Toyota Calya small MPV leaked, based on Axia – report

2328487Adik-Avanza1780x390

Looks like Toyota sees room for an even smaller MPV that will slot under the Avanza, seen in these photos leaked on otomania.com and AutoBild Indonesia. Rumoured to be called the Toyota Calya, the seven-seat people carrier for the Indonesian market is expected to compete with the Datsun GO+, and will be based on the Daihatsu Ayla and Toyota Agya, close cousins of the Perodua Axia.

Just like the GO+ (sold as the GO+ Panca in Indonesia), the Calya will reportedly be built as part of the country’s Low Cost Green Car (LCGC) programme, which provides tax incentives on fuel efficient vehicles with a maximum engine capacity of 1.2 litres.

The Calya could very well be the production version of the Daihatsu UFC-3 concept introduced at the 2014 Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS) – that one was tipped to presage an MPV that was smaller than the Daihatsu Xenia, a rebadged Avanza.

There are a number of styling details that are shared between the show car and this, such as the side window shape and some of the surfacing – although things have definitely been toned down.

What hasn’t been toned down is the ultra-aggressive front fascia, which should be unique to the Toyota. Reminiscent of the one on the facelifted European-market Yaris, it’s one of the more extreme examples of the company’s Keen Look design language, with a lower grille that is so massive that it’s joined to the Toyota badge and the slim upper grille.

At the rear, there are L-shaped tail lights, much like on the new Innova, although these have much less of a Honda HR-V-esque look to them. There are no photos of the interior, but we’d wager that it would be a world away from the slick, upscale look that was seen on the UFC-3.

No technical details have been revealed just yet, but the Calya is expected to utilise a 1.2 litre 3NR-FE four-cylinder engine from the Etios, making 80 PS at 5,600 rpm and 104 Nm of torque at 3,100 rpm. Transmission options should include a five-speed manual gearbox and a four-speed automatic, just like on the Axia.

Could Perodua be working on a version of the Toyota Calya for our market? Malaysians’ hunger for people carriers may not be as voracious as Indonesians, but we can still see a sub-Alza vehicle being a very good fit for lower-income families over here. What do you think? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: Daihatsu UFC-3 Concept at IIMS 2014

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Silthice on May 25, 2016 at 8:08 pm

looks like avanza and old innova marriage. I wonder how the legroom and the car performance with 1.2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Operation Manager on May 25, 2016 at 9:50 pm

Later Indon (auto-hub aft Thai) could make car to export Msia

• Chief on May 26, 2016 at 9:54 am

The Exora looks much better. Sorry Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • While Honda and others are giving more specs to their cars. Toyota continue to recycle old tech and selling the basics

• Proton better on May 26, 2016 at 5:02 pm

This works for Toyota so far it seems.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 25, 2016 at 10:53 pm

To make it sell like hot cakes, they shld name it
      Toyota Cayalah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Perhaps Toyota Syukurlah…

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 26, 2016 at 9:46 am

Chairmanship of Kelab Pemilik Toyota Cayalah (KPTC-01) should go to Sam Loo. Can start planning for cameron highland convoy.

• Same L0rr on May 26, 2016 at 7:48 am

Perodua! Come on, make it as second MPV after Alza. Kill the new Proton MPV Suzuki Ertiga based model..
      Confirm this model can kill Proton Saga, Persona, Iriz, Ertiga based MPV, Exora, & Preve..
      Because of build quality, reliable engine & good RV of Perodua.. No need sendiri cakap, sendiri syiok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • WT Fuchhh on May 25, 2016 at 8:12 pm

More Darth Vader looks from Toyota…..designer running out of idea or what???

• Sack the designer! Oh wait! Cannot persoal the foreign overlords!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • pakcik on May 25, 2016 at 8:16 pm

3rd row (if used) is a real mess. The available head and leg room is so small. Then why toyota make this car as a MPV rather than estate?

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on May 25, 2016 at 8:33 pm

We could be looking at the donor model of next P2 sedan.

Axia Sedan Advanced G with no ABS.

• tokmoh. on May 25, 2016 at 8:38 pm

This is just stupid. 1.2L 3-cylinder N/A to carry 7-people?

Guaranteed underpowered, and looks too cramped to function properly as 7-seater.

Alza’s replacement should be rebadged Sienta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • I think because on average, Indonesian people are smaller in size. So, it could still be okay there.

• Toy yo-yo on May 26, 2016 at 9:23 am

Have you been to Indonesia? No, they are not dwarfs as you imagined, but same size as Malaysians.

• He watched hobbit pipu in discovery channel and thought all indon is like hobbit size.

• Abah kau on May 26, 2016 at 2:31 am

Toyota stupid or you?

Indonesia road network is made of trunk roads where u can hardly do with speed. Which is something the equivalent of 5,000 rpm. And the Jakarta city is so crowded, the traffic hardly moves.

So this car makes enough sense for Indonesia – where Toyota sells 300,000 new cars every year.

Toyota clearly knows their target market and had made serious R&D.

• farghmee on May 26, 2016 at 10:36 am

sahabat.

kalu enjin 1.2L NA, bape torque dia agak2?

kalu bawak 7org, mau menjerit enjin tuh.

bawak mpv mana nk laju2..walaupun xlaju, torque tu yg penting.

• Alson P on May 26, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Indeed.. The matter of torque.. The engine should be 1.2L turbo 120hp and 190nm torque or better..

• Ah Meng on May 26, 2016 at 8:01 am

If you dont like this small MPV, you can buy various of choices like Toyota Avanza, Innova, Estima, Wish, Alphard & vellfire.. So what the problem?

• Albert on May 25, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Why every damn Toyota for this region,must be launched in Indonesia first?
    Why UMW always playing catch up?
    No wonder they are finding hard catching up with Honda in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • wayang on May 25, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Why people like you dont educate yourself by reading more?
      Why people like you dont understand business ?
      No wonder you keep asking and playing catch up

Indonesia sold 1,013,291 vehicles last year
      Malaysia sold 666,674 vehicles last year
      Their figure is almost double of what we sold

For sure they will launch in markets where they are expected or projected to sell more vehicles given time,materials and location constraint
      Further more they have setup an assembly plant there, so its easier to launch there first

Every business would love to launch worldwide simultaneously pleasing everyone
      But to achieve that sort of launch will be equivalent to an epic legendary proportion feat

Instead of QQ-ing like you, I at least donated my 0.0002 cents worth of opinion to you
      Kthnxbai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Albert on May 26, 2016 at 6:46 am

Wayang,u r wrong.
        They did not set up assembly plant there in indonesia.
        Toyota has manufacturing plants there.
        UMW has assembly plant here.2019 the “manufacturing plant” near Klang only by then would be ready.
        Tho the sales volume is double in Indonesia,remember their population is 7 times that of Bolehland.250 million versus 35 million.

• wayang on May 26, 2016 at 11:05 am

Since you so want to be right
          You are right
          So tell me what is Karawang Plant I and Karawang Plant II is doing if not manufacture and assemble ?

So?
          Population doesn’t translate to sales
          It only tells you the potential
          I did a comparison of SOLD vehicles so that you cant twist

Since you are telling me they got 7 times the population like I didnt know already then why cant Toyota launch in a country where they got more potential first?

• Wayang on May 26, 2016 at 2:38 pm

The problem here is UMW.
            The sales have gone to Honda.
            My son is waiting for Toyota warranty parts ,5 weeks already.They dont even call to inform.
            Their technical after sales service sucks.
            When u call at 4pm on Thursday,the HQ lady is having prayers.At 5.20pm,only she returned call.
            Is this world class Toyota?
            They have a “letih,bang” mentality.
            Disgusting.

• Because Indonesian population 200million. Malaysia berapa? 30million? The market in Indonesia is much much bigger.

• John is otak batu on May 26, 2016 at 2:35 am

Toyota does not need to catch up with Honda in Malaysia. For what?

Toyota Malaysia consistently sells 90-100k new cars every year. Honda did not steal from them, it was proton that hugely affected.

Toyota is still world no. 1 (OK, VW beat them in 2016 Q1) which is way beyond what Honda is capable off. Go do some reading on.

• You’d better check your facts. Toyota’s sales was 104k in 2014 but only managed 96k in 2015. That’s an 8% drop in a growing TIV. Don’t get me started on 2016 sales.. Passenger cars already lost to humble Nissan

• John is otak batu on May 26, 2016 at 8:27 pm

You dunno how to read? I wrote 90-100k. The figure can go up and can go down. But it is nevertheless consistent.

• farghmee on May 26, 2016 at 10:45 am

think +ve my fren.

i always like my car to be the last revision, rather than the earlier revision.

• Silthice on May 25, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Previously 5+2, now 2+5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • DPCraft on May 25, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Honda wants their HR-V taillights back, and also civic 10th gen taillights back from Toyota CH-R.

• Coffin for 7? Nirvana says, yes pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rr on May 26, 2016 at 7:56 am

Perodua produce low cost vehicle with good build quality. Proton produce expensive junk that need to stay at SC the whole day.. Thanks to Comporn Engine & CVT bising Punch Powertrain gearbox

• I rather spend time in workshop than early time in nirvana. what about u?

• Same L0rr on May 27, 2016 at 8:24 am

Proton Saga & Proton Persona, Proton Satria also no VSC maa.. Proton also moving coffin maa plus spend time at workshop..

• Alson P on May 26, 2016 at 3:05 pm

RIP…..

• Wiwiwiwiw on May 25, 2016 at 10:01 pm

Habis la Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • said perodua wants to make a sedan, now mpv maybe.
    even proton does 3 cars at the same time.
    think malaysian nowadays got money to buy more car is it, even previous quarters says sales drop.

• sanisaad on May 26, 2016 at 8:49 am

Habis la nissan esp livina

• Toy yo-yo on May 26, 2016 at 9:16 am

Firstly, it should not be declared as ‘7 seater’ but ‘5+2’, since the 3rd row will only fit small children.
    I just wonder what is the ANCAP rating for this car? Assuming that it will reach our shores in the future. Or is it purely for Indonesian market?

• iskhalifah (Member) on May 26, 2016 at 11:57 am

Hope this car wont find its way in Malaysia. For Indonesian market, it does make sense, as the middle class is growing at rapid pace. Seems to be direct competitor for Mobilio and Go+.

For the Malaysian market Alza, I do really hope its going to be Sienta-derivative one, not this super entry level model. Heck, Sienta is already entry level MPV in Japan that is quite popular there.

• iskhalifah (Member) on May 26, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Another thought, since the upcoming Perodua sedan is likely to be based on Axia.. and this one is also based on Axia, can we conclude that the front face can be a hint of Perodua’s upcoming small sedan? I can’t imagine how Perodua could design a good looking rear-end C-pillar profile & butt for a rather ‘tallish roofline yet smallish wheel’ hatchback body. The side profile may end up awkward like the upcoming Persona.

• nabill (Member) on May 26, 2016 at 12:28 pm

That engine though…. Power comes only after 6k rpm…:) that 3rd row is made to carry extra ppl to get down and push it through…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Goldie on May 26, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Later version of VW Camper with 1.4L had 78bhp, 124NM torque, and it wad a much larger vehicle, though 0-100 Kph in 23′. Maybe we are demanding too much performance from a family runabout. Good for picking up and sending kids to school. With that performance figure, VSC is redundant, but needs more side impact and anti roll over protection. Front and curtain airbags should suffice.