VW moves KL ASEAN purchasing office to Thailand

CKD_VW_Polo_1.6_review_Malaysia_ 057

Volkswagen has moved its ASEAN purchasing office from Kuala Lumpur to Thailand, the Bangkok Post reports. The new unit will be up and running in August at Scania’s assembly plant in Samut Prakan.

The decision to relocate to Thailand is a simple business one, as the Land of Smiles is home to about 700 companies that are suppliers to VW, compared to 200 in Malaysia, explained Noshir Desai, GM for procurement at VW’s ASEAN regional office.

VW shipped 136 million euros worth of auto parts from ASEAN to Wolfsburg last year, up 21%. Half of that total came from Thailand. This move puts VW closer to the majority of its vendors in the region. The European giant has operations in four countries in ASEAN – Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines.

The VW exec declined to give an update on future projects such as Thai eco-car development. VW was one of 10 applicants for the scheme, and the Kingdom’s Board of Investment had already approved the bid before it was hit by the “dieselgate” emissions-cheating scandal late last year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Running away?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • hoegarden on May 27, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Germans prefer Tomyum.

• drchan on May 27, 2016 at 10:52 pm

Despite all what you schoolboys have to say, do know that you still form the minority vote.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • European scammer on May 28, 2016 at 6:06 am

Dieselgate,Dsg problem,after sales & warranty.. VW can’t take the heat of Malaysian smelly mouth anymore while in Thailand,they curse with smile.Even angry man voice also sound like aqua.After scam Malaysian buyer,it’s turn to scam the vendor.Good luck

• timbuktu on May 30, 2016 at 5:16 pm

you obviously don’t use ur head when u talk. how would moving purchasing office to Thailand got to do about the bashing on VW in M’sia?

try using ur head next time.

• yeah x 3 on May 27, 2016 at 2:41 pm

GTFO with your scam warranty and shitty gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • what ever policies generated still can’t compete with thailand and this fact seems that they are much more advanced than us…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Same L00 on May 27, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Please move Proton HQ to Bangkok too. Malaysians are enough of junk car quality. The Proton staff need Thai massage as motivation also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 18
    • movingcoffin on May 27, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Junk car quality = moving coffin p2 cars. Move them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • yourmotherinhokkien on May 27, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Hey Sam Loo, why you refresh and press like so many times. Toyota not selling, so you got so much time to spend here, ah?

• Nama Sudah Busuk on May 27, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Another loss to Malaysia. So many companies are closing and moving to Thailand. not just automotive sector. Now Malaysia is nama busuk, worse name than African country.

Mat Salleh told me, he rather invest in Congo or Nigeria than invest in Malaysia where there is no law and order and corruption is the way of life here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 20
    • loler on May 27, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Lol Mat Saleh on drugs told you or Nigerian scammer? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • 2.6 Bilion on May 27, 2016 at 5:48 pm

WV once ecpected to be the highest achivement of conti car in SEA with affordable price.

saw many arrogant faces turn shy after – now proven they are no better than Proton.

please go away if you are not able to serve the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • Because worry of money laundering ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Barry on May 27, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Those who are involve in the industries incl our minister, Thanks so much for the wonderful job.
    More and more are leaving because of your excellent job.
    Who is next packing their bag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Better they go. We dun wanna be involved with dieselgate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
      • alldisc on May 27, 2016 at 5:58 pm

VW already left Malaysia once in the late 70s / early 80s and made a come back after 20 years or so. Will they run again and come back here in 2040?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • Nah! Better dun come back until they straighten their ethics, technology, and brand image.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
        • crimson light on May 27, 2016 at 11:04 pm

They never left. That shows you dont know anything. They just had change of dealership, several times. The last being Auto Dunia.

• camtakpro on May 28, 2016 at 1:59 am

Since when they left? It is just introduction of DSG and Malaysian suddenly think Polo TSi is BMW… until the scam of DSG and 5 yrs warranty wakes people up.

• Vidabeliu on May 27, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Move the WHOLE thing! Pack now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • alex chan on May 27, 2016 at 5:03 pm

good, better for them,,as wished by many bashers and haters here, go away
    ..eh why dont
    toyota/honda/nissan/ford/peugeot/renault/chinese cars/volvo/ go away from here too, as far as what i read here..all haters and bashers with pea brain mentality dear leader worshippers dont like those cars rite?
    hahaha..and we live here happily ever after with only proton & perodua
    Amen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • GTi-R on May 27, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Now baru la VW procurement people are near to majority of their vendors AND Thai world-famous red light district. Baru la enjoy..

• hamtaro on May 27, 2016 at 6:50 pm

VW, no point moving to any other countries, here, there far, near…….if the car that is sold is PROBLEMATIC. Ppl also can remember your shameful Dieselgate…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • kopiokaokao on May 28, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Good….our government prefer low end job…plant more kelapa sawit…tap more getah asli and be a penyamun and rob all your rich neighbor…after all they are still receiving donations….buying Hermes and cincin…happily sending their children to overseas full boarding and come back and rule your kids forever

• maslan on May 28, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Sigh, what have all the useless leaders been doing to make the country progress?

• Unforgiven on May 28, 2016 at 4:02 pm

We should be the head office for ASEAN, we should be the one with brain in this region. Please don’t go away, I would like to see KL being the power house!

• superbird #43 on May 28, 2016 at 9:24 pm

vw wont be able to compete with bmws and mercs here.
    so, leaving malaysia is best for the business imo.

• OK la. VW procurements go, Toyota new plant come.

Once upon a time when people see VW, all say good quality. Having experienced it now you know la. Unethical somemore.

• haMEED KOYAKUTTY on May 30, 2016 at 1:50 pm

automotive investor only suckers……no technology transfer, might as well kick them away to 3rd world countries such as bla bla bla……we want to be high income nation, have to create new revenue stream……

automotive —–volume game…..suxx….