Police deny reports of mass attack on Uber car at KL Sentral, warns cabbies not to cross the line

Malaysia-Taxi-02

Police have denied reports of a mass attack on an Uber car at KL Sentral, where over 50 angry cabbies pulled out a tourist before damaging the Uber car.

Commenting on a police report lodged by the 43-year old Iranian woman who suffered slight injuries to her hand, KL police CID chief SAC Rusdi Mohd Isa told The Sun that the foreigner was a student from Skudai and not a tourist, and the attacking group was not as big as reported.

“We have not received any report from the Uber driver. The victim sustained injuries to her hand when she was pulled out. Only one or two cab drivers were involved and it is not true that over 50 cabbies had attacked the woman and the Uber driver. If it was that many, police would have known and rushed over to check on the commotion,” he said.

Rusdi warned taxi drivers to not take the law into their own hands and to not cross the line, or face action from the police. “If passengers choose to use e-hailing app services, then it is their choice. I believe the government is studying the issue before making a decision,” he told the free daily.

“Until then, disgruntled taxi drivers should simply wait for the decision or take their grouses to the relevant authorities and not turn to violence. We will have no choice but to take action against them if they vent their frustrations by resorting to violence as it concerns public safety,” he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Malaysia where got law one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:22 am

The gangster cabbies dare to do this because the PDRM, Ministers are busy doing their own private projects and got no time to protect the rakyat. So, the cabbies know they can do anything.

PDRM is busy doing business. Families of hostage give them RM12 million, but the kidnappers receive RM8.8 million.

So cabbies also busy la harassing Uber and Grab and behaving like thugs.

Hello PDRM, pls stop doing your private business and come and protect us the society.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 7
      • As i said, Uber and Grab are haram, only PERS1M is halal. If France can ban Uber, why can’t we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
        • Same L00 on Jun 23, 2016 at 6:58 pm

If you have enough taxi drivers, you think the police dare to touch you? Don’t waste your hope on them. Malaysia is the land of samseng gia.

• @John

France, Korea are the two countries on top of my head that has banned uber. So we should follow suit?

Why should we not follow the majority? Singapore, US, UK, Japan, Indonesia

• singapoop on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:32 pm

where got attack? Its just 50 cabbies gv warm welcoming to tourist in kl.

no corruption, its just donation.

no ransom, just contribution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Send them to jail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:39 am

I’ve learnt to take the Police word with a grain of salt.

What action would be taken against these perpetrators now? What happened to the past incidents? NFA? What happens to the few cabbies being hauled up when they disrupted traffic at Bukit Bintang? Did you throw the book at them or let them go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Professor X on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:41 am

43 years old Iranian a student? Something fishy there. They used a syndicate to stay in this country as student. Police should investigate the iranian as well. But here Malaysia bole anyone from abroad can be a student and live here forever as a “student”. Corrupted 1malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 31
    • A 43 year old student could be studying for their 3rd masters or a doctorate. Don’t be so stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
      • It is 50 CRAZY cabbies NOT 50 angry cabbies .

• Professor x on Jun 23, 2016 at 12:10 pm

you are the one stupid. open your eyes theres so many of them in klang valley and most of them are students but they didnt even go to class to study. maybe youre in the syndicates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:02 am

OMG why are you so stupid prof x…postgrad students are normally matured people…in their 30s 40s or even 50s doing their masters and phd…aiyoo we do have prople like you in this country…what an embarrasment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Nates on Jun 23, 2016 at 12:00 pm

When your nickname is Professor but when u talk, only rubbish came out of your mouth.

• AutoFrenz open your eyes if you have one. most of these so called student doing all sorts of scams in the country. is there a college or uni offered scam degree, mba, or phd in malaysia? wow

• kimochidesuneh on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:54 am

thats why so many foreigner still thinking that Malaysian are living inside jungle and cave. bunch of uncivilised barbarian who waiting the money to fall from the sky

• REALLY making a good case against taxi, counterproductive in every sense of the word. Consider me an Uber/Grab user now and forever. Got a problem taxi drivers, come at me. I swing back.

• Yokohama24 on Jun 23, 2016 at 10:18 am

“”Only one or two cab drivers were involved and it is not true that over 50 cabbies had attacked the woman and the Uber driver.
    If it was that many, police would have known and rushed over to check on the commotion,” he said.””

Means, one or two drivers attacking a woman DON’t NEED TO RUSH? Leave it there and let it be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • taxigrab on Jun 23, 2016 at 10:33 am

We’ve been waiting for so long.. queueing patiently .. and suddenly this car come and pick up the passenger.. come on….please help us..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
    • LittleMin on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:37 am

Woah so now you assume the passenger supposed to be your customer?

So if i own a kedai runcit first and another fella open another kedai runcit at the same street later and there’s one customer choose that fella’s kedai runcit cz it is nearer to him then i should feel panas hati and burn that fella’s kedai laa bcoz i open the shop for so long time earlier and open for business patiently?

Nice logic bro, continue the blaming game please.

Bodoh peh kambing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Its customer’s choice to choose. Be smart and use mytaxi/grab apps

• Yes, you have been queueing patiently but the problem here is are you all using meter? Most of the time you all are not using meter. You guy prefer own price fixing. When customer say meter you all just drive away…Now is the time all taxi driver serve their Karma. Is up to customer who they want, either Uber, Grabcar or Taxi. Remember dont take law on your hand. One fine day when you guy start bullying Uber and Grabcar driver, you will face harsh consequences either from police nor SPAD or from the people

• Gonggok on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:00 am

can symphatize with taxi drivers ah chong, mutusamy and ahmad…. yesterday passed by the taxi queue at kl sentral, must be more than 50 taxis quieing…probably more than 1 hour

if uber driver rilek only come pick ppl up no queue…sure the hati very the panas wannn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
    • uberxxxdriver on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:17 am

is customer choice. we are not coming if no one call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • LittleMin on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:39 am

I ever tried hail a taxi using MyTeksi before and the taxi rilek jer come pick me up and no queue, so that taxi should be attacked also la?

Time is changing bro, i open kedai runcit i also never blame supermarket giants for snatching my business eh. Tis is called competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • transformer on Jun 23, 2016 at 11:27 am

For many years, decades, these thugs blatantly overcharge consumers and tourist.

For years, decades, Malaysian, tourist waiting for BN Gov SPAD(ex LPKP) to revamp, to improve Taxi industry but in the end, it’s like national cow condominium’s.

I guess consumer can only pin their hopes on Uber & Grab for reliable and safe ride. Just anything other than from SPAD or Taxi Ass. it’s a good alternative.

• Yes, lets just belip the internetz cuz the internetz cannot lie. Wait… whats this email from a Nigerian prince?

• Normal taxi tak boleh cari makan the old way by slaughtering customer anymore… hahaha. Now consumer can choose UBER with decent “taxi” fare.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:40 pm

What we can conclude here is that if ever there was something more useless than police, its making a police report!

• The stiq on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Stop making press releases one after another trying to subdue the issue.
    Make arrest now to the violent culprits and let them face the swift justice of the law.
    Actions speak louder than words.

• Yokohama24 on Jun 23, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Uncivilized, very uncivilized. The taxi business is already going down the slope and yet you uncivilized taxi drivers still want make things worse by attacking innocent people. I pity the fellow CIVILIZED taxi drivers out there who have to suffer the same perception from the public.

• Yokohama24 on Jun 23, 2016 at 2:08 pm

I wonder if SPAD does checks randomly on taxi drivers. If no, they really should and experience what the touristssss and Rakyat are facing, and to better understand why Uber/Grabcar is a much better option.

SPAD personnel should go undercover and ride a taxi like a normal passenger or tourist randomly to evaluate the entire taxi riding experience.
    Evaluate their personal behaviour towards customers, road driving behaviour, cleanliness of the taxi and most importantly the PAYMENT PROCESS!!!. Only then they are able to take action against the driver or the company.

Want to revive the taxi industry? Then SPAD have to first eliminate the uncivilized taxi drivers first. If not our country can kiss our taxi industry GOODBYE! :)

• Ben Yap on Jun 23, 2016 at 2:43 pm

these taxi drivers are cowards. they only dare to attack in a group. one on one they scared.

• What????!!!!!
    So if she is not a tourist, that was okay; so it was not 50 cabbies as reported, that was okay too? no reasons to be alarmed???
    What the hell and what is actually happening in Malaysia, OMG

• I do sympathise with the taxi drivers somewhat. But the state they are in is more of their own doing. Yes, the cost of paying for the car/license is high and the meter fare is too low in comparison.

So instead of all the taxi’s finally finding their voice and rallying against Uber/Grab. Shouldn’t you all have protested the state of your industry first? Decrease tax permit cost/increase the default meter rates etc.

Imagine if they had a strike to increase their welfare prior to uber showing up.