Honda CR-Z Alpha Final Label – sport hybrid bows out

Honda CR-Z Alpha Final Label-03

After six years in showrooms, the Honda CR-Z is making its final bow. Honda has released the CR-Z Alpha Final Label in Japan, and the edition’s name says it all – this is one final lap for the trailblazing sport hybrid that is often misunderstood.

Based on the 2015 facelift model and looking similar to the blue unit that was on display at Tokyo 2015 (but without the black roof and tailgate), the CR-Z Alpha Final Label appears to be the Alpha trim car, with a “Final Label” metal plaque bolted between the electronic parking brake and gear lever. “CR-Z Final Label” has also been embroidered into the seat backs. The blade-style 17-inch wheels was first seen on the 2015 facelift.

No change to the 1.5 litre i-VTEC and Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) combination, which produces a combined 136 PS and 190 Nm of torque (12 PS/16 Nm more than the original CR-Z). The electric motor is powered by a 144-volt, 18.8 kW lithium-ion battery. The CR-Z Final Label is priced at 2.8 million yen (RM106,196) in Japan.

Along with the Lexus CT200h, Toyota Prius/Prius c and Honda Insight, the Honda CR-Z was a beneficiary of the brief tax-free window opened by the Malaysian government for CBU hybrid cars. The carmakers enjoyed brisk sales, but the real winners were the buyers.

Owners of Honda Malaysia’s original CR-Z and the improved facelifted version got themselves a peppy and eager little machine (it’s not very fast) at close to “real world prices”. Unique styling that stayed true to the concept car and for manual owners, Honda’s unbeatable stick shift action, means that the CR-Z is hard to replace. Is this farewell for good, or farewell for now?

GALLERY: Honda CR-Z facelift at IIMS 2016

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Focus for Honda going to be Civic turbo OVERHEATING problems. Few cases reported in Thailand. Tow truck came to tow away the new Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Ben Yap on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:11 pm

if u see the pictures carefully, the civic that claim to be overheated is a different car. the rims are not the same. one is a 1.8 and another is the 2.0.

don’t trust entirely what u read.

• ajaran kpd supporter honda jgn la lansi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Sam L0r on Jun 10, 2016 at 5:24 pm

See where H fans going to put their face now. Altis reliability still number 1 in class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Quack Quek Quack on Jun 10, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Wow, you talk like you live in Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Jealous Toyota sales advisor spotted!!

• Flying Wasabi on Jun 10, 2016 at 10:25 pm

I am staying in Bangkok and I can attest to this… Some Accords overheated too…

• Sport Hybrid on Jun 10, 2016 at 11:57 am

Danny is right. It’s hard to find a replacement that comes with a great stick shifter, fun to drive, easy to maintain and CBU built quality. Many a times I’ve thought of upgrading, but when I ask myself, is it worth giving up the CRZ? The answer is always No

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • salam sejahtera on Jun 10, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Only 136ps and you say this car is a sport car? Yeah it’s only look like a sport car but the truth is not..this is a ricer car..look fast

• And soon, like the older brother CRX , People will find a way to tune it and become a real drag machine. Or just a fast street car.

• It’s not about internet stats it’s about getting in and driving it on a twisty road. You don’t get the point of fun hatchbacks.

• salam sejahtera on Jun 11, 2016 at 2:20 pm

The suprima s also fun right ;) better cornering than this shit crz..btw, u must syukur with your Gen2

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Mazda 3 is fun. This is not

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Now ditch the IMA and drop in the 1.5L Turbo from the civic.

Now we have finally got a proper CRX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Henry on Jun 10, 2016 at 12:25 pm

That’s what I am hoping for. Even a 1.6L NA DOHC and 6MT would make it a damn fun car. Without the IMA battery and motor this car would be much lighter.

• nnt semua overheated mcm Civic turbo kat Thailand la, boleh bancuh teh tarik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Robert Parameswaran Kuppusamy on Jun 10, 2016 at 1:04 pm

A truly special machine.

• Grim Beeper on Jun 10, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Honda, it’s good that you didn’t name this “Final Destination”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Bernard on Jun 12, 2016 at 10:52 pm

The manual gear box is great . Proton should use it for their cars.

Or simply rebadge the CRZ as a Proton….

Sell it to the beloved rakyat for below 50k!

What say you P?

• Heng Wei on Aug 19, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Will this car ever come to Malaysia ? If so , when ?