2016 Toyota Sienta pricing released – from RM92,900

Toyota Sienta

After its recent showing at the My Auto Fest 2016 a fortnight ago, UMW Toyota Motor have released official pricing and specifications for the new 2016 Toyota Sienta MPV. There are two model variants on offer – the G at RM92,900, and the top-spec V at RM99,900 – both prices are on-the-road with insurance.

Both models come with the new 1.5-litre 2NR-FE Dual VVT-i engine that produces 107 PS and 143 Nm, mated to a continuously variable transmission (CVT). Standard safety features on both variants include three airbags (driver, passenger and driver’s knee), ABS with EBD and brake assist, vehicle stability control (VSC), traction control (TRC), hill assist control (HAC) and second-row ISOFIX fittings.

Equipment differences include halogen lighting and regular LED tail lights for the G variant, and bi-LED projector headlights and rear LED light guides on the V. The V model also comes with two power-sliding rear doors, while the G model makes do with just one on the passenger’s (left) side. The alloy wheels measure 15 inches on the G variant and 16 inches on the V, the latter getting a two-tone machined finish too.

Inside, the V variant is differentiated through brown fabric upholstery (black on the G), keyless entry, push-button start, a 4.2-inch TFT LCD colour multi-info display, an Optitron instrument cluster, a leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel and standard security and solar window tint.

Both cars get a six-speaker sound system, but the V model adds a DVD infotainment system with a 6.1-inch touchscreen; the G model makes do with a simple Bluetooth-enabled radio and CD player. The V variant also gets a rear entertainment monitor, a front-facing dash cam and a reverse camera. Elsewhere, the G gets manual air-conditioning, while the V has a single-zone automatic system; both models get a separate rear blower with a manual fan speed controller.

The Sienta also comes with a number of options, including a RM2,109 DVD-AVX infotainment system with reverse camera, a RM3,169 DVD-AVN navigation system with reverse camera and a RM2,014 upgrade to the DVD-AVN system for the V variant; there’s also a choice of either solar window film and a security tint for the G variant. Six colours are on offer – Orange Metallic, Quartz Brown Metallic, Silver Metallic, Grey Metallic, Attitude Black and Super White II.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Sienta 1.5V

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• hailthepurist on Jun 01, 2016 at 7:51 pm

it might look pretty without those lines..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • Operation Manager on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Slot between Alza & Avanza, but price of Innova. Indon only cost Alza price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
      • vampire on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:33 pm

Leech on hard working people. Better buy top spec Alza with full accessories but is 35% cheaper.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 02, 2016 at 8:28 am

This will be another failure like Honda Freed. UMW should just concentrate on their Vios, give it some safety features like VSC and 6 airbags.

Own existing line of cars also got no VSC…Vios, Altis and Camry, now want to bring Sienta.

Charity begins at home. Start with your existing cars please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
          • UMW knows the customers think Toyota car is ‘branded’. Squeezing every ringgit out of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • Anson Ong on Jun 08, 2016 at 12:23 pm

I definitely have to agree with you – if ever Honda Malaysia brings in the BR-V, the V variant MUST have six airbags with ESP and ABS for the least!

• policeman on Jun 02, 2016 at 8:51 am

Top spec has VSC, TC, HAC?

One is a Toyota while the other is a car for pariahs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Emergency Lane Speeder on Jun 02, 2016 at 3:48 am

Soccer mum van road hogger stuck up fanboy car.

• A suggestion to paultan: do a sienta vs alza review.

• Same L00 on Jun 03, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Other than price, which part of Alza is better than Sienta? None!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • same otak batu on Jun 03, 2016 at 7:47 pm

seat depan Alza ruang 3 orang. Sienta boleh ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • work hard people, then you can buy this Rm92k car. Dont be lazy…that is why you can only drive an Axia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 101
      • john is otak batu on Jun 01, 2016 at 10:55 pm

johm, talk-cock lah. Ur own kapcai also can’t keep up kancil!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Operation Manager on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:28 pm

Msia gov pls set 10yrs car scrap, loan 5yrs max at 10% interest, encourage msian <100k vehicle pls buy CASH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • donno on Jun 02, 2016 at 8:18 am

Its ugly and it is basically an alza underneath all those flabby lines. So why bother? Buy the top spec alza instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 03, 2016 at 3:57 am

What makes you think so?

Also, this is much better equipped, with stability control etc. And more practical, if the first gen Sienta is anything to go by. That car had a ton of space, and a 3rd row that was actually usable (the third row in the Alza is for amputees and kids).

Plus sliding doors are awesome. If you have elderly passengers, this is the car to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • 2cent on Sep 03, 2016 at 12:36 pm

But only complaint is the engine, its 1.5 only. Might be slightly unpowered like the avanza if 5 adults seated in . At least engine should be 1.6 or higher ?

• OMG…mini MPV with 3 airbags is a failure…at least give 6 lah…Almost 100K for 1.5little car…damn “cheap”

• My Nissan Serena cost RM 146K only has 2 airbags, what do you think about a RM90K small MPV?

• CrazyMobilo on Jun 01, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Wow.. Good Job UMW… Finally a good product for buyers.. The car may look fugly but the safety system is well endorsed… Keep It Up UMW… U Might win your customers back… & yup U have such a long long way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 77
    • chinonlee on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Seriously? With only 3 airbags for a family MPV. Come in UMW. You definitely can do better than this.
      At least a proper 6 airbags!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
      • Operation Manager on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:48 pm

2017 sell 2016Sienta aka Alza at 20k rebate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Sammy Loo on Jun 01, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Toyota doesnt give 6 airbags, those are kimchi and other sushi offers.

It is either 2 or 3 or 7. In this case this car is at the middle segment, it has 3 airbags which is very good. VSC also comes as standard, apa lagi lu mau?

Honda Feed doesn’t come with VSA and only 2 airbags. Using old engine and gearbox. This Sienta is coming with new Dual VVT-i engine and CVT gearbox. It will flood the street soon.

Good pricing, good safety, good reliability, good practicality and definitely good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 83
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:18 pm

I was equally excited abt this car until i saw the spec:1.5 littre is not enough, this will be used as a 6 or 7 sitter for many buyer, just underwhelming, 1.8 litre is more appropriate. And that price too: under 90k please. This is upset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
      • tokmoh. on Jun 01, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Hold your purchase.

After few months, they’ll get desperate and launch car wow roadshow, promote this car can drift n sporty, throw few thousand discounts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
        • camtakpro on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:03 pm

You forget free DVD-AVN and push-start button left over from the Vios.

• 2cent on Sep 03, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Maybe the ‘ push start ‘ button can ‘ suddenly ‘ add in more power ‘ ?…hehe

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 03, 2016 at 4:00 am

1.5 is enough. My Kangoo has a 1.4 with only 75 hp, and it’s easily enough to move along in Malaysian traffic. Actually I haven’t owned a >1.4 car for 14 years now, and the least powerful car was the one with the highest cc… My current 1.4 is more than powerful enough, can reach 220 km/h.

• Deadpool on Jun 03, 2016 at 9:57 am

seriously? 1.4cc reach 220 km/h? LOL… i think my 2.0 can fly ady

• Gurmit Singh on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:24 pm

The guy’s kangaroo car dominant the road for some weird reason, it is equivalent to any sport car!

• 2cent on Sep 03, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Kangoo – renault 1.4cc engine ? I heard it has got good power.

• 2cent on Sep 03, 2016 at 12:44 pm

I agree with you.Even with new dual vvt-i 1.5 cc engine, with 5 adults seated in can put a big strain on the engine, especially going uphill like karak / genting. Shd be 1.6 at least. In China , the corollas there seem to be running on 1.6 dual vvt-i engines. Wonder why UMW don’t use those 1.6 cc engines ?

• Willeam sim on Jun 01, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Bloody hell! Blood sucking UMW. Is it so hard just to provide the standard 4 airbag?! Malaysia already signed on for the UN international car safety standards. Which requires a minimum 4 airbag in 2 years or less. So this car becomes obsolete and “illegal” on safety by then….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Applegreen on Jun 01, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Nice little mpv, but must pay rm2k to get reverse camera?

• pakcik on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Finally VSC, TC & HSA as standard. Well played UMW but the pricing is still expensive

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • Really on Jun 02, 2016 at 2:18 am

I am kinda curious how UMW spec-up their cars. This <100k Sienta is equipped with VSC, TC and HSA, basically the comprehensive safety suite a new car should have. Yet, the much more expensive Hilux and Fortuner still comes with very basic and cheapskate 3 airbags and ABS only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • 2cent on Sep 03, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Hilux and Fortuner is tall and big, in a collision usually don’t die but the other party will surely die ( even with 10 air bags )…haha

• If they keep the safety stuff in then its okays, otherwise its a famili-value coffin for 7.

Oh but but but bashers said CVT tabouleh pakai. So this car is doomed to fail according to their cristel ball (to replace the ones they dun have).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Sammy Loo on Jun 01, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Bashers did not try the CVT from Toyota before bashing. Once tried, you will in love with it.

Toyota got a much better CVT and is closed to dual clutch gearbox response and smoothness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
      • 2cent on Sep 03, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Agree, I,ve driven the dual vvt-i 1.8 altis with cvt gear box. It has very good response and pickup, very quiet and shifting very smooth also. But then, that’s a 1.8 cc engine so don’t know how this Sienta 1.5cc engine will perform even with the cvt.

• tokmoh. on Jun 01, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Only minta penumbuk proton cvt tak bole pakai.

Never tried Toyota’s or Nissan’s, but Honda’s cvt in current city n jazz is very nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • KIMCHI on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Is good enough, with a Below 100k price range for a MPV . At least improve the safety. Well done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • karam singh on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:08 pm

Meanwhile… Proton launching for 3 new models…

• alldisc on Jun 02, 2016 at 11:59 am

Where got launching. Earlier said Q1. Now Q2 already

• Same L00 on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:58 pm

In 2005 Proton said they will launch the hybrid in 2008, then 2012, then 2015, now still in Mars…
          This is standard Proton style:
          Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok, Nothing done!

• Gurmit Singh on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Bro, it is coming….remember, it takes time to fly from mars…..

• 2cent on Sep 03, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Maybe it’s further from mars…..maybe it’s coming from Pluto.

• Tong Sampah on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Nissan, *phew*, thanks Toyo..

• Emmm... on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Good luck Toyota…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:48 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
  • Thanks to Proton you pay almost RM40k more to get this model with 1.5L engine. Thank you Proton for making cars so much affordable in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • jsjaua on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Thailand top spec civic 1.5 turbo rm139k salah proton jugak ke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Why complain when exora can gip u so much more value?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • thanks umw for rebadging alza and sell much more expensive. now alza owner can buy sienta logo and put on their vehicle.

• Researchnottalkcock on Aug 19, 2016 at 12:38 am

Before proton and perodua available in Malaysia, 2nd hand fifteen years old rusty ford telstar cost 24k and the 2nd hand dealers darn lansi lia, then itdrop to 11k when proton launch saga in 1985, go and ask your old man. On the other hand thanks to proton and perodua , Now everbody can drive

• RUGAL on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:05 pm

See that, Proton?! Our Sienta is a lot better than your beloved Exora. Our products now are well equipped, especially for our safety features. Buy Toyota. Sure tak rosak tepi jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
    • Hardly see any exoras rosak tepi jalan but very often see toyotas turtle upside down. Why ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Seldom see Toyota burn down tepi jalan. But Exora dozens. I myself seen 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • Ah I know, i know. Just like yesterdays myvi burnout due to accident right? Kirr all pipu.. oh wai.. wrong brand

• Which part of this overprice T is better? Auto sliding door? Engine power and size and safety spec Exora better. Exora have 4 airbags and now equip with ESC.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 03, 2016 at 4:03 am

The Exora is better, especially if you need a lot of space. However the packaging on the Sienta is pretty ingenious. Say if you live in KL, hard to find car parks everywhere, but you still need to ferry 7 passengers in style, then this is it. Small on the outside, big on the inside. Just like the Kangoo and Freed. Also the interior should be very flexible in this car.

It really depends on what your needs are, but I can see reasons for getting this car over say the Exora.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:14 pm

toyota cheapest car with VSC

• camtakpro on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Now you talking, Sienta 90k more safe than VSC-less Camry and Altis.

• Taskforce lagi on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:32 pm

1.5 liter engine surely no power…..Pickup tarak I suppose.

Takes a long long time even to overtake a kapchai ridden by a fatboy…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 03, 2016 at 4:07 am

Nonsense. Until recently my cars had 75 hp only. More than enough for Malaysian traffic. Just floor the accelerator, if necessary drop a gear or two. I haven’t seen many who know how to accelerate in Malaysia, regardless of their engine.

Most cars are zippy enough from 0-50… above that acceleration slows down more on not so powerful cars, my current 1.4 pulls from 150 to 200 like my previous 1.4 did from 70-120 maybe, but from 0-50 the difference isn’t that big, both are fast enough. And that’s what matters most in regular traffic.

• Gurmit Singh on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Don’t challenge Mr Kadajawi’s kangaroo’s car! Else you with be overtaken, count yourself lucky if you can smell the kangaroo’s puff!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:33 pm

at that price..doomed to fail like the Honda Freed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Jun 02, 2016 at 8:36 am

Its presence is only to complement toyota Malaysia’s line up. UMW did not spend anything on assembly costs, similar to Toyota rush and the current avanza. All are CBU import from Indonesia but minus any import taxes.

• Pemerhati industri on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Rival for honda BR-V…same segment 1500cc both. Grand livina now have their own rivals, face to face,u can run but cant hide anymore. Toyota will win the competition first before BR-V is launched near the corner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Wow this MPV has a front facing dash cam but I would rather they take that out n add more airbags to the count.

• Interested on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:18 pm

Just a quick question, i hope Paultan or any readers and answer.

Will the Sienta Hybrid be available in malaysia? I went online and did a quick search a there Is a hybrid model available overseas

• vincent on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Better use your 92k on a well equipped used car, there are a lot of good and nice car with that kind of budget these days, can even land you with a Audi A4 B8. Why have to spend your hard earn money on a rubbish like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Pauline on Jun 02, 2016 at 12:10 am

looking at the car itself, i can feel the “sien” in the name. really feel very sien after looking at it for long time.

• pearjai on Jun 02, 2016 at 1:06 am

For that price better wait for innova 2016 lor….

• Alson P on Jun 02, 2016 at 2:11 am

Much much better than Avanza the moving coffin.. This is great but pricey.. :s

• Really on Jun 02, 2016 at 2:28 am

No matter how good the CVT, it can’t make up for the lack of power. 107 hp/ 143 Nm for a MPV with kerb weight of 1.2 tonnes and around 1.6 tonnes fully-loaded will only lead to poor fuel economy.

• ae101 on Jun 02, 2016 at 7:10 am

Is nice the last row seat can fold and hide underneath the center seat. I hope UMW really can give min 4 airbags in V spec.

• azrai on Jun 02, 2016 at 8:55 am

Sorry UMW. Me and my friend will stick to Made in Japan recond Wish at that price instead of this Indonesian made Sienta.

• farghmee on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:30 am

agree with u my fren.
      at rm90k some1 can buy a recond wish 1.8L with 6airbags & VSC.

the only advantage of sienta is the sliding door.

i hope new freed would be nicely specced at reasonable price.

• abcdefg on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:14 am

5yr warranty with unlimited millage… not bad wor

• im actually surprised by the pricing. expected UMW to price it at 100k above. With the specs they are offering seems like a decent buy

• thomas on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:53 am

Malaysia not get Sienta type Q which is the type most complete and safest

• What can I say.. people who drive this car has no passion of driving at all. seriously, I am shocked over the look of the car. I can say toyota designers are sleeping or perhaps no design mind.. It look so horrible that I would rent another mpv to get my family balik kampung as it look so horrible. Sorry but I’m going to put this car that-has-good-resale-value to failure project group. sad and very sad indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Good: It’s a Toyota, dual VVTi, last row’s foldaway seats.
    Bad: Exterior looks, price needs a 2-3K knock-down
    Possible deal-maker/breaker: How it looks in metal, how it drives with 4 people on board plus some luggage.

• TOtally YOur TrAsh on Jun 03, 2016 at 12:47 am

Wat the Fxck UMW, Toyota, treat Malaysian like idiot, u think people will buy whatever piece of trash u roll out. people Q up waiting 6 months for the HR-v, n your trashes will be pile up for 6 months stocks, ended with terribly pathetic sales, which remind us the trash, Opps, it’s Rush. Let the greediness continue

• Justice on Jun 03, 2016 at 9:04 am

Dear UMW, 6 Facts (or Fiction),
    1. Your price tags are getting higher.
    2. For the prices you’re selling, your Toyotas are underspec’ed. You ripped us off.
    3. You think we’re stupid? Wait a minute, yes we are. We bought lots of ‘Traction Control’less Hiluxes from you when other countries like Brunei have them as standard feature. So are other models.
    4. Your Camry’s…strip them down to bare metal and we can find Malaysian standard, not Toyota standard and I do mean your latest Camry.
    5. I’d rather buy a used 2nd gen Toyota Wish than this ugly piece of crap that you call Toyota Sienta.
    6. If its not because of your higher resale value and your logo, you would’ve joined Proton’s woes.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 04, 2016 at 10:16 pm

On bullet 5), consider a used Elantra, very good value for money

• Anson Ong on Jun 08, 2016 at 12:25 pm

SIMPLE: No Passenger Side, and curtain airbags, NO BUY! Full Stop!

• Gurmit Singh on Aug 03, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Last time my chinese friend told me when mati sometimes they called sell “sientaN”…

• How does this model compare to Grand Livina 1.6?

• Pfanism on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:52 am

What a Pretty Model, Ehhemmmm i mean the left one :D Sorry UMW!!

• raymon haikal on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:51 pm

dari segi hrga agak tinggi, tp cubaan yg baik dr segi specs dan safety. Cuma utk golongan pertengahan sudah cukup dgn exora atau alza, paling kurang pun avanza..tp saya lihat pikap exora sgt power hinggakan saya yg bawak preve ni pun terasa cemburu. dari sudut positif, persaingan sangat sihat utk pengguna memilih kereta idaman mereka..

• Kennedy on Aug 19, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Why would anyone buy this over the grand livina?

• Selipar on Sep 13, 2016 at 8:47 pm

At this price..better get exora high spec…. i bet exora will win uphill fully loaded