Honda Malaysia recalls 147,894 vehicles over faulty Takata airbag inflators – eight models involved

Honda airbag

Honda Malaysia has announced another recall involving potentially faulty Takata airbag inflators. The recall involves 147,894 vehicles, and will see the front passenger airbag inflator being replaced in these vehicles. The latest round is almost identical in volume to the recall issued a year ago, though the scope of that one was on replacing the driver’s side airbag inflator in the affected cars.

A total of eight models are involved in this particular round. The affected vehicle models are Accord (2003-2011 model year), City (2009-2011 model year), Civic (2007-2011 model year), CR-V (2008-2011 model year), Freed (2009-2011 model year), Insight (2011 model year), Jazz (2009-2011 model year) and Odyssey (2004-2008 model year).

honda airbag recall 2016

As with previous exercises, all affected customers will be informed via a notification letter, which will include details of the recall. Customers who receive the notification are advised to bring the letter and their vehicles to the nearest authorised Honda dealer for inspection. The replacement works will be carried out once the parts are ready, and all costs of parts and labour will be borne by Honda Malaysia.

Honda Malaysia urges owners of vehicles affected by the airbag inflator product update to get their vehicles checked and parts replaced at any authorised Honda dealers as soon as possible upon receipt of the notification letters. The company adds that all of its current selling models are not affected by the recall.

You can check your Honda’s update status by calling 1-800-88-2020 or by visiting any authorised Honda dealer. You can also use the company’s online VIN checker to see if your vehicle is affected.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I’m so proud to receive letter from Honda 2 weeks ago..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • John john on Jun 23, 2016 at 12:18 pm

balik todo la

• Same L00 on Jun 23, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Responsible car manufacturers recall no matter how many are affected, while junk car maker con ppl with outdated rebadged car on ridiculous price and fake double exhaust pipes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Sowut on Jun 23, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Toyota also rebadges mazda. Mazda also uses outdated ford chassis, so?

• After airbag issue , honda will recall for civic turbo overheating issue , poor honda owner driving car without safety , wait and see , proud driving vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 23, 2016 at 2:27 pm

From Honda or from Proton…? I thought you die-hard Proton supporter…

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Hahah…so proud.

We had Honda dilly dally for MONTHS in getting the airbags replaced. Finally got it replaced recently.

So why were the dealerships taking their own sweet time in getting such a crucial item replaced even after an owner has brought his car in months ago (it was under the first recall group)

Only after the most recent incident where 2 owners lost their life that finally got Honda a bit panicky.

• Tens if not hundreds of thousands every round. Every few months, another around. Honda might as well recall every single one of their cars in Malaysia with an airbag.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:28 am

I hope the new Perdana also won’t get a recall in few years time because it is a Honda too. For now, only 2011 Accords affected.

Pity the Perdana. This weekend I went to Honda showroom in Glenmarie. Despite all the recalls, there were about 100 people looking at the new Civic.

Then I walked down to the Proton showroom to see the new Perdana. ZERO customers. Not even a single customer in the showroom. 3 staff were sitting there and look half dead whilst I look at the Perdana.

How to sell 100k this year?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
    • Yes yes. We know u got so much free time to spy at P1 showroom cuz ur toyota showroom nobody wanna come. Balik tidur lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
    • They dont mine…any sales from honda or P1 will be welcome by drb hicom, they are behind both brand here in msia…

• Albert on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Kunci Kunta
      Recall for airbag inflators containing ammonium nitrate is NEVER A PROBLEM.TAKATA is paying for it.
      Protong’s problem is: the cvt gearbox and campon engine which needs RECALL.!!!!
      I SAW with my own eyes a mechanic in town overhauling a campro engine 2010 Saga model.
      The mechanic said the owner just could not start the car.the car got towed and an OVERHAUL IS needed.
      Confirming my and your suspicion,the Pondana is DESTINED FOR gomen dept heads,spanco,contra deal with vendors(cannot pay hutang in cash,pay by forcing vendors to take P1 cars),UBER,.etc.
      Even Bank Rakyat…pak wu ying(no business)cos the Proton fanboys have been xxxrated(too much loans already).The loan approvals at only 10 percent,how to deliver cars to Proton fanboys?
      Proton can roughly sell 60000 cars in 2016.Time to bungkus.Everlasting Perlindungan is CURSED.It cant work now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Why u reply to ur own dupe? Takde keje kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Topkek on Jun 23, 2016 at 8:03 pm

Wah now bashers try to label proton as VW pulak. What la, 1.5l vios engine lost to 1.6l vvt campro in term of FC.

Topkek

• Honda city owner on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:28 am

How about recon and second hand honda car that is still in the reseller company?Are the new buyer will know about second hand car status?

• No problem as long honda name , all ok , all honda owner drive no safefy car

• Old mistakes. Now improved hopefully.

• transformer on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:35 am

what about those cars in secondhand stocks dealer yards???? will these dealer send to replace? will Honda replace them for free??

Malaysian consumer still waiting for Secondhand Dealer Association of Malaysia to make announcement on their stand on Manufacturer Recall Exercise. Or MOT/MIROS/AAM will have their views in this??

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 23, 2016 at 12:04 pm

The memo was sent to owners who registered. But for those who buy used Honda, Honda Malaysia will change the airbags, as they originally sold the car. Problem is cars not originally sold by Honda Malaysia (HM). Example may include British made Civics (provided they are affected by the recall) that was not imported through Honda Malaysia. Not sure if HM has the necessary parts to replace the airbags with, since they didn’t sell the car. For these cars, best is to disconnect the airbags. Weird, but its actually safer that way.

• LittleMin on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:44 am

Why only Honda Malaysia is doing recall for their Hondas whilst UMW never practice any recall one?

Toyota is using Takata also isn’t it?
    Or UMW’s Toyota special one the parts are not faulty one??
    Must be it i guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Cuz bashers says jangan persoal their jepunis overlords or they will potong ur kepla to up their tali-barutness.
      So u better dun persoal their foreign overlords.

• Autoliv hirotako supplies most of the airbags and seatbelts for CKD Toyotas.

• Loler on Jun 23, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Suddenly jepunis overlord dun dare to mention takata word.

Takata! Takata! Takata!

Loloolololololololololololplllololololololololololllololol

Malu betul

• Michael on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:53 am

I received letter and sms from HONDA regarding the change. However I have already sold the car 2 years ago, right now the car could either be with a new owner or still with the second-hand car dealer. Either way, the fact is they will never get the notice! So there is a loophole, somehow HONDA have to find a way to reach them or there maybe more lives in danger

• Don’t call it a loophole if nobody bothered to notify Honda about the ownership change

• IamPeterGriffin on Jun 23, 2016 at 12:45 pm

My friend bought a recon BMW from a dealer. About a year later, he had a problem with his immobilizer, which won’t allow the ignition to start. BMW won’t entertain anyone except for the original owner to reset the code to the immobilizer (the original owner is a Japanese, it is a hassle to track the owner). So the only way was to order a brand new immobilizer from BMW Germany which costs more than RM10+k. The horror of buying grey market luxury car.

• Elchino on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Mofaz changed both d left & right inflators for my CRV FOC but found my airbag module was out of order as d airbag light will b lighted. Had d module changed & it cost me $3,200!!!!

• Normal citizen on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Good move by honda my compliments but just wanna comment on the drop of the level of service provided recently. I have made service appointment 3 weeks ago to have the airbags inflaters change but when I was at the service center they informed it’s all out of stocks have to wait honda will call me once it’s available to change. Ok fine I waited 2 weeks but one calls end up I have to call to make appointment again. And the next service appointment is after raya. Iam perfectly fine with that looking at the number of cars they have to service per day due to this recall. Keep up the good work honda. Power of dreams :-)

• swoosh3553 on Jun 23, 2016 at 3:12 pm

HM should not let the customers wait like this. This is a matter of life and death and airbags are active restraint systems (ARS) as compared to ABS/EBD/ESC which are PRS (passive restraint systems). Accidents may occur anytime and never know when an airbag will be activated. Friend, it is advisable to ALWAYS buckle up, drive safely and carefully and ALERT at all time. Festive season is around the corner and our driving habits always gets influenced during these peak times! Drive safe and be happy.

• attan on Jun 23, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Bercukurlah !! Dapat 1.5 bil baru DRB dapat rolling modal buat recall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Dun be an idiot. Its takata calling for recall. And it cost waaayyyyy more than 1.5 Billion RM. Possibly can bankrupt the kompeni

• To summarise; NEVER BUY RECON CARS!!!

Cronies make 30 to 40K per car with piece of paper only.

• I would recommend NOT TO BUY Honda car, main reason is after sales service is terrible:
    (a) Honda faulty airbag handling is terrible, although send in the urgent letter, but when customer call in to make appointment, either queue is too long, no stock or being turns away. So, what is the urgency if your workshop just not enough to fix the problem. Honda also did nothing in their effort to help, not extending workshop hours, capacity nor engage other third party workshops.
    (b) Even your car is not affected by airbag, but their workshop is very crowded (they recently close few more workshop), so even you make an appointment to service the car, you have to wait whole day, sometimes being turns away.
    (c) Honda workshop staff some is rather not polite nor helpful. May be they know that customer got no choice, but have to visit their workshop, as next one is very far away?

I been to at least 3 workshops, i really not happy with the service i got. Also, i would like to urge consumer, please visit Honda facebook or online google before buying, you will hear what is going on after you buy.