Peugeot 3008 GT unveiled – 180 hp diesel warm SUV

PEUGEOT_3008_1605PC_125

Less than a month after the new Peugeot 3008 made its debut in Paris, the lion brand has pulled the wraps off a warmed-over version of the C-segment crossover, dubbed the Peugeot 3008 GT. At its heart sits a 2.0 litre BlueHDI turbodiesel with Stop & Start, sending 180 hp to the front wheels via the ubiquitous Aisin-sourced six-speed automatic transmission.

You’re going to be hard-pressed to tell the GT from the standard 3008 on the outside, with the only differences being a new “Sanded Chrome” grille surround, chrome beltline trim, twin chrome integrated exhaust finishers and 19-inch two-tone diamond-cut “Boston” alloy wheels. Buyers can stand out further from the crowd by specifying the distinctive half-and-half Coupe Franche colour scheme, taken from the 308 GTi.

The changes are slightly more obvious inside – the striking angular i-Cockpit interior has been embellished with try-material TEP/Alcantara upholstery (Nappa Mistral leather optional) as well as fine copper double topstitching on the dashboard, doors, steering wheel, seats and centre armrests.

Elsewhere, there’s genuine aged grey oak wood and satin steel chrome trim, stainless steel pedals and doorsill plates, black headlining and copper stitching on the floor mats. Rounding off the additions is a digital instrument display with exclusive copper dials.

Peugeot also launched the GT Line trim for the cooking 2008, available on all engines bar the base 1.6 litre BlueHDi 100 S&S. It comes with most of the trimmings of the GT, including the chrome beltline trim, chrome tailpipes, the Coupe Franche option and copper interior topstitching. However, the wheels are smaller than on the GT – the largest available are 18-inch two-tone diamond cut alloys.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• peugeot fan on Jun 16, 2016 at 3:07 pm

we need petrol engine 200 hp, 300 torque, 8 speeds gears minimum. Otherwise the yearly car ownership cost doesn’t justify why we should own one instead of japanese.

• Dat interior.

• beli Proton lah. Buat apa beli kereta ini. Support French foreign overlords only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Agree. ..proton the way forward…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • old horse on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:34 pm

YES! I am with you! I pre-ordered 898 units earlier, and i bet the 2 are from you?

• Fully agree. Especially with French engine cannot tahan MY weather. Tebo selalu bocor