Toyota to advance self-driving tech via AI in 5 years

2016-Toyota-Mirai-FCV-04

Driver assistance systems appear set to benefit from advances in artificial intelligence developments in the next five years, according to Toyota in a Reuters report. The integration of AI aims to improve vehicle safety by enabling vehicles to anticipate and avoid potential accidents, said CEO of Toyota Research Institute Dr Gill Pratt. To that end, TRI will spend US$1 billion (RM4 billion) over that duration.

Pratt says the first AI systems will likely be safety features developed for Lexus and Toyota models. Toyota has already set a goal to develop cars with the ability to drive themselves on highways in time for the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo – such an achievement would require vehicles to think, act and take some control from drivers to perform evasive manoeuvres.

“Some of the things that are in car safety, which is a near-term priority, I’m very confident that we will have some advances come out during the next five years,” he said.

While most current systems employ sensors to avoid obstacles directly in the vehicle’s path, TRI was looking at AI solutions to enable “the car to be evasive beyond the one lane.” Pratt added, “The intelligence of the car would figure out a plan for evasive action… Essentially [it would] be like a guardian angel, pushing on the accelerators, pushing on the steering wheel, pushing on the brake in parallel with you.”

In fact, Toyota has already showcased such technology with the Highway Teammate system, utilising a millimetre wave radar, a light detection and ranging sensor (LIDAR) and a camera to provide autonomous driving on highways. The concept version, a modified Lexus GS, was showcased on the Tokyo Shuto Expressway during the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show last year – and you can watch it in action in the video above.

However, Pratt also cautioned: “It is very important to understand that what we are doing has high risk and that some of our efforts will not be entirely successful but we expect some of them to be very successful.”

Beyond the present, Pratt believes greater advances will be seen. Fully automated vehicles will come to reality, and on that note, Pratt believes that such cars will one day be safe enough to be used by children without needing parents to drive.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• old horse on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:27 pm

thats why Proton dont realized in 10 years, they will be no game except in bolehland by stopping all other advance technology coming in…by another form of NAP..

in 10 years no hybrid, no electric, no autonomous…game over. This shows how a katak ceo cant play in the world game..

• Jimmy on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:12 pm

1. There is a brand called Volvo.
    2. Cost-optimisation is both good and bad.
    3. Are you Japanese able to handle your Fukushima-nuclear crisis? Are there untold or secretive real stories? Are you slowly intoxicating the whole world by pouring tremendous amount of nuclear water daily into Pacific Ocean? How is your attitude towards safety issues? Why were safety issues not anticipated/predicted? Did you calculate and build the minimum just to pass the assessment? Will this happen in your Toyota (it needs 80 marks to pass, and only 81 is produced, instead of 99)?

• Toyotas in MY oso go advanced self-driving. It auto drives occupants to Nirvana.

• Yokohama24 on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:45 pm

The risk that I could possibly think of is the automated car being hacked by bad people. What are the odds?
    How convenient for them to kidnap anybody in the car, plus rob the car itself as a bonus.