Nissan GT-R Nismo facelift: improved looks, handling

160527-02-02-1200x800

The covers have been pulled off the new, facelifted 2017 Nissan GT-R Nismo – the high-performance version of the already monstrous Godzilla receives little in the way of mechanical alterations, but has instead been given a thorough cosmetic makeover to match the standard model.

At the front, the revised, larger V-motion grille sits front and centre, pooling more air without sacrificing aerodynamic performance, while new canards add downforce and also direct air around the wheelhouses to improve aero efficiency. Quad round tail pipes also replace the oval units of the previous model. Overall, the new shape produces more downforce than any other Nissan model to date.

Inside, there’s the completely revised dashboard from the standard facelift, with a new wraparound design for a more cockpit-like feel. On the Nismo, the dashboard, steering wheel and centre armrest have all been wrapped in Alcantara, while leather-wrapped Recaro carbon fibre bucket seats have been carried over from the previous car.

A new infotainment system with an eight-inch capacitative touchscreen – integrated navigation and audio controls reduce the button count from 27 on the previous model to just 11, while a new Display Command knob on the redesigned carbon fibre transmission tunnel make controlling the system even easier.

Under the skin, the standard GT-R facelift’s stiffer bodyshell has enabled engineers to refine the Nismo’s dampers, springs and anti-roll bar, improving the handling still further – contributing to a near 2% improvement in both slalom times and cornering performance over the previous model. As before, the Bilstein DampTronic system get Nismo-specific dampers that transmits power more effectively to the road.

That power is unchanged from before – still breathing through GT3-spec high-flow, large-diameter twin turbochargers, the 3.8 litre VR38DETT V6 develops 600 PS at 6,800 rpm and 652 Nm from 3,600 to 5,600 rpm, sent through all four wheels through a six-speed dual-clutch transmission.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• UMW TOYOTA on May 27, 2016 at 8:45 pm

FT86 or Ae86 will beat this in japan touge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
    • rando on May 27, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Stupid guy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • UMW TOYOTA on May 27, 2016 at 10:24 pm

ae86vs r34..check youtube…tsuchiya ae86

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • aaron on May 29, 2016 at 2:35 pm

bro there is a huge difference between r34 and r35. But what you said is probably plausible because on a tight road horsepower doesnt really matter because lightweight and handling are the most important aspects. Will not be surprised if they are very close to each other on touge. :D .

• mohdfaiz88 on May 29, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Why not compare with r35?

• BOYRACER on May 27, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Now,no matter how i like this car but i feel that this car has been facelifted many times since its debut.
    I guess an all new model should be in the cards?
    Is it P1 copying Nissan or vice versa with facelifts and special edition?
    Still a fantastic car though.

• I cannot afford but still is boring to even looking at it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • 3 times faster 0-100 than your beloved proton suprima turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Annd its 6 times more expensive. I expect it to be 6 times faster. So whats ur point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • UMW TOYOTA on May 28, 2016 at 1:23 pm

6 times faster drop in RV compare to my vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • I dun think nismo GTRs will ever drop in price. Probably since its limited, it will only go up for mint unit.

• Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 9:04 am

But our Ministers say Proton better than Volvo and BMW. So our Proton much better than this Nissan I presume.

Syukurlah john!

• 3 times faster & almost everything better :)

• Fact 2 on May 30, 2016 at 10:32 pm

It’s not 6 times more expensive in Langkawi. So whats your point?

• 1 of the Beast…..

• Gismo on May 28, 2016 at 10:06 am

Nice Ride !!!

• Dok sajo on May 28, 2016 at 4:29 pm

The great grandfather of almera

• If only almari had even 10% design element from this beast, it will be a gud car. Now its just dugong 2.0

• almera nismo sees a gtr will also pretend like driving gtr nismo…

• Vince Tay on Jun 06, 2017 at 1:33 am

How to buy gtr? I am looking for this car seller but I can’t find. This car price how much ? Anybody tell me