SPIED: 2016 Honda Civic seen on trailer in Malaysia

civic-effie-1

It looks like the 2016 Honda Civic has begun rolling out to dealerships in Malaysia. These pix are thanks to paultan.org reader Effie Muzaffar, who spotted a trailer loaded with several units of the tenth-gen model on the highway. This could indicate that a local launch isn’t too far away.

Based on the images, we see the new Civic in different colours, including Dark Red Ruby Pearl and Crystal Black. We expect other popular colour options like White Orchid Pearl, Lunar Silver and more to join the palette as well at launch.

In our earlier report, a local dealer revealed that three variants of the Civic will be offered to buyers – a base 1.8, mid-spec 1.5 Turbo and top-spec 1.5 Turbo Premium. The latter was previewed during the My Auto Fest 2016 event, featuring chrome door handles, LED headlamps and 17-inch five-spoke, two-tone alloy wheels.

Though we can’t tell what headlamps are fitted due to the wrapping on the cars, the lack of chrome door handles indicate that none of these cars are the 1.5 Turbo Premium variant. However, the five-spoke, two-tone alloy wheels on six out of the seven cars seen here hint at the possibility that they are the mid-spec 1.5 Turbo variant.

As for the sole car with the shuriken-style wheel design, this is likely the 1.8L model. Said wheels look identical to that on the Civic 1.8 EL sold in Thailand.

As the variant names suggest, the base variant will be powered by the familiar 1.8 litre i-VTEC naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine making 141 PS at 6,500 rpm and 174 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. The Turbo variants get the new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo mill that kicks out 173 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm. Both engines are paired to a continuously variable transmission (CVT).

Regardless of variant, the Civic will come with six airbags and an eight-way powered seat as standard. The 2016 Honda Civic is set to be launched in Malaysia in Q2 2016, with the bookings already open for the C-segment model. With this new information, will you rushing to put in your order for the new Civic?

If you need further insights, do check out our review of the new Civic in Chiang Mai, Thailand, where we tried out both the NA and turbo versions.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic previewed in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• nabill (Member) on May 27, 2016 at 7:21 pm

Every civic on that trailer is sold!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
    • Same L00 on May 27, 2016 at 8:48 pm

It still has less RV compared with Altis. Luxury car is still my Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 101
      • Altis kiok on May 28, 2016 at 5:42 am

Nothing less to say only keep mentioning RV.. Admit your altis bad defeat lah same loo.Your altis just only a car with for tyre,nothing special about it.After this UMW slashing 20k for altis to counter civic dominance.Whoever buy altis,the car depreciate deeper a minute u place a booking fee,not even register yet.hohoho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • Boring PHilips Muttu on May 29, 2016 at 10:00 am

Nice car, no politic comment pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 9:02 am

I don’t see any politic comment. Do you even understand how to read abang? Belajar baca dulu bang.

• All sold to dealers mah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
      • Albert on May 28, 2016 at 11:40 am

Tokok John,
        “sold to dealers mah” Honda
        What about sister company ,Protong?
        The stocks ,no dealer wants.
        Take a drive to their huge yards. in Shah Alam and Klang.
        All sunbathing until the interior plastics are at melting point.
        Its a shame.DRB should use Honda profits to finance Proton…..not asking for bailout.
        Shambolic DRB.Tak malu.Mentality pengemis moden.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
        • otak rosak on May 28, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Why suddenly potong?

• Becoz bashers takde modal lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Opefar on May 29, 2016 at 10:41 am

Lol john you made my day!

• Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 9:07 am

Why even bother buying a Civic? Our Ministers already said, our Proton is hgher quality than Volvo or BMW. Better buy Proton.

Our Ministers also said our UiTM is better than Oxford University in UK. Since Proton employs a lot of UiTM graduates, this would mean, there are super brains and super intellects developing Protons!

• Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 9:09 am

Why even bother buying a Civic? Our Ministers already said, our Proton is higher quality than Volvo or BMW. Better buy Proton.

I think it would be better we all forget this junk Civic and only buy Protons.

Our Ministers also said our UiTM is better than Oxford University in UK. Since Proton employs a lot of UiTM graduates, this would mean, there are super brains and super intellects developing Protons!

No wonder why Proton is selling globally so many cars and everybody is lining up to buy a Proton.

• vecko on May 30, 2016 at 5:02 pm

You changed nick everytime no use oso coz everybody know you

Just skip it from reading, too boring uninformative and junky comment

• Beware on May 29, 2016 at 10:43 am

Warning to civic 1.5T owners:
      Pls give way when u see a Ford Focus at ur back. That’s the real turbo warrior, that is no joke and u can never come near. CVT is a real joke and pls find the Altis to compete with..but not Focus
      And when u see Ford Mondeo 2.0T, pls keep left as the BMW 5-Series or Audi is at back chasing after it. Civic 1.5T is too young for it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • Test drove Ford Focus, at 150kmp, the car can feel goyang already..not stable at high speed..ahahaha

• lolol on May 30, 2016 at 1:13 pm

which idiot dealer let you go 150kph? lol. my mk3 focus 205kph feels like 100kph don’t bullshit me.

• Beware Rubbish nowhere to scrap on May 30, 2016 at 8:16 am

Sigh..as above

• Philippe L. on May 30, 2016 at 11:01 am

Buy Civic Type R la, apa u tunggu lagi?

• Ben Yap on May 30, 2016 at 12:15 pm

if you’re driving your BMW or Audi during traffic jam in KL City, please left because my Cervelo Road Bike is going to overtake you.

• Nice, but been there done that, movin on to higher segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Sewel on May 27, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Civic vs focus? On powerwise focus clearly win..my eyes on focus..im not type of bells and whistle..power is important

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
    • Shareez on May 27, 2016 at 8:40 pm

I think the cabin goes to the civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Pakulupapito on May 27, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Does the auto side parking of focus really works? I really want to try those. Btw my old mazda 3 smokes focus everytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Henry on May 28, 2016 at 9:28 am

The Focus’ roadholding is legendary. You only need to drive these two cars one after the other to notice the difference. But I must say the current Focus look a bit dated.

• looney on May 27, 2016 at 7:30 pm

160k … really ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • Ahmad on May 27, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Saw it on the way to NKVE. The new Civic totally bigger than previous Civic, more sportier and more aerodynamic. I would love to have one soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • If you are in PJ, why not give Ms Ashlee (comments below) a visit at her showroom. I am sure she will give you a helping hand (no pun intended).

• Again.. on May 27, 2016 at 7:47 pm

This non-sensing car again? nonsense in bolehland.. sad for for bolehland, safety feature is so minimal..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • Pakulupapito on May 27, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Put all the sensing you want but there are alot of gila driver who will render the so called sensing useless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Again by Janet Jackson on May 28, 2016 at 12:37 am

gila driver is everywhere, not just in bolehland. at least give us the option to install it. lanewatch also gone, so many things gone, what’s wrong with HM? gila $? u have funny tweets tho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • Henry on May 28, 2016 at 9:33 am

Why blame HM when the national auto policy and the shrinking RM are the main causes? HM can put everything in the car but will you pay 180k for a Civic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • Why blame Gov when it depends on brand holder what they wanna put (or in toyota’s case; what they wanna remove)? Just look at koreans, VW, Peugeot, which r competitively priced against jepunis but full with stuffs.

The truth is, Honda & Mazda r leading the change from jepunis moving coffins to a decent cars nowadays. Still miles better than toyota/ Die-hatsu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • Hunter Zolomon on May 28, 2016 at 10:59 am

But Bermaz can put many thing inside mazda 3 and still the price is just 124k high spec.

• Noobjohn, because their brand have value & consumer trust, proton gave everything ppl also donwan buy, you cant blame others but proton, automobile is not about who gave more spec only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Yeah. Im sure u prefer to proudly die in ur moving coffin than shamefully survive in a P1, right?

• The moving coffin you mean include saga, or the two airbag iriz

• Trustee on May 29, 2016 at 10:43 am

That is much better than VSCless myvi and axia. P1 did it job,.now it depends on people to give trust or not

• myvi vscless cannot accept, saga vscless keep quiet, altis top spec 7 airbag lowspec 2 airbag bash, iriz lowspec 2 airbag keep quiet, proton fanboys logic

• facto on May 30, 2016 at 7:56 am

Saga is derived from Savvy that’s too old for VSC while Myvi is new gen with countless facelifts. Saga will be replaced soon by Iriz sedan or new saga so who cares?

Iriz low spec got VDC, Myvi even high spec dun have, so? What’s your point?

• kakaka on May 30, 2016 at 8:18 am

Wah compare altis high spec with iriz lowspec kah?

Kahkahkah

• The Handmaiden by Park Chan-Wook on May 28, 2016 at 2:04 pm

That’s right, Mazada 3 full spec (and other korean brands) packed with safety features. HM takes these features out for Boleland, even for LaneWatch (crazy huh?), and then promote this stupid remote engine start (of course, it’s such a ‘safe’ feature).

Sad for Bolehland, stripped of so many safety features, even from the #1 non-national also don’t care about us and want $, $, $.. Time to switch from Bolehland to Greedyland.. (Disneyland also can depending on the context)

• But if u compare Hondas to the ubiquitous toyotas, it makes those moving coffins look like came out from Jurassic era.

• Disney is good on May 28, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Disneyland is a good one. This country is a laughing stock, so Disneyland is actually an apt metaphor.

• Noturbonobuy on May 29, 2016 at 10:45 am

Mazda no turbo, boring

• Next, bashers will say PT is being paid by Honda Jepunis to put up this article.

• Ikan bilis on May 28, 2016 at 10:03 am

What’s the problem with that as this is business?

• Becoz some pipu says PT is biased to certain brands even though its THEIR website and its THEIR prerogative to write what they wanna write w/o others dictating what direction shud PT do or dun do?

• BOYRACER on May 27, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Driven the 1.5l turbo but not sure which spec.Very smooth drivetrain.Nice interior.Between this and Focus,I choose Focus for its driver’s appeal.Between this and Altis maybe I take the Civic for its refinement and interior.

• Pakulupapito on May 27, 2016 at 9:22 pm

The closest rival to this civic is mazda 3, the best c segment car before the civic is out.

• Auta Toyota on May 28, 2016 at 5:46 am

But focus is more bad RV than altis.How? Same loo said RV is important.Mean civic overall winner

• Miss Ashlee Toh on May 27, 2016 at 8:59 pm

I am a Honda sales advisor at honda dealer in section 13 Petaling Jaya, Selangor . I am willing to give you good service and fast delivery of your honda car. please look for me. thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • 2016 will be otherwise known as year of the Honda. They can do now wrong with their impressive line up this year.

But that maroon colour, my goodness it sucks so bad.

• Pakulupapito on May 27, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Red, bright red should be better for a sporty car

• applegreen on May 30, 2016 at 11:56 am

Actually the colour is quite similar to Marsala, colour of the year 2015. But they tweaked a bit in the colour diagram and add metallic look, so it comes to dark ruby red

• Matchy on May 27, 2016 at 11:18 pm

Honda really obsessed with the Dark Ruby Red Pearl color…

• jclark on May 28, 2016 at 11:02 am

hurry some1 hijack that truck!! :D

• Ae101 on May 28, 2016 at 11:09 am

Another typical driver only know how to read paper spec.

• confirm chop here and there..

kononnya highest spec but in reality byk spec takeout by honda malaysia, and selling at highest possible price.

before this, HR-V.. (half leather seat, manual seat, no lane assist, no awd option.

harap2 new civic got something convenient like lane assist, power seat, auto start, collision mitigation system etc etc..

• Goofy on May 28, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Honda Civic base model 1.8L Auto RM95,888 to top spec 1.5L Turbo RM141,888. Proton Accord Dana 2.0L starting RM151,888 and 2.4L RM171,888. Proton we thank you for selling Accordana at this price because you will only sell 1 unit to that senile CB creator of this company and you can expedite to close down your lousy company. We pray Honda sales can hit 2nd spot this year with Toyota and Nissan trailing not far behind at 3rd and 4th spot and Proton can dive to the 5th spot with market share of 9%. We pray that Proton can sell 500 units of its car every month (8000 to sustain) so as to hasten it’s shut down and bankruptcy. Thank you Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Ini tersesat kes ni. kena panggil Lost & Found cari mak dia. tak tentu pasal pun boleh datang bash P1.

• Accordwin on May 29, 2016 at 10:47 am

Where did you pic 171k accordana, from sky?

• Not so smart on May 28, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Hi, anyone could enlighten me on what would the 1.5 turbo be equivalant to? In full power would it be like a 2.4 engine?

• DPCraft on May 28, 2016 at 6:04 pm

I will say very close, but turbo can deliver its power at lower RPMs. While 2.4 have slightly higher figures.
      Example:
      2.4 Honda CR-V(MY): 190Hp@7000 & 222Nm@4400
      2.4 Honda Accord(MY): 175Hp@6200 & 225Nm@4000

VS

1.5 Turbocharged Honda Civic: 173Hp@5500 & 220Nm@1700-550

Due to body weight, transmission & turbo, the 1.5T civic is definitely faster than the 2.4 Accord & CR-V

• rchoo on May 30, 2016 at 8:36 am

But then Accord definitely more stable due to its weight and road holding.

• Honda Accord 2.4L: 173 hp@6200 rpm, 225 Nm@4000 rpm. Honda 1.5L Turbo: 173 hp@5500 rpm, 220 Nm@1700-5500 rpm. Not only the new 1.5L Turbo matches the 2.4L in terms of output, the torque spread is flatter and wider as well. Which means the 1.5L Turbo is a more flexible engine with a strong mid-range.

• Megane on May 28, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Flatter or linear ? Hehe

• Going up is linear, flatter on the top.

• Max torque of 220Nm from 1700-5500 rpm. Flat torque curve resulting in linear acceleration, as opposed to peaky torque curve that results in the top-end rush of VTEC engines of yesteryear.

• nowonder on May 30, 2016 at 8:03 am

Patut la old Civic like snail, dun even reach max flat torque at 2000RPM

• GTi-R on May 29, 2016 at 1:46 am

These obsession about power is half-baked view. The gearbox is a CVT (duh!). The suspension setup is unknown but normal civic isnt the brighest in handling department. All these might lead to civic being a powerful yet a ‘soft’ car which is a disaster combo.

Remind me of Pirelli slogan…
        .”Power is nothing without Control”

• Goldie on May 29, 2016 at 6:07 pm

For pure driving fun, non turbo still better, can red line at 8000rpm . But burns lots more fuel. Modern turbo is a balance between thirst for power and economy. So small high output turbo engine is the way forward, except you need to do your own sound effect.

• Clearly you dun drive turbo cars, lol. No need to go 8000RPM, at 5000RPM ady smoke 8000 RPM non turbo car.

• Chill on May 29, 2016 at 1:03 am

John was technically correct to say all cars are sold to dealers because dealers need to order and buy from Honda Malaysia before HM even consider sending any car. Why the sudden roid rage?

• Honda Civic is a world-beater and the name is spoken in the company of hallowed brands in the West. This latest model is all the rage in the US especially. Congrats Japan and Honda.

• Will Mac on May 29, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Having sat in the civic- nice interior design but a bit plasticky, esp the controls on the s wheel. Loads of room in the back. This is the focus deal breaker, for me at least. Best spec is standard 1.5 turbo model with modulo wheels upgrade IMO ( in Thailand at least). Don’t even think about the noisy 1.8 option..

• Philippe L. on May 30, 2016 at 10:58 am

Everybody saw Civic using “CVT” then start talk like all CVTs are the same… You guys should see the review from YouTube, the CVT on the new civic is different.

• MiniALTOVWGL on May 30, 2016 at 11:01 am

Anyone notice the rear looks like a Toyota Prius and the side view looks like some old ford TX from 2 decades ago?