SPIED: BMW X5 xDrive40e hybrid in KL parking lot

bmw-x5-xdrive40e-msport

Less than four days to go before the BMW X5 xDrive40e makes its debut in Malaysia, according to BMW Malaysia’s bmw-electricdrivingpleasure.com microsite, but reader Victor has already sighted the plug-in hybrid SUV in a parking lot in one of the many high-rise buildings in Kuala Lumpur.

Seen here is a silver example wearing an M Sport exterior, which should give the xDrive40e model some visual differentiation from the existing xDrive35i and xDrive30d models on sale in Malaysia. We know this is the xDrive40e because of the eDrive badge that can be seen above the left tail lamp.

Powering the X5 xDrive40e is a 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine making 242 hp and 350 Nm of torque. Combined with the electric motor, total system output is 313 hp and 450 Nm. Drive goes to all four wheels via an eight-speed automatic transmission and the xDrive all-wheel drive system. The 100 km/h sprint can be achieved in 6.8 seconds, on to an electronically limited top speed of 210 km/h.

Of course, not seen here in this photo angle is the flap for the plug-in charger socket that’s located near the A pillar. You can charge up the car’s 9 kWh lithium ion battery using a BMW i Wallbox system in about 2 hours and 45 minutes. Using a regular wall socket will add another hour to that. It will allow the X5 to travel on electric power alone up to a distance of 31 km, and up to a speed of 120 km/h.

Because of location of the lithium ion battery under the rear luggage compartment floor, the X5 xDrive40e won’t be available as a seven-seater like the regular X5 on sale in Malaysia.

The BMW X5 currently retails for RM573,800 for the xDrive35i and RM533,800 for the xDrive30d. Both variants are currently assembled in Malaysia. We think it’s likely that the xDrive40e is locally assembled as well to take advantage of the current EEV and hybrid tax incentives in Malaysia.

Volvo’s locally assembled XC90 takes good advantage of said incentives to offer a tempting price tag of RM403,888 for the T8 Twin Engine Inscription variant. How much do you think BMW’s X5 xDrive40e will be priced at, should it receive similiar tax incentives?

Read our review of the BMW X5 xDrive40e in Munich while we await its launch. You can also visit BMW Malaysia’s bmw-electricdrivingpleasure.com microsite to learn more about their plug-in hybrid technology.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tokmoh. on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Volvo XC90 > all

This BMW even sacrificed third row seats for battery. Nearly all reviews say it’s no match for Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:17 pm

The car will be priced at RM370k, according to my BMW, so, it is much cheaper than the Volvo and yet, it is more prestigious than Volvo. This will wipe out Volvo completely. People rather go for a BMW lah anytime than a Volvo.

But my question is this….all car manufacturers are moving towards Hybrid, EV or Plug In but Proton, still no where to be seen. Their Proton Hybrid already 8 years now people are waiting. Their Iriz EV, 2 years now people waiting. Proton displayed their Iriz EV 2 years ago to the whole of Malaysia but it looks like, they did this as a ploy to get more money from the Government to do more research.

But the funny thing is, Tesla, the No 1 EV company in the world is giving their EV Intellectual Property, designs, know how, blueprints, research for FREE to anybody. All Proton has to do is just build one. No cost at all for research and design. According to Tesla, everything is FREE to anyone who wants to build an EV car.

Yet, still our Proton engineers cannot build a EV, Hybrid or a Plug in. Kasi free pun tapi tak boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
      • tokmoh. on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Volvo gives 20″ wheels, according to most Msians, bigger wheels is everything.

So Volvo XC90 > all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
        • Later got oipu complain big tyres are expensive

• tokmoh. on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:38 am

Give small rims, complain kedekut, ugly, rubbish.

Give big rims, complain tayar mahal.

Apa lagi Msians mau?

• neutral on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:47 pm

BMW sacrifices 2 seats for 5. Most if not, all reviews preferred the Volvo over the BMW. Both will sell equally well. Don’t be surprised when I tell you the Volvo interior feels more expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • Bimmer on Jun 22, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Volvo is not luxury brand, buy BMW got prestige summore.

BMW > all

• apamau on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:58 pm

Not necessary it will wipe Volvo, people favour for volvo hv different reason as it’s a comfortable 7 seaters.

• hp & nm on Jun 21, 2016 at 6:51 pm

logically, volvo 400hp vs bm 350nm (22% lower), volvo 650nm vs bm 350nm (30% lower)….why the bm price only 8% lower? the bm should be sold at about 296k (average 26% lower)

• Dato koay on Jun 21, 2016 at 9:07 pm

370k? Come n take deposit from me pls !

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Win some lose some. If buyer is after badge and prestige, can’t go wrong with BMW. For safety, of course Volvo wins hands down. Exterior design, I prefer XC90. But interior, I prefer the BMW. Having said that, the Audi Q7 has way better interior design and quality over the X5 and XC90 (but the exterior design of the Q7 is a major disappointment). Handling is BMW’s area of expertise, though I doubt anybody who drives a large SUV expects it to handle like an M3. Get a Jag F Pace if fun is what you are after in a large-ish SUV. Ride quality might go to the XC90, especially if the X5 comes with run flats.

• tokmoh. on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:48 am

I’ll give you that here, BMW brand does give it an edge, dayum shame the car itself is mediocre to Volvo’s in many aspects.

Have u been in both Volvo’s and BMW’s interior? I dunno how BMW’s is nicer, they feel dated but familiar BMW. Some material feels hard plastic that most likely won’t age well, as had been with older BMW. Volvo’s anytime feels it has better material, the best, most comfortable seats in the market, and that ipad centre console is a step ahead than using rotary knob.

Q7 is ultra priced, only for die hard Audi fagboys here. This BMW and Volvo completely destroys the Audi.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:48 pm

If it costs slightly less than RM400k, BMW Malaysia may get to sell a lot of these, compared to the non hybrid X5. It may be cheaper than the base Macan, which is 2 classes lower. But that Porsche is CBU. Still a lot of money though.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 4:08 pm

The X5 Hybrid will wipe out Volvo XC90, Macan and Jaguar SUV. Eventually Merc also will do plug in for their SUV and that will be X5’s only competitor.

• Leafable on Jun 21, 2016 at 9:15 pm

X5 loss in the outdated interior design and what happen to the other 2 seats on the 3rd row? Pound to pound Volvo win many many times.

• Kurita on Jun 23, 2016 at 7:48 am

Everyone on this forum says xc90 is better this better that. But on the road you see more new x5s lol

• No need to guess..
    1) my friend has already placed a deposit 360-r one in JB and the salesperson told him that the price is RM360-380
    2) Wheelcorp Setia Alam’s boss who’s an associate of mine informed me that the selling price will dip below 400k Mark, so it’s cheaper than Volvo XC90.

So it’s safe to say that the X5 is between 360-400 not including insurance and road tax.

• Annoynimouse on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:48 pm

I really do think that the Volvo looks much better, inside and out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • LittleMin on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Why brands like BMW and Volvo’s hybrids price can dropped so much but the UMW’s Toyota Camry Hybrid price is still the same? Even expensive than petrol version somemore??

Maybe govt’ didn’t give UMW incentive kot.

• XC90 only limited to 600 unit … sold 570 as of yesterday.

100 a month limit… wait 6 month???

next…

• policeman on Jun 22, 2016 at 8:04 am

For the same price, nobody I mean nobody will take the Volvo over BMW. Face the fact, BMW badge is way premium than Volvo.
    If you still in denial mode, let see how this BMW sales number compare to the Volvo.

• To those who were after the badge and the prestige thingy are simply materialistic and their only purpose is strictly to show off their ride. I dont find the BMW interesting nor appealing. The interior felt old and way back of time. Yes, I do agree the exterior somehow look 10% okay for me, but still, its a no go for me. Dont simply bash other brand just because the narrow mentality of Malaysians who by themselves describe the BMW (and Merc) alone was a prestige branding. Outside of this Bolehland, their price and quality was really almost the same. Only in Bolehland, they classified those brand, poor Malaysians. GO GO BOLEHLAND