SPIED: Honda Civic with 1.0 litre VTEC Turbo for China

2016 Honda Civic 180Turbo China 1

The tenth-generation Honda Civic has already made its debut in China, where it is offered in four Civic 220Turbo variants, all powered by the brand’s 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine. It appears that a new, smaller-engined version will soon join the lone offering there, according to spyshots from PC Auto.

Set to be called the Civic 180Turbo, the new entrant will be powered by a 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder VTEC engine. The mill has yet to be made available on any Civic model worldwide, but was earlier confirmed for the European market Civic, which will be launched in 2017.

The Civic 180Turbo will effectively become the new base model in the Civic range for the Chinese market, positioned below the 220Turbo. Both cars will be produced as part of a domestic joint venture between Honda and Dongfeng Motors.

In terms of power, the turbo three-pot produces 129 PS and 200 Nm in prototype guise (on a Euro Civic hatch), which is 12 PS less but 26 Nm more torque than the R18Z1 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated engine. Compared to the larger 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo, the smaller mill is at a 44 PS and 20 Nm disadvantage.

As the new base model, the Civic 180Turbo will lose out on some equipment. Exterior-wise, the LED headlamps are now halogen units instead, and the two-tone alloy wheels have been replaced with smaller, single-coloured ones.

A shot of the interior also reveals a simplified multi-function steering wheel that no longer has controls on its right side. Elsewhere, the touchscreen infotainment unit appears to be omitted, and fabric now adorns the seats and various areas of the car. Look closely, and you’ll see a manual gear shifter, as opposed to a gear selector for the CVT on the Civic 220Turbo.

In China, the Civic 220Turbo comes in four variants, and is priced from 129,900 yuan to 169,900 yuan (RM81,100 to RM106,073). The upcoming Civic 180Turbo will likely be priced less, although it is yet unknown how many variants for the 1.0L model will be offered. Would you be interested in a 1.0 litre turbo VTEC engine for the Civic?

GALLERY: Honda Civic 220Turbo (China market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AFAIK, city & civic alwiz have a different look twin from another honda JV in china. Do we know what the looks of this twin civic?

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 07, 2016 at 9:44 am

i hope china version would do away the fugly rear design, can’t believe this fugly cheapo looking lamp would be flooding our street soon..

• wow. 1000cc produces 200nm torque? like doubling the cc count. definitely interesting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Michael Kong on Jun 06, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Honda Malaysia dare not bring this down. Cause, it will be priced at RM80k. Then habis la Proton. Proton will be wiped out. Nobody will touch Proton.

We got to thank MITI for Protecting Proton and making us pay RM120k for a Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • Idiot alert! We just found the latest dupe for Albert/ Albert Yong/ George Abdul/ Periasamy/ Kuntilanak opps Kunti Kantoi.

• kongyou on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:43 am

p1 also has 1.0l turbo in the pipeline, you tarak baca ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Andas on Jun 07, 2016 at 6:40 am

If you live in sg, your salary will be high, indeed.. every weekend travel to jb, become rich people, syiok leh.. you can own high rise unit under hdb, and u even can own a car.. with no p1 of course.. but your dream civic price will be the same.. 120k with coe.. interested?

• Simon on Jun 07, 2016 at 10:39 am

Something mentally wrong with you john?

• alldisc on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:14 am

1.0 3 cylinder is not new. Anyone remembers daihatsu charade GTti? Exactly same. And that was 28 years ago. A pocket rocket indeed

• Ben Yap on Jun 06, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Honda malaysia should not bring in the 1.8 NA but this 1.0 turbo version.

What are u thinking honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • stock clearance on Jun 06, 2016 at 8:29 pm

honda is clearing 3rd world soch engine stock in malaysia…get it?

• Operation Manager on Jun 06, 2016 at 10:50 pm

vtec sohc is oudated less realibility loe performance engine, suite for low income citizen ctry like msia, where with 3rd country vehile city vios almera everywhere.
        Please at least go for family midsize sedan Passat.

• Malaysian Driver on Jun 06, 2016 at 4:46 pm

There are people in China still drive stick shift even though the traffic congestion in some of its mega cities are even more chronic than the Klang Valley.

Here in Malaysia, more and more drivers doesn’t know how to shift gears (or even the idea of gear shifting) , all just know how to shift into “D” and use throttle and brake only. Even in the event of hill climbing or engine braking is required, they still stick on to “D” and strain the engine and overheat the disc brake. Here in Malaysia people also tend to look at stick shift as “low class” cars, giving you that odd look if you buy a stick shifter.

Stick shift is not low class or budgetary, is a personal choice. In Europe, you can still buy a 5 Series, a Ford Mondeo or a VW Passat in stick shift form, albeit those are regarded as classy D segment cars. But here in Malaysia, lazy left foot and market reality had rob consumers the choice to drive a stick in a mordern car. Sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
    • MY pipu r lazy but dun u dare persoal them.

• Heaven on Jun 06, 2016 at 7:55 pm

You are spot on. To add on, while people harp on traction control, ABS, EBD, x airbags, …etc as essential needs on a new car, they tend to forget that stick shift cars give drivers better control especially in immediate contingencies, hence they are safer too.

• Moving Forward on Jun 07, 2016 at 12:33 am

Was driving my stick shifter stuck in 90 minutes heavy traffic back home today but still enjoy the slick and accurate shift of the i30 FD gearbox. I bet the feel is even better on Suzuki Swift and Honda CR-Z

• IamPeterGriffin on Jun 07, 2016 at 9:14 am

Not all drivers are lazy to drive a stick shift car and they don’t perceive it as low class. The problem is most manufacturers here equip their top spec cars only with automatic transmission. Surely some people still prefer to drive manual cars, but the manual line here usually aren’t equipped with top spec safety features and creature comforts. Also, no matter how fast you think your hand could react to immediate contingency, there is no better replacement to ABS, Traction control & EBD.

• I think I'm right on Jun 06, 2016 at 6:18 pm

At back it says civic 180.. means torque will be 180

• Derek on Jun 06, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Impressive figures. I believe it will be a torquey little engine. A little Chilli padi. I believe it will do well in Malaysia. You will save on The road tax if you compare a 1 litter and a 1.8 litter. More figures and testing on the engine plz guys.

• Heaven on Jun 06, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Impressive specs, Honda should bring this variant to Malaysia. On the other hand, most local drivers are unfortunately not really ready to own turbo cars as most people are not accustomed yet to higher responsibilities of maintaining turbo engines.

• Really on Jun 06, 2016 at 9:04 pm

In Malaysia, carmakers usually reserve the stick shift for the lowest spec in the lineup. Some people loves and can drive a stick shift but can’t accept the equipment level of a lowest spec car. Worse of all, carmakers also equip their MT models with only basic safety suite while reserving techs like VSC, HSA and TRC on AT models only.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:08 am

Not bad, but I wonder how the FC will be under load. The difference of my 1.4 TSI from driving 120-130 to 180 is massive… when driven gently the turbo is very frugal… if you use the turbo you can watch the needle drop.

IMHO the Civic is going a bit too far, at least for the Malaysian market. Which mechanic knows how to deal with those engines? It’s like rocket science…

• azrai on Jun 07, 2016 at 7:42 am

Wow!!RM20 roadtax for this RM100k++ Civic??

• Ya, roadtax is cheap. But here the 1.5 civic is much more expensive then the 1.8 even the roadtax are priced according to the engine capacity. It will not sell cheap here in MY if they sell it here.

• Jobless on Jun 07, 2016 at 7:51 am

How fast to 100kmh?? Drive such a prestigious car but got smoked overtaken by Ah Beng Waja, Wira, Ford, Supima, Elanta, Celaka…malu…the look on those wh beng face…priceless

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 07, 2016 at 8:23 am

Expecting the kimchis to copy this by creating a rotten cabbage with 995cc and generating 201NM torque.

But the reality is within a year, there will be at least 50% of these sorhai tai lan ngongs getting rid of their cancer.

Why? Can’t bear the brunt of being looked down driving a Korean Car

• That output is impressive its more than what the 1.0L Ford Ecoboost and wins Best Engine of the Year (Now still for Small Category)???

Come on Honda, Put some Asian awesomeness and rule the world don’t be like your F1 Mclaren.