Volvo V40 T5 Drive-E launched – 245 hp, 8AT, RM193k

Volvo V40 T5 Drive-E ext 6

Volvo Car Malaysia has officially launched the new Volvo V40 T5, which now features the Swedish carmaker’s Drive-E powertrain. Similar to the S60 T6 Drive-E that was launched last month, the new T5 Drive-E will be the only V40 variant offered for now, priced at RM192,888 on-the-road without insurance.

The V40 in Malaysia had already benefitted from the in-house-developed engine previously. Back in February, limited units of the T4 Drive-E was available for sale. However, where the T4 only had 190 hp/240 Nm from a 1.6 litre turbocharged engine, the T5’s 2.0 litre turbo outputs 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,800 rpm. The mill is mated to an Aisin-sourced eight-speed torque converter automatic

In terms of performance, this equates to a 0-100 km/h sprint time of just 6.3 seconds, leading up to a top speed of 240 km/h. In terms of fuel consumption, the V40 is claimed to consume just 6.1 litres per 100 km (16.4 km/l), even though it outputs 32 hp and 50 Nm more than the previous T5 offering.

Visually, the car remains as per the pre-facelift model, so Volvo’s signature “Thor’s Hammer” LED DRLs won’t be fitted here. Noticeable changes can be seen at the wheels, which are now painted grey rather than silver. Five exterior colours will be offered – Ice White, Ember Black, Raw Copper, Bright Silver and Osmium Grey – but the blue you see in the gallery is not offered here.

Volvo V40 T5 Drive-E ext 4

Inside, things remain very much unchanged as well. The only new addition here are paddle shifters and that’s about it. Electric front seats (with memory function for the driver), automatic climate control, digital instrument cluster with an eight-inch Adaptive Digital Display and a premium sound system connected to a seven-inch colour screen continue to come as standard.

The comprehensive safety kit here continues to include BLIS, Cross Traffic Alert, City Safety (works up to 50 km/h), Dynamic Stability and Traction Control, Torque Vectoring, and Active Bending Lights, and seven airbags (with a knee airbag on the driver’s side).

As mentioned earlier, the Volvo V40 T5 Drive-E retails for RM192,888 on-the-road without insurance, which is just a little more than the outgoing V40 T5 (RM190,888). Each purchase is inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, and five years’ free Volvo On Call roadside assist.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 148
    • AnotherNon on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:14 pm

I think you’re the stupid one here. Nuff said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 8
      • It is not worth, germany cars like Audi is way faster, even with similar hp and torque. Dun believe? See top gears. Volvo can move first still Audi smokes that China car easily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 51
        • Volvorian on Sep 14, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Not for those who don’t care about safety features in the car. So go and manja with your german made

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 9:23 am

He is a troll, what do you expect? Attention seeker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Tong Sampah on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:30 pm

sell your house to buy Perdana…but wait, you finish your housing loan yet? your credit approved?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:28 pm

If I got dedak I buy V60 Polestar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
  • Alphard on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:34 pm

The moment you sign, 50% value drop.

The moment you drive home, another 50% drop.

Volvo is good for life and afterlife.

That’s why their tagline “Volvo for life”…..Even in hell….kakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 81
    • Volvo is gud for life. Toyota is gud for afterlife

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 10
    • talk cock on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:44 pm

no one will blame u for not afford it, go and work harder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • Moron, old thinking.
      All car are the same.
      “The moment you sign, 50% value drop.
      The moment you drive home, another 50% drop.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • Wow, hope they will release facelift soon!

• Jimmy on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:52 pm

The best Volvo to buy is XC90, superb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
  • godcar on Jun 16, 2016 at 5:56 pm

245hp. MONSTER!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Nasi Arab Nasi Tomato Nasi Dagang on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Add on another 10 hp, make it 9AT, and shave RM 10,000 off the retail price – this baby would remain in the stockyard, in the showroom, or parked inside an abandoned carpark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 52
    • Still has twice the number of gears than your Myvi..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
  • Gaviny on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Hmm no more free service ?

• I get the impression that Volvo adds lots of horsepower just to prove that they’re not a boring brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Mangali Singh on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:33 pm

This is better car than the golf gti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • shallowmangalisingh on Jun 17, 2016 at 9:04 am

Dude, golf GTI DSG give less power lost. 225hp on crank, on the wheel is 209hp.and when Golf just adjust the software, no need chip. will give at least another 30hp on wheel gain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • You opinion may well be true. But the ex-stock Golf GTI is now having a fire sale with huge discount. And the Golf has somewhat a cult following.

• shallowmangalisingh on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:15 pm

You cant blame for those who cant afford a Golf now. BUt discount not for GTI, its the 1.4. True power lower would not buy the 1.4 Turbo. And R version regardless GOlf or Passar would never get discounted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • It is infact the Golf GTI having the huge discount. RM34k to be exact. It was reported in this website beginning of this month.

• Hailat Singh on Jun 16, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Does it comes with free Sam Tow Truck service ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • AnotherNon on Jun 16, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Personally IMO, It still look has that Volvo charm without the facelift, subtle and that evergreen design. Would buy one but no cash right now :P

• worth on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:49 pm

this car can smoke many 250k and above german cars…245hp 6.3s 8AT is so worth buying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • Only volvo reduce price 198k to 193k but increase 211hp to 245hp and 6AT to 8AT…

• Still love my old 850R. Beautiful beast indeed. Volvo for life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Godcar on Jun 16, 2016 at 11:12 pm

Your volvo 850 look like nirvana hearse car. Good for cremation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
    • kington on Jun 17, 2016 at 10:13 am

That’s one heck of a car, limited edition. Had a ride in it once. MAnic.

• gaviny on Jun 17, 2016 at 9:11 am

For comparison

BMW
    318i – 136 HP
    320i – 184 HP
    320d – 190 HP
    330i – 252 HP

Mercedes
    C180 – 156 HP
    C200 – 184 HP
    C250 – 211 HP
    c300 – 245 HP

Audi
    A4 1.8 – 170 HP
    A4 2.0 – 211 HP

Volvo T5 is certified sleeper car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Pls also compare the price for 330i, c300, a4….then u know which car worth buying

• Nikolai on Jun 18, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Yeah, but the 330i, C300 and A4 compete with the S60, not the V40.

The V40 competes with the 1-series, A-class and the Audi A3.

• eeeriz on Jun 19, 2016 at 8:01 am

V40 IMHO, is intended for grown up men, who loves to drive relaxing rather then rushing. Golf GTI is for young men or older men who prefers drive-ability rather than relaxing. To those who have driven volvo S series will know that the seats are among the best in business, 10x better than Beemers. But i admit a GTI did tapaued me in my S60 T5, at Karak Highway years ago, my car was in stock standard, not sure about GTI though..

• Annoynimouse on Jun 19, 2016 at 10:29 am

Stunning car… very well built inside and out.

• rusmah on Jun 20, 2016 at 9:12 am

C300 is worth to buy in terms of overall specs, performance, price, reliability, parts availability, FC, RV.

• Volvo V40 looks so like uncle car. Even though I’m an “uncle” myself I won’t touch this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11