Kenstomoto BOBR: Malaysian Kenny Yeoh’s third custom, based on a Kawasaki ER-6n – exclusive pics

Kenstomoto_BOBR_02

Most will recall the Kenstomoto Demolisher, which we featured in March. The Demolisher, based on designer Kenny Yeoh’s vision of a motorcycle based on the Japanese “Gundam” fighting robot suits, was a sensation.

Kenny has now followed that up with the BOBR, a chopped and bobbed bike based on a Kawasaki ER-6. Drawing on his experience with both the Demolisher, and his first custom bike, the P650R, he had a decidedly more ambitious plan this third time around.

The BOBR is a severely lowered bike, with the front seat round about knee height. The entire headlight and instrument unit was ripped out and completely re-worked to give the machine a distinctly Japanese anime robot look.

Kenstomoto_07

One of the biggest steps up that Kenny has made over his previous creations is the substitution of the entire front fork with a unit lifted off a Kawasaki ZX-10R, held in place with a lower triple clamp taken from a Versys, and a custom-machined upper triple clamp. This has the effect of raking the fork out forward a little, changing the stance of the original ER-6 this bike is based on.

The light units are 38 mm Shinyo electronics projector modules located on either side of the fork, housed in a custom-built fairing unit, while the DRL, a group of eight LEDS clustered in two vertical rows in the space where the original headlight used to be, gives the BOBR a very spider-like look.

As is Kenny’s trademark in all the Kenstomoto builds, the electrics and electronics in the BOBR have been extensively re-worked. The instrument cluster has been replaced by a Motorgadget Pro meter, coupled with a Breakout box from the same manufacturer.

The key-switch was relocated to the left side on the side-cover, in the traditional bobber style. To give the BOBR that “fat-tyre” look, Kenny dropped in a ZX-10R rear wheel, shod in 180/55-17 rubber, while the front is covered in a 140/70-17 tyre, which Kenny said was actually a rear tyre in its first life.

The swingarm was relocated in its pivot point, extended to kick the rear end out and stretch the BOBR. Kenny apologised for not being able to give me the numbers that have changed from the original Kawasaki ER-6, because, in his words, “I’ve been going crazy trying to finish this bike for Art of Speed.”

Custom bodywork covers the entire bike, from top-to-bottom, with a custom paint-job by Jaz Airbrush. The open exhaust pipes snaking over the right-side of the engine were custom-welded – not bent around a mandrel – by a gentleman that Kenny shamefacedly admits he only knows as “Panjang”.

“I lost count of the number of custom brackets I made for the BOBR,” says Kenny. The entire project consumed three months of his time, working after-hours, and with the kind co-operation of his employer.

According to Kenny, the BOBR consumed more than RM20,000 in custom work and components, but he looks on it with a sense of satisfaction. This third bike from Kenstomoto sees a gradual evolution of Kenny’s ideas, and a growing sophistication in the scale of his customisation.

For now, Kenny is going to take a short break, before coming back with something else. “I have all these ideas constantly flowing in my mind,” said Kenny, “and I wish I had the time and money to make them all real.”

Kenstomoto_06

“I have had many enquiries about custom-builds and one-offs, but I need to step back for a moment and catch my breath,” said Kenny.

He did share that he intends to complete a couple more builds for 2016, including one for a customer he says wanted “an angry bike.”

GALLERY: Kenstomoto Demolisher

GALLERY: Kenstomoto P650R

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• SpongeWai on May 28, 2016 at 12:17 pm

a good collection for Kenny Yeoh

• Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 8:54 am

Kenny Yeoh should join Proton. At least give Proton some brains and talent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • His specialty is 2 wheels not 4. And his designs r custom make, not suitable for mass-pro. So P1 shud pass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Kenny on May 31, 2016 at 11:31 am

You obviously dont know that kenny’s main carrier is 6 to 8 wheelers.. 2 wheels is just his hobbies..

• Daniel on May 30, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Kenny could only advise on the design, not on engineering aspects, R&D, QC and etc. Working with big company would hinder & limit his specific potential.

• Only if he works in Proton, which is a failed company. All designs have to get approval from Azlan and the Bumiputera shareholders

• Pamoga quputeh on May 28, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Dato vida mestilah have this bike

• way to go, kenny…

• This. Dude. is. AWESOME!

• trollmaster3000 on May 28, 2016 at 7:28 pm

very mean looking.. first thought that came to mind was those bikes in terminator salvation.. nicely done.. good job..

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on May 29, 2016 at 7:22 am

The headlight reminds me of Batman’s EMP Gun in the Dark Knight Rises. And the front end reminds me of Neon Genesis Evangelion, EVA unit 2 mecha. Nevertheless, awesome build!

• Good show Kenny. Looks like sky’s the limit for this super-talented bike guy.

• kimi's fan on May 29, 2016 at 11:53 pm

proton need his talent

• nice design…looks anime inspired

• Azlan can design better lah

• LOLplayer on May 30, 2016 at 11:02 am

the headlights remind me of Master Yi in League of Legends XD

• xplodingplastix on May 30, 2016 at 11:07 am

Met Kenny Yeoh yesterday @ Maeps and enjoyed looking at his bikes. real humble person, very quality hand works. those who wish to custom their bikes through him be reminded he dont do design by request but rather he will do with on his own signature design.

• VELOO USHPAKETHU on May 30, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Me too meet him yesterday at art of speed auto events. His work really awesome build. Should support this guy for his works.