2016 Honda Civic FC 1.8 S, 1.5 Turbo, 1.5 Turbo Premium – specs and equipment in a nutshell

Yesterday, Honda Malaysia officially launched the tenth-generation Honda Civic in KL. Malaysians get to choose from three variants – the 1.8S, 1.5TC and 1.5TC-P (TC for turbocharged and P for premium). Here’s a recap of what one gets for the money, and the list of equipment, in a nutshell.

Honda Civic 1.8S – RM110,426

• 1.8L naturally aspirated SOHC i-VTEC engine, CVT gearbox
  • 141 PS, 174 Nm, 0-100 km/h 10.4 secs, claimed FC 15.9 km/l
  • 16-inch rims, 215/55 tyres
  • Automatic halogen projector headlamps, LED DRLs
  • Wing mirror indicators
  • Body colour door handles
  • Remote engine start and walk away auto door lock
  • Keyless entry and push start
  • Cruise control
  • Full colour digital LCD meter panel
  • Single-zone auto air con
  • Rear air con vents
  • Leather wrapped steering wheel
  • Steering audio buttons with electrostatic switch
  • Fabric seats
  • Eight-way powered driver’s seat
  • Seven-inch touchscreen head unit, eight speakers
  • MP3, iPod, 2x USB, HDMI
  • Hands-free telephone with voice recognition
  • Six airbags (dual front, side, curtain)
  • VSA, ABS, EBD, BA, Hill Start Assist
  • Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold
  • Multi-angle reverse camera
  • Ultrasonic and tilt sensors

Honda Civic 1.5TC – RM124,076

All of the above, plus:

• 1.5L DOHC VTEC Turbo engine, CVT gearbox with paddle shifters
  • 173 PS, 220 Nm, 0-100 km/h 8.2 secs, claimed FC 17.2 km/l
  • 17-inch rims, 215/50 tyres
  • Leather seats

Honda Civic 1.5TC-P – RM131,883

All of the above, plus:

• LED headlamps, LED fog lamps
  • Chrome door handles
  • Dual-zone auto air con
  • Navigation

NOTE: All prices listed are on-the-road excluding insurance; add RM300 for White Orchid Pearl paint.

We’ve driven the FC Civic 1.8 and 1.5 Turbo in Thailand, and found a couple of differences. For instance, while rear AC vents are not available in the Land of Smiles – even in the top RS Turbo spec – they’re standard across the board here. The glovebox lid, which freefalls when opened in the Thai car, has a more-acceptable damped action in the Melaka-assembled CKD Civic. These are among the results of Honda Malaysia’s customisation to suit our market’s higher expectations.

The base 1.8S variant surprised our office with its long list of standard equipment. Things like the digital meter panel, touchscreen head unit, cruise control, electrostatic switch, reverse camera and leather wrapped steering wheel weren’t present in the Thai 1.8L we drove last month, which felt acceptable back then. All at a starting price that’s lower than the 1.8L FB it replaces, too. The new Civic’s Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) status would have surely played a part in the competitive pricing.

The standard Honda Malaysia five-year unlimited mileage warranty applies, and the service interval is 10,000 km, with five times alternate free labour when servicing. Read our full review of the 2016 Honda Civic.

Compare the full specifications and equipment of all three 2016 Honda Civic models sold in Malaysia on CarBase.my.

If you’d like to check out the new Honda Civic in person, Honda showrooms around the country are having an open day this weekend from 11am to 4pm.

There will be gifts for those who sign up for a test drive, a gift when you place a booking, as well as fun activities for the kids while you check out the car. Click here to look for your nearest Honda showroom.

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.8S

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.5TC
GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.5TC-P

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 10, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 488
    • Toyota sales agent speaking lol.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 13
      • WT Fuchhh on Jun 10, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Awesome car spoiled by low quality paint finishing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • cat mura on Jun 12, 2016 at 10:40 pm

agreed! 3 kali basuh your car got scratch all over…haiya so sakit hati!

• Malaysians should stop complaining aboout high car prices. Our car prices are cheapest in the world. Minyak pun cheapest. Tak kan tak ada Rm120k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 50
      • Don’t become white rats. Later engine overheating waiting tow truck under the hot sun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
        • Bashers Theory on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:34 am

Like bashers always say. This is not US/ European countries, weather here is summer hot. And turbo cannot drive long during the day. Civic overheating cases in Thailand set good example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Honda sales man on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:04 pm

This fellow UMW TOYOTA is definitely not toyota sales man. He or she may be a Honda sales man that trying to stir thing here. Make reader feel anger of the comment. Low class trick lah. Anyway, I agreed Altis is suck compare to this and thanks to sam loo that killed the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • Just admit it on Jun 10, 2016 at 11:18 pm

He is putting up a brave face and trying to salvage some plus points for the Altis (albeit miserably) but deep down he himself agrees the Altis is outclassed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
        • The 200 speed limiter is because of CVT. Just imagine how loud the engine sound at high speed. LOL

Sad Civic sad, 0-100 lose, top speed also lose. Not to mention rear head room and the uncomfortable hard suspension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
          • karam singh on Jun 12, 2016 at 5:48 pm

lose to whose ? please stat real fact lol.

faster car need harder suspension to handle high speed for maneuverability.

how soft suspension handles ?
            how it handle with 4-5 adult in the car?
            Hey Uncle, go buy Uncle car provide more comfort lol & stay off right lane yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
          • I can buy this Civic with cash. Tak payah loan. Keje lebih lah RBA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • Honda City suspension also hard like stone. Very bouncy when travel 110km/h. But is it a fast car?

• Albert on Jun 10, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Datuk Onda,
        Why is the resale value of Honda cars so damn high here?
        A 2006 Civic 1.8,used car dealers selling for rm44-48 K ,excluding ” admin plus puspakom runner fees,insurance and road tax”.Almost rm50k for a 250,000 km travelled 10 year old car.
        New Honda car prices,are way way too exhorbitant now.Only the super middle class and above can afford.
        The rest,like most forum writers just watch,with saliva dripping from their mouth.
        Car prices,are artificially high due to steep taxes,to torture the rakyat.
        It is so sad.
        Here,banks own cars.
        In UK,most of the citizens own cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 14
        • Why so fussy? In Thai without p1 the price is not that cheap also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Altis Good Small Family Car on Jun 12, 2016 at 7:44 pm

So what is your point?

• Burung talk on Jun 12, 2016 at 9:45 pm

So many anger comments from the same politician try to stir anger here. So bored to see this non related topic here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • That is why, just join BN like me. BN give everyone opportunity to make money. Not just a few BUT everyone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • Datmoon on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:43 pm

because most will only read part of the sentences and come to own conclusions, too pandai and most knew all about cars components, performance and better than automobile engineers

• bootlid on Jun 11, 2016 at 5:50 am

Buy Toyota, you get faster freefall glove box lid, why need to wait for Matt Damon coming back from Mars to get it down, just free fall je la!

Oh wait, this is your foreign overlod jepunis car not p1. So cannot persoal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • Topkek on Jun 12, 2016 at 7:39 am

Lol last time basher persoal why sypeima glove box lid slowly falls down, not free fall? But in civic they dun bash pulak

Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • C-segment is for kids. Adults will wait for Honda Accord turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 33
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2016 at 10:52 am

This car is great. No doubt about it. But at Rm114 (with insurance), not many in Malaysia can afford it. Car prices in Malaysia are highest in the world. Yes, even higher than Singapore (cause Singapore’s GDP per capita is 5x more than Malaysia, so, Singaporeans earning power is far far higher than Malaysia)

Where is the promise by the Government to reduce car prices by 30%? If this Civic is RM114, if we follow the Government promise, this car will be about RM80k.

So, we take lesser loans, and we pay lesser monthly. the money we can save, we can buy good food for ourselves and children.

When is the Government going to honour their promise? Currently, ALL Malaysians are suffering with high cost of living. Adding our car loans and housing loans, most people in Malaysia are struggling.

Can the Government honour their promise please? Instead of spending on private jets to fly all over the world, Government should think about the struggling Malaysians

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 18
          • Forrester from RM211k to now rock bottom RM129k! 39% price reduction! Janji ditepati and even more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
          • Dono todu on Jun 12, 2016 at 5:30 am

Agak-agak lah….civic in Singaporean singapore much higher rm 318k to be exact…..http://paultan.org/2016/04/18/2016-honda-civic-spore-gets-1-6-only-from-rm318k/..compare uk with MY is acceptable…Singapore govt wants you to pay more with CoE..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
          • Lawson on Jun 12, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Singaporeans are having higher income because they are highly productive. They produces world class services and goods with much higher value added and had to be competative like oil rigs that are exported all the way to Brazil. In Singapore they are least within top five for best airport, best sea port, best air lines, best housing board in their HDB and as world class city state planning. Every millons of dollars they deployed to work they are having much less leakages, if any, and have results which are vissible for all to see. All these from a top class goverment and back up by top notch educated citizen & workforce. Jobs that are lowly paid, difficult and dirty like contruction and garbage collection are fill by foreigners!.

40 years ago there are not much differences between Sinagpore and Malaysia. Don’t have to wonder why. We Malaysians as goverment and citizens had repeatly shot our feet over and over again over the years.

So each of us being citizens malaysia dare to say we have done the best and in most logically thinking – as son, father, husband, employee etc etc. All in all for well being of family, fellow workers, the company that pay us, god that provided us this land etc etc. Do we as consumers understand that the world does not not owe us products that cheap, high tech & good and we do need to gives back something in exchange for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
          • Topkek la semua. This Honda is so cheap. Stop complaining about price. Be grateful. Our car prices are cheapest in world. You cannot afford it because you are lazy and don’t work hard. If you work hard like me, you will have money lah!

Tak habis habis RBA complain. Kalau tak suka, keluar. We don’t need people who always complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
          • konda kondi on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:42 pm

bodoh tu simpan sikit bro

• Datmoon on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:47 pm

everything want cheap cheap, salary want raise always, all people fault, haiya build own car no nees to pay, lot of recycle iron and plastic around go use to make yr own car lor… honda worker need pay asso ma…

• The interior design….sigh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • tok adi on Jun 11, 2016 at 4:05 pm

what type of classification u got? c-segment for kids? so the a-segment for the sperm? be matured la bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
          • Majority 20-30 years old “kids” interested in Civic. Because they are still immature and limited income to afford better things in life yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jun 11, 2016 at 4:32 pm

And comfirm new Perdana launch this week… comfirm by management !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
          • Lazada on Jun 12, 2016 at 10:24 am

Mana itu perdana accord? Ada full led head lamp…

• Every1canTalk on Jun 12, 2016 at 10:41 am

Hahaha, how many times mentioned by this week already? Some more kompom with managment? lol

• john is otak batu on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:14 am

Ah Beng.. talk-cock lah. Tak Nampak pun???!!!

• Alldisc on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:50 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 148
        • Gracke on Jun 11, 2016 at 10:46 am

Toyota not only beats Honda, it beats BMW, Mercedes, Volvo, Audi, Jaguar, Land Rover, Nissan GTR, Porsche, Mitsubishi, Subaru, Peugeot, Lamborghini, Ferrari, McLaren…..beats all the good car in the world!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
          • carlist on Jun 13, 2016 at 1:10 pm

You are comparing apple with orange. Comparing Toyota with Honda is making real sense. They are direct competitor with the same targeted market.

If you can’t read this, try to see how many luxurious MPV say Alphard VS Elysion on the road. More value of money will finally goes to Toyota is the fact.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:02 am

This car is going to be a hot seller. It will wipe out every single C segment car in Malaysia. Thsi would mean, DRB Hicom is going to mint big time money.

But then again, why is DRB Hicom begging money from the rakyat and asking RM1.5 billion loan for Proton?

DRB Hicom is owned by Syed Mokhtar. He is Top 5 richest man in Malaysia. Now with the new Civic sales, he will be even richer. Estimated current wealth RM20 billion.

Syed Mokhtar should be funding Proton from his own pocket being Top 5 richest man in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 14
          • Millionaire on Jun 12, 2016 at 7:43 am

From top 10 richest men im bolehland, the other 9 are not malais. Go figure.

• Unknown on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:02 am

I can agree with your statement on fuel efficiency, comfort

luxury feel in toyota? Camry also so so only but still acceptable. Unless you talk about lexus.

Driving performance? a big no. toyota driving experience is more to your so called ultimate comfort, then they will need to sacrifice the performance.

• But but but toyoda cheaper variant no 6 airbags

• I see the sarcasm in your comment.

• Lazada on Jun 11, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Sadly worldwide is Vw top sales?

• karam singh on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:37 pm

lol.. agreed,
            Next Civic facelift gonna come with Honda LaneWatch, Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keeping Assist System, Collision Mitigation Braking System, Road Departure Mitigation, Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning , HondaSensing ,Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
          • Samlordupe on Jun 12, 2016 at 7:45 am

In other words, habis la altis

• George Abdul on Jun 11, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Yea, tell your AP system stop mark u the car price! And should Gov really need multiple tax system?!?!

• kzm (Member) on Jun 12, 2016 at 4:05 am

Do you really know what AP that u comment bout?

• karam singh on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Altis vs Civic , lets be fair.
          Altis – overpriced,uncle approved, low tech, less equipment, lower FC , less safety , lower Noise Insulation, crappy handling , civic got better high speed stability , less top speed , less power,

Civic now collecting awards all over the World, where Altis ? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
        • karam singh on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:39 pm

wait! 1 more..
          Remote Start ;)
          pretty useful to cool your car 1st in our hot environment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • mazda3owner on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:35 am

I m so regretted to have not waited for this new civic…now my mazda3 looks like a joke for the money…WTF WTF…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 43
        • Honda salesman talk… No pipu in showroom ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • putu mayam on Jun 12, 2016 at 2:42 pm

unless u bot the cbu version…then memang expensive and joke la…but ckd version price for price is still higher spec….comparing entry range 1.5 turbo vs mazda 3 hi spec…all the safety features, adaptive bixenon headlamps, foldable rear seats, navigation and head up display plus 5k discount, what civic has in his favour is rear air con vents and 2 more speakers but it is slightly more expensive and discounts would be harder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
          • karam singh on Jun 12, 2016 at 5:53 pm

zzzz
            lets wait paultan compare those C-segment car..
            my bet on Civic 100%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • miloVan on Jun 10, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Standard 6 airbags, traction control & cruise control in Civic.

Not sure whether these are standard equipments across Altis variants too?

Perhaps Toyota sales advisors can help here.

• Krish on Jun 10, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Next toyota will surely come out with turbo from lexus engine. Then wat u going to say?

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:11 pm

lol im the 1st to comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Hahaha you just made my day. This is the first time I heard that the torsion beam is better than the multilink in term of performance. The main advantage of the torsion beam is it being simpler therefore cheaper. If the torsion beam is superior, Ferrari should be using it in their cars now instead of the multilink.

• drillero on Jun 11, 2016 at 1:46 am

Wake up Toyota! Your Corolla & other model are build for the past generation. Toyota still dreaming & living in the past including the salesman. Your engines are getting ageing & obsolate too fast & furious, faster than turbo charge engines from your competitors. Well done, Honda & Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Honda multilnk suspension tak sedap, lotus ride much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:06 am

Since DRB Hicom is going to make BILLIONs from the sale of the Civic and more Billions from the sale of Perdana to Government departments, can DRB Hicom please return the RM1.5 billion loan they just got?

We can use the RM1.5 billion to send many poor students to University to study. Can send at least 10,000 students to study at University

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2016 at 12:06 pm

So much hype with this new Civic.

But most important is the price. Malaysians see PRICE. If price is good, it will sell well. But at Rm114k, is it worth it? I might as well add Rm10k more and buy an Accord.
        This was the MAIN reason previous Civic was a big failure before and people just went ahead buying an Accord instead.

People rather add a bit more to get a proper big D class sedan if it is only a few thousand more.

Nowadays you go bargain for an Accord, can even get RM128k also. (with FREE Leather seats thrown in) And that OTR. Infact, some have bargained to RM125k also.

Now you also can get a huge luxurious Nissan Teana with 6 airbags with leather seats also for about RM123k

Big headache….buy Civic small C class sedan (albeit 6 airbags) for RM114k or buy huge luxurious Mercedes feel D Segment Accord for RM125k OTR

Ask most Malaysians, buying a proper large D segment is far better value and more comfortable than buying a kuci Civic for nearly the same price.

No Civic in the world is as comfortable as an Accord, Teana or Camry. D segment is D segment. They have the same drive feel as the F10 5 series and W213 Merc E class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
        • karam singh on Jun 12, 2016 at 3:24 am

Lol .. compare other than the segment.
          People gonna buy cars for their own reason, if they prefer comfort they buy their comfort car.
          Does bigger car like D-segment better in City driving ? higher FC for daily work driving.
          C-segment is the answer to that, good both City & Highway driving.
          So… D-segment maintenance gonna be higher as it heavier,bulkier.

But rounding all those, Civic the best of C-segment car now.
          Lots of people there in Honda Showroom, hard to get a test drive, still people booked lots of them now. Lets wait & see .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Yippi33 on Jun 12, 2016 at 8:16 pm

There is a reason they create cars by segments. It depends on target market you intend the product for. C segment is for young execs while the D segment is for more matured ones. Therefore, they cover a more broader range of customers and more sales.

• Lazada on Jun 11, 2016 at 1:00 pm

How many lotus sold?

• Gracke on Jun 11, 2016 at 10:40 am

You do not know about car engineering at all!

• If you can’t bring better arguments for your sad boring Toyota Brand, better stay off the key-board.

• Anti umwt on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:57 am

Your aftersales service suc*s big time. Email to customer service also did not reply.

I am walking away from u after 10 years.

• karam singh on Jun 12, 2016 at 3:26 am

Lol, just call their number would solve it or just to the service centre u stingy,lazy bas…d

• All Hail Honda on Jun 11, 2016 at 8:10 pm

Honda has set a high standard for all jepunis cars which equips many active & passive features beyond k-pop cars available in Bolehland..shockingly at lower price than big T.. Imagine,more goodies in standard civic at 110k vs less goodies on big T standard Corolla at 117k! Honda giving more power at 125k while UMW 140k for equal version.. Bye bye Corolla,see u again in 2018 but very doubt all greedy UMW heads will price cheaper to fight Honda.. By this move automatically Honda kills k-pop model lineups too.Hard for others to follow,surely Honda want to maintain King of Foreign Sales for longer time.Good for consumer to see price war between these manufactures too..Remember,unless we buy p1 or p2,go for Honda.Let those greedy white collars succumb to us and not tag the over price on their product! Then we will see 5 digits rebates in many years ahead.

• Beamer77 on Nov 12, 2016 at 8:56 am

Torsion beam better than multi link? Dude check your facts man then again no wonder you are in Toyota because they are certainly ‘moving forward’ with their torsion beam:)

• Chentapaa on Dec 22, 2016 at 9:31 pm

Ini semua poyo! Harga m/sikal dan motokar di luar negara separuh lebih murah daripada yg asal. Nak main, mari larrr..

• Kaki Gatal on Jun 14, 2017 at 12:28 am

Bro Toyota … ok la comfortable car, but a lot of not practical features like “Pay extra for more airbags” and “Cannot return calls when plug phone into infotainment system.” Just to name two that’s turns off people.

But I agree, Toyota is comfortable zzzz …. that’s all.

• Honda Supporter on Jun 10, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Great Specifications for all variants with value for money pricing. Thumbs up to Honda Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 15
    • No need to hurry. Skip the FC and observe if any turbo OVERHEATING turbo first. Then upgrade to next-gen Honda Accord straight away.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:12 pm

will see civic breakdown due overboost tobo kong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • karam singh on Jun 12, 2016 at 3:31 am

this is the dawn of new turbo century bro…
        your mindset too old,
        NA engine never kong ? lol.
        Trust in Japan engineering & reliability.

• karam singh on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:11 am

agreed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Does any of these comes with front parking sensor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
    • Looking at the images i think there are no front parking sensors

• Albert on Jun 10, 2016 at 11:16 pm

Tokok Johnnie,
      Ya,it comes with sensor that can detect people coming near,who tokok a lot.

• Thrishaan on Jun 11, 2016 at 2:35 am

The car looks beautiful and the straight lines on the body really makes the car bold and elegant looking at the same time.

• p2macai on Jun 11, 2016 at 5:58 am

Buy Axia got front sensor, perfect for tailgating Civic

• Lazada on Jun 12, 2016 at 10:36 am

Axia front sensors lousy…. both mine and my dad faulty…. beep beep beep all the time so annoying…. last last disconnect it… No recall from P2!!!!

• karam singh on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:27 pm

no, all come with rear parking sensors & camera .
      front sensor ? lol go back to driving course ;p

• Really? on Jun 11, 2016 at 8:13 pm

R u really bad parking driver? Or blind? Buy trishaw loh!

• FDfan on Jun 10, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Hey guys, why is the top speed for all 3 variants 200kmh? Electronically limited?
    My previous FD model, both 1.8 and 2.0 could go much more than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 55
    • mohdfaiz88 on Jun 10, 2016 at 8:28 pm

This is Malaysia, small country. not USA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Bmw5series on Jun 10, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Fd dah jadi besi buruk…tak payah la laju2

• nothingtoshoutabout on Jun 11, 2016 at 5:51 am

Even Suprima S can outrun previous Civic, at more than 200km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Because they are “ah beng” “lala” “seafood” “gongxi gilap” la

• Malaysian Driver on Jun 10, 2016 at 8:38 pm

As if you’ll drive 200km/h everyday on Malaysian road and go for a drag race every weekend.

Buying a car based on 0-100km/h time and top speed is the dumbest car buyers’ criteria.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 11
      • FDfan on Jun 10, 2016 at 9:30 pm

Yeah, except that you didn’t answer the question, moron. Who said I bought the car based on top speed or 0-100 time? The underlying question was (since you’re so stupid Malaysian Driver) why is this car slower than the 2 gens ago model, when 1 engine is the same as before and another is supposed to be as powerful as a 2.4?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • anonymous on Jun 11, 2016 at 12:08 am

Not entirely tho. I like to see car manufacturer states the century sprint seconds of their cars because it gives you an approximate idea how its 220Nm of torque feels like in a 1300kg vehicle.

• manusia on Jun 11, 2016 at 1:21 am

But I do really drive top speed on my everyday journey (and no, traffic isnt a concern on my daily route), and each traffic light is a drag event for me, so why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Every1canTalk on Jun 12, 2016 at 10:52 am

The accident rate is high becos of this kind of PPL, hope the accident victims not included those innocent but the driver only.
          In case your top speed is 60km/h, then please ignore the statement, LOL!

• basher=dumbest on Jun 11, 2016 at 5:53 am

I thought basher said can outrun 9.98 sec suprima S? Then basher is dumbest car buyer!

Lol

• 220lame on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:31 am

Habis la kena tarpau dengan preve

• FDfan on Jun 11, 2016 at 1:33 pm

The question was was simple – why is the newer car slower than the old car, when they insist the power is same or better?
        Is it the cvt or is it electronically limited?
        Nothing to do with whether I buy the car for top speed or 0-100 time, or mileage, which isn’t any of your business.

• Lawson on Jun 12, 2016 at 8:16 am

Generally new cars are slower than cars that are 10 to 15 years ago because their size & wieght is much higher than before. Vios 1st gen vs current vios is about 80kg lighter is an good example. Another is that cars nowdays are having e-throttle which does not have the cable wire that directly link the pedal to the throttle body. So if you immediately mesh your foot to pedal down it does not meant that the butterfly flapper in the throttled body is opened to 100%. There is no write up which i could find in thr ner. I think the e-throttle would open the trottle body in a step ladder profile. All in all it just muted the pick up time by 1 to 2 seconds but give the engine and transmission, especially cvt, a longer life span and lesser spike in tail pipe emission of CO and NOX.

• Anson Ong on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Hah hah hah! Hats off to your reply to this thread! Imagine people with unnecessary need for speed huh? Tak malu kena kamera had kelajuan/AES kah?? RM300 via various summonses to waste just like that?

• When VTEC Boys speaking… They just care about the how fast the car can go like they are driving the real Type R or any sports car.. And yeah, they drive like Pelesit when driving on Expressway… Dude, this car is just a normal car to bring you from point A to point B…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • Civic=snail car on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:28 am

Prolly has speed limiter

• karam singh on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:31 pm

its the spec on paper only.
      dynoed , 178ps 248Nm .. on paper 173hp 220Nm
      200kmh too easy for this car, can achieve 240-250kmh range if not electronically limited.
      This New Civic Owns FD like a piece of cake.
      1.5T faster than Civic Si 2.4 200hp 6speed LSD manual too both rolling start & drag race.

• Unknown on Jun 10, 2016 at 8:10 pm

A base 1.8S will more than enough!

Just get an aftermarket 17inch RIM and everything will looks perfect!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 7
  • horrayooi on Jun 10, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Make sure your next facelift for b segment Honda City installed with proper temperature gauge. ( not green and red temperature lights ) Who is the dumb engineer who started the trend of installing the cheap lights. How much can Honda and Toyota save for 1 miserable temperature gauge. Honda City and Toyota Vios have this type of dumb mentality. Car customers get very annoyed with the missing temperature gauge. They treat c segment as if not important and cut production cost. Malaysian pay high price and get low specs too. One example is we don’t get paddle shifters for the City. Thais get it. Honda Malaysia and in fact all Malaysian car manufacturers always lowered the specs and sell the cars at high prices. The coming Toyota Sienta is another example. Selling at RM93k when in Indonesia they are selling RM67k to RM85k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 14
    • workhard on Jun 11, 2016 at 6:00 am

That’s what you get when you worship foreign overlord brands, serve you right!

• Nosushi on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:28 am

Because jepunis cant even design proper panel

• Notakata on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:26 am

Airbags also cant be designed properly or bad QC

• Notakata on Jun 12, 2016 at 8:03 am

Eh why stole my nick? You want to defend your jepunis overlord brand?

Last time basher bashed p1 build quality and now even your worship jepunis overlord which is much older and sold many many cars in the world got killing airbags!!!

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 10, 2016 at 8:23 pm

Now this is a proper family car but no doubt a lot of ah bengs will dress it up to become Type R wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
    • Jem Clarkson on Jun 10, 2016 at 9:54 pm

At least those fellas are proud of their rides.

Seen too many F30 BMW 316i in KL with 316 emblem removed. Wondering why…

• After a few months from now the infamous Ah Beng Civic club will be lining up non-stop to modify exhaust systems, bodykits and so on at Sunway area for sure.LOL
      Vtec turbo madness begins.
      Last but not least, the Civic club drivers will drive like maniacs at sepang circuit for sure. Surely reserved only for the upper middle class group unlike us normal malaysians who drive normal cars with zero modifications:(

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:14 pm

agree..so dress your civic with TRD sportivo..handbrake turn like my vios

• Type R that never have a very linear engine/exhaust sound AWAHAHAHAHHA!! That is so lame..

• Mazdabetter on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:23 am

Overpriced as no honda sensing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • If you had any sense of costing for these technologies, you would know fitting these item would only push the price higher. Furthermore, local drivers are not well enough educated to use these gadget and think the car is like auto pilot. Learn basic driving skills first…

• Sean is proud of his recond316 on Jun 11, 2016 at 10:09 am

May be you do not know many of Ah Beng drivers arr actually richer than those who bought recond german car to show off.

• Bengbeng on Jun 12, 2016 at 8:06 am

That’s only modified saga lor. Frontside is f30 look alike

• Why does 0-100 is 8.2 and not 6.8 as it is in the US

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • seewhy on Jun 11, 2016 at 12:33 am

US typically measures 0-60 mph, which is not exactly matching 0-100 km/h.

• when VTEC boys speaking… hmmm

• karam singh on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:16 am

well in U.S dynoed , it got 178hp 248Nm ;p
      on sheet 173hp 220Nm lalalala~~~~~
      it also beat Civic Si k24 6spd manual 200hp i-vtec easily

maybe 8.2s tested with Econ button on , hahahaha

• Wiraturbo on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:34 am

Because they can cheat americans not bolehland people. My wira turbo smokes GTi rings on track

• Don't Honk-lah on Jun 10, 2016 at 8:50 pm

This car is looking fine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Really on Jun 10, 2016 at 8:51 pm

No matter what you say, the Altis is essentially dying now with the arrival of the better-in-every-ways Civic. Expect bigger discounts by UMW in the coming months. Those who are still eyeing the Altis should wait for the bigger discounts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo & Albert better start looking for new jobs

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:15 pm

www.slowslowwait.com for the discount..

• O..ohh
      Altis, u jalat liao.
      U must upload more safety features and slash down the price like no tomorrow or else your show room front doors would be flooded by Civic, Civic,Civic,Civic….Altis would be kept in the warehouse covered by dust and spider web……UMW ….hehe u asked for it….

• Samlordupe on Jun 12, 2016 at 8:12 am

And same lorrrr is going to be honda SA lol

• Altis Good Small Family Car on Jun 12, 2016 at 7:40 pm

if HUGE HUGE discount for Altis, why not? For sure is more comfortable than the Civic.

• Anti umwt on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:58 am

Yes thats d usual case. Can go up to 15k discount based on my experience for camry hybrid.

• Adios UMW on Jun 11, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Rumours tell by August altis will slash 15k-20k & 10k for vios to clear dying stocks before next year coming.. But by then surely civic will come up with free down payment to put UMW sleep again.Nightmare continues..

• Krish on Jun 10, 2016 at 9:44 pm

The 1.8S itself is very good. Im going for it..

• RIP Corolla Altis

• Haha. Suddenly for all we know later 7 airbags in current altis included as standard. Pity the toyota sales team now in serious deep trouble. I was the only customer doing test drive in my area at Toyota showroom at Melaka area.
    They are desparate for sales now. Economy is horrible now the salesman claimed. Kesian the poor fellow.

• Slow is the new on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Goodness – not just Sensing/LaneWatch magically disappear, the 0-100 km/h 1.5L turbo in Western countries is 6.8 secs, nearly 1.5 secs faster than our model 8.2 secs..

Also they get 2.0L instead of 1.8L which is 8.3 secs, nearly as fast as our 1.5L turbo and >2 secs faster than Bolehland’s 1.8L..

Might be a little pedantic with these numbers but we thought only the Sensing/LaneWatch features are absent, now even the engine has been toyed around.. just ‘wow’..

• Lazada on Jun 12, 2016 at 10:48 am

Just want looks nice n cool, leather seats,full led head lamps, full safety equipments, pls offer on 1.8L ….. fast or not doesnt really matter much…. no so confident with small turbo car… prefer N.A DOHC 1.8L OR 2.0L…

• Kaki Gatal on Jun 14, 2017 at 12:38 am

All the “Sensing” and “Turbo” in the world will not be able to save most Malaysian Drivers. Because when they build in “Sensing” and “Turbo”.

These traits are observable when another driver gives signals to change lane these Buto drivers natural “Sensing” will kick in and “Turbo” up by flooring the Pedal so that they speed up.

Seriously, even old uncles does that, really hope these Buto Drivers go smash some wall with their car.

• redmac on Jun 10, 2016 at 11:06 pm

Great pricing from Honda, gives a sucker punch to Toyota Altis which is very rare OTR right now. UMW will have to give at least 15-20% discount to even start becoming competitive ha3… now the only hard choice will be between full spec HRV and 1.8 Civic.

• The engine bay so tight . Repair time very difficult

• Proton Perghhhhhh-zzzz-dana on Jun 10, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Still hiding under the blanket.. ZZzzzz

• top spec should have include this 3

lane keep assist system
    adaptive cruise control
    collision mitigation brake system

and RM132k is justified

• right pricing. Good job drbhicom. 1.5turbo basic superb value for money. Power like 2.4 but cheap roadtax and more saving for fuel. Xtra get 17rim and oem leather seat. Worth for xtra 14k. The top spec i thk should pricing below rm129k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Lembu minum air on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:22 am

Is it combined cycle FC? I don’t think so

• 6th sense on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:25 am

This is no sensing nonsense honda lor. Price ady overpriced

• Lazada on Jun 11, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Prefer Honda Malaysia, can offer 1.8L with leather seat n full LED head light…. my personal opinion is 1.8L will be best selling model… not so confident with 1.5T with cvt….

• Sammy Loo on Jun 12, 2016 at 9:53 pm

ya the Civic turbo going to be the next tow car lover after VW

• paultan should release the comparison review videos between this 10th gen honda civic with toyota corolla altis… i like to see that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • Anson Ong on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Yeah! You have a seconder here – pitch it together with the currently-aging Nissan Sylphy 1.8VL too!

• really ? on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:08 am

No matter how good the product, there will still be bashers. I think this is a good move from Honda by offering full airbagas and specs across the 3 variants. Yes, maybe the Honda sensing package is missing, but I believe, by facelift and next generation, this will also become a standard package. Kudos to Honda and hope they keep raising the bar.

• Civic civic I want.. on Jun 11, 2016 at 7:43 am

The 2 turbo variants for auto dim rear view mirror, right?

• Jim carey on Jun 11, 2016 at 8:13 am

Fd fan , suprima s can tapau your old fd easily ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • Lazada on Jun 11, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Nobody care…. ppl buy this car for looks good, comfort and safety of familes love ones… u Won whatever as u like…..

• suprima owner on Jun 11, 2016 at 1:58 pm

yeahhh my suprima already tapau much fd, highway or corner, my suprima tapau easily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • karam singh on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Really ? … try2
      see which one kaput 1st.. lol
      lalala~~~

• pokmang on Jun 12, 2016 at 11:40 pm

own an 80k car just to tapao others? give me rm2 i will tapao nasi lemak for you

• kuriang on Jun 11, 2016 at 8:49 am

Budak-budak VTEC besar EG ferio dolphin B16A EK kontot bagai dah meleleh air liur tu… VTEC tebo ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Just want to know..is there any plans to add HONDA SENSE in the future?? And if not..can we fit Honda sense?

• Car lover on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:53 am

Can somebody tell me what purpose for tilt sensor?

• Tilt sensor will trigger alarm when the vehicle is lifter in front or back higher that 0.7 degrees, to alert owner of the car being stolen (tow away) or sport rims theft. Its basically an added anti theft alert.

• voodoo on Jun 11, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Alarm sensor will detect tilt if the is being towed without your presence i.e. car being stolen. Or better still – to scare off the DBKL & MPBJ tow trucks!

• Tilt sensor on Jun 11, 2016 at 3:01 pm

The tilt sensor fires the alarm when your car is lifted. For example if someone try to jack up your car to steal your rims.

• TKhengong on Jun 11, 2016 at 10:13 am

Can’t bring myself to buy this car because of its crony owner. This guy seems to have it all. Proton suffer loses, receives government funding, sell Honda cars makes more money. Sell sugar to Malaysians, makes even more money. Besides, having owned a Civic previously, in my personal opinion, it’s all hype. In the US, it’s sales performance is ahead of the aged Corolla Altis by not many units and a recent 3-cars shoot out, the review still rated the Corolla Altis best in the comfort and ride factor! That’s what we need for our Malaysian roads. How fast can you go without getting a summon on the highway? In town, don’t even think about it at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 44
    • Performance_Driver on Jun 11, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Not really, faster car=easier overtake. For one lane kampung style road, I rather had Civic. Its not like Altis have Mercedes level comfort. Altis beat Civic only a little bit, but its perform like shit it the corner.

• Malaysian Driver on Jun 11, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Toyota salesman detected. Why don’t you mention that UMW Toyota is also a crony? Not only that UMW Toyota is a crony, but it’s also a crony that likes to ripped off Malaysian by selling over priced cars with crappy safety features and super expesnive bodykits!

Yes, both UMW and DRB Honda Malaysia are cronies. But I rather put my money on crony distributor that gives me VALUE FOR MONEY product rather than a crony that blatantly rip me off. Compare 1.8 Civic with the 1.8 Altis, the decision is a no brainer. With almost the same money, Civic gives me 6 airbags and VSC, in a 1.8 Altis, it’s the mundane airbag dua bijik + NO VSC, want 6 airbags in an Altis? You have to top up money from the high spec 2.0 Altis, and that’s a rip off.

No go back to your deserted showroom and try looking at your showroom Altis unit that nobody wants to touch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
      • tkhengong on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:14 am

Ha-ha. First and foremost, I am not a Toyota salesman. I have owned many cars over my 20 years of car ownership – Ford (TX3 & Lynx & Ranger), Toyota (3 generations of Corolla models), Honda (Civic VTEC), Ssangyong (Kyron), VW (Jetta) and my latest ride, 2016 Subaru XV. UMW-Toyota is owned by PNB (a government-linked company) whereas Honda is majority owned by Syed Mokhtar, who incidentally also owns Proton and just about everything in Malaysia – sugar imports, Tanjong Pelepas port in Johor, utility company, and many others.

• anyone know DRB Honda Malaysia is
        Manufacturer of HONDA motorcycle engines and components in Malaysia or make vehicle

Honda Malaysia Sdn. Bhd. manufactures motor vehicles. Its operations include machining, heat treatment, grinding, and assembly, as well as predelivery inspection operations. The company was incorporated in 2000 and is based in Alor Gajah, Malaysia with a sales, service, and spare parts center in Selangor. Honda Malaysia Sdn. Bhd. operates as a subsidiary of Honda Motor Co. Ltd.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Jun 11, 2016 at 10:50 am

I sense Marketing strategy as Reason why Honda Malaysia left out 60:40 split fold rear seats ALL variants. Indonesian Market has it. I talked to Honda Malaysia Staff. He said if want 60:40 split fold seats, go for HR-V or City, or CRV… My 2008 Civic FD2 have this feature and It’s useful… Disappointed…

• i am still waiting for mazda3 new facelift for making decision

• honda4poor on Jun 11, 2016 at 11:49 am

Honda why so mahal la, makcik2 and pakcik2 cannot afford

• redline on Jun 11, 2016 at 12:54 pm

See Image ID-506810: very impressed to see the base model 1.8 does not have any blank switches. Not too long ago this space will be completely blank… leaving you with an empty feeling. Kudos to Honda Malaysia for listening to the demands of the Malaysian consumer!

• Logan on Jun 11, 2016 at 2:48 pm

I think will do upgrade leather seat for 1.8 . That’s the best

• Is this honda using the takada airbag which is dangerous?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 11, 2016 at 6:47 pm

They will use same brand as p1

• Takata on Jun 11, 2016 at 8:21 pm

It’s Takata. And no, carmakers nowadays are avoiding Takata airbags like it’s the plague.

• ANCAP on Jun 11, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Looking at the safety features, honda has up the scale giving all the stated features as sandard across all variants. Something which other models/manufacturers should opt into. Its a good step forward.

• C.P.MOHAN on Jun 11, 2016 at 5:10 pm

I thought highly of Honda until I saw and touched my son’s 2015 honda city 1.5v and the flimsy material used. Looks like Honda have not gotten past “the Milo tin” and don’t get me started on the many problems of my Honda Accord.

• anonymous on Jun 11, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Well done Honda Malaysia for raising the bar of minimum standard and value for money. Keep up the good work & hope it won’t downgrade the spec later like Honda City reducing reverse sensor from 4 to 2. Also hope Honda Malaysia can introduce Honda Sensing as optional for all variant in face lift.

• SAM gill on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Well done Honda Malaysia for raising the bar of minimum standard and value for money. Keep up the good work & hope it won’t downgrade the spec later like Honda City reducing reverse sensor from 4 to 2. Also hope Honda Malaysia can introduce Honda Sensing as optional for all variant in face lift.

• Kertas Putih on Jun 11, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Yep perfect. This is the way to write such articles instead of trying to turn a spec sheet into paragraphs.

• See the car today. Well,it value for you buck for the mid spec turbo. Interior is spacious reaching accord and the material is fine. Safety features no question on it. Power is there for you when needed. Save fuel if you turn eco mode.for those always think of resake value,this car is going to hold.If you are looking for a c segment, no doubt this is the car to go for it. You will be regret later if you dont own a civic when you are young. Quote me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • I didnt own civic when i was young but i am not regret because the money i saved from using p1 when i was young, now i have 3 cars, 2 bungalow and 8 other properties for rent. You are too young to give such advice son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • redmac on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Great pricing and spec. I really hope it sells well to teach UMW Toyota a lesson on pricing strategy.. Altis 1.8 boleh gulung tikar, or better follow VW strategy of giving 15% discount ha3… Only 1 spec turns me off for 2 Generations of Civic now, is is so hard to make foldable rear seats?? Sometimes we do need to transport long items. eg. ladder, bicyle, IKEA box etc.

• Sam Loo and Albert started to apply new job. Anyone got opening for uber troll that has no skills but to hard sell and bad mouth others?

• Anyone know when the Honda brv will launch in Malaysia. I’m still waiting for it as I prefer 7 seater instead of sedan nOw…BRV = SUV + MPV

• BRV Fans on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:37 am

Same with me also, I’m waiting BRV come out.
      Last week I just asked the salesman of honda, he said mostly end of this year or earlier next year.
      so no choice, we still need to wait.
      If next year still not come… then choose others lor..
      New Alza or New Innova/ Sienta… or Exora.

• gulagman on Jun 12, 2016 at 10:50 am

Even my old-old unker toyota SEG can out-accelerated this turbo car…..

• qhary on Jun 12, 2016 at 2:50 pm

all the above without autoviper sensor?

• City owner on Jun 12, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Despite all nonsense, Honda is generous enough to give all spec with that price in C segment compare other. Honda prove its turbo engine in type R although this one lag behind. Consider Malaysia car, this move is reasonable so it within c segment car price. Need or want, that’s a question

• Peugeot fan on Jun 12, 2016 at 6:55 pm

I have go to see both civic & peugeot 408. Civic is look good on paper. The real car is not that impressive, the interior is so crampy. I found that the real sit position is not so comfortable ( too low?).
    Trust me, peugeot 408 interior look, finishing & comfort level is a class above civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Zoom Zoom on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:36 am

Haha Peugeot? Go and experience Naza worst service, Peugeot Resale value & expensive parts .. you will cry..My friend traded in his 2 years old+ 308 Turbo for 35k only after facing so much problems. Purchased new over 100k. Good luck.

• crash on Jun 13, 2016 at 12:02 am

Seen the car today and started the engine. Did not test drive because the showroom car was not registered yet.

From engine bay, the 1.8L version looks so kosong and so roomy. The 1.5L turbo version looks like a mess, just like spilled spaghetti flying everywhere, wires here and there. Turbo version radiator looks very thin .

First thing when i got into the car is, why the car seating position is so damn low…It is difficult for elderly people to get out of the car.

The top spec TC-P variant should omit the dual zone air-con because it is pointless. The dual zone air con only means you can set the temperature for driver and passenger side individually. However, the fan speed for both side cannot be individually set. Stick with single zone is good enough.

Rear leg room is good enough. However I have no idea what the heck a giant black metal bar is doing right behind the rear seat, which makes 60:40 rear seat folding not possible…

Sound proof is so much better in this version compare to the old FD for sure . Open and close door action does not sound like a hallow Toyota Vios or even a Prius (not C ) for that matter.

From the outside, when i remote start the engine ( cold start wise), the turbo engine sounds so much quieter than the Mazda Skyactiv clattering sound although both are direct injection engines. That is very obvious.

The headunit is excellent. Swipe action no lags and feels as good as an ipad. Not like the Proton Blaupunkt unit, it lags like no tomorrow.

From my point of view, i would happily trade the powered seats for at least a rain sensor. The old school mechanical adjust get things done so much faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • takNakP1 on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:19 am

couldn’t agree more with your comments. overall is an impressive car. practicality in M’sia road & daily use is another question.

i to would trade the the powered seat for something else i.e. paddle shift.

• ben yap on Jun 13, 2016 at 12:25 am

0 to 100 kmph in 8.2 seconds and top whack of 200 kmph is not justifiable.

it should be 7.3 seconds and top whack of 220 kmph.

get a jetta and save RM40K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Value Buyer on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:33 am

for 8k to get these?

LED headlamps, LED fog lamps
    Chrome door handles
    Dual-zone auto air con
    Navigation

Lets break down the pricing:

a) LED lights aftermarket costs less than RM 200
    b) Chrome door handles – well I prefer not to have chrome linings, looks like ah beng… simple is enough.. no need spend money
    c) dual air con – not necessary, my bmw also have this but its really not necessary. its always on single zone mode, and not dual .. who gives a shit, if hte lady beside u cold, ask her to hug u, if shes hot ask her to strip
    d) navigation – theres option in honda to upgrade it in house, cost less than 1.5k

all in, 2k tops

why pay 8k?

I’m a value buyer, trust me I know what I’m saying

• Contilover and and proton on Jun 13, 2016 at 1:11 pm

quality got better lah close to Mazda, not like before look up at Honda but actually Honda engine service interval is only 5k KM for engine before 2015, what a shame. This one can lah but dont know yet if modified how long can the engine last. claimed FC 17.2 km/l? this one maybe driving at 80 to 90kmh only

• Not really on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:14 am

The claimed 17.2km/l is following some specific test cycle, not purely highway. For example, pure highway 110km/h, the new city can achieve close to 20km/l.

• Richdad on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:11 am

You guys are damn funny. Why argue over a liability that depreciate every year? Either Honda or Toyota both of them also depreciate over the years… lol

• No shark fin antenna? Will signal become poor?

• Hondafann on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:24 am

I test drove both civic 1.5 & focus 1.5
    Imho, focus is more refined & alot faster…

• nobody on Jul 12, 2016 at 3:01 am

Did you guys do research properly? This car have some serious pain in the ass problems.. Did you all notice there aren’t many new civic on the road? Wake up man.. Don’t just caught in the hype and got carry away.. Go YouTube and look at what are the problems .. Well, not sure will it be inherited here, else it’s a good car. Peace out.

• KL Cheong on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:54 pm

I brought the new civic 1.5TCP and change new compressor for the 1st month and car breakdown on 2nd month (suddenly engine shut down). Well done Honda for the defect car and bad after sales service. GO “the power of nightmare” ! “ride the nightmare”!!!!!

• 5 speed or 6 speed transmission ?

• Gentleman on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:52 pm

frankly speaking the suspension and soundproof not that nice. interior looks good on photo but in real you can see cheap plastic. imo would prefer mazda 3, at least overall quality and material better but uncle design tho.

• Jukey on Jan 29, 2018 at 9:04 am

Torsion beam better performance??are u kidding?nothing can beat independend rear suspension.