Aston Martin files for DBZ trademark, future model?

Aston Martin Vanquish Zagato Concept_01

Aston Martin has filed an application to trademark the ‘DBZ’ nameplate in Europe, which could hint at a new model joining the British carmaker’s line-up. However, the company has yet to confirm nor deny at the possibility, according to Auto Guide.

It isn’t uncommon for automakers to trademark certain nameplates in advance to safeguard the naming rights for future models. In the case of the DBZ, the trademark application is classified under “passenger cars; racing cars; car bodies.”

The company’s most recent introduction came in the form of a Zagato concept based on the Vanquish. The DBZ would certainly be a suitable name for the bespoke vehicle, although a new model is more likely as part of the company’s expansion plans. This includes the DBX, which will be the company’s upcoming crossover built in a dedicated factory in Wales.

So, what do you think the DBZ will be? A new sports car, a new limousine or even a special edition Dragon Ball Z mash-up based on the company’s current range of vehicles? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: Aston Martin Vanquish Zagato Concept

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 03, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Aston Martin produces rubbish. So many times Jeremy Clarkson did Aston Martin testing and the car actually stalled and died. Malu betul.

I think even our toilet jamban Protons are more reliable than Aston Martin

• Anybody who says sh*t about aston martin definitely deserves a late night visit from 007, to tell him otherwise.

• adoi_adoi on Jun 04, 2016 at 10:12 am

the exterior are alright. but not when it comes to the interior. my god, like come’on aston martin you guys can do a better job man.

• Kunta small kid on Jun 04, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Write like a small kid, takda otak.

• thepolygonal on Jun 03, 2016 at 4:36 pm

DBZ = Dragonball Z

• supersayalah on Jun 03, 2016 at 5:19 pm

+1

How could this entire post not have a single DragonBallZ reference is beyond me. Missed opportunity.

• Akira Toriyama shud sue AM for copyright infringement. Oh but since this is gweilo foreign overlords, they r 1 step higher than their own jepunis overlords. So again, cannot persoal

• earthlords on Jun 03, 2016 at 10:33 pm

No overlords can be higher than the Bumi overlords, as in the case of AP

• No so greater a superiority complex than ApaSarahanSaya mentality.

• Overlord on Jun 05, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Wah nowadays bolehland is more precious than entire world. You dun like you go where you can be overlord lah. Why you bash here bash there

• 9gagger on Jun 03, 2016 at 7:50 pm

I come for this comment only… not disappointed.

• Vegeta would approve of this.

• DBZ – zagato version maybe

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 04, 2016 at 10:42 am

Goku’s car is finally here

• Looks nice enough. Not crazy nice like the latest edition Lambos and Ferraris with their scoops and slashes and superspoilers…. but still nice. Keeping calm and carrying on aren’t we?

• camtakpro on Jun 06, 2016 at 9:12 am

So ChiChi asked Goku to learn driving was all about this.