B9 Audi A4 launched in Indonesia – RM304k-RM369k

audi-a4-2016-indonesia

The new B9 Audi A4 makes its ASEAN debut in Indonesia – the fifth-generation compact executive sedan has been launched in the archipelago in 2.0 TFSI and 2.0 TFSI quattro variants, according to AutonetMagz.

Prices start at Rp 990 juta (RM304,200) for the base-spec front-wheel drive model, rising up to Rp 1.2 milyar (RM368,700) for the all-wheel drive quattro – pretty steep prices for such a car. The latter variant seen here is fairly well-equipped, however – it gets LED headlights and 18-inch five-spoke diamond-cut alloy wheels; the base model makes do with xenon headlights and 17-inch Y-spoke alloys.

Inside, the base model gets Aluminium Ellipse trim and sports seats with leatherette upholstery, while the quattro gains piano black trim and Milano leather upholstery. All models get powered front seats, triple-zone automatic air-con as well as an upgraded MMI Navigation plus system with an 8.3-inch widescreen display and an expanded multi-info display.

audi-a4-2016-back

Additionally, the quattro model also tacks on an Audi smartphone interface that brings Apple CarPlay and Android Auto to the mix (claimed to be the first in Indonesia), a 19-speaker Bang & Olufsen 3D sound system, a driver’s seat memory function, a frameless auto-dimming rear view mirror and sports suspension with adaptive damping.

There’s no Audi virtual cockpit to be found here, however, but the report does state that Audi plans to launch the system as an option during the 2016 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS) in August.

audi-a4-2016-interior

As the variant names suggest, the sole engine option is a 2.0 litre TFSI turbocharged four-cylinder engine – the front-wheel drive version gets the fuel-efficient ultra tune, pushing out 190 hp and 320 Nm of torque. Buyers who punt for the quattro model will get 252 hp and 350 Nm. On both models, there’s a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission fitted as standard.

So, with its ASEAN debut out of the way, surely the arrival of the B9 Audi A4 on Malaysian shores should be next on the agenda – Audi Malaysia has already confirmed that it will be “coming soon.” You can whet your appetite by reading our review of the new A4, all the way from Venice, here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• venven81 on Jun 08, 2016 at 12:11 pm

d@mn!super nice interior. when are they gonna freaking launch this in MY?!

• Rumor has it that MITI has increased the price thanks to Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
      • But bashers says dun belip in rumours, need to trust what they say. So how leh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2016 at 3:31 pm

In 1997, I bought my first Audi. It was Audi A4. Brand new car. Ironically, it was RM120k.

From 1997 to 2016—–it has leapt and jumped so much!

UK exchange rate then was 7.8 to the Ringgit. Today, exchange rate has dropped but car price has shot up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
          • Operation Manager on Jun 08, 2016 at 10:54 pm

When 2017 Passat B9 going to launch, its 320Nm 6speed DSG. Same B9 platform with AUDI A4. Digital meter could turn to map and projected cruise info trasparent screen on top of cokpick.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2016 at 3:29 pm

The price in Indonesia is exorbitant because they are the same genetically identical monkeys running the country as Malaysia.

Both countries are the SAME people. They believe in cheating the rakyat big time. Just like Malaysia, only a handful of monkeys are the ones stealing, whilst the rest are suffering with high cost of living.

Pity our brothers in Indonesia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 16
        • Audi price in Thais & Sig also high. Because they are run by the same genetically identical monkeys I presume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Don’t compare with Thailand or Indon. Our PM already said, by 2020, 4 more years, we are already developed nation.

So, we must compare now with Western pricing of Audi A4 which is USD30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Singaporeans can afford it. They earn 5X that what Malaysians earn. So, the Audi in Singapore is far cheaper than the Audi in Malaysia.

If ALi is earning RM5000 in Malaysia, the same Ali earns RM25,000 in Singapore doing the same job.

The BMW 528i is RM420k. The same BMW 528i is SGD220k.

Who do you think can pay off his loan faster?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
          • kzm (Member) on Jun 08, 2016 at 4:30 pm

U are not singaporean.. ask singaporean whether those price high or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • I don’t know that people who earn SGD buy their car in RM. Yes ali with RM5k can’t buy this audi, so do ali who earn SGD5k who need to buy this car in SGD also.

• From ur statement I know u r not SG pipu. SG price u gip, u need to times 3 or up to 5 more for final sales prices. LKY cekik own pipu oso u idolise cuz u dun see from inside.

• AnotherAnon on Jun 08, 2016 at 8:17 pm

Maca.. Singaporean cars are damn expensive thanks to really high tax. Gov discourage public to buy cars and use their far more efficient public transport.

• Operation Manager on Jun 08, 2016 at 10:46 pm

All name above know nothing but only talk kok. Know nothing about worldwide finance, not to say explore cross culture. Now the COE is subject to tender, the highest pay get it.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 10, 2016 at 3:21 am

everybody knows what is Singapore COE.. Excise tax make car costlier. COE oso make car costlier. it make no different.

• hailthepurist on Jun 09, 2016 at 11:20 am

just drive ur punch cvt proton..

• Malaysia just a small market. So you all wait after Indonesia first la

• papayapink on Jun 08, 2016 at 12:20 pm

rm300K?? So farny..
    USD35k only in US, where the rest came from??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 08, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Now thats a good reason for you to go and live there…so what are you waiting for…go now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
      • yea. his stepson in US too

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2016 at 4:03 pm

not all of us can be like stepson and buy USD80 million apartments. Maybe AutoFrenz also like stepson.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 08, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Then buy under market value lor…tokong can teach you what…but first enter into marriage with the seller…easy maaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • The price state if for indo. But, indo don’t have proton. hmm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • thomas on Jun 08, 2016 at 10:51 pm

in Indonesia there is also a proton. But did not sell

• Ya, Proton is there at Indo not as National Car brand. That what i mean, without National Car also Audi is damn expensive in Indo and Proton did’t play any part in causing Audi so expensive in Indo.

• Even Indo don’t support Proton, not only Malaysia. The world rejects Proton, i guess

• putih on Jun 09, 2016 at 12:21 am

the rest came from tax,especially because this car is cbu and cbu car have higher tax. bmw 3 series and merc c class is more “cheaper” in indonesia because its skd

• kapchai on Jun 08, 2016 at 12:30 pm

What is the price of the same car in Malaysia?

• Say no to Piano black on Jun 08, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Audi Malaysia, if this comes out with finger print prone and fugly as hell piano black trim, you can kiss my RM goodbye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Beauty on Jun 08, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Even the interior lighting looks so nice. God I want this. Hope the price will not be spectacularly high here.

• contender on Jun 08, 2016 at 12:48 pm

BMW Malaysia will be very happy if Audi Malaysia price Audi A4 at such prices, yes the AP recond car sellers would be very happy too.

• With our tax structure, I can only dream of buying such expensive car. RM 369000 better buy a house. Those who can afford it, enjoy.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 08, 2016 at 1:46 pm

369000 can only buy you a lousy flat in cheras these days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • POKAI on Jun 08, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Enjoy it for the first 2-3 yrs then headache for next next 4 yrs haha .

• There is always an alternative called Proton for people like you, you know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 08, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Expect Audi Malaysia to match its previous pricing. No one in the right mind will buy an A4 above RM250k when the base model A6 is at 290k

• Wayne Lescott on Jun 08, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Pre-booked the Audi A4 B9 way back in March, but after numerous inquiries to the dealer on when the A4 will be launched in Malaysia, on top of the ever-repeating “Don’t know, not sure yet. All the cars are in Port Klang but cannot release due to customs.”, I got fed-up and cancelled the booking.

I’m sure it would be a nice car. Most of the external reviews have been pretty positive, but the level of customer service from Audi remains to be desired.

• Ben Yap on Jun 08, 2016 at 2:35 pm

this car more reliable or VW passat cc?

• ben 10 on Jun 08, 2016 at 3:31 pm

these audi & passat CC are reliable car , but the problem come after 4 ~ 5 , start sakit , you also same la , better buy camry hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 08, 2016 at 10:17 pm

boring passat

• Jambanhonda on Jun 08, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Rm 360000 you can buy new accord , new teana & saga blm , 3 car in one price

• Dop3_ on Jun 12, 2016 at 2:31 am

I wish the price for 2.0 QUATTRO will be at below RM300k in Malaysia…. Really wish this come true…

• JustSaying on Jul 14, 2016 at 5:40 pm

They cant sell anything more than the price of A6. That would be illogical