Sarawak needs RM28.4 bil for 4,400 km of new roads

AppleMark

AppleMark

The Sarawak government says it is looking to build 4,402 km of new roads in the state by 2030, but will need funding to the tune of RM24.8 billion to accomplish the task, Bernama reports.

Deputy chief minister Tan Sri Dr James Jemut Masing said that the proposed roads – which aims to connect more than 1,000 existing roads and all 5,000 settlements in the state – would require RM1.9 billion a year to build for every 338 km if they are built within the 14-year period at the projected cost.

“Whether the government has the money to build those roads or not is another question. But out of interest I am telling you that Sarawak alone collects approximately RM2 billion a year in goods and services tax (GST), while we need RM1.9 billion a year to build the roads until 2030,” Masing told reporters.

He ventured that GST was a good means for the government to collect funds for infrastructure development to compensate for the low price of oil and gas. “You can see the connection there, that if we keep the money collected from GST we have more than enough to fulfil our dream of connecting the whole of Sarawak. We have the money, but do we have the political will to influence the (federal) government to allow that to happen,” he added.

He said that a proper discussion will be held on whether some of the GST money could be used to build the roads, adding that he would bring up the matter for discussion with the state government. “The spirit to fight for what is required by Sarawak is important and I am sure the federal government will appreciate that and will understand the need for us to develop,” Masing stated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Chief Meanister on May 26, 2016 at 9:52 am

For the ex-CM to drive his new birthday gift Bentley … whist Sarawakians still live without electricity and piped water… hurrah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • Tak happy, pukul Najix lah! on May 26, 2016 at 9:58 am

Najib can donate this road with all corrupted money return.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Najib alredi donated 1000km wangan. Oppo politikus bila lagi? Duit dari US tak mau pakai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • frossonice on May 26, 2016 at 9:58 am

It was revealed during Sarawak Election that Sarawak has a reserves of about RM20 billions. Use part that money to fund the development la. Don’t keep harping that Malaya is not helping them or plundering their wealth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Panjang on May 26, 2016 at 10:08 am

What about road maintenance cost in the long run?
    Hopefully with the added connectivity, the collections will also increase in tandem to increased maintenance costs.
    But to increase collections in GST, there needs to be increased consumption which can only come from increased population.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on May 26, 2016 at 6:22 pm

The thing about our Gov is build then ignore. And this statement:

“Whether the government has the money to build those roads or not is another question. But out of interest I am telling you that Sarawak alone collects approximately RM2 billion a year in goods and services tax (GST), while we need RM1.9 billion a year to build the roads until 2030″

explains everything. In other words, they never leave any money for maintenance. No wonder our political funds seems to be running on donations, they never save for rainy days. Such pity…

• UMW TOYOTA on May 26, 2016 at 10:18 am

sarawakian havent ready for the ubah.. 1tangki 10kg rice then undi jibby..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • Painter on May 26, 2016 at 10:20 am

Boleh, but make sure after that the road tax is raised.

• ae101 on May 26, 2016 at 10:31 am

End of day will the cost soar up to 40bil?

• Lulla on May 26, 2016 at 10:43 am

Does make roads made by gold so pls take from Ex cm taib top corrupt in the world yuk

• 28.4 bil half go to corruption.

• Proton Oh Proton on May 26, 2016 at 11:57 am

Don’t come to SEMENANGJUNG for donation. We are poor here.

• orang biasa on May 26, 2016 at 12:26 pm

kurang makan “extra mealss$ss”.
    When reach 2030, lagi cakap tunggu funding $28.4b x2, baru boleh buat project

• applegreen on May 26, 2016 at 2:26 pm

that amount for 4,400km road equals to RM6mil per km. Judging by the photos above, i dont see that road quality acceptable for RM6.5mil per kilometre

• Andas on May 26, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Rubbish la u.. ur statement just by simple math and photo (not photos)..

• over here we pay for everything and we get peanut over there they just enjoy they life and have everything free. Our gorverment licking their balls

• Josh Ling on May 26, 2016 at 3:30 pm

excuse me, but fyi, we sarawak is the biggest supplier of petroleum in malaysia for the last few decades until this very day, every year contributes hundreds of billions to petronas and government…..it’s not too much to ask for 1.9 billion per year in return, is it?

and fyi, we are the actual ones who eat peanuts here…..come to sarawak and see for yourself.

• Hellhole1973 on May 30, 2016 at 10:03 pm

Well you Sarawakians are free to come and work here in KL. Are we allowed the same treatment?

• Andas on May 26, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Wanna free then migrate to srwk la..

• Henry Ford the XII on May 26, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Spend more on public transport facilities (which dont necessarily need to use roads) please.
    Fossil fuel is non-renewable energy.

• Peninsular Boy on May 26, 2016 at 6:12 pm

untung la sarawakian got their free road highway etc.. thanks to their great minded leader..federal cant say no anymore to you guys.. We ? expecting another hike on PLUS..

• Raja Mongkol II on May 26, 2016 at 7:06 pm

I bet the rm28 billion will wax lots palm of cronies…

Govt project always bloated, overpaid, delayed, below standard, and surely brings fat profit the cronies….

• Robert Parameswaran Kuppusamy on May 26, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Ultimately, Sarawak and Sabah need their fair share of monetary incentives for development. But then again, nothing is ever going to happen. So, just get a trusty Land Rover and kit it up to make the road trip tolerable.

• Democracy on May 26, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Smart move. Use west to cover east

• Ootai on May 26, 2016 at 11:17 pm

Contractors are keeping their fingers crossed. Privitisation or nego-tender? You scratch my back, I massage your back, ma.

• $$$$ kaching!! $$$