Proton expected to return to glory after the end of Tun Mahathir’s political interference – PM Najib Razak

2016 Proton Perdana 1

Malaysian Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has said that with the end of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s political interference in Proton, the national carmaker is expected to be on track to return to its “golden era.”

During the former Proton chairman’s time, Najib said that there had been too much political interference in Proton’s strategy management including of personnel and business model, as mentioned in a statement released by the Prime Minister’s office.

“Now, I am pleased to say, there have been significant changes at the top levels of Proton. Tun Mahathir’s era of political interference has come to an end. We saw the results of that early this year. A manufacturer which should be a source of national pride was facing a very difficult situation,” he said at the launch of the new Proton Perdana.

Najib, who is also the Finance Minister, said the Government had to provide assistance to Proton in the form of a RM1.5 billion soft loan to protect Malaysian jobs, families who rely on Proton, as well as the company’s business partners’ income and livelihoods.

Proton LHD Preve to Chile 9

“We stepped in because the well-being of the people is always our first concern. We will never fail to support Malaysian workers and suppliers. We will always fight to ensure that no one is left behind,” he clarified, adding that Proton will use the lessons it learned to reinvigorate its potential again.

“I am told that in anticipation of its launch, 900 units of the Perdana were pre-booked – which shows the confidence that people have in this new model, and their desire for Proton to succeed. Proton’s new management tells me that they are confident that customers will not only like the Perdana’s elegant looks, they will also love the drive,” said Najib, as reported by Bernama.

“I am looking to getting behind the wheel myself before too long! Let the new car, and the new management of Proton, be judged on their merits. I know that we all wish them every success in growing their sales, in leading in innovation, and ensuring the company has a bright future, both in terms of its products and the well-being of its hard-working employees,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Voltron on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 162
    • Operation Manager on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Ok, but By HOW…?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 6
      • Voltron on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:57 pm

More rebadge perhaps? LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 10
        • Black Dog on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:12 pm

I’m sure the drive will feel very familiar…mmm…drives on par with a Honda Accord!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
          • tokok on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Cheap shots by Ajib

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 6
          • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Talk is cheap. In fact, I bet none of the people in the picture will buy one themselves.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 8
          • Ya ya same goes to bashers, they cannot afford pun, bash saja lebih and syiok sendiri!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 71
          • Why Proton supporters like to bash people cannot afford Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:45 am

Jib is such a shameless man. Already slapped Tun on the face by not inviting him for the launch, now, whilst fallen on the ground, Jib is still kicking the poor 90 year old Bapa Proton.

Come on Job, have some respect for the 90 year old man. He loved Proton so much. He cared for it like his baby. Every year, he took billions from Petronas and gave to Proton to keep it alive.

Have some respect for Bapa Proton. At least his wife, Toh Puan Hasmah does not rent RM98 million dollar private planes whilst there are 7 planes in the Government hangar ready to take you overseas.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 5
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:52 am

Jib is such a shamelessman. Already slapped Tun on the face by not inviting him for the launch, now, whilst fallen on the ground, Jib is still kicking the poor 90 year old Bapa Proton.

Come on Job, have some respect for the 90 year old man. He loved Proton so much. He cared for it like his baby. Every year, he took billions from Petronas and gave to Proton to keep it alive.

Have some respect for Bapa Proton. At least his wife, Toh Puan Hasmah does not rent RM98 million dollar private planes whilst there are 7 planes in the Government hangar ready to take you overseas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:10 am

This 900 order is a big lie. This is how the ex CEO of Proton told the whole world Iriz orders are so long that Proton cannot keep up to it. He said orders are nearly 1 year long.

But now you see, what a big liar he was. Hardly see any Iriz on the road. Pandai kelentong only.

Today, both Jib and the CEO are lying big time. Who wants to order?

People rather pay RM9k more and get a Nissan Teana.

Comes with VSC
            Comes with 6 airbags
            Comes with Leather seats
            Comes with keyless
            Comes with Push Start

And more importantly, RV does not become HALF in 2 years time. After 2 years, the Perdana becomes RM50k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 12
          • Sam Loo Kunta Kinte on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:52 am

Both sales man and politician also owned a proton, can’t imagine why want to bash it so badly? Work harder to buy suahi if you can afford lor

• I got full confidence in Proton to succeed. If I am a billionaire, I will give my own RM1.5 billion for Proton to sustain until they heal.

Thank you Proton for giving Malaysians cheap and safe cars that are high quality.

Jangan jadi macam albert, peria, kunta, george abdul, asyik suka complain. Foreign overlord tu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
          • Same L00 on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Why we want to spend RM138k buying a junk home? People rather buy Peugeot than this shit, at least Peugeot is a real conti car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • Same L00 on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Other than “Accord Rebadged”, nothing in the car could justify the crazy price.

• hailthepurist on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:01 am

unfaithful, proton plays kayu tiga with suzuki..

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:38 pm

100% agree with you…long live proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • neutron on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:00 pm

keluar mulut harimau, masuk mulut buaya. kesian proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • What does the Prime Minister of Malaysia and the new proton pondana have in common?

Both are national embarrassments.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 3
    • Sack designer on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:10 am

Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • John is otak batu on Jun 15, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Really really like to see whether proton will want to export this car when the new engine comes. Honda says it is ok as long as not using any Honda engines. The question is that how does this perdana fares in NCAP tests since if it fails, almost impossible to enter the countries affected by market rules. Example is euro ncap

• Latuk Seli Ju Boss on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:55 am

So much hype on proton comment.Can’t afford to buy,so must bash and keep driving myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rr on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:51 am

As long as Proton using the mitsubishi & honda engine & transmision, that is a good product. Dont buy proton with the camporn & cvt bising Punch Powertrain.. Bad RV bro.. bad RV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Mohd Faiz on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:00 am

“Proton expected to return to glory after the birth of Najib’s political interference” – Ex-PM

• OMG…really? Anythings on PM hands will gone or bye bye in the end…

• omegle on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:47 pm

i’m sorry, since when proton has a “golden era”?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 19
    • Burong on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:59 pm

2003, Proton is so proud that they softly turn down your request to test drive. The car is so popular and you can just go and drive your aunty or neighbour’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Proton 6S pride:
        1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales 364 days
        5. So Expensive
        6. Siapa pun tak nak

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 19
        • samlordupe on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:31 pm

P2 and Toyota your jepunis overlord 7 O’s:
          T 7O:

1.Overpriced
          2.Outdated
          3.Overrated
          4.Overhyped
          5.On garbage lorries
          6.Out of proportion
          7.Obsolete

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 37
          • U forgot 1 more:
            8. Owners go to early afterlife

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
          • I forgot to add:
            P1 owners go to early afterlife for party

• Sam Loo Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:17 pm

Both you Sam and Kunta also owned a proton, why bash proton if you yrself got proton ?

• Same L00 on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:14 pm

You can bullshit whatever I own, some even say I own the StarTrek Enterprise.
            If I have any Proton at home, I will give you for FREE. No one want to keep junk home. And I certainly don’t wanna contribute my hard earned money to garage.
            Don’t play play with Proton QC.

• Give me your proton on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Please give me if you dont want

• Same L00 on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:12 pm

If I have, I will give. Come knock my door. No one likes to keep junk at home, except you.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:46 am

Very true. I once went to Proton’s showroom during weekend just to look at the not so newly launched Preve . Then I asked the Proton guy for a test drive, but he just said “wait until weekdays, today test drive not available”. Meh.

But most of the time when I went to service my car at Honda SC, I would take my chance to test drive Honda’s newly launch models, even during weekend…city, HRV & last weekend…the new Honda Civic 1.5T.

Something to ponder upon for Proton guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • mr w205 on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Dude..even im not proton fan.. but proton really doin well during early 90’s until early year 2000

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 4
      • oh mak lu cina on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:46 pm

By dictatorship rules of course…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
        • flyingspur on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:35 pm

I’m p1 fan, wonder why local support is not as strong as Japanese, Koreans etc to their own makes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
          • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Those who talk bad abt proton are mostly kaum pendatang…these people complaint a lot .just ignore them…long live proton…malaysia boleh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 53
          • Mr Fakta on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Because Korean and Japanese car maker take cares about their own people, their own customers. Don’t ever deny the fact that proton export car spec and quality is better than local unit. Proton never listens or improve, we never feel proud about proton. But those Koreans and Japanese does because, their car is selling overseas by the thousands, both actually conquered the US market, what not to be proud of. Btw proton is always a Bumi pride, with bumi design, bumi quality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 15
          • Because they don’t con their own people like P1

• niama Japanese & Korean car improved over years. What Proton has improved? Niama now still doing rebadge?? Can’t they make their own car? Gen2 and Persona was around for how many years already? Saga is like dinosaur!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:17 am

koreans are not proud of their cars….they also suffer massive duties, infact some few months ago hyundai had to do a crash test between korean spec hyundai and us spec hyundai to show that they are not shortchanged. can proton do the same?

• Do what?
            Compare the amount of capital, not only the year they started to build cars.

• Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Proton is selling well at that time conning fellow Malaysians. Now people awake and you see Proton sales drop to nothing. Soon kimchi cars will outsell them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
      • stanlenasa on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:44 am

I still remember back to 90’s Wira was so popular and even Perdana can sell at RM99k!!! Famous for the gear problems and yet still selling well.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:11 pm

In 1985 :) Anyways, drove a pre-loved 1990 Aeroback, back in the late 90s and early 2000s. It was actually a pretty good car – though was a bit slow. Zero Quality issues. Those were indeed Proton’s glory days.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
    • Latuk Seli on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:58 am

Golden era when your papa not afford to buy foreign car,but once u earn more money to buy vios u think all the money is well spent but instead u paid high tax lorr.hahah

• Basher on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:53 pm

900 units pre-booked. And the annual sales 950 units.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 6
  • People may eat your BS if you give then goodies like BRIM. But now you expect people to eat the BS and at the same time give you their hard earned money? Good luck on that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
  • Ruslan Bahari on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:03 pm

To be fair, there was a golden era, but back in the late 80s. PROTON had good build-quality backk then, being almost 100% copy of Mitsubishi. It dominated sales locally (due to price and a simpler buying market back then), and there was plenty of national pride in those days too.
    It had a good export market, even winning several medals at the Birmingham Auto Show in the late 80s. In the UK too, it was the best performing new entrant in that market, and despite a shrinking car market that period, PROTON recorded sales growth.
    But HOW it can return to the golden years is anyone’s guess. Less than 18% market share in a 600,000 TIV market, and nowhere near toppling Perodua in the sales and quality sense. Maybe the Suzuki collaboration may yield something, but what PROTON really needs is a change of attitude. It cannot treat the market like it does not care, it cannot keep going back to the government for assistance. Will it be successful?
    I’d venture to guess no, but at the same time I would be happy to be proven wrong. I still smile when I see one overseas (which is rare). It would be one heck of a feather in our cap if PROTON becomes a global success.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 3
    • Malaysian Driver on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:54 pm

I share the same sentiment as you do. Some ignorant fanboys bash me when I compared Proton to Hyundai group some time ago when I made comparison between them.

Little that they know (the Gen X) that Proton beat Hyundai and Kia back in the early 90’s in the UK market, which Hyundai and Kia were preceived as crap cars in UK. In fact, Proton did so well that it’s Lancer@Saga actually beat the Sifu Mitsubishi in the UK market as well!

The reason being Proton produce GREAT CARS BACK THEN. You can still see Saga Megavalve running in KL street today is a testament to that. Back then, there was no power window failure, no crappy assembly and rattling dashboard, no cheapo matarial and etc… Proton build solid and reliable cars back then.

I think Proton down fall actually started after their domination of the local market with their all conquering Wira. Arrogant and blind complecency sets in, the managment was smoking pot, thinking that Malaysians will buy whatever crap they sells us even if it’s a cow dunk!

Then in the noughties, when they start producing the first “local engineered” car, namely the Waja, it all went downhill, having the Savvy and the Gen 2 as the epitome of QC failure and crony infested supply chains that chunck out junk after junk that piss off the buyers. The rest is history.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 4
      • notakata on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Lol other makes also have those problems you mentioned, plus killer airbags, yikes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
        • That’s the only thing you can mention. Whatever floats your boat mate. Proton today is still a failed company. Even with those killer airbags, Honda and and Toyota is beating the crap out of proton in its own turf. That says a lot if you ask me. Proton can only talk if they can sell.

• notakata on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:29 pm

You want to bash company or car?
            Come on, reread my comment, i bashed the cars!

Oh i forgot, basher will lose mind everytime looking at proton

• ProTongkat on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Mr Notakata, you only know to takata this, takata that. For what? Got problem, people will fix unlike Proton 30 years still need protection but still fail as a carmaker

• notongkat on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:33 pm

See the problem? Proton fanboys still arrogant as ever, never admit problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • camtakpro on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:26 pm

No. The 1985 8-valve Saga and Proton Knight are good. Then came the megavalve (12-valve) still ok.

Then Wira came like a storm. The last of Proton ‘golden era’. After that… everything else like shit.

… the new name Iswara, and then those potato-launcher exhaust special edition screw everything. And those 4G13P cost-cut engine that came with those special/merdeka edition that give non-stop issue along with the power windows…

Want Proton win? Just rebadge VW Polo as Saga and sell at Saga price; rebadge VW Jetta sell as Persona price; rebadge VW Passat sell as Perdana price (no, not Accordana price).

And then remake Satria/Neo.

• frankC on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:07 pm

well.. i still see 1st gen waja running around in Mitsubishi engines. including mine. i m not sure about the first gen campro versions… waja i think is a step forward in design. but build quality is not up to mark. better than iswara aeroback and wira for sure.
        nevertheless, in wira have stayed too long and waja had come in way too late. whatever proton have improved in waja, other makers have gone further. so there is no chance to compare or compete with established brands.
        Kia and Hyundai too initially is a not so great looking or build car. it is recently that they made ‘big jump’ in improvement to gain acceptance
        automotive world is competitive so you got to be good to compete.
        this perdana riding on accord reminds me of 1st gen waja riding on Mitsubishi engines and transmission… we might see these perdana on the road for another decade if i am not wrong

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:03 am

It is true. And your milestones seem correct as well. Plenty of the rot must fall squarely on their attitude towards non-performing vendors, many of whom were receiving monies despite the poor quality. Of course, leadership of PROTON must take this blame.
        It was probably at its worst under Tengku Mahaleel. A big, popular man but he once said in 2005/6 to a journalist I know personally when asked about why the journalist’s few weeks old car, the troubled Gen2, was falling apart. He asked the journalist if he knew who made the part, and my friend replied yes. Then the CEO muttered, “how do you expect me to bite the hand that feeds me?”.
        So perhaps, YAB PM was right. There was interference in the running of the company. Who’s to say there isn’t still?
        The only reason the Accord was pitted in in the last minute was because they made a desperate plea to the government to resist Tan Chong’s proposal to replace the ageing Perdana fleet with the Nissan Fuga. That would have allowed Tan Chong to immediately have access to a large fleet customer, and also offer a new model to Malaysians. The economies of scale would have been beneficial to Tan Chong as well, and Nissan would have had a regional market for what was essentially a JDM car.
        Wallahualam.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:03 pm

900 bookings n they think that’s awesome? Right….keep on moving people, nth to see here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • Obama on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:04 pm

PM – Since you wish to have “The Beast”, you can start modify this latest model – Proton Perdana to become one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • pejuang on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:18 pm

wahh Paultan today damn boring right. Every news today is about proton. Hit thumbs up if y’all want real news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 75
  • Ootai on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Long live for those who vote the goose that lay the golden eggs. For others, keep on paying all sort of duties and bank charges.

• Rakyat !! on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:33 pm

PROTON OH PROTON !! BAZIRKAN DUIT !! TUTUP KEDAI LA WOII !!
    BOIKOT PROTON FOR OVERPRICED LOCAL MADE CAR !! RAKYAT BAYAR 100K+ FOR SCRAP INTERIOR DESIGN !!! SPEEDOMETER AND STEERING WHEEL !! MY OH MY !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • Manusia on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:41 pm

Itu sebab Honda tak abgi tukar. Nanti Proton pakai enjin sendiri, baru boleh tukar lorrr

• Aero (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:36 pm

No. Just no.

The only way Proton will truly ‘return to its former glory’ is when all you government fools stop bickering and leave Proton to do their own thing. Dr M or Najib, it doesn’t matter, you both have your own personal agendas, you both have no genuine interest in the well-being of Proton or their actual employees, the ones who actually do all the work.

All these years, Proton has been used, abused and hijacked for political gain. Proton has become the scapegoat, the company Malaysians love to hate and diss, just because they can, or just because they hate either Tun M or Najib (or both). Very few have ever spared a thought for that Abang or Kakak who works behind the scenes, day after day, the real ‘unsung heroes’ of Proton. They are people, and just like you and me, they have feelings too. How do you think they feel right now ? Just empathise for a moment, try to put yourself in their shoes.

And why did Syed Zainal Abidin have to leave ? Why ? He was the only one who really managed to turn Proton around, back when it seemed death was inevitable… He did his job, from 2006 to 2012, and then just like that, he was gone… why ?

Proton will never truly prosper until they are freed from their ‘political enslavers’. Proton must function as a business, and not as a platform to boost some old man’s ego. Put aside blind patriotism and ‘bodek’ culture. I have full faith in Proton’s engineers, designers, techs, and the lot, they are a small team, but one capable of big things. Leave them alone, and let them do their work in peace…

Why is Perodua profitable, you ask ? Because they don’t have to deal with constant political drama. Now you know their secret. Now you know what to do. But will you do it… Mr Najib ? I’m not holding my breath. When it happens, I’ll believe it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 9
    • Manusia on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Because of Mahathir, he leave Proton

• Good solution on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Sell Proton factory to Perodua better. The new Axia Sedan sure huge demand need extra factory to produce it faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Alson P on Jun 15, 2016 at 2:37 am

Indeed..! Proton has been used, abused and hijacked for political gain.. Maybe the solution for PHB regained to their glory era is by sell their shares market to the giant automotive company.. Sell them over 50%(OR all of them) of PHB shares and let the new owner take over all administration and management.. Then PHB will not become scapegoat anymore..

All the best Proton Holding Berhad

• CarBuyer on Jun 15, 2016 at 2:39 am

Perodua is profitable because they knew their limitations, and made the best of things while working constructively within those limitations (ie. mainly rebadging). Proton on the other hand, always had inflated illusions about its abilites, bragged non-stop about them, and invariably failed to deliver anything remotely close to their own hype, disappointing buyers of their cars (like me) time and time again. It is this that is responsible for their dire situation now I feel, speaking as a car buyer, and not a political or automobile industry analyst.

• lilytan on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:22 am

Proton are infested with parasits, from top to bottom. Politicians, cronies, deadwood n etc. But the biggest mistake was to give the control to DRB which until now have yet to do any significant improvement to proton. No vision, no money, no know how, nothing. DSZ give them some vision but yet they dont have the funds. DRB was suppose to give them some financial muscle n now ended up receiving tax payers money to pay off its debts. Utterly bollocks.

• Perrrrrghdana on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Collected 900 orders without even knowing the price? Tipu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • pomen on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:53 pm

then bring the price down la if najib said tun era already end….

• applegreen on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:54 pm

yea yea Najib u r right. Now we can see fake exhaust same colour with body colour. After this proton will paint wiper blade also

• It is not really that ugly, if painted it will be more ‘busy’ on the bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Jib…oni 900 pre order?????? inclusive of civil servant one? give Honda a call and see how many Civic deposit they’ve accepted…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Moving Forward on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:11 pm

End of political interference? If it’s not him, there will be no Proton you won’t be standing on the stage and comment. Proton undergoes up and down trend but I believe the passionate car lover was there to help Proton returning back to its glory Era. You can have your own agenda but please at least spare him from such accusations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • support p1 = support DrM???? on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:57 pm

No no no you cannot car lovers to support proton unless you dun mind being cursed by bashers as Dr M kipas susah mati supporter

• BeemerFreak on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:20 pm

So he wants to be Proton Chairman as well? So that he can add to the 2.6 bil he stole or so that his wife can fly more on private jets?

We need to purge this disease before it infects the entire Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Nicholas on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Just wow, where did that come from? I guess just sweep it all to the predecessor and start anew eh? As far as I can see Mr PM is not even contributing more than Tun M so what right do he have in saying other people was the cause?

• Gracke on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:30 pm

Nothing to say about it……! :-(

• KarmaComing on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Whatever Ajib touches, surely goes spiralling down.
    Just look at the projects that he was involved…

Poor new Perdana is going down…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • TKhengong on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:40 pm

In my opinion, the script and acting by the 3 models during the launch is very amateurish and akin to a primary school play. Besides, the CEO doesn’t seem to exude any enthusiasm and excitement at all when delivering his speech. The rear of the Perdana, if you take away the bottom half of the bumper, looked similar to the Persona albeit a bigger version of it.

• engnt on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:54 pm

I tried those things to Audi and Merc, it looks similar too, so?

• Kevin Henry on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Dear Jibby,

Firstly he needs a transplant especially his brain. Rebadged Honda???? you call that glory??? We have so many copy cats so much so our education system is full of conman and women. Wake up. I hope they kill damn Proton and move on. Enough of subsidizing. We need to do to Proton what was done to MAS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Kevin Henry on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Do people know how to count? 900 you make a bruhahaha? Civic and HRV itself priced higher got more bookings. Idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Ok what, since basher said people won’t pay more than 40k for

• youbodok on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:51 pm

Ok what, since basher said people won’t pay more than 40k for a p1. So now who is idiot? I believe it is YOU

• Ex proton owner on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:40 pm

I’m gonna bookmark this for 10 years and see how far they can achieve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Kent L on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:03 pm

Proton no more for me. Been suffering since owning proton from 2014. No more proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • New Civic Fan on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Already suffer loss & yet still with poor pricing strategy. I don’t think Proton can turn around well within 5 years.

• Najib’s liberalisation vs Tun M’s nationalisation.

Siapa akan menang?

• john otak batu on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Losers will always be rakyat with Proton

• And toyota/P2 owners r those who have early deathwish. Can u see how slippery this slope u r trying go down?

• Shamgti on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Tun era finished already.Now is Najib era dont play2 yeah…

• return to golden era? what return? it started by him…

anyway this najib taking credit where its not due

• Korean Fan on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:58 pm

Actually we should laud Najib for ending Mahathir control over Proton. Love him or hate him, Najib has ended many of the corporate-politic capitalism by Mahathir. That’s why he pissed off big time with Najib to the point that even going to Bazar Ramadan, he is thinking of how to annihilate Najib.

Najib, I believe he will let proton run on its own, just like produa. Produa is profitable because it is free from Mahathir influence. They run as a business entity to make money. All they need is to rebadge some reliable japs model and sales will go.

Can’t we see, once Mahathir is out, we see proton busy looking for partner. They know if they want to survive, they must rebadge from popular brand. Having accord from Honda is a good move. If they can find one people’s car from honda, then I bet proton will be back in its golden age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
    • Correct, bro! This is the message I have been saying all along!

Unfortunately, we have oppolitikuses brainwashing pipu to blindly hate Najib so much so that the r blinded to Najibs effort to dismantle all the Mahathir-centric institutions, remove Gov cronysim from private sectors, and liberalise the market.

He is the only PM that dared to go against the grain, upset his own teammates and traditional structures built up for the past 22 years. All this for us to be able to compete against the world fairly and without any tongkats.

Yet here we r, bashing him left left right right up down up down again and again, hoping for some cheat codes to defeat him. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Jeffri on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Driving a one year old proton is like driving a 5 year old Japanese. Driving a 2 year old proton is like driving a 10 year old japanese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Jefri Juxk on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Cant imagine you are driving a 5 years proton Jeffri? Looks like 25 yrs old car ? Can share your experience ? Work hard to get a kimchi then

• But why I feel like driving my 8yo P1 is better than a less than 1yo City?

• I owned a proton satria back in year 2000. That was my first car. Heck, i even remember the plate number. It ran well. Reliable, and no issue whatsoever. That was the good old days. I remembered once I pecut on the highway from kl to alor setar, and that trip took me only 3.5 hours. Yup, I had great memories with that car….i wish proton all the best in their new pursuit for greatness..maybe at that time, my children can build their own memories with their protons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Henry on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Talk is cheap. Anyone can talk.

• Pening on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:26 pm

There was no golden era with Proton to begin with.
    All it brought with was untold hardship to the Malaysian people with the lousy quality and the unrealistically high tax imposed on other foreign makes just to hinder people from buying a better product but forced to buy that piece of junk.

• suhaimi on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:26 pm

This is definitely a good model for proton. it looks nice, has the reliable engine from Honda and it will perform as well as the accord too.
    The only problem is the pricing. You can’t blame them completely for pricing the car too high. Proton is just irrelevant to the market anymore. Honda make its models for 15-20 countries at least. Of course it will be cheaper to produce each unit so they can price it lower. Proton can’t even export to our neighboring countries. How to lower the production cost?
    The only way for proton to survive is by ditching it false ego and letting bigger companies to buy its shares. If Volkswagen buys over proton, i believe proton will be a global brand with sales figures high enough to lower its prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Alson P on Jun 15, 2016 at 2:47 am

Indeed…! Let giant companies to buy its shares.. All of them maybe..!! Let the giant company take over all control in administration and management..

• Koolan on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:28 pm

900 prebooked mostly all gomen orders la.. Who else using this junk..

• political interference ? on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:39 pm

What is the possibility that the delay of this perdana launch is due to inability to get Najib’s time to officiate the launch ? If that so, isn’t this a political interference that jeopardize business and turn around plans for a financially unhealthy company ? Why must Najib launch the car and why can’t P1 launch themselves ?

• alibaba on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:07 am

simple…dr M attack me…now i attack him back

• john is otak batu on Jun 15, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Simple… Potong owe Najib big time, cause he is the 1 that approved the $1.5bil “soft loan” to Potong

• With this RM2.6 billion Donation Man at the helm, Malaysians will suffer another 22 yrs of hell!!’

• drillero on Jun 15, 2016 at 5:41 am

“Return to Glory” with expensive segment & price? another dream another time another name. Now, the political winds are stronger than ever. Never before during Proton launching events, the platform has been turned into political stage. So sad to see this coming but Proton future is bleak then ever.

• haaaa….very good proton, sangat pemalas…..haaaa

• Damn that statement is like a punch in Mahathir’s face from the PM…

• common sensor on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:00 am

Bloody hell .. what an insult to a stateman. A bloody “intelligent” statement from an “intelligent” PM.

• mikikiut on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:38 am

Pls rebadge Suzuki jimny plsss. Need for p2 kembara replacement.

• Paulz on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:45 am

I gonna save Botox head statement and we shall see whether it will change the wind after 5 years period.

• Tong Sampah on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:04 am

WAJA is a nice car to drive EXCEPT:
    1) Power Windows (ultimate f-up supplier)
    2) Door handle (another f-up supplier)
    3) No air bags

If the above is solved, its one of the decent build car in fact..

• Ben Yap on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:25 am

damn, najib only can see the speck in mahathir’s eyes. how about malaysia to return to its former glory without najib’s political interference?

• stephen on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:27 am

maybe his route to Proton golden era is to rebadge every honda car as proton…..Jazz become new Iriz. City become new Saga….Civic become new Impiana/ Preve.

• Lee Kow Chai on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:01 am

After 30 years and proton is still taking pride in rebadging an old generation accord? Do they know how to spell SHAME?

• thepolygonal on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:30 am

Sure can… bring back the Satria name but put in an EV drivetrain or the turbo option. Slap in Lotus ride and Handling… that should work… price it like the current satria and called it satria genesis.

• Samy Thavarajah on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:10 am

Why have the most shameless man launch our national car? Everybody whisper about him and the money lost under him. I like to support Proton but this man has put me off buying Proton.

• sulaiman zainudin on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:39 am

The nice design of the Perdana was Tun Mahathir’s hard work & contribution of opinion/suggestion during the development of the car. I am a sad person.

• rchoo on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:48 am

One sentence sums it all.

From the frying pan (Mahathir) into the fire (Ah jib Gor).

• abuabu on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Najib is so shameless… perhaps his skin is thick like crocodile skin..Tun M put a lot of efforts in building this new Perdana and he who just came to officiate the ceremony condemn that old fella like he done nothing..come on..what Najib have done for our country to make us proud?

• diana on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:27 pm

since when Proton has it’s glory day? 80s? Any corporate that’s politic-ised won’t work, focus nvr on producing the product that market want and be competitive

• Return to glory or gory end?

• This guy name call Jibby talk without a word of substance.

• Leafable on Jun 15, 2016 at 5:40 pm

Tesla 3 have over 400k+ pre-booked. The customer haven’t even seen the final production version yet. And Tesla only born 13 years ago. Something very wrong with Proton brag about 900 pre-booked.

• Andrew Yu Young Earn on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:58 am

Proton Suprima S,Preve turbo,Iriz Mt and exora bold mc2 cps and cfe are way better than this car(proton perdana) you are the one who manufactured it(proton perdana) . you must hold responsibility of making this car because you kick tun out of proton and petronas. Now you design this car which 90% of us do not like it.

• WhrIsOurFuture on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Proton need to really reform to lessen their corruption & cronyism practice to minimum level and start to practice merit system. But real reform is very difficult in Malaysia due to the system our gov are practicing. I can foresee MAS is going to fail again very soon after the current German CEO leave. We can see our country are going backward in relative to other countries since 1980s, be it in economy, sports, education, etc. Just compare our currency exchange, uni rankings and football rankings back then and now.

• Kenny on Jun 16, 2016 at 2:08 pm

this PM really talking nonsense.

with or without Mahathir………………..Proton already long time doomed…………..no economies of scale how to compete and stay on?.

We wait for it to bungkus.