2016 Kawasaki W800 Final Edition – the last of the retro air-cooled Kawasaki parallel-twins

2016 Kawasaki W800 Final Edition - 1

With Euro 4 emissions regulations coming down hard on motorcycle manufacturers in Europe, many are removing large-displacement air-cooled engines from their model range. This includes Kawasaki, who have divulged that 2016 will be the final year of production for its retro-styled Brit-bike look-a-like W800.

While air-cooling gives engines, notably parallel-twins in the British style, a distinctive look, the ‘fun’ police have decided that in the interests of environmental conservation, such power plants are no longer acceptable. This means the 773 cc parallel-twin, with SOHC and four-valves per cylinder, will no longer appear in Kawasaki’s line-up in 2017.

2016 Kawasaki W800 Final Edition

First introduced in 2011, the Kawasaki W800 could never be termed a best-seller, but it did develop a fanbase, especially in Europe. This was because its power output of 48 PS and 65 Nm of torque allowed it to fall under the EU A2 license class, which allows for car driving license holders to add-on the A2 class with minimal testing.

“It’s never easy to say good bye to an old friend, especially one as iconic as the W800. Paying homage to the W series with this Final Edition is therefore a truly fitting end to a long and successful line of machines,” said Morihiro Ikoma, Kawasaki Europe’s corporate planning director in a motorcyclenews report.

The final edition of the W800 in Europe will be produced in limited quantities, and come in a Candy Brown/Sunset Orange paint scheme that is reminiscent of Kawasaki’s 650 cc W1 from 1966. The original Kawasaki W1 (pictured above, left) was Kawasaki’s first ‘big’ four-stroke motorcycle, and based on the BSA A7 – also known as the Shooting Star/Star Twin – from the fifties.

Retail price for the Kawasaki W800 in Malaysia is approximately RM58,000. Its closest rival is the 2016 Triumph Bonneville Street Twin, which displaces 900 cc and retails for RM55,900, including GST.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ootai on Jun 02, 2016 at 6:23 pm

You can’t sell at that price in Malaysia, kawa. Further more, it is under powered. Good UJM but not iconic.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 03, 2016 at 8:44 am

When moto in Malaysia can cost RM58k, you know already you are in a failed state. We can cukur all we want but inflation now is hurting everyone whilst the ringgit collapses because country nama busuk

• Dun compare this lejen with ur kapcai! Its like ur pathetic attempt to compare Civic with a Jag and say its a lousier car. Of course it is! U get what u pay for, u nut!

• Henry on Jun 03, 2016 at 10:12 am

A nice and nostalgic re-issue.

• Bernard on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:23 pm

What a great bike but too expensive and most people have only B2.

Also, sales and service in Malaysia is below par, untrained mechanics everywhere.

Doomed from the start!