Controversy as B10 biodiesel goes on sale in Malaysia – MAA says may cause engine damage, MBA says no

biodiesel 1

The implementation of the sale of B10 biodiesel – diesel fuel blended with palm oil in a 90:10 ratio – beginning in June 2016, has raised much controversy over its suitability for use in modern diesel engines, specifically those designed to run on low sulphur content diesel like Euro 5. The implementation and sale of B10 is the result of the Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities (MPIC) biodiesel programme to promote the use biofuels in accordance with the National Biofuel policy.

In response to the implementation of B10 biodiesel for the transportation sector, the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) sent a letter to the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI), claiming the usage of biodiesel in grades higher than B7 may result in fatty-acid methyl ester (FAME) mixing with the motor oil, causing the oil to thin and possibly leading to sludging in the engine.

The MAA letter also states the majority of its members were advised by their principals that engine warranties would not be honoured on vehicles that ran a biodiesel blend of more than B7. Additionally, diesel fuel injection equipment manufacturers – among them Robert Bosch, Denso Corporation, Delphi Diesel System and Continental Automotive – have issued a Common Position statement stating all their fuel injection equipment is designed to work with a mixture of B7 biodiesel to EN14214:2009 standard.

Other issues cited include formation of injector deposits, injection invariance, reduced idling cycle stability and higher levels of water in the fuel, the latter causing component corrosion. Another concern noted by the MAA is that palm methyl esters (PME) – a component of palm oil – has a tendency to precipitate at low temperatures, depending on the amount of monoglyceride in the PME.

biodiesel1

B7 biodiesel was introduced to the Malaysian market in December 2014, with nationwide roll-out in December 2015, and MAA claims that there are still a lot of unknowns regarding the long-term usage of biodiesel in local vehicles. It has also called for B7 to made available as an alternative to B10 at fuel stations, saying that its members may not be able to introduce cleaner Euro 4 and Euro 5 diesel engines.

MAA also said that vehicle manufacturers recommended Hydrotreated Vegetable oil (HVO) – a mixture of paraffinic hydrocarbons, free of sulfur and aromatics, and with a very high cetane number – for biodiesel blends of more than B7. HVO offers a number of benefits over FAME, such as reduced NOx emissions, better storage stability and better cold properties.

Refuting the claims, the Malaysian Biodiesel Asssociation (MBA) has said that there is no issue with the engines for vehicles using biodiesel blends of higher than seven percent. This statement was issued after the concerns raised by vehicle manufacturers regarding the implementation of B10 biodiesel for the transportation sector in Malaysia.

2016 Malaysian Bio-diesel Camerons drive - 2

Among the clarifications was that biodiesel could be used in highland areas such as Cameron Highlands where the measured cold filter plugging point (CFPP) of B10 is below 12 Celsius – the lowest temperature recorded in Cameron Highlands, and the precipitation of palm methyl esters (PME) was more of a concern in temperate climates than tropical countries such as Malaysia.

According to the MBA, usage of B10 has the benefit of improving the lubricity of Euro 5 diesel that has lower levels of sulfur. It is understood that exemptions will given to fuel stations located in highland areas for the sale of B10 biodiesel – located in Cameron Highlands, Genting Highlands and Kundasang, Sabah.

It remains to be seen what the long-term effects of B10 usage are, despite the efforts of the MBA conducting vehicle trials to disprove any such concerns. What is confirmed is that Malaysia is moving towards the implementation of B10 biodiesel in fuel stations nationwide. Countries that have implemented the sale of B10 and above grades of biodiesel are Indonesia (B20), Colombia and Argentina (B10), and Brazil and France (B8), while some states in the US sell biodiesel in grades up to B10.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Tong Sampah on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:24 pm

lets get lawyers line infront of MBA..bunch of self interest people with no responsibility..and we see the G always have nothing to value rakyat..

rip all diesel cars..Euro5? LOL..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • papai on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:34 am

We diesel traktor, bus & pikap drivers belum bising.

Conti owners sudah bising mcm tin milo. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 41
      • Old Horse on Jun 17, 2016 at 6:32 am

Since you are the drivers but not owners of the vehicles…lol..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 6
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 8:59 am

All these conflicts happening because Government got no time to focus and push for biodiesel. Government, Ministers and their wives are busy wasting tax payer’s money by renting RM98 million private planes for their own whims and fancies. (This is despite having 7 ready Government planes to take you free)

So of course, different bodies now will have lots of conflict. Government themselves have no focus. Now, they are concentrating in hiding bags of money overseas than push for biodiesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • Same L00 on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Typical Malaysian mentality:
            We only sell this
            We don’t force you to buy
            You use on your own risk
            Your car break down your own problem
            You die then my business as usual
            Proton is one of the best practitioner of this business concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Vincent on Jun 17, 2016 at 10:28 am

Papai.. that why U R driver not owner. U not even understand that new tech of diesel engine in conti car require more fine grade of fuel as compare to those in truck and busses!

Google a bit before give ur statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • There in the article said that Euro5 can still be sell. It’s the matter how much % bio diesel add in the hydrocarbon diesel. You did not read? Both of MAA and MBA have self interest in this matter. Lets get lawyers line in front both of them? As we customer did not really know what best for diesel car. MAA said B10 not good for diesel engine, but MBA have point out a proven fact that B10 widely used in others country with no problem.

• Euro55 on Jun 17, 2016 at 10:27 am

Enjin kong….pegi woksyop cuci enjin.
      Diesel Conti maintenance naik, Value jatuh skit saje.

Hujan banjir kereta rosak…DBKL ada tanggung ka??

• After a few diesel pumps, i found out the hard way that biodiesel does not go well with conti diesel vehicles.

The exco members in MBA are all people from the palm oil industry (http://www.mybiodiesel.org.my/index.php/about-mba/mba-exco-members). If they have their way, of course they would push to maximize palm oil content in diesel. Talk is cheap. Back up your claims with impartial studies. If they can’t convince automakers that b10 has no adverse effect on diesel engines then they have no grounds trying to push this to the mass market.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Class action lawsuit to the federal government if it causes long term damage to your Diesel engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • Lets see if MB & BMW sues jokowi 1st, since they use 2X more mix, which shud means 2X faster damage, based on ur assumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Kojowi on Jun 17, 2016 at 8:09 am

Indonesia? Lawsuit? Lol

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 9:00 am

MAAA complain about fatty acid in the biodiesel but fat mama herself also got fatty acid in the body. How?

• Why u calling Ratu Naga fat mama. She trying to help u bring down Gov. Sigh. Lagi berapa kali u mau friendly fire?

• Nadia on Jun 17, 2016 at 10:34 am

Fortuner & Hilux r B10 Diesel certified from principals.
      Less worry.

• voonvoonvoon on Jun 17, 2016 at 4:56 pm

How about when B20 is to be introduced later ? Let’s think for long term engine maintenance as we all knew our gomen doesn’t care but trying hard to squeeze us to buy palm oil…If we all keep quite, then they will keep on taruh us…soon we as a consumer sure loosing all the benefits…vision 2020 ?

• “Act of God”.. sorry no compensation. How gomen know that palm oil will react like that? God made palm oil.

• In another words, MBM & BMW kena kantaoi’ed by PT for being lazy not to tune their cars for B10 like their cars in Indonesia (B20), Colombia and Argentina (B10), and Brazil and France (B8), and some says some states in Hypocrisyland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 18
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 9:06 am

Don’t blame MBM and BMW. Don’t even talk about biodiesel. Even our normal diesel has been filthy the past 10 years (although now got Euro 5 launched last year). Whilst the whole world had clean diesel, Malaysia for about 10 years had 1000x toxic poison filthy diesel.

Government was not bothered. For 10 years we inhaled toxic Sulphur into our lungs. Government did not care. For 10 years, all the Metro busses, lorries emitted thick black smoke, Government did not care.

Why? All the buss companies and lorries are owned by UMNO cronies and goons. So, they cannot be touched. Even until today, they refuse to use Euro 5, they use still dirty diesel that clogs our lungs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 37
      • U tok about fuel. Suddenly u tok about bus. Apa kelanjiaoan ini? Both r not related cuz bus can use up to EURO5 w/o modifications.

And most of logistics and buses companies belong to Chinamen who were strong Party Hard supporters. Now u come bash them pulak. U wanna lose their support back to BN isit? Another friendly fire again! Berapa kali u mau lose ur trooper pay?

• Next, MCAsays maybe. So A B C each have an opinion of their own.

• They just bulldozed their way :) we will see for ourselves if there’s any long term issues with newer Diesel engine found in continental cars.. Heck! Not even sure if our pick up trucks could be compatible…

• New continental diesel car also sold other country that used bio diesel, not only MY. Seem like no problem to them.

• Jobless on Jun 16, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Too bad,many mad saintis in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Then Indon saintis is 2X mad, Colombian and Argentine saintis just as mad, and Brazil & France saintis just 20% less mad, than our saintis. Not bad for MY saintis, eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • Kojowi on Jun 17, 2016 at 8:10 am

Third world country saintis. France is moving away from diesel

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 16, 2016 at 10:30 pm

B10 biodiesel + dedak = B7 biodedak. Still safe for engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • You put 50%+/pure biodiesel into engine would’ve have same wear and tear of a normal diesel engine.
    They (especially car manufacturer) just don’t tell you that because they all tied up with petroleum and natural gas sector.
    Do your own research if you don’t believe it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
    • donno on Jun 17, 2016 at 6:21 am

Wear and tear of a diesel engine is not just in the engine. There is also the damage done to the particulate filter, high pressure fuel rail, high pressure fuel pumps. There has been many warranty claims of diesel engine parts due to the fuel that is supplied in malaysia. Jpj wants our diesel cars to latest euro standards but our diesel fuel quality is to 3rd world country standards.

• Even if its true, would you dare risk voiding your vehicle warranty when you have a problem with the engine and they detect that you’re not using manufacturer approved materials and parts?

• Anyone who says “do your own research” is usually full of shit. You could have mentioned even 1 source. If you can’t cite just one credible source but just spout shit, don’t expect to mislead anyone.

• Vincent Ang on Jun 16, 2016 at 11:07 pm

Bat is right. Detractors please do some research before opening your mouths

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Passerby on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:14 am

guess we hv 2.6bil tons of unsold palm oil need to dispose off so sell it to our rakyat bodohly… many thanks Barang Naik!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Old Horse on Jun 17, 2016 at 6:35 am

Cos they only know how to do inside Malaysia business, outside all gone …

• Ensign on Jun 17, 2016 at 5:28 am

Doctor say pork high cholesterol so don’t eat so much. Pig farmer association say no bcos pork is actually white meat. Who do you believe lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Pork has no harmful effects at all! It’s super healthy to eat in big quantities. Do your own research man, you will see! /sarcasm

• Set ceiling price at RM0.90/liter then we’ll talk.

• any claim related to B10. Even B7 we already have many issues, now they are arrogantly showing their stupidity by saying B10 is ok. on Jun 17, 2016 at 6:51 am

Since car manufacturers know more about their car than MBA, we must challenge MBA to provides any manufacturer that can endorse the MBA claim that their cars can support B10 and willing to honour

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 17, 2016 at 8:11 am

just add 2T oil into diesel at 200:1 ratio..

• leonardo on Jun 17, 2016 at 8:37 am

I wonder who are the “expert consultants” in MBA and whether they have done an extensive research on the long term effects on diesel engines and its components before launching the biofuel? If they have, present the findings for the public to see.

• Rubbish on Jun 17, 2016 at 9:07 am

While at it, MAA should say something about the Ron97 also lah. It is obvious that it’s been doctored out from some poor grade fuel and unfortunately, I still have to run on this fuel due to my vehicle’s requirement. Many O2 sensors later, I have learned to tell if my Ron97 has been mixed in with Ron95. yes guys, be wary of your favorite kiosk. do some research of ur own n double check your favorite kiosks for a peace of mind.

• C.P.MOHAN on Jun 17, 2016 at 9:22 am

Does it affects warranty.

• Henry on Jun 17, 2016 at 10:04 am

Better be safe than sorry and check with your car’s manufacturer. Engine replacement is expensive.

• drMpower on Jun 17, 2016 at 10:13 am

this is easy fix. get MBA to guarantee the cars.
    atleast for new purchases.

• And what did MCA say?

• Suddenly MBA can tell manufacturers of diesel equipment that they are wrong.

Anyways….clearly seem that MBA on refute the cold filter plugging point. Guess the rest of the issues using B10 is true!

• Vincent Ang on Jun 17, 2016 at 11:52 am

Passerby,

Billion and million not the same lah. If you know nothing about the palm oil industry, please do not open your mouth.

• Hadi75 on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:08 pm

So…is the Euro5 diesel 100% or 7% palm oil 93% diesel or 10% palm oil 90% diesel

• Sparcov on Jun 17, 2016 at 5:04 pm

This is all due to our palm oil market value drop and minimal export palm oil.

We have huge stock pile up in Malaysia.

If one would think the value of Palm oil is high, will they blend in to the diesel oil and sell it to you with the same price?

No market and forced to use biodiesel.

I might be wrong, but just my opinion

• darren on Jun 17, 2016 at 5:24 pm

If really good export Malaysia Biodiesel to other country …dun let us feel like we suffer a lot as we r one of biggest producer of petrol country .
    And please down the price for Bio 10 and maintain the price of Bio 7 .thank you.