JPJ to haul in 91 drivers over emergency lane usage

AppleMark

AppleMark

On May 22, a large number of vehicles were found to be using the emergency lane along Simpang Ampat, Alor Gajah, obstructing an ambulance from being able to respond to an accident in a timely manner. Last week, it was reported that owners of seven vehicles who blocked the emergency lane would be taken to court.

Now, The Star reports that 91 vehicle owners have been issued with notices to appear before the Road Transport Department (JPJ) for questioning for using the emergency lane in the incident that day.

According to JPJ deputy director-general (planning and operations) Datuk Yusoff Ayob, the notices were issued after the department completed an investigation based on a video recording made that day. “All owners involved are given 14 days to come to the JPJ office under Section 114 of the Road Transport Act 1987,” he said.

As for the earlier seven, JPJ director of enforcement Datuk V. Valluvan Veloo had stated that they will be charged under the Road Traffic Regulation 1959, which carries a fine of up to RM2,000 or six months’ jail for first time offenders.

In the incident, a motorcyclist hit a car parked on the emergency lane at Km228 (southbound) of the North-South Expressway at 4.30 pm. The rider landed in the middle of the highway, and a lorry overturned in an attempt to avoid him. The first emergency medical team could have reached the site in about 20 minutes, but took an hour because of the traffic obstruction.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Annoynimouse on May 30, 2016 at 10:14 am

I hope the authorities do this on a regular basis because this is a more serious matter compared to cermin gelap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 0
  • We need less motorists on the road. its the motorists causing the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 114
    • so if you can’t effort a car, then you have no right to travel on the road with your motocycle??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 11:36 am

JPJ talk big. But when big Tan Sri or Datuk hog the lane, JPJ bola kecut. Even the recent Bentley that had fake outriders also, nothing happened to the dude.

That, the JPJ is scared to tahan the datuk. But for normal people, JPJ like to show power.

Hello JPJ, so many Datuks go around with fake outriders. Some even kick people’s cars until got dent if they don’t budge or move.

Do something about all this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
      • John Amos on May 30, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Be better than them. If you have strong moral grounding, offenders getting away should not entice you to also commit offence.

• Sammy Zaik Loo on May 30, 2016 at 9:56 pm

True, if they want to go to hell, doesn’t mean we need to follow them, afterall i notice that Malaysian motorists love to be thrown inside ‘Neraka Jahannam’

• MOTORCYCLIST on May 30, 2016 at 11:37 am

Please do not generalize your thoughts on this matter. Your words shows how arrogant you are. Not everyone can afford a car, perhaps you can donate one to those poor families. and obviously some who can afford luxury cars are the one that think that the public roads are theirs, not complying to laws, hogging the emergency lanes. It’s disgusting to see luxury cars using the emergency lanes in while others queued patiently. It is very obvious that the deeper the pocket, the more money we have, the more luxurious car we drive are inversely proportional to our grey matter, ethics and most importantly our humanity. COMMON SENSE IS NOT SO COMMON NOWADAYS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
    • We need less idiots like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • The irony is, it is the motorist who helping the ambulance to get trough the traffic. Motorist causing trouble my a**. In this case the car drivers is.

• mattyboy on May 30, 2016 at 2:28 pm

You do realise that a ‘motorist’ is a car driver?? I’m sure you are reading it as Motorcyclist

• nabill (Member) on May 30, 2016 at 3:22 pm

exactly , im not sure why everyone is so worked up…motorist is everyone on the road ….he didnt mention anything about motorcyclists…

• Nope. Not agree with u sir. In my opinion, Ian is trying to say motorcycle should be less than cars.

• only 91 drivers?? Common Malaysia Police, you can do much better than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • DonkeyKong on May 30, 2016 at 11:08 am

Common? What about uncommon Malaysian police?

• Probably only those recorded by emergency vehicles. Polis is different. They setup roadblock at E lane, but often get defeated by waze (E lane users cut back in at last minute).

• 4G63T DSM on May 30, 2016 at 11:59 am

If PDRM only not have such a rubbish reputation of “cari makan”.

Perhaps road users would be more tolerant of road blocks, if the ONLY reason is that of catching wayward motorists.

I mean why would sane motorist “report” of blocks that would potentially stop a drunk driver, a stolen car, a criminal or whatever. Under such odds, when motorist still report on blocks plainly shows how much disdain motorist have against PDRM.

• Corruption is a 50:50 game. If theres no givers then theres no takers.
          If u know its wrong to use E lane so that u can get to ur date in time, then dun show sheep face while trying to coax the polis to take ur Rm50. Just admit ur mistake, take the fine, and pay at counter.

• Kunta Kinte on May 30, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Yes, until PDRM sort their reputation of cari makan, nothing can be done to help motorists.

• Yes u can. Just dun break the law. Oh wai…

• You dont’t need the police to obey the law. If you need the police to enforce you to follow the law, that got something wrong with you.

• Hikaru on May 30, 2016 at 10:37 am

Condolence to the motorists’ family but I cannot help to think that this whole episode is focusing on the wrong people and not going to the root of the problem.

How many times have we seen the low powered motorcyclist abusing the emergency lane? Personally, I have seen them do dangerous stunts on the emergency lanes. To have the accident occur, the motorcyclist must be traveling very fast in order for them to not be able to avoid a stationary vehicle.

Then again, we Malaysians, are very poor at allowing emergency vehicles to move aside, partly due to culture, partly due to abuse by higher powers (hence the culture).

Education is the root of the problem. Raise the motorcyclist age, bring our tests to international standards. No more nannying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • donno on May 30, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Sorry, but the road rules here in malaysia is for the low powered motorcycles to use the emergency lane on the highway. There is even sign boards on some highway (penang bridge is one) that specifically asks motorcycle users to use the emergency lane.

• Yup, small CC bike cannot coupe the minimal speed in highway. It is also dangerous to them to use the left lane because some of the bike struggle to keep speed at 90-100km/h. Because of this, small CC bike will hogging the flow of the traffic. So no choice for this small CC biker, they have to use the emergency lane.

• Sammy Zaik Loo on May 30, 2016 at 11:27 pm

If small cc bike or cupchai struggling to keep speed at 90 km/h, then 80 km/h should be alright. Because there’s a time in highway i drive at 80 km/h or slightly below at left most lane as opposed to usual 90 – 110 km/h (but that time due to i’ve replaced a punctured tyre to a spare tyre, because according to car owners’ manual, maximum ‘safe’ speed that can be driven at any road is 80 km/h if your car have spare tyre installed, however, the punctured original tyre need to be repaired or worse case, replaced as soon as possible).

• longjaafar on May 30, 2016 at 10:39 am

After a few weeks, all will be forgotten, and the rascals will again hog the emergency lanes.
    The problem is that enforcement is not all through the year, but based on “operasi” this and “operasi” that..

• rchoo on May 30, 2016 at 10:45 am

The motorcyclist must be riding damn fast for him not to see the car parked on the emergency lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Fadzli Fauzi on May 30, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Every car is bundled with a high visibility triangle in the boot and I hardly see them used. You can buy them cheaply if you don’t have one. So I don’t know if people are too stupid/lazy to use them, or too poor to buy them. They should be placed at least 50-100 metres from any stalled car, not just a metre away

• once we got rid of the corrupt officers everything else will start to fall in place and they dont need to waste all the resources and time in the world looking back at the camera/video to ascertain those offenders. Our officers splurge on trips to first class country, it shouldn’t take them decades to figure out how to copy & paste the same here in Malaysia

• Anonymous on May 30, 2016 at 10:56 am

Summon to plus highway too

• waters on May 30, 2016 at 11:06 am

This is just one-off investigation because of the noise that was generated by that story.

Just look at the Federal Highway at 6pm. You can take your pick of cars using the emergency lane. lot’s of missed opportunities to collect fines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • C.P.MOHAN on May 30, 2016 at 11:08 am

The operative word is ENFORCEMENT hope it will be extended to other transport offences like parking at kerbs and at yellow lines.

• For those who intend to go south of malaysia, i suggest using LEKAS highway and then enter PLUS using Senawang entrance. You will save an hour of journey time.

• thepolygonal on May 30, 2016 at 11:33 am

Again, give incentives (with capped value) to police that catch traffic offenders to ‘encourage’ them to catch the offenders anywhere anytime rather than on road blocks only. Eg… early traffic lights offenders, line cutters before and after work traffic jams.

• Vincent on May 30, 2016 at 11:47 am

don’t blame the enforcement (JPJ or police). blame the lot of road users in the country first for having a monkey-like
    attitude while driving or riding. take a look at the U.S. very hard to see the enforcement agency at the road side but still the road users do not enter the lane just for car pool. why? go to the western European countries, pretty much the same.

• The knee-jerk reaction is SOP for Malaysian enforcement agencies. If this incident was not viral on the media, do you think the same actions would be taken? All this is just to appease the public. After the hoo-haa died down, it would be business as usual for both enforcers and offenders in that lack of enforcement leading to widespread violations of law.

• Ben Yap on May 30, 2016 at 12:05 pm

those use emergency lane, should be fined, jailed, whipped, driving license suspended for 5 years and car scrapped off as junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Thumbs up if you have had experienced motorbikes scratching or denting your car when they narrowly whizz and squeeze through heavy traffic, especially at traffic lights. Thumbs down if you are one of those impatient bikers.

• nabill (Member) on May 30, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Next step please chase down those pesky motorcyclists… Charge them or deport then to Guantanamo bay..

• Aero (Member) on May 30, 2016 at 12:49 pm

JPJ should continue enforcing laws against emergency lane abuse. There’s no point doing it only after some video went viral, do it often especially in ‘hotspots’. In addition to the fine, the offenders should also get demerit points on their licenses. If they’re caught again, just revoke their license. Also, no harm in setting up a JPJ/ PDRM smartphone app for drivers to report emergency lane abusers. Just take a video and send… easy.

• MP 3.85 on May 30, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Biasa la bro. It is a common thing in KL.

Anyway, if you get ever caught by JPJ, the officers always “tolong” and “kawtim” to the offenders.

The power of kopi is strong with JPJ….

• GoodDriver on May 30, 2016 at 5:07 pm

I suggest JPJ or govn to pay rm5 – rm10 for people who take per picture of the emergency lane user.

• matjava on May 30, 2016 at 5:38 pm

PLUS Authority juga boleh dipersalahkan. Selalu lambat bertindak, lambat datang memberi bantuan. Kadang2 dah 30 minit bantuan belum tiba. Kami pengguna lebuhraya pun ada perkara yang perlu tiba di tempat tuju.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Semua orang salah on May 30, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Banyak tulis Polis salah. PLUS salah. JPJ salah. Orang lain salah. OWNSELF SAJA BETUL. If all the road users ada ethics, polis tak payah ronda. There is no need for JPJ road blocks that will jam up the road. Tak payah operasi. Self discipline people. That is the key. Mau cepat, leave early. Tak payah zig zag, tak payah tailgate, tak payah go over speed limit, tak payah potong queue, tak payah guna emergency lane.

• Sarawak driver on May 30, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Cane them..kasi sebat satu kali pun cukup. Pay fine is easy, just pay money..go to jail also not that difficult 6 months…if u SEBAT, they will feel the pain and embarassment forever! Forever menyesal!