Is your child car seat installed properly? Is it the right seat for your child? Register for a free car seat check!

Child car seats paultan.org 008

So you’ve bought child safety seats for your children. That’s a great start! But are the seats installed properly, and are they even the right seats for your child? With so many variations of child seats available in Malaysia, each with their own unique installation method, over 90% of child car seats in Malaysia are not installed properly.

The most common mistakes include:

• Child seat installed incorrectly or too loose – very common.
  • Inappropriate car seat for the child’s age, height and weight, i.e. three-year-old in an infant carrier, or in a booster seat.
  • Child seat installed, but child not bucked in or very loosely harnessed – either because child complained it’s too tight, or child unbuckled themselves.
  • Child harnessed, but seat not installed – parents thinking as long as the child is buckled in, they’re safe.
  • Incorrect harness slot used – certain seats require harness slot changes as the child grows.
  • Using damaged or expired car seats.

As this is a very serious matter concerning your loved ones, we at paultan.org with Child Passenger Safety Malaysia (CPS Malaysia) will be having free car seat checks this weekend (June 25 and 26). Unsure if your’re using your child seat properly? Sign up below and get a thorough seat check-up, done by experts.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:18 am

I am very proud of Paul Tan and team. Good hearted and responsible team. Bravo to you Paul Tan. Thank you for these free checks. We know, last month and last year, many of the car seats, you all bought with your hard earned money and you rented them free for the rakyat.

I hope other car companies can do the same. Some car companies, namely BMW, are so irresponsible. they are charging their own brand car seat for even RM3000 and above. Come on, this is not fair to the consumer. Instead of screwing people with high prices, do like Paul Tan and give free car seats to people as part of your Corporate Social Responsibility. Besides giving, pls also do free checks like what he is doing now

A message to all car brands, don’t always think about screwing the rakyat. As we know, car prices in Malaysia are 3x the prices of global car prices. We also know, many car companies hide under the disguise of Government tax, but in actual fact, car companies in Malaysia are reaping very very high margins. The highest in the world infact for each car sold.

Since car companies are reaping so much in profit, can’t you greedy car companies throw in a free car seat for each car sold?

Or at least do what Paul Tan is doing todsy, give free inspection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Ramzi on Jun 23, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Yeah. Free car seat for each new car purchased. I like that. Instead of giving free tints, full tank petrol etc, better give this as an option

• johnny on Jun 23, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Buy the SAFEST carseat your wallet can afford and NOT the most expensive you can find. Rm3k are definitely not for those who can only afford rm300 carseat for their kids. If it’s rm3k, there should be a lot that goes into it that a rm300 doesn’t. Do some research before buying. And it doesn’t mean RM300 carseats are not safe. Don’t get me wrong please. Free lunch can only be found at home.

• Cute bear, aaguuguu :)

• orang biasa on Jun 23, 2016 at 5:24 pm

As above said so, at least give optional for choosing car seat free or additional accessories inserted of petrol or tinted. Thanks to paul tan and teammates to do this campaign. Not la current datuk datin, tak cakap nak hapus tax for car seat!?

• Bernard on Jun 23, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Free is a magic word in bolehland:)