Toyota is world’s most valuable car brand – Forbes

2016-GMS_Toyota-C-HR_07

Every year, Forbes publishes a list of the world’s most valuable brands, and this year is no exception. From tech giants to pharmaceutical companies and many more, what is really of interest to us is where the car companies stand for the 2016 edition.

The first five spots are occupied by non-car brands most of you are already familiar with – Apple, Google, Microsoft, Coca-Cola and Facebook. Interestingly, Toyota has managed to take the sixth spot, making it the world’s most valuable car brand this year.

Moving further down the list, BMW sits comfortably in the fourteenth position, followed by Mercedes-Benz (#20), Honda (#23), Ford (#35), Audi (#36), Chevrolet (#59), Lexus (#63), Porsche (#67), Nissan (#70), Hyundai (#71), and Volkswagen (#77). In total, a dozen carmakers made it onto the top hundred list.

So there you have it, Toyota tops the list as the world’s most valuable car brand. For next year’s edition of Forbes’ list, what car brands do you think will be able to make it into the top hundred?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Taxer on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:51 am

Mana Proton? Teaser after teaser after spyshot, still end up nowhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 26
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:19 am

Proton is better than Toyota lah. Since our Ministers already said Proton is Better than BMW and Volvo, it is understood that Proton will be far superior than Toyota.

Anyway all car companies are envious of Proton cause Proton is the only car company in the world that can sapu RM1.5 bil every other year and RM15 bil the pst 20 yrs.

The other car companies want to learn Proton’s secret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
      • TKhengong on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Fully agreed. Spending all that billions to produce re-badged cars. I am hoping for the day they re-badge Jaguars out Bentleys so all suffering rakyat can drive one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • WT Fuchhh on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Proton is world’s most valuable car brand….lah!!! Everytime want to go bankrupt can get gomen support. Isn’t that more valuable…???

• sani saad on Jun 18, 2016 at 9:15 am

Ford, once in this their government also support the company. Go bash ford also la…..ops….kereta luar negara….what they do, semua ok. Toya!!!!!……

• carlist on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Seriously, looking at the higher range of the mid-size sedan to MPV across the world, starting Corolla, Camry, Wish, Estima, Alphard and Vellfire, Toyota almost monopolize the car market. Also from commercial can, trucks, pick-ups and 4×4 and don’t forget the luxurious branding Lexus.

Their hands is touching everywhere in the automobile industry. I second “Toyota is world’s most valuable car brand”. Congrates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • hailthepurist on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:55 am

Hunda’s rv much better in bolehland..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • Jimmy on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:22 pm

If I remember correctly, there was a list previously, also top 100, in which Ferrari is the highest among all the car brands.
      So now the World has changed, suddenly Toyota becomes the most desirable car brand in the world.

## Toyota Avalon at rm102k, vs entry-level Ferrari at rm120k, you do your pick.

• All brainwashed by the attractive advertisements and ‘Power of Dreams’ shit taglines and roadshows.
      Thats why LOL.
      Wait Until kena the useless aftermarket sales and service part of owning Hondas. Vehicles with Poor built quality, Shitty authorized Honda Branded service centres especially in KL and Selangor area. Dont believe me, check Honda Malaysia FB. They even delete customers complaints. Stuck up AF management unlike Honda Japan and Honda Singapore.

• Proton Selimut on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:57 am

Poor Proton, the company, the brand and its cars got no resale value. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
    • U forgot. Toyota is oso listed as most dangerous car brand. Cuz of their inadequate safety spec and even when they include it, it can kill pipu. This on top of toyotas r designed to bring their occupants to early afterlife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 51
      • Roti John on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:10 am

do not just simply say without any supporting references. Or you just want to curse?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • alldisc on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:27 am

To all the Toyota bashers this is proof of your ignorance to the most supreme car brand in the world for many years running. Do not be fooled by crap from Honda as you can see they are so far down in the list compared to Toyota.
        Toyota will and forever make the best cars in terms of luxury(Lexus), comfort(Camry), safety(All Toyota vehicles), efficiency(Prius), handling(86) and power(LFA), toughness(Hilux). You name it and Toyota has it. Any Toyota car will run forever with proper maintenance as it has bulletproof reliability and not to mention highest RV in the market anywhere.
        So why get crap like Honda when you can have the best selling and most valuable car brand in the world.
        So be smart like me and get a Toyota!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 23
      • Gonggok on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Hilux now got 7 airbags, VSC, TRC, TRC, BSC and PHD…

Sam Loo said u kalah oledi la John

• Sam loo oso said Iriz got all those at half the price of ur hailat. So u double kalah woh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • Gonggok on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Sam loo says kesian to u lor… iriz where can compare to hiluk … 1 is consider big car can carry tanah 1 tan and go hutan…1 is small city car.. Sam loo say what la u john.. nowadays why kalah so much for? Hehehe

• Proton the volvo of asia dont have esc in 113k perdana, wahahah

• It’ll still be Toyota next year. They’re ahead of the competition when it comes to eco-friendly techs; and they have the resources that can change/shape the landscape of the industry.

The hybrid war is basically non-existent; Toyota takes up at least half of the market, and is ready to combat electric cars directly with fuel cell, which is more promising and the route to future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • TKhengong on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:01 am

Proton? The most valuable car brand for rebadging old model from other car brands and gifting them a new lease of life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:01 am

Congrats toyota…it goes without saying…period (unlike RBAs who will find fault with others and continue to condemn this and that but still hadap to live in this country…poor souls)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Suzuton Honton on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:01 am

1st.Apple Car
    2nd.Google Car
    3rd.Windows Car
    4th.Cola Car
    5th.FB Car
    6th.Toyota Car…..LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • And UMW manage to ruin it in malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • Tyler Durden on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:29 am

Yes I second that statement. Toyota builds uber-reliable vehicles that sell themselves in the majority of the global markets (albeit losing to Nissan in China).

But Toyota’s value and integrity of providing reliability and peace of mind to consumers are ruined by UMW’s appetite to squeeze every Ringgit and Sen from Malaysians.

I say we boycott Toyotas. Tell our family and friends to consider the Nissans, the Hondas and etc.

UMW; ignorant much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
      • smarttess on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:07 am

Let buyers be the ultimate judge about Toyota in Malaysia. If people are not buying, some positive changes will happen. No need for you to get on a soapbox to call for a boycott.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • Tan Ngan Lo herbal tea on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Hey smarttess or smartarse whatever your name is……finding life tough within the four walls of a Toyota showroom?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Secupak lah u, obviously they are not from toyata’s showroom looking at their statement, don’t just blast blindly

• targa on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Precisely, it’s time UMW learn a lesson. But sadly, i doubt they will and will continue offering minimal safety for maximum price.

Rumor has it Nissan will come in directly to take over from Tan Chong, but of course with a JV requirement with GLCs…… and in no time, Nissan in MAlaysia will end up like Toyota and Honda Malaysia.

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:06 am

The answer for Malaysian is so very obvious, surely a Proton in top100 next year. Cheers!!!

“Proton expected to return to glory after the end of Tun Mahathir’s political interference – PM Najib Razak”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • tokmoh. on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:18 am

No Tesla? Odd.

Volvo should make it too, their renaissance started by new XC90 mk2 is truly game changer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:24 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • UMW TOYOTA on Jun 15, 2016 at 10:32 am

honda..you need working hard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Gonggok on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Buy Toyota confirm RV no issue.

Eh wait, I sound like Sam Loo now LOL

• ahmad ariff on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:29 pm

don’t be so happy or gloat around lah Toyota this , toyota that !!!.. its the worldwide Toyota for 1st world country that they are talking about, not the crap , low spec, low quality and safety that we are getting here .. dont lah be too perasan liao….

• Apa LanJixo pun ada on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:30 pm

What about Proton? Most invaluable Company?

• sani saad on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:39 pm

It seem everybody are dreaming a very excellent car but unfortunately it just a dreaming…..ha…ha…ha..

• sani saad on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Stupid…new mpv avanza 1.3cc clearly is bullshit….dont say genting or cameron..even bukit beruntong hill road cannot go…totally wasted…but no one mau komplen atau bash..toyota ma..jipun mari..even they regret as hell after buy the avanza..pretenting and keep said..ohhh..avanza good..mau jaga muka ma… Avanza also a failed car from toyota… My surrounding friends most of them drive imported car like..vw, bmw, mazda, ford, honda, mitsu and toyota. Also got problem, sometime 3-4weeks at service center.. But they never voice out or bash it…why???…malulaaa..kereta import ma..even 1month in service center still pretending their car is the best even the service center cant solve it..thats y ur car keep at the service center for weeks and months…..stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Just drive Proton lah you

• what muka to jaga with Avanza? Just pick reliable, point A to B nuff.
      change this perspective, it only hurt your pocket

• ford is more valuable than audi, lexus, porsche, nissan and vw? not bad