driving experience and otr performance of H2,
    The verdicts and brief comparison with similar segment cars.
    Coz I’m considering between H2 Comfort vs HRV-S.

Will be truly grateful if can share with us, hope can hear you soon.
    Thanks.

• Smart Person on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:45 am

I went and saw the H2 unit already at Glenmarie. I have to say the specs is close/equal to Tucson premium, Xtrail premium spec but with a wayyyyy lower price. I dont prefer Japanese and Korean cars now as they are overpriced and exaggerated. (not to mention the Honda issue) For a small budget-guy like me, I find this unit very worthy and comforting for my family ( seat with lumbar support and 4 power windows). I really like the seats. I tried sitting in CX-5, ASX, Tucson, Santa Fe and X-trail, trust me, H2 by far has the best seats!

Yes, the resale value is not going to be as high as CX-5, but hey, why would we even have to sell the car if we enjoy driving it, right? Unless there is major prob with the car or im upgrading then that’s diff thing coz all cars value is deficit. Anyway I really hope there wont be any major issues from the brand that got 12th time consecutive Best SUV brand in China.

Still I didnt get the chance to test drive thought. The salesman said the car is not available currently

• The brochure says that it is a front wheel drive under normal use but an electronic system can transfer power to rear wheels if and when required. I would consider it as an AWD. Please check it with supplier.

• Richard on Oct 04, 2016 at 9:16 pm

I have paid a deposit for the H2 since April and promises made for delivery… Its now the 4th of October and still bloody waiting. Seems like a repeat of M4 on the delay and no freebies in sight also. If I do decide to wait for it I think I would lose 10-20% of the value as I would be getting a 2016 model real close to 2017.

Value would have dropped. Just wondering if there is any method of complaining since you are well know in the motor world. I have written on their facebook page and not one bothers. Not sure if they are really interested in doing business or just like making customers wait bloody long and cancel.

• Zulhaimi on Feb 11, 2017 at 11:46 pm

Lead by Pierre Leclercq former BMW designer E70 n E71. Just view the car.. Exterior panel equal to BMW level.

• Iykmal on Mar 19, 2017 at 7:50 pm

Back then they said the same things to Datsun, Toyota and Honda. There had been rumours that the Japanese were using the same metal sheets that were used in food canning industries. They looked down on the Japanese brands. Most of the people then went crazy for the likes of Ford Escort or Opel or Fiat. What did the Japanese did then? They didn’t care much . They enhanced their R& D Departmens. Nowadays, they are one of the biggest car manufacturers on the planet. So was the Korean. If China is capable of developing one of the fastest trains in the world, undoubtedly, their cars will be some of the best.

• Anuar on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:18 pm

H2 should sale on rm70k below to enter msian market n for better atracking suv consumer msian