New Volvo V90 campaign to feature Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Volvo Cars’ new V90 campaign features footballing legend Zlata

Volvo Cars has revealed a brand new European launch campaign of the V90 just ahead of Euro 2016, which is set to go live on screens and social media platforms tonight. Who better to promote the Swedish carmaker than footballing icon Zlatan Ibrahimovic?

The former Paris Saint-Germain striker will star in a video clip that highlights his rise from humble beginnings in one of Sweden’s toughest neighbourhoods in Malmö to international sporting stardom. The Swede is so renowned that his name is featured in the Swedish dictionary (look it up).

This isn’t the first time Volo Cars and Zlatan are involved together. In 2014, the all-time top goalscorer for Sweden starred in a marketing campaign to promote the XC70. The edgy video clip saw Zlatan diving into an icy lake and hunting in remote Swedish forests, which was meant to illustrate the demanding conditions that Volvos are built to endure.

“I’m happy to be working with Volvo Cars again. I’ve seen the new cars, I’ve driven and tested them. And I think they’re fantastic. Just like me, Volvo have gone their own way and dared to think differently. The previous campaign we did was good, but this time it’s Made by Zlatan,” said Ibrahimovic.

“The campaign is a celebration of the independent mind, of the power that lies in the ability to think differently. There are many similarities between Zlatan’s and Volvo’s journeys. We haven’t gotten to where we are now by doing the same as everyone else,” said Anders Gustafsson, senior vice president (Europe, Middle East and Africa) at Volvo Car Group.

As for the car Zlatan will be promoting, the V90 is the estate version of the S90. Built on Volvo’s Scalable Product Architecture (SPA), which is also found on the XC90, the V90 features the T8 Twin Engine petrol plug-in hybrid powertrain as well as a few semi-autonomous driving features.

The new V90 campaign is set to go live at 8:15pm central European time (CET), which is 3.15am on a Tuesday (May 31, 2016) in Malaysia. Aside from Zlatan, it will feature a new and unique score by Hans Zimmer, the world-renowned and Academy Award-winning composer behind the scores of films such as Gladiator, Pirates of the Caribbean, Inception and Interstellar.

GALLERY: Volvo V90

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Albert Peria on May 30, 2016 at 12:59 pm

In Malaysia, Proton launch car, they call Najib or Dr M.

• Eyesore888 on May 30, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Go back to school and learn the difference between launch campaign and launch ceremony…. duh….

Even if Najib or Dr. M launch Proton cars, u don’t see them acting in the car campaign ads / video right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • DPCraft on May 30, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Wow, the taillights are so cool.

• OMG…cool???This is good to carry coffin….lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Nowdays coffins travel in Alphards and Vellfires, so who has the last laugh now?

• palehotak on May 30, 2016 at 3:16 pm

wrong…New Zlatan Ibrahimovic campaign to feature Volvo V90

• Nice car, I especially like the interior.
    It doesn’t need Zlatan for all the distraction, it stand well on its own.

• Zlatan > Sweden on May 30, 2016 at 5:06 pm

“Zlatan don’t do audition”.

• ProTongkat on May 30, 2016 at 6:10 pm

In our country, Safee Sali already done for SYM motor, so should ask Lee Chong Wei if he interested for new accordana TVC.

• Since Zlatan joining MU, so he onli can advert for Chevy.

• transformer on May 30, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Can’t Volvo shorten the hood a little bit more?

Pearl Harbor and Lion King soundtracks also arranged by Hans Zimmer…. nice

• C.P.MOHAN on May 30, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Now I know why a chinese football club wants to pay big bucks for this guy.

• The only wagon I would buy