Jaguar XJ facelift launched in Malaysia – from RM646k

Jaguar_XJ_FL_Ext-2

The facelifted Jaguar XJ has been officially launched in Malaysia following its public appearance at the Bangsar Shopping Centre (BSC) recently. On offer are three long wheelbase variants, comprising two petrol engines and a sole oil burner.

Prices start at RM645,729.50 for the Jaguar XJ L 2.0 Ti , which is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine producing 240 PS and 340 Nm of torque. The only other petrol offering here is a 3.0 litre supercharged V6 with 340 PS and 450 Nm on tap, which will set you back RM832,467.50.

As for the diesel option, it is fitted with a 3.0 litre turbocharged V6, with 300 PS and 700 Nm of torque. The oil burner retails at RM802,462.50. All three engines are paired with a ZF eight-speed automatic transmission (with Jaguar Sequential Shift), directing power to the rear wheels.

Jaguar_XJ_FL_Ext-17

Keep in mind that the prices quoted here are on-the-road (inclusive of GST, road tax and registration) but does not include insurance. Another thing to note is, the car shown at BSC is inclusive of various cost options (explained below), hence the price differential.

Visual changes on the feline luxobarge include a revised front fascia featuring a new bumper design, sharper grille and full LED headlamps (standard) with twin “J-Blade” daytime running lights. At the rear, the tail lamps gets the same “J-style” treatment as well, accompanied by a revised bumper and oval exhaust pipes.

Moving inside, the XJ now comes with Jaguar’s InControl Touch Pro infotainment system. The unit is powered by a quad-core processor, and comes with a 60 GB solid state drive to store your music and an eight-inch colour touchscreen.

Jaguar_XJ_FL_Int-32

It is also linked to the 12.3-inch virtual instrument cluster that can now display a full navigation map, like what you will find on the the new XF (in other markets) and F-Pace. Other standard equipment include a powered bootlid, navigation function for the infotainment system and an 825 W, 20-speaker Meridian Surround Sound system.

On the unit we saw at BSC, items like the dual 10.2-inch rear entertainment screens, rear business tables, ambient lighting pack, walnut wood trim and 20-inch Kasuga alloy wheels are cost options that have been added on.

Each XJ comes with Jaguar Care, which includes a five-year/150,000 km warranty, five-year or 80,000 km (for the 2.0L variant) or 65,000 km (for both 3.0L variants) servicing and three-year Jaguar Roadside Assistance.

GALLERY: Jaguar XJ L 2.0 Ti facelift on display at BSC

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Aaron on May 31, 2016 at 5:15 pm

I don’t really see a reason to buy this over the S-class or the 7 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • inb4
      Close shop la plodon, i want to buy this for 99k

• Stop copying me

• High Class Car with Low Class Service on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:57 am

High class car with low class service. Only 1 place to service, Glenmarie. At the service centre, got no place to sit. You can stand and watch your car being serviced through a glass panel.

No coffee. No water also. Yes, I am not joking. Coffee machine got but rosak. Water also tak ada. Sometimes you get Hwa Tai biskut but most of the time, nothing.

This is what you call pariah company given the dealership.

One may argue it is for drivers to take their bosses cars in but come on, Jaguar owners like to be treated with some class I am sure and the bosses want to drive their car in for service.

Very very low class service. My advice to Jaguar UK, please withdraw your dealership and open yourself here.

• MarcoCZen on Jun 01, 2016 at 12:35 pm

How to buy this car when the after sales service is a nightmare ???

• policeman on May 31, 2016 at 5:20 pm

This is how a proper interior should be.

Not like that recycled tong sampah interior in the new Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • How can you compare a Jaguar to a Civic ? Sounds like someone is jealous of the new Civic, otherwise better compare to similar type of vehicle status and pricing.

• Bashers dun use brain. They dun even use balls. They just use bollocks.

• Damn, I hope with that pricing, they have an optional full size spare tire….

• mattyboy on May 31, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Loved the XK when it was launched, it is really starting to look old already though

• Jay Law on May 31, 2016 at 10:57 pm

things to BUY used

• markgoh on Jun 01, 2016 at 12:57 am

can i replace the 60GB SSD to 256GB SSD… :p

• Ben Yap on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:33 am

buy house better than this car leh…

• hafizjoe dorifuto on Jun 06, 2016 at 9:08 am

Range Rover Evoque, Volvo, Ford engine…

• Azfar on Oct 12, 2018 at 6:10 pm

There is no one about Jaguar XJ review in Malaysia in YouTube…