VIDEO: 2016 Proton Perdana – quick walk-around tour

By now, you would have read our launch report as well as first impressions test drive review of the new 2016 Proton Perdana which was launched this morning.

You would have also been able to research detailed specs and equipment as well as compare the new Perdana against other D-segment competitors using our car research tool CarBase.my.

Now we bring you a quick walk-around tour of the new Perdana where we take a closer look at a striking example of the 2.4 litre variant dressed up in the car’s hero colour – Ruby Red.

Enjoy the video and let us know what you think of the new car in the comments below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ben Yap on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:44 pm

the heart of the car is written honda. the exterior proton.

looks like got identity crisis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • camtakpro on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:24 pm

All Proton produced models have identity crisis, rear crisis, or both.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • Sammy Vellu on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:56 pm

At least polish the tayar first lahh before shooting a video. It hurts my eyes alot looking at those dirty tyres.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Vios RM80k no vsc the Proton fans shout like no tomorrow. This RM113k also no vsc, all Proton fans diam-diam.
          They only support the Proton by lips, no action (buy da shit) taken. That’s why Proton beg RM1.6 bil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
          • Ur altis 1.8G more expensive oso no ESC! Apa kelanjiaoan ini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
          • viosfan on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Then why you buy for your son a saga?

• My 2006 Altis 1.8G got ESC and TCS.

• ProtonGSC on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Tun said “make it exterior and interior totally unrecognize” Now the interior look the SAME! Tun even you left P1 please don’t lie to Rakyat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • proton itself is forever a crisis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Volvo of Asia got no VSC and onl 4 airbags?
      Hahahaha

• Same L0rrr on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Proton fanboy, you can buy this Proton Perdana with i-VTEC engine & 5 speed auto gearbox. This car are not Camporn engine & CVT bising punch powertrain gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • hailthepurist on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:29 pm

tell John..

• Hota hair on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Fortunately there is no more Toyota fanboy existed in Bolehland.. Only Toyota uncleboy,the old man pretend to be young at heart with grey hair or almost botak.Poor botak same l0rr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:54 pm

All the boys will one day become uncle, but not all uncle can afford Toyota.
        Some of the boys trapped in the legendary problematic Proton cycle with all bank saving burnt to repair the car and no more money to upgrade the car.
        In fact, after earning the Proton boys money, a lot garage owners buy our Camry. They knew the best cars to avoid garage.

• nosushi on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:22 pm

P1 lesser problem nowadays, toyota no quality, with killing takata airbags!

• Nope… I don’t like how it looks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:28 pm

The front really reminds me of saga , which is not a good thing.

• robert mugabe on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:12 pm

there is a hint of saga at the front, hint of persona at the rear

who wants to pay over rm100k for a bloated saga & persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • Then will you pay same amount for bloated mixture of luxury car designs in a car from china?

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Can you give us a video tour why the new Accord got no VSC? Few thousand more Teana has VSC plus 6 airbags.

I see no incentive to buy an Accord that is dangerous for me and my family

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta kinte supporter on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:53 pm

my boss kunta has been using saga for 9 years and only recently changed to recond persona. He is loyal fan to proton but why proton never take care of safety as priority?

• Shaan on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:09 pm

The car looks great. Very fresh and new. And I have to agree with you that the bodykit on the 2.4 is too much. The one on the 2.0 is just nice. Maybe Proton has been clinging on Honda a lot. No push start button, 4 airbags. The Iriz and Preve has more safety features and the interior looks a little dated. But overall very nice. That’s my point of view. Hope Proton succeed with this model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 34
    • Azahari Ismail on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:50 pm

I agree. I think it looks nice. Safe bet by having Honda as a base for this model. 2.0 Perdana is on my list. Might be my first Proton :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • if I see you drive into my building in this for an interview, I will get my HR to cancel the appointment and have the guards escort you back out. you cannot use brains before buying a car, how to trust you making decisions in my company???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Potong on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:13 pm

I cannot find a good reason why one should spend 114k for this. All new civic 1.8 has better specs than this. Not to mention the safety features

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
    • Mr Koh & Mr Tan family only on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Don’t worry so much,in few months there will be 7k-10k rebates to justify the real price for this 1.5B soft Dana.Then everyone can make a long queue to book this Dana..including u.Or just continue drive your 10yo myvi or vios.

• contender on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:14 pm

No VSC …. just like Camry 2.0E spec …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • true..same with honda the previous version no VSA for 2.0 model. That’s why proton cant do anything because this need full wiring modification for 2.0. Unlike 2.4 the previous Honda is ready with VSA.

• So ini semua salah Honda? Tabouleh! “How dare u persoal our foreign overlords!” says Albert.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • But nobody persoal camry, yet bash this new Perdana. Bcoz cannot persoal foreign overlords?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • Because Camry don’t champion VSC.

• Bmw fanboy on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Camry only follow other brands technology,that’s how Toyota moving forward..by copy other brands and create their own phrase to make people think Toyota create new technology.When tak laku then baru fit in more features..

• Audifan on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:32 pm

That’s really shameful like BMW!

• But they are making much more money that Proton can only dream of.

• tokmoh. on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:23 am

People don’t persoal camry 2.0e, people don’t even know it exist. That’s why umw so desperate do carwow roadshow, throw price, and still 30% sale decline hewhewhew

• cha chiing for the new CEO of 1.5 bil for the new Perdana out, another 1.5 bil approved for new Peso-na, another 1.5 bil for new saga, new iriz, and so on and so on

• The one worth mentioning in the video is Hafriz :-P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • jibby martha focker on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Accord SV

• interior is not impressive
    less effort done
    the steering wheel is dull

• Accord-donor on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:23 pm

1) Based on the old last generation Honda Accord
    2) Shah Alam-assembled, quality and after-sales by Proton
    3) Got no VSC and less airbags than a standard Iriz
    4) Tipu claim they have the longest car in its class by just extending the butt
    5) Collected 900 orders without even knowing the price? Tipu
    6) Hardcore Proton fans are advised to wait until they do jualan stock clearance next year
    7) Oh wait… Proton customers can’t pay more than RM40k for a Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
    • 1)Platform sharing so what
      2)Go for jepunis fb got many complaints too
      3)Why dun compare with VSC less camry?
      4)Still longest no matter which part you measure it
      5)Prove us it is tipu
      6)Toyota and other makers do stock clearance too
      7)Your syiok sendiri claim, go die

• They should have benchmarked the price of the accordana with the secondhand prices of the 8th-gen accord. Which idiot is going to spend more money for old tech?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • james on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:36 pm

PM said “I know that we all wish them every success in growing their sales, in leading in innovation, and ensuring the company has a bright future, both in terms of its products and the well-being of its hard-working employees.” – Bernama

This is copycat car , 0% innovation.. i don’t see proton future…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • james on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:43 pm

This is proton darkest era….just copy & rebadge other car manufacturer (honda, suzuki, what next?) models…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • old logo still on the steering wheel..

• firewalls on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Gosh the car just look hideous, they should have just change the logo instead. Anyone out there can design a much better looking rear of the car.

• jambancamry on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Gosh the camry just look hideous, they should have just change the logo to Dacia instead. Anyone out there can design a much better looking rear of the car.

• VINOD on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:58 pm

1) Cannot be compared to other D segment cars because most C segment competitors are better spec-ed, both inside and out. Some B -segment ones are not too far off either.

2)After countless years of teasing & spyshots, this is what we get? Sub-standard styling. To he honest, proton did a better job with the iriz. The interior is good for 2010 but its 6 years later now. No keyless & push start? cant brain that

3)Malaysians who purchase D-segment sedans (mostly) can afford it. Hence, price point not going to work when most competitor C segments around that range are better equipped. Doesnt help that the new Civic was launched last week.

• transformer on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:02 pm

the voice behinds Hafriz is too soft and its seem “un-confident” with this Perdana. Or just purposely mixed lower vol audio?

i guess most viewer will shy away from this Perdana after watch this video…. try watch previous video such as X-Trail, Lexus NX…. those video gave more “positive” influence than this “soft voice”….

• azrai on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Don’t bising2 here la..The 99% market for this car is SPANCO a.k.a. Government use only. For rakyat, the better car are Civic, etc.

• azrai on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Paul, how about comparison between the early concept seen on Dr.M’s Kapsul movie then. It will be nice informative one.

• Harry on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Haftiz shirt look nice!

• Kogulakannan Rama Linggam on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:26 pm

It is a big disappointment for me as I was expecting a total new interior which was what was mentioned by Proton before. Also there are 2 different badges in this car that you can see. The old batch on the steering wheel and the alloy wheels and the new batch on the exterior front and rear end. If PROTON doesn’t care of small things like this i don’t think the company is serious. Also the price you pay for an obsolete model of Honda is too much. There are many more options in the market within the price range. Also realized that the isn’t a key-less entry and and Push start that is even available in models like Iriz. I don’t think it is a big think to incorporate these things even though the Honda model didn’t have it before since these kind of work are even done by local accessories shops for olden cars these days.

I even was hoping that the gear was going to be like the one in Tun’s car with the knob type.

• Im not impressed. Specs do not match up to competitors.
    Firstly, push Start Function not available, Lacking of 2 additional airbags. No remote release trunk control. This items should have been a standard item for 2.4 model.
    With RM 138k, better off getting a Honda accord 2.4 (2014)

• karim on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Why is the Proton emblem on the steering wheel different than the one on the top mark? On the steering wheel is the old version …

• ely_lye on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:33 pm

What? RM100k Milo tin potong? please lar…

• bodykit? again? XD…its just a damn lip..sigh…agreed with u anyway the 2.0 model with no kit looks more easy on the eye….

what is with the rear lower bumper look? damn ugly with chrome some more that try to look like an exhaust pipe..

• RM100K above for the local national car? PROTON, you still got many things to improve here.

• Potong on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Too much marketing bullshit … Paid advertisement … Better to post honest and objective reviews

• rosli mohd on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Total rip off at 113,888 and 138,888.
    This will be the biggest downfall for P1 as so much R&D was been spent to come out with this whimper. No keyless entry & push start ??
    Seriously the designer should be sacked.
    Would have been a sellout if priced just under 99K. Good luck P1 . You’ll need it. !!

• Anonymous_L on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Well I can still find some good old gen 8 reliable Honda Accord. Thanks Proton, but no thanks again

• Anonymous_M on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Nope, no warranty for used accord means buying new perdana

• When will Proton starts learning that bodykits like these are truly unflattering and makes the car look VERY after-market.

• jambanvios on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:47 pm

I like Vios with hacked bumper just to accomodate cheapo led, very aftermarket looking!

*sarcasm*

• Sempoi on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Hafriz should review the car at sea side beach area, suitable with your shirt style. I suggest at Langkawi or Hawaii. :-D

• frankC on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:31 pm

i prefer the look without body kits.
    basic lines is good. some lacking features of 2.0l maybe because that generation just don’t have it. it is quite unlikely Honda will release a competitive model to their just launch civic. it is all to well for Honda to leave something for themselves.
    nevertheless, what’s the big deal with keyless entry.. but lacking VSC is a big issue though.
    so if you have issue with this, then wait for 2017 and see if the new engine and transmission, it will free proton to build in these new technology which we know iris already have… iriz owners any issue with these systems in proton? .. i heard from a good friend, he is happy his wife’s iriz is a life saver. crashed it and the bag deployed accordingly. she walks away unscratched!!! .. car fully restored by proton.

• Sannas on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:21 am

I would think the exterior design itself has too much going on. The front facial to the A to B pillar are very slippery in design but the rear lights and lines are too angular and takes away the essence of its overall design feel. Previous generation Honda Accord interior done in poor taste. A 100k + car equipped with less safety features than its smaller siblings is not a properly made car. Size doesn’t matter. Safety is.

• Taxpayers on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:14 am

they even go to the extent of putting in fake exhaust tailpipe???! pls return the Rm1.5 billion now ..not 5 yrs later .. bunch of morons

• you dont think you change you face i dont regonize you…you are honda not proton!