Proton is not a failed company – Mustapa Mohamed

Mustapa

Despite penning a very critical statement regarding Proton’s myriad problems last month, international trade and industry minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed has said that national carmaker is not a failed company. The federal minister told Parliament that although the national carmaker has received RM13.9 billion in aid of various forms, its contributions to the nation is worth a whole lot more.

As reported by The Malay Mail, Mustapa said in a written reply that Proton has contributed around RM24 billion in taxes since 1985, and created over 12,000 jobs for Malaysians. Furthermore, over 500 supporting firms have been created in the automotive industry thanks to Proton.

“It is not true to say that Proton is a failed company. This is because since its establishment, Proton has contributed a lot to the country and given benefit to the industry,” he said. The aid for Proton is in the form of grants, tax exemptions and other non-fiscal assistance, Mustapa added.

In April, the minister released a statement declaring that Proton’s business model is not sustainable, and that the company will need to improve drastically. The company has been approved for a RM1.5 billion soft loan to aid in its recovery efforts, which Mustapa said recently is well on track.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• accord owner on May 27, 2016 at 10:56 am

Nak lancar perdana (accordana) pun lembab.. dah nak abis Q2 dah..memang fail lah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • Jln ipoh on May 27, 2016 at 4:54 pm

not yet a failed company. but soon..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
      • are you fortune teller? on May 27, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Now you have failed comment there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
        • Cheerios on May 27, 2016 at 5:07 pm

what is 1.5B.

when Malaysia can afford 2.6B for 1 single individual..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
          • W T Fuchhh on May 27, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Proton may not be a failed company yet…….but Bn is definitely a failed gomen. Shit on Bn.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
          • Every1canTalk on May 27, 2016 at 7:53 pm

If the company is healthy, why it need 1.8billion for recovery plan? Just ask yourself on this simple question and it answer you. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • not a failed company is just a corrupted company and blaming the rakyat for not supporting national car brand….. #malysiaboleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • topkek on May 27, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Spyshots kereta lain belambak dalam PT kau tak bash pulak

Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Dear goverment of Malaysia, you help Proton, next PRU u might win big. Hidup Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • When it come to proton news,the comments very long until no more screen to scroll.hahaha.I guess people can’t wait to buy new saga,persona.. Perdana too if cheaper than 100k

• OMG…hahaha, ya P1 never failed to provide cronies $$$..lol.

• 1MDB was extremely success as a laundering machine!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • Tong Sampah on May 27, 2016 at 10:57 am

AHAHHAHAHAAHAHAHHAHAHA!!!

Yup, it successfully conned billions from rakyat how can it be failure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on May 27, 2016 at 11:01 am

benefit 12000 at the expense of millionsothers….kipidap dongibab beriburibu tahniah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • jambansemi on May 27, 2016 at 4:59 pm

And they had paid more than loss, kipidap dongibab beriburibu tahniah atas komen taik anda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
  • Muthu Same is back on May 27, 2016 at 11:01 am

Proton does have some flaws , especially with borrowing from government loan and using tax papers money . I don’t see P2 using needing any aid , but that because of daihtsu platform . However over the years , proton did wake up and is improving their quality , safety and design. Hopefully they will be able to turn into a profit asap , if not I don’t think the government will bailout them the next time .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
    • ikan bilis on May 27, 2016 at 5:44 pm

wake up? the whole p1 setup is for the cronies suppliers…that is the most important for p1, as using shitty policy to
      1) inflated all car price
      2) household income majority % to car
      and the by product?
      3) tol, tol tol!
      4) we dont have decent public transport improvement for decades
      5) more bad debt due to subprime loan to boost car sale

and the winner..? cronies suppliers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • crash on May 27, 2016 at 8:26 pm

It is not true that Proton has wake up. From the exterior , the design has gotten better over the years so does safety. However, there is 1 most important thing that Proton has been doing the same for decades… which is their “tidak apa, tidak peduli, tidak payah” attitude in their after sales service. QC is almost non-existent. If Malaysia has lemon law implemented, Proton long time bungkus already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • spongewai on May 27, 2016 at 11:01 am

who care??! Just close the company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • applegreen on May 27, 2016 at 11:02 am

Bila Tun sudah keluar barulah muncul komen-komen sebegini daripada pak menteri

• Walter on May 27, 2016 at 11:02 am

Proton gets 1.5b loan and tax exemption…how come when Rakyat buy Proton no tax exemption….Rakyat pay all the taxes…govt collect Tax…gives loan !!!!!!

• Betol Tak? on May 27, 2016 at 11:18 am

Yes true, Perodua is a successful company.

• Yes, that’s true. It isn’t a failed company. It employs thousands of Malaysians that create the key middle-class in Malaysia. It has created an eco-system that plays in the automotive sector across the region.
    But for all intents and purposes, it is a FAILED CARMAKER. It failed to forecast the trend curve for its main markets, let alone its foreign ones. It failed to leverage on its early protected position to create a niche and develop competitive products. It failed to leverage of subsidies hand-fed to it to gain any advantage over true carmakers that competed on a very non-level playing field (and won!).
    But that is not to say it cannot be one. But as they say, if you do the same thing over and over again and yet expect different results… well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • ikan bilis on May 27, 2016 at 5:48 pm

middle class? LOL…you are delusional or what? the middle class house hold income is whip out because of proton policies that inflated the car price unnecessary

eco system for the region? LOL…which region? malaysia region itself?

• OMG you never see used cars are wayyy much cheaper than p1 new unit

• Maybe ikan bilis should do some reading. EP Manufacturing and a host of other vendors make parts for Toyota, Honda and even Perodua for use in the region. It is part of the ASEAN FTA that was signed some years ago.
        Their problem is PROTON. The margins with PROTON are low, and ironically, some of these vendors went regional when that happened. Survival of the fittest, I guess.
        Yes there’s some cronyism, but for the regional accounts, the vendors depend purely on quality and efficiency.

• yes, proton is not a failed company in only malaysia.

• Jaded on May 27, 2016 at 11:35 am

Fine. But is it then a successful company based on the given statistics?

• Isn’t him the same person that said TPPA is good for the country?

• Henry on May 27, 2016 at 11:44 am

Tell that to the Marines.

• Proton also contribute huge household debts. Look how successful auto industry in thailand is doing, still thx to proton ? utterly RUBBISH statement from brainless minister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • hanjina on May 27, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Debts oso bash p1? Lol, you really believe biar papa asal gaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • rosmah on May 27, 2016 at 11:52 am

just imagine if there is no duty imposed on cars. rough calculation, let say on average p1 sells 60k/year with 30 years existence, duty paid for each car is RM11k. Saga is sold at rm35k, minus duty becomes rm24k. So what is cost of producing a Saga? Need to sell more volume to get profit (doubt this is going to happen) or buy cheap material to cost down most likely. p1 pays to gov, gov must give loan back lah. never ending cycle. in the end, consumer is hurt by this business model. low quality cars, high unjustified duty, one failed national brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Medic on May 27, 2016 at 11:53 am

Sweden has population of <10 million and producing their own vehicle doesnt sound economical. yet volvo is known worldwide. Maybe proton should copy their business model.

• Gargantia on May 27, 2016 at 11:55 am

Proton not a failed company, m’sia not a failed state and BN not a a failed government said by BN ministry…. BN supporters keep being blinded. (End of story)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • When Tun M was still the chairman, there were constant attacks from BN-controlled media on Proton and sounded as if the government wanted Proton to close down. Now, after he resigned they are singing a different tune.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • LOK CHYI YEU on May 27, 2016 at 12:13 pm

For its scale and the amount of year it has been in the industries….. i would said it fail seriously.
    Compare it to other vehicle manufacturer worldwide it fail seriously.

• Silthice on May 27, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Actually Proton wasted a lot of money on REEV and EV projects plus some other concepts and projects that are not feasible in the first place. Too much focus on sedan till today is a wrong strategy as well. No successful car business that just focus on sedan after 30 years. Proton require a ceo that able to fulfill the customer demand rather than some “individuals” demand. Even those “individuals” are not going to ride/drive proton as their daily transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • What is the diffrent of fail company and bangkrap company? Is minister stupid or maybe we are make by the minister to be stupid ?

• Baldwin on May 27, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Gov assistance since 1985….and after 31 years STILL asking for money, even local market share also lose out to P2. How’s that NOT a failed company?
    Please stop the shameless drain on our country’s resources and tax payers money

• Proton Oh Proton on May 27, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Remove AP, be competitive quality and price with Sushi car or Kimchi pun ok la…

• pr1 oh pr1 on May 29, 2016 at 10:53 am

agreed. let see afterwards if proton supporters will stick to buy their beloved proton cars

• protonandcontilover on May 27, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Indeed true..im not saying Proton are perfect but they are getting there. and also quoting from Mahathir statement on “We need opposition party to reflect and feedback to us for our doings” I think with compelling pressure, has and will be at Par for Korean , Japanese quality.

• Burong on May 27, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Proton has helped to increase billions profit in tax column directly and indirectly. Government tax national and non national car heavily because of Proton.

Proton has helped to create job opportunity and a lot of supporting companies for parts and labor supply. This is a monopolize supply chain causing Proton to be not competitive once out from Malaysia.

Simple mathematics, RM24billion tax – RM13.9billion government aid, you still have RM10billion income. So government is hinting Proton should continue to stay in the industry, if any issue, government will back them up. Just like 1MDB.

• t2357s on May 27, 2016 at 12:27 pm

I see someone taking a page out of Jib Gor’s book

• Lets face it, it would be a failed company if it wasnt for protectionist policies. 10 years for a head start, ok lah, but how long has it been?

• Black Dog on May 27, 2016 at 12:48 pm

He is a perfect example of a flip-flop politician representing a flip-flop government. Malaysia boleh!

• Right…….I guess the Minister and his inner circle of ‘influential industrials’ can go on believing in the stated Hubris…..While the Country’s taxpayers go on bearing the brunt of the our beloved Automobile Manufacturer, P1…..Bottomline, the common man pays for the foibles of the powerful & wealthy….Typical!!

• Vincent Ang on May 27, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Ya right. Hanya tengah nazak. Kept alive with MALAYSIAN taxpayers money.

• Pullover on May 27, 2016 at 1:25 pm

He guaranteed speak from ass always.speechless I’m n whole world laughing on malaysia bez of this govt.God help us to get rid off with this non competent corrupt govt

• How is that not a failed company when one

– degrade the quality and swap with inferior quality
    – when one sell overseas with cheaper price and better quality
    – when one cannot sell overseas and cry to Malaysian for support
    – when one is protected by government policies and yet cannot offer better values/deals than its competitor during sale.
    – when service centers and it’s front desk are disappointing (Still waiting for your promised free car collection for service)
    – When one created Proton solely to feed cronyism and benefits a select few to enrich themselves which is why they can only offer their product to Proton and no other car manufacturers want them.

And so on and on and on.

• Henry on May 27, 2016 at 1:35 pm

What is so clever about sucking money from the rakyat? Any HP6 Gomen can create a captive market by protectionism policies, but there is a price to pay. Export to the world and wallop the likes of Toyota, Honda or Ford. Be a Juara Dunia lah.

• Kunta Kinte on May 27, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Mustapa penning a very critical statement last month was actually “drama” to excite the rakyat into thinking the Government is neutral and not attached to Proton in anyway. Mustapa did “Drama Minggu Ini” to show the rakyat that if Proton does not turn around, Government will take action. We all know, 30 years Government secretly support Proton 100%
    This all drama lah. The truth is, Proton has been a big burden to Malaysians since 1985, for 31 years, every Malaysian has suffered so much because of Proton.

Proton was created in the spirit of giving cheap cars to Malaysians. That was the original idea. That was what Mahathir said when he officiated Proton in 1985 and launced the Proton Saga 1.3S and 1.5 istimewa.

At that time, a brand new Nissan Sunny 130Y or a Toyota Corolla was RM20k. From 1985 to 2016, every year, Government has raised all car prices slowly and gradually to such a level that it protects Proton completely.

In overseas and in every market of the world, Toyota Corolla and Nissan Sunny the past 30 years, have not gone from RM20k to RM140k. That is 7 fold. Only in Malaysia, it has registered 7 fold.

In every market in the world, the Toyota Corolla and Nissan Sunny has just doubled (2X) in cost from 1985 to 2015 due to normal inflationary factors.
    So, Proton is actually a failure cause, it has made 30 million Malaysians suffer for 30 years paying overpriced car prices in Malaysia because our Government wants to protect Proton. We all know, Honda, Toyota and Nissan are strictly told to price their cars at least Rm20k to RM30k more expensive than Proton by MITI. This is no big secret.

Proton has NOT contributed anything to the nation but made 30 million people suffer. If the past 30 years we bought Japanese cars like Nissan Sunny and Toyota Corolla, 30 million people also will be paying taxes to the Government. So, what is the big deal about Proton paying taxes? Infact, Malaysians would have contributed more than RM24 billion in taxes!

Don’t forget also, Proton may have given RM24 billion in taxes BUT it has sucked more from the Government. RM13.9 billion is the official figure. The “real” official figure is probably double or triple that! You know I know.

Proton has created 12,000 jobs? Well, because of Proton, we lost our lead in the car race to be the Detroit of Asia. Malaysia was about to be the Detroit of Asia in the 80s and 90s. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. But because of Proton, they all got fed up and opened in Thailand making it the Detroit of Asia. We lost not only TRILIONs in factory investments, we also lost hundreds of thousands of jobs for local Malaysians. Maybe up to 1 million jobs. Today, about 1 million people are employed in the automotive sector in Thailand and they are handsomely paid very very well!

Fikirlah 12,000 jobs vs 1 million jobs. Fikirlah Mus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Wrong. You cannot that prices so low even in 1985. Where do you pick it up? From sky?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Neutral on May 28, 2016 at 9:22 am

Kunta kunte is absolutely correct. I bought a Sunny 130Y in August 1984 for the price of RM 18,500. I remembered paying Rm8.5k and took a 10K loan at a rate of 10%. Paying Rm300 plus for three years.

• Even in Thai now cars are not that cheap neither, and that’s without p1 protektion!

Why go for 1980’s prices? It is totally invalid

• contributed to high taxes for all cars in Malaysia, thank you legacy of Tun.

• not that John on May 27, 2016 at 1:59 pm

YB MM is a man full of positive energy! I totally agreed with him.
    Proton is not a failed company, they are losing money only.
    Proton is not a failed company, give them another 30 yrs to restructure.
    Proton is not a failed company, their quality is actually on par or better than cars produced in India or China.
    Proton is not a failed company, some said they are BMW of the ASEAN.

• takNakP1 on May 27, 2016 at 2:08 pm

yeah… on track until 1.5 bil finish.
    or 1.5 on track to the sea.

• Albert on May 27, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Datuk,
    Tell the rakyat after 1.5 B bailout,what has transpired?
    Any retrenchment?
    Any new launching?
    Any improvement in sales?
    All enjoying your special Roti Jala.
    All suppliers having 7 star hotel celebrations.
    dont fool us anymore.
    We score straight As for our exams.Not like your Proton dudes who only know how to ask for everlasting perlindungan.
    DRB is being bailed out using public funds while their Honda sales are blooming.Shambolic.

• ByeMalaysia on May 27, 2016 at 2:21 pm

no comments here? or all has it been flagged ?

• sabahan on May 27, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Not fail, and should not fail
    only if you not take so much candies and ruin the quality of your product

• nabill (Member) on May 27, 2016 at 2:38 pm

honestly , im here for the comments!

• Bashing party and hatred in 3…2….1….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • lawakhambar on May 27, 2016 at 2:46 pm

whatever related to the government, always a NO or NOT.

• Same L00 on May 27, 2016 at 2:51 pm

As I said long time ago:

Proton won’t fall before the government fall…
    Government won’t fall before Malaysian fall…

One way or other, we Malaysians everyone is feeding Proton…

• Same L0rr on May 27, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Proton is snediri cakap, sendiri syiok punya company.. Engine Camporn & CVT bising Punch Powertrain!

• BananaSkin on May 27, 2016 at 2:57 pm

ho..ho..ho.. not failed but trashed and turned into rubbish or waste.

• Not a failed company, yet

• hazrol on May 27, 2016 at 3:20 pm

hah proton bashers! what are you waiting for?

• I see this is going to be a long weekend with a lot of proton bashing, thousands of comments & dislikes. Happy weekend to you all…

• Barry on May 27, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Its not a fail company, but doom to fail with cronies taking the front seat.

• of course not a failed company.
    A failed company is when they cannot plunder from it anymore.

• Atair on May 27, 2016 at 5:05 pm

It’s not a failed company. It’s a hopeless company. Fail at least still can save. But hopeless is beyond hope. It’s a disgrace that the gomen have to discuss and tell Malaysians that Proton is not a failed company. It’s like kneeling down on the floor and begging Malaysians to change our mind and tells us what’s not. Really disgrace and shameful to the max. Thanks to you Proton you deserve your utter poor sales and poor image and product branding you have today. You bring this to yourself. We Malaysians are innocent souls victimised by your crap junk cars and poor aftersales service. I really pray you can become extinct ASAP. Your presence in this country really disgust many many Malaysians. Malaysians do not deserve your treatment like this.

• leong on May 27, 2016 at 6:05 pm

5 star NCAP rating you said it is junk?
      You want 100 star ar?

• adli hussein on May 27, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Still dont get it why is the govt nak menyampuk into the daily operations of Proton when DRB is the major shareholder of P1.
    If no money then let TS Syed Mokhtar and DRB cough out the money. Why is the govt providing 1.5 to pay off their suppliers?
    By giving tongkat everytime P1 runs into trouble will never see improvements in P1 for another 30 years. That is why finding a strategic foreign partner is important.
    Look at P2 , learn from their success. Bercukurlah! !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • p2macai on May 27, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Yeah, success from sending people to afterlife way faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Wan amran on May 27, 2016 at 6:19 pm

People like u envy the success of others.
        Only know how to bad mouth & see the negative side. So spiteful!!
        Learn from their success .
        Why the hatred?? Your mum died in a P2?

• Rusmah on May 27, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Mus, my good boy!
    Pls continue to “educate” bangsat.
    More more mani come!

• nabill (Member) on May 27, 2016 at 5:55 pm

its not run properly , when u get to sell 5k-6k cars per month u canot be a failure..put it this way , let p1 top management manage toyota/honda for one month,ONLY ONE MONTH! we all be saying RIP toyota/Honda !

• if every month use you money cover up the loss i think u tomorrow u close the company already..u loss we pay the dept..this is the way u run a ‘not a failed company’.

• hamtaro on May 27, 2016 at 6:53 pm

This minister already been known to talk cock, sing song, all day long.

So, what he said is just has….zero substance.

• Pakulupapito on May 27, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Its sad to see a nice company with good workers that have lot of potential ruined by shitty decision makers.

• Vincent on May 28, 2016 at 12:04 am

Ya..not failed company…should add a “BIG” on it!

• camtakpro on May 28, 2016 at 1:55 am

Proton is a successful company for promoting Thai auto industry.

• john is otak batu on May 30, 2016 at 10:59 am

puih… liar liar pants on fire

• RM13.9 billion? should have bought the entire BMW or Mercedes-Benz and rebadge…