Proton NE01 2.0L turbo to go on the Perdana in 2017

Proton_NE01_03

Proton has reaffirmed that its just-launched Perdana is set to receive a powertrain update in 2017. Though not mentioned specifically, the chosen mill will be the automaker’s new NE01 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine.

A sample of the unit was shown alongside the car during the preview drive of the D-segment sedan last month. Output rating for the 1,998 cc is stated as 181 hp (listed as 135 kW in the descriptive literature) at 5,500 rpm and 245 Nm from 1,800 to 5,000 rpm. The unit, which tips the scales at 140 kg, is expected to be paired with a new torque converter CVT automatic and will enter service towards the end of 2017.

The published torque figures look on the low side, but this may be tailored specifically for the CVT application. It has been stated that the NE01 can be tuned for higher power and torque output, depending on market requirements.

The NE01 is based on engine technologies that were acquired from Petronas back in 2012. The RM63 million acquisition secured seven engine technologies and 117 technology patents as well as ownership of a family of normally-aspirated engines and turbocharged 2.0 litre engines.

Up to then, the only Petronas-developed engine that was revealed was the normally-aspirated E01e inline-four, 16-valve DOHC engine with variable valve timing, configurable in three displacements (1.8, 2.0 and 2.2 litres).

The original design target for the E01e was 200 PS and 200 Nm of output as well as a 120 kg weight, though final figures when the unit was delivered surpassed the target. Commercially, the engine never made its way into series production Protons, despite an intention to do so.

Proton says it will begin exporting the Perdana in 2018 once the NE01 goes on to the car. “The powertrain change is expected at the end of 2017. So, by that time, we’ll put in a new engine for the Perdana and with that engine, Honda will allow us to export the the Perdana overseas,” Proton CEO Ahmad Fuaad Kenali told reporters at the car’s launch earlier today.

In its present form, two engine choices are available for the Perdana, which is based on the eighth-gen Honda Accord. Both are Honda-supplied units, a R20A3 2.0 litre SOHC with 154 hp at 6,300 rpm and 189 Nm at 4,300 rpm and a K24Z2 2.4 twin-cam i-VTEC, which puts out 178 hp at 6,500 rpm and 222 Nm at 4,300 rpm. Both are paired with a five-speed torque converter auto.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• xoxox on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:01 pm

lol, good power and torque but this kind of dino engine can have euro 5 emission or not??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
    • Thats why it takes another 1 year to come out. They need to figure out how to turn the EURO1 Petronas engine into EURO5. Not an easy task.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
      • hailthepurist on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:32 pm

forget emissions, inline4 never growl like v6 turbo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • oldbimmer on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:16 pm

It’s growling and take time to go far from other engines like those bimmer

• Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Proton QC principle: Whatever not built by Proton would last longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • Operation Manager on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:30 pm

The claimed dinosaur size engine actually is OLD engine. NE01 was developed in 1997 cat. Euro2 emmision std.

• Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Look at the Campro engines, we all know:
          Proton engines = problematic = need best friend working in garage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
          • p2macai on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:20 pm

That’s VW lor not proton

• artnanz on Jun 17, 2016 at 6:06 am

I think you’re mixing up engine and power window. Campro never gave (me) any problem. Power window used to be.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Big question we must ask, how come the old Accord 2.0 got VSC and this Perdana got no VSC? Looks like it was consciously taken out to save on cost and reap more profits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
      • Former accord owner on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:43 pm

I drove the accord 2.0 vtil 2 years ago… the same model which currently re-branded to perdana.. I don’t know which country u lived in.. but my car certainly don’t have vsc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
        • Acrix on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:56 am

Yes the Honda Accord 2.0 VTIL does not have VSC thats confirmed but it has Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) as standard though.

• Operation Manager on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:22 pm

Since 2012, until today, under discussion to install. Where is the fesibility evaluation report?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • LGE says feasibility study done by own team says its feasible… oh wai….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Stupid marketing from proton: Excitingly lauching your new car with old engine and at the same time telling people you will put a new engine next year. Of course potential buyers will wait. This year’s sales is “bye bye”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 8
      • Nothing bad, just pros and cons. Those who wan old jepunis engine get the Perdana now. Those who wan new P1 own engine get Perdana later. Nothing wrong with that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 33
        • Trust my word,this so call turbo 2liter wont be ready by 2020 coz this is the proton culture to delay and delay simply they dont know how to fix it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
          • Datuk Seri Basher on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:43 am

Trust my word,once this new engine coming there will be new excuse to bash this perdana.As long it’s local brand,we local must bash.Coz we local think we better than other local but lower than foreign talent..including banglas.Typical mental blocked Malaysian living under exhaust pipe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • Manusia on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Its not an old engine. Just old model of Accord. Honda just use an old engine but upgrade a few things to the new model.

Civic comes with new Engine for 1.6 model only

• Qampro on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Why the engine bulky macam enjin lori diesel ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • azrai on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:02 pm

So after 2017 only 2.0l version for this Perdana? How about putting this power mill in the Exora as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • donno on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:20 pm

The important question is… Euro berapa compliant is this engine? The emissions must be clean enough for it to be exported.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Again, Petronas has come to Proton’s rescue. Don’t know how many billions Petronas paid to acquire these technologies for Proton.

My question is this, Proton employs the largest engineer workforce of any car company. What are they doing? Goyang kaki? Got nearly 1000 overly paid engineers, for 35 years, none of them cannot pool their brain power to invent an engine?

Poor Petronas. Always bailing out Proton. Don’t forget, when Tun M was PM, he will take billions from one hand (from Petronas) and with the other hand, give it to Proton. Unofficially and off the books.

In total, it is far far far more than the officially quoted RM15 billion Proton has taken past 20 years.

With so much of money taken, Proton engineers still cannot invent a good engine for the Perdana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 63
      • Err.. Campro and next TGDI is engine from Proton. And I thought Proton is the one buying those Petronas engine not vise versa. Proton employs the largest engineer workforce of any car company? Very funny..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
        • Bashers don’t use brain, they use kneebrain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
          • Bashers dun use brain, they dun even use balls.
            They just use bollocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
        • This kunta only speak as he know everything but unfortunately shows low iq at at level.. Smelly breath

• What the hell r u talking about.. Proton bought the engine design from petronas la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • Mad aly on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Another idiotic basher from cave…

• Jonn Dol on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:48 am

The never ending mumblings, billion this billion that – total BS.

• 200 bhp & 300 nm minimum or its a tough sell….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • john is otak batu on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:07 pm

So sad to see current perdana running on obsolete engine. As for those who r ordering current perdana, just like “campak duit dalam longkang”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
    • Andas on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Tak mampu, just see only la.. why need ask people to throw away their money.. their money, not urs what..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:36 pm

R20A3 2.0L if not mistaken still use by current gen Accord 2.0 variant

• The current perdana are still using the same i-vtec engine lol

• LatukBandar1 on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:10 pm

1. Before anyone says I am a Proton Basher, I need to say, the design is so outdated, so so outdated. And No, not all foreign cars are beautifully crafted, for instant, Fiat Multipla is possibly the ugliest.

2. That 2.0L turbo is 10+ more kw compared with Honda’s 1.5 Turbo. In short, it is not fuel efficient. Export to which country? And what is the advantage and selling point when it is made available in other countries?

3. The British, once the maker of good cars no longer own any car companies. It is time for Proton to merge or to be acquired, like Holden.

4. Patriotism? Tell that to Dr.M and his family that doesn’t drive a Proton. Tell that to the politician that send their kids to English International School. Patriotism is not blind, patriotism is doing what is right for the country and the overall population.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 13
    • Holden din merge. It will be kolos soon. Then aussie no more iconic V8 commodore anymore. How saddings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • 'Amri on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:08 pm

LatokBandar1 aaaa… Design is very subjective. Good for you, may be bad for me. Multipla ugly for you, but I like it! TQ.

• ong chee boon vw con-man on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:14 pm

By 2017, soft loan $1.5b should be burnt out.
    Then, this “sweet promise” come in & continue to loan another $1.5b from gomen… pathetic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • KN Neh on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:15 pm

P1, gua boleh caya sama lu kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Eddie on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Swap with K20 type R nge..nge..nge…

• ProtonGSC on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:21 pm

New engine, facelift version? Really out of idea what Proton management are doing… wait this wait here in the end delay.

• What are they trying to tell the public?

Buy the Perdana now while it is still using Honda engine. Later we will replace it with crappy engine. Don’t believe me? Go to any Proton showroom now. The sales people will tell you that.

• Phuuii.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
  • Aku bkn tong sampah on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Candidate to swap with k20 type R nge..nge..nge..

• camtakpro on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Proton got nothing to tease, now tease engine.

• Dun forget to include Matt Damon name

• oh oh and dun forget to include test stickiness of newspaper just like L560 Range Rover Sport Coupe

• Foreign overloard on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Can C this scam coming in 2017 to treat their fanboys & bolehland. Next year the new Perdana will cost above $160k cause of this new powertrain.

• Uwshuwme on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Bring back the Putra, I say.

• Ben Yap on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:49 pm

can smoke Altezza or not?

• Ne01 2.0 to turd engine belongs in a Museum on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Just look at that engine, so dated and old tech engine 2.0 with turbo but so low hp and torque And they telling coz of the cvt. This engine if had put into production in 2012 , might have gain some traction but now with other automakers making smaller cc engines with supercharge and turbos producing made horse power and torque like the ford Eco-boost engine and many others and produces amazing fuel consumption… This engine does not stand a chance…close shop and put this engine in a museum pls !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • vtak powaahhh on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:51 pm

If u HAVE to buy Perdana better get it this year while the engines are still leftover stock Japanese engine.

• thepolygonal on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Aiyoh… wrong timing to mention this. Now potential customer will wait until end of 2017 just to see if the engine is worth the wait… Don’t launch a car and mentioned it will be refreshed soon… it will kill current sales.

• Ahmadjr on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:58 pm

The result will be the same, it will stink. Perdana took a lot of time testing etc but still stink. Rm113k and no esc, 4 airbags. How dumb people can be?

• Patrick on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:04 pm

I am so proud of you boys at Proton. Satu lagi usaha jurutera bumiputra Proton menggunakan segala daya upaya intelek membina enjin yang berdaya maju untuk projek kereta nasional kita yang menjadi kebanggaan semua rakyat Malaysia. After the world’s first ingenious invention – exhaust tips in body colour, I wonder what else our local Proton engineers / designers have in store to suprise us & car enthusiast worldwide. I am sure this invention will help Proton sell many cars in Chile & take the South American automobile market by storm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 35
  • superbird #43 on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Proton, the automotive manufacturer whose technologies are based on the leftover that other companies have discarded(Petronas, Honda, Mitsu, Renault). It has, if any, no innovations that they can call their own.
    And, there’s no such as thing as JV and/or platform sharing with Proton. No. Nada. Never. Period.
    Also, Proton takes, takes, takes and always take from others and will not share with others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Absolute Rider on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Please don’t delay your 1L – 1.5L GDI and TGDI as targeted to be fitted to all Proton cars by end of 2017.

Early 2018, should come out with a nice hatchback or replacement for Satria.

• This post is trying to hint Satria is coming and expect someone to go gaga about it “Satria is making a comeback? Oh shut up and take my money.”

• Bila Larut Malam on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Orang dah berbaris pijak Honda 1.5t “kau-kau” sampai skarang.
      Sila teruskan tunggu sampai cucu ko kahwin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Absolute Rider on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:10 pm

That’s some Malaysian people with negative thinking. I just want Proton to be successful. Delay means you lost the opportunities to come early to the market, to compete with others. At the end of the day, you lose money.

To two person who disagree my point, means you want to hear another news about government gives soft loans to Proton in 2017? or you want to hear Proton success and no need any loans from government?

Which one you want to hear?

• Firdaus on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:21 pm

The marketing people in this company needs to go for a marketing 101 class again.
    who the hell will launch a model with current engine and tell the whole world that in another 12months the engine will be different??

remember CPS to CFE……hope you close shop really soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Design fail & some more engine technology also acquired from others and modify, after more then 30 years of establishment.

R&D team zzZZzz, going backward instead of forward !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Same goes to some other engines, derived and modified from older generations

• Dinosar 1nz-fe 10 tahun masih belum evolve. Apa kelanjiaoan ini?

• Close shop huh???if you can pay tenth of thousand of P1 employee salary..if you can pay hundred of company that supplying parts to P1..if you can ensure all the P1 worker and family will have jobs after close shop..if you can compensate hundreds of thousand existing P1 customers..then u can talk about close shop..akai letak mana?bodoh tu biar bertempat dan jgn menunjuk sgt bodoh tu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • Let them die together with proton.
      Simple as that.
      If you dont have rice to eat,use your akai to look for roti canai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Close shop huh???if you can pay tenth of thousand of P1 employee salary..if you can pay hundred of company that supplying parts to P1..if you can ensure all the P1 worker and family will have jobs after close shop..if you can compensate hundreds of thousand existing P1 customers..then u can talk about close shop..akai letak mana?please put ur stupidity level somewhere else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Mr.R Cronies of Proton on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:09 pm

U think the entire population have to drain their lives & blood just to compensate Proton population??!~!
      How about compensate all ordinary citizen outside that lost their jobs that never rely on Protons!

Ppl will not vote for a government that throw $1.5bil again that spent beyond the entire population acknowledgement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • millionaire on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Lol how much you have paid p1, RM1.5bil ?

• And u really think pipu wud then vote for a Gov that gips 300 million to a supplier just to tell them their projek is feasible? Riiiiggghhtt!

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:30 pm

So whoever that buys the Accordana from now until end of 2017 will kick themselves when the new engine arrives. To put it on the record I still hate the wood and beige interior. Feels so 2002

• carplay on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:35 pm

I saw cars 10x more expensive than your rubbish F30 also have wood and beige interiors

• Justice on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:09 pm

that is one ugly pc of junk. look just like a Cummins diesel mill. bring back the E01. that hunk of metal hanging on the exhaust manifold is a waste of no good thing. E01 has better performance figure.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:13 pm

The engine acquire since 2012…. how many years already still not implement. In 2012 may still be a great engine but today…. damn even Honda Turbo engine is out, their action so slow, by the time it release their tech already obsolete.

• rosli mohd on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Bad bad marketing.
    Similar to Saga sales.
    Nobody wants to buy a outdated / to be phased out engine and the new engine is no better.
    Another unproven engine aka TakCampro failure. Idris Jala please fast forward the transformation plan . P1 is losing the plot and the buck must stop here. !!

• DPCraft on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Pathetic outputs from a Modern 2.0 Turbo, This output are similar to Volvo 1.6T. However it is adequate for this car.

• Sparcov on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Please fix the Preve gearbox lagging…before come out any new technology

• Ensign on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:09 pm

New design engines have oil filter on top. This engine so tall.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Don’t kid yourself Proton. The developed countries have already begun moving to electric cars. Sales of petrol/diesel sedans are on the decline. You only have the under develop countries to market your car. Somehow the Perdana won’t fit the bill for those markets. You’re just too late with the wrong product.

• yeah, pair that with a rubbish CVT

• Kingz Of Speed on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Need to ask Nissan help next. I heard their nismo RnD division manage to build 3-cylinder 1 liter engine with 300+hp. But I forgot where the article,hmm… But no sure about efficiency. xD

• Pondan on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:23 pm

Hahaha…with new engine and cvt + low turque and a new used platform, proton can finally ship the new banana to grave. Perfect strategy

• Justsul on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:46 pm

The problem is not Honda engine.Even if they fix K20 in Preve / Suprima yall still gonna complain . Forever complain only laaa -.-

• redidiot on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:21 am

This unit is Petronas design la…

• redidiot on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:33 am

Cvt lagi…

• Jobless on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:38 am

With the new 2.0 turbo engine the price will probably be pushed above RM150k.

• lolpanda on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:37 pm

how did they manage to get so little power out of a turbocharged 2.0 engine? that’s about the same amount of power as a 1.5 Ecoboost engine or even the new Civic.

and they want to export this? what about emissions regulations and such?

• R you freaking kidding me Proton. You want to insert a 2.0L turbo engine with output 181hp and 245Nm in 2017 which is partly lower than your newly developed 1.5L turbo with output 180hp and 250Nm of torque?

Seriously what are you thinking.

• lolpanda on Jan 07, 2017 at 11:01 pm

the thing is, all that has been said is that the 1.5 TGDI is capable of producing up to those figures; what we’re forgetting is that it doesn’t mean the final production unit will produce those figures.

they might even have to resort to lowering the output to meet standards for foreign export; who knows. I’m not sure why proton went down the TGDI route really…is it necessary for the ‘affordable-car’ segment that they’re targeting? they should be looking at reliability and economy figures as a primary focus..not beefing up power.

• whateverla on Jun 15, 2016 at 2:54 pm

2.0 litre turbocharged should be able to produce more than 300nm of torque..most 1.6 litre engine produce this amount of torque..245nm

• Satyaseelan on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Next year realise Proton Wira 2017.

• Satyaseelan on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Next year realise the Proton Wira 2017.

• Satyaseelan on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Next year realise the Proton Wira 2017.Why realised the Proton Wira ?

• Satyaseelan on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Why realise the Proton Wira 1.9 .