Peugeot pick-up based on Toyota Hilux rendered

peugeot hilux truck render

Earlier this month, it was reported that PSA Peugeot Citroen (now known as PSA Groupe) had plans to introduce a pick-up truck into its model line-up as part of its five-year growth plan that was unveiled in its “Push to Pass” roadmap. It was also said that that truck will be based on the eight-generation Toyota Hilux.

Rendering wiz Theophilus Chin has come up with an interpretation of what that one could look like, grafting the front end of a Peugeot Traveller onto the body of a Hilux.

It remains to be seen what the eventual series product will look like; there are still no details on powertrain choices or whether it’ll wear a Peugeot or Citroen badge, but utilising a common platform and giving a new face to distinguish one from the other isn’t new, as the case of the Toyota ProAce, Citroen SpaceTourer and Peugeot Traveller – which all share the same base architecture – shows.

What do you think of the idea of a Peugeot/Citroen pick-up? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sgt Scoop on May 31, 2016 at 8:08 pm

French reliability and Japanese styling?

• you mean on May 31, 2016 at 9:33 pm

you mean french styling and japanese reliability?

• Albert on May 31, 2016 at 11:08 pm

French unreliability in cars.
      Now those Nissan cars show problems after kena makan by the French.
      France …good in making nuclear bombs.Never…cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:45 am

If you see Top Gear episode on Peugeot in their last season, it was a well known fact that Peugeot made the worse cars in the world after Proton in the 70s.

It was the biggest joke and failure in the EU….French cars.

But in Malaysia, crony Naza lies to everyone that you are buying a luxury car and prices it at luxury levels.

Go and see that episode in Top Gear. You will never ever touch Peugeot again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Opinion on May 31, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Seen the new Hilux on the road. Somehow not looking much different from the old model, especially the rear. My personal opinion is that the old Hilux looked more macho. The new Hilux looks ‘skinny’.

• intermilan on May 31, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Think this will be a pure rebadge exercise, similar to peugeot 4008 (where it is a rebadge of mitsubishi ASX).

PSA will not waste resources and take huge risks in the drive terrain or chasis portion. However exterior and interior are where their DNA will be applied as much as possible.

It will be intriguing to see the market reaction to it if it is sold here.

• Gonggok on May 31, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Ford ranger and Mazda bt-50 same platform also so nothing new. Hilux has a long-standing reputation for reliability and durability, hence the frenchies interest in the platform.

• Albert on May 31, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Never go near this kind of French car.
    My friend has one….now in workshop…engine kaput…repairs rm15,ooo.
    Car stranded…got to wait 3 weeks.
    Kiss goodby to Eric cantona’s car.
    Maybe poor protong is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Sammy Loo on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:52 pm

your friend has it before the car even launch?

You cant compare a French car to a sushi car. Just look at those Proton Iswara with Mitsubishi engine, they last for many many years.

This pick up truck will be the best RV Peugeot ever had and the best reliability.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2016 at 1:17 am

All of a sudden cars with French badge don’t sui kwan anymore