GALLERY: Leopaard CS10 SUV coming to Malaysia early-2017, target price under RM120k – we drive it!

Leopaard_CS10_Ext_04

Spyshots of the Leopaard CS10 were sent to us last month; now, we’re having a first proper look at the real thing, as well as a short test drive. The company bringing in the Chinese C-segment SUV, Joylong Auto Sdn Bhd – the official assembler and distributor of Joylong commercial vehicles – is conducting durability testing on the car before introducing it here sometime within the first quarter of next year.

Don’t be put off by this car’s left-hand drive configuration – it’s a test mule taken straight off the assembly line in China. The car destined for the Malaysian market will be right-hand drive, locally-assembled (CKD) in Gurun, Kedah. In fact, the company plans to make Malaysia the RHD production hub for the car, exporting the CS10 to other right-hook markets – it’s even footing the bill for the conversion.

Launched at the Shanghai Motor Show last year, the Changfeng sub-brand’s SUV possesses handsome, if unadventurous and derivative styling, with headlights that look to have been nicked from the Volkswagen Touareg and a rear end from a Porsche Macan. Still, in the metal, it at least has a presence of its own, and doesn’t look like a straight copy-paste exercise as with many Chinese cars (I’m looking at you, Landwind X7).

Measuring 4,663 mm long, 1,875 mm wide and 1,700 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,700 mm, the CS10 is smack in the middle of the C-segment SUV class dominated by the Honda CR-V, Mazda CX-5 and Nissan X-Trail, although it is quite a bit wider than those cars.

Leopaard_CS10_Ext_25

Inside, there’s a dashboard and switchgear that’s reminiscent of a facelifted W204 Mercedes C-Class, a four-spoke multifunction steering wheel with a Range Rover-esque “Leopaard” badge, an Android-based navigation system with eight-inch touchscreen, six speakers and five seats.

Surprisingly for this Chinese entry, there are soft-touch plastics on the dashboard and door tops, replete with faux stitching – and despite the fact that this car has encountered over 10,000 km of hard testing, the cabin shows little signs of wear or rattles. The driving position takes a little getting used to, however – despite the steering wheel being adjustable for reach and rake, it still sits a touch too low.

Under the bonnet sits a turbocharged Mitsubishi-derived 2.0 litre 4G63T four-cylinder petrol engine, producing 174 hp at 5,250 rpm and 250 Nm of torque between 2,400 and 4,800 rpm – Changfeng is so proud of the Japanese connection that the engine cover says “Mitsubishi Power” and even sports the three-diamond logo. Power is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed dual wet clutch transmission.

Leopaard_CS10_Int_26

Setting off, the mule exhibited noticeable sluggishness at low revs – a problem the company attributed to a malfunctioning stability control system, which was being stress-tested at the time, and which won’t be replicated in customer vehicles. Once above 2,000 rpm or so, power came in freely and smoothly – and with that much power and torque, the engine made light work of pulling the CS10’s 1,661 kg kerb weight.

Our route to the photo spot featured little in the way of corners, so we did not get a chance to test out the car’s dynamic capabilities to the full. What we did notice was that the car had decent directional stability at speed and a steering with a nice weight to it – although the latter was devoid of feel.

These do not seem like much, but you’d be amazed how many other Chinese cars get the basics wrong. One small niggle – the suspension felt fairly compliant, but felt brittle and lacked the final polish in damping of its more accomplished rivals. Still, not a bad effort.

Leopaard_CS10_Ext_35

So, how soon can we expect this? Well, the company intends to begin work on right-hand drive conversion and production as soon as it has accumulated 30,000 km of testing and ironed out any problems that have arisen from it. That process is said to take around nine months – that would put the completion in March, but the company hopes that it could complete the process faster and launch the car at the beginning of 2017.

As for pricing, the company is gunning for the CS10 to retail at under RM120k, or even RM110k. That’s still quite a bit for a Chinese car, but the company promises that it will be offered pretty much as specced here.

This car, by the way, is the highest-spec variant offered in China, coming with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lights, 18-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry and start, power-adjustable leather seats, six airbags and stability control. The company could omit certain items like the sunroof to get pricing to the desired level.

So, what do you think of the Chinese big cat?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Leopaard? Is this a typo or its a legit name?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Donkey John on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Lightyears better than any Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 61
      • Not, unless it has a Panzerkampfwagen in front of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 25, 2016 at 2:31 pm

China products are low quality. It is like junk. Better we buy Barang Buatan Malaysia like Proton. Boleh guna tanpa was was.

Proton is my choice. It is cheap and it is the best quality. Thank you BN for giving us Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 81
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 128
      • Simon Tan on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:44 am

You just woke up from your slumber, eh? Proton?! Politicised, under-performing rubbish that still needs government handouts after donkey years. Propaganda works great for minions like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 29
      • adoi_adoi on Jun 25, 2016 at 10:40 am

look at that interior. better buy this than the outdated chowtut looking perdana. no joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 18
        • Banter on Jun 25, 2016 at 11:34 am

The engine is turbocharged but not powerful enough. CRDi anytime. Next!!!

• John is otak batu on Jun 25, 2016 at 10:42 am

Does this mean u r not rich? U drive iswara automatic am I right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
        • Henry on Jun 25, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Twenty years old and bought third hand. (Sigh!) If only he spend more time working than posting crap here he might be able to afford a new Saga. It is still a Proton.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Proton is a successful company, only if you give it a chance! I believe in Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
        • seriously on Jun 25, 2016 at 10:18 pm

seriously, how many chances do they need ? The chance offered is channeled by Malaysian’s tax payers money. Chance comes with a price and we are not afford to do so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
          • maggie on Jun 26, 2016 at 8:10 pm

Jepunis overlord rules bolehland coz their pipu gip full support unlike bashers

• hermit on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:59 am

I like the sarcasm =D

• cynical on Jun 25, 2016 at 10:31 am

Asalkan bukan proton. ALL > proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 25, 2016 at 2:49 pm

China cars are trash. Proton cars are far superior and advanced than china junks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
        • PROTON SUPPORTER on Jun 26, 2016 at 8:46 am

Yes i support you!
          Proton is the best!
          No matter how much proton f*ck up up or betray me.. i will support potong..

Because we the malaysia people deserve proton..

ok tak.. boss jib?

• Henry on Jun 26, 2016 at 12:21 pm

If only you can climb out of the hole you will know that today China’s learning curve is a steep climb. At any one time they have three hundred thousand students in top universities around the world acquiring knowledge and technology. They have gone to space. And this is rocket science but making a car is not. They have succeeded in making a car cheap. Take away the excise duty the real world price of this car is only 70k. Their next step is to make the same car good. It is time for you to wake up. You have been sleeping too long.

• By allowing illegal copy pasting, abusing patent and intellectual property.

• Chris on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:36 pm

No thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Better than new Panamera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 37
  • Amarjie on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Front end & overall silhouette reminded me of a less boxy LR Evoque and the back end reminded me of Porsche Macan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Is this Evo donor engine comes with MIVEC or without? They shud just change the engine cover to EVO POWER. More keng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • England out of EA already on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Powerful England Jonathan, you title for this article should be
    ” GALLERY: Leopaard CS10 SUV coming to Malaysia early-2017, target price under RM120k – we drove it! ” and not we drive it :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 29
    • 'England out of EU' not EA on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:32 pm

It is a review article. The phrase ‘We drive it’ in the article suggests that the writer is going to drive it at some point of the article. The article is written from the start till the end of the review rather than after the review. This is of course not true but it allows its readers to experience it themselves. Think of it as a movie rather than an article.

Btw…EA is a game producer/creator.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Bodoh betul. This is not English school lah. Any English is fine here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Ruslan Bahari on Jun 25, 2016 at 6:25 am

And then there was the boy who thought he had English aced, but doesn’t even now the various types of tenses available to a writer. Sigh. And please prof-read your comments before hitting “submit”. You can Google “proof-read” if it escapes you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Henry on Jun 25, 2016 at 6:44 pm

Maybe next time he should stick to reading the car review instead of trying to be an English teacher. Advertising one’s stupidity on the internet is not cool.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 25, 2016 at 5:54 pm

England out of “EA”→ trying to be smart and fail huh? :p

• Sick burn, dude!

• Go back to your kindergarten before you try to correct someone’s English. In news reporting, no one uses past tense as headlines. Stupid

• Hoping it won’t be another cherry. Or great wall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Woot Woot on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Rip off

• donno on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:47 pm

To be assembled at the great Wall assembly plant?

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:47 pm

China car is China car. It won’t sell in Malaysia. The Chinese commentators here will be very defensive but let’s face it, China cars in Malaysia has failed miserably.

Drive around KL, you hardly see a China car on the road. That is the reality of it. Even Cherry failed miserably in Malaysia. Mind you China cars have been sold now over 10 years.

The same with India cars too. All the Mahindra Scorpio failed big time in Malaysia

Let us face facts. We in Malaysia only like Japanese or German cars and Proton and Perodua. Only from 3 countries. The few who bought French cars, I am sorry to say, are regretting their decisions. Then there is Volvo. Also a near dead brand despite the new XC90.

Malaysians are too brand conscious and they will always go for the brands their own dad bought OR a brand that is highly recognized in Malaysia for a long time.

Car is car. It is not like buying a RM500 China handphone. You don’t like the China handphone, you just bin it. Car, it is a big investment, we cannot just bin it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 221 Thumb down 31
    • Dongfengg on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:56 pm

But this SUV can smoke your godcar vios anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 28
    • Sonyman1 on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Well. Not today. But in the near future when you see them more often. You might be buying one. Cause proton by then no longer around. Many ppl took a chance at the m4 plenty has seen the h2 soon there be more on the road. Give it another 5 years or so. They be on your roads regardless of what you say today. By then our currency probably so weak. We can only buy China cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
    • blitzkrieg on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:54 pm

That is blatantly racist. What makes you think that Chinese have the mentality of people in China? It’s not like if you bash China and the Malaysian-Chinese would jump on you. Dude come on, Chinese have been around for centuries and we are not pendatang. We’re Malaysian just like you. The fact that most of us have been through the same education system – the public school shows that we don’t get butthurt over statements like this. If china were to invade Malaysian in the event of South China Sea dispute and all capable Malaysians are obligated to fight China, we would fight for our country Malaysia not China alongside all other malaysians.

You need to expose yourself to more friends of different ethnicities and nationalities. If you don’t, travel abroad. It would make you more conscious on your nationality, rather than your ethnicity. You need to “git gud” and get schooled son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 35
      • drillero on Jun 25, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Respect & cheerish your stand, but, wish you represents majority not minority.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jun 25, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Dude, Kunta Kinte said ‘Chinese’, he/she never once mentioned ‘Malaysian-Chinese’ in it. Chinese are from China, Malaysian-Chinese is from Malaysia. Genetically the same Ethnically different. It’s like saying Malays and ‘Indonesians-Malays’ are the same, we clearly know they are not. So don’t assume when someone says Chinese, it means Malaysian Chinese. Especially when we are discussing about Chinese made car with questionable reliability.

I agree what we’re all Malaysians, but the problem here is that you’re being way too sensitive to the word ‘Chinese’, and if you need me to remind you where our roots comes from.. Kami anak Malaysia, bukan China. Perhaps we should just rename our Ethnicity to clearly distinguish ourselves from Chinese? How about Malanese, Chisian, Caiasian…? This way we can easily negotiate with the gov to have us as Bumiputera, since they could then get over the paperwork issue, because as of now Chinese is shared with the Chinese, confusing isn’t it (it’s actually grammatically correct)? If lets say we choose the word Malanese to represent fair skined Malaysians then the phrase would be ‘because as of now Malanese ethnicity is NOT shared with the Chinese’. That way in the constitution they can then write Malanese (Faired skinned Malaysian) is within the Bumiputera category, and not Chinese (China).

You can argue that it’s wrong (or say I’m a 叛徒), but then again what do you call yourself when people ask about your heritage? I’ll usually respond with Half-Hokkien and Half-Cantonese… I’ve never once responded I’m Chinese heritage, and I’m pretty sure you’ve never said that to a Malaysia-Chinese/Chinese too. When I’m abroad I just say I’m Malaysian, the ‘Chinese’ parts never gets mentioned. It’s all about perspectives, so perhaps you should take your own advise to “git gud” and get schooled son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Fuyoo on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Fuyoo, 60 likes for your comment. Poor Kunta Kinte, his favorite pastime is making comments consisting of walls of text and spending the next hour liking his own comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
      • Dun need to bother about him. He got all the time to waste cuz his toyota showroom no customer come in, only ghosts. Becoz toyota is only gud for afterlife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • You are right kunta, a car is not a smartphone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Old horse on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:10 am

That is because those dealer too smart in pricing their car to death (how nap affect? Dunno) price this car at 80k and sure can sell….consumer is brand aware and that’s due to product quality, so in order to success, start with aggressive price to get some market share and build reputation if any. Too much dealer are one and done mentality and care less about services. AP King is classic example even Kia lately voted as one of the most reliable car but how the business is conducted in bolehland is due to dealer conned man business style..

• AP king? KIA obviously not using those AP from AP king.. Those AP king is for Gray importer or non official import

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 26, 2016 at 11:02 pm

So far bought 4 French cars, no regrets. Will see how my German will do now…

• Risty on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Please say it for yourself only not me

Please do not generalise decision for each and every malaysian , period.

Not many people like a japanese car unless it is really cheap. Toyota is not premium brand and ugly in design. VW german car sucks , Audi is lady like car , proton had issued with quality , Perodua unsafe due to weak structural safety cage. Bmw always has unresolved electronic and reliability problems and so..
      So am I to like this Proton, perodua, VW and toyota cars into buying????

Not all German or japanese or Proton or Perodua generate much interest to all malaysia. look at Subaru selling well in USA but cannot sell in malaysia. Look at Korean Cars like Kia and Hyundai had good review over Nissan cars in UK . recently , JD powell recently reveal Kia had better or less problem than Porsche.

Please do not generalised things. Volvo was having hard times under FORD. FORD DID not provide the funds to Volvo for research & development. FORD boast and Milk Volvo till the very end and still going on when Volvo was sold to Geely in 2010. Ford put Ford parts into Volvo car and could not justify the asking price by Volvo.

For your info other than Ford Ranger, FORD make a lot of Junk new cars including Ford Focus recently. so ugly is the new FORD Focus Grill and the Ugly Ford KUGA grill too. Selling with 1.5 Litre Eco Boost engine which is apparently very noisy and with reliability issues.

Japanese car like toyota , Honda , Mitsubishi all had cover up problems issues previously not notice by malaysian Buyers.

Takata air bags on honda kills few malaysian , unintended acceleration on Toyota cars in USA kills too. Mitsubishi had cheated on Fuel Mileage . VW diesel gate emission so is Audi .

So how can you says all Malaysian like german or japanese or proton or perodua cars. Swedish car like volvo had less problems strong and very safe , Peugeot was previously designed to last 10 years only but not now and peugeot made very comfortable car( seat and suspension).

Volvo now under GEELY will indefinately outsell Audi and BMW in the coming future as the new cars are like years and futuristic and way better than these German makes . Sorry to says Audi marque in malaysia may be dead in the future.

Go check out on mudah and carlist web site, Honda , toyota, lexus , mercedes second hand price are dropping like hell. so all cars got no second hand value now. if the second hand is high might as well the new car buyer get a new car instead of a high price second hand cars. Furthermore new cars come WITH FEW YEARS WARRANTY, NEW CAR SMELL , new design if the difference in price is only 20% less compare to a second hand cars. All recond cars are way over prices and not warranted by authorised dealers other than from AP holder companies.

So to say this is the mentally of a third world country like Malaysia talking about liking for certain type of cars with a third world mentality like you.

Korean cars , swedish cars , french cars are good !!!
      many people are buying except yourself. period…

Period >>>>>>>> period…….

• albag on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:48 pm

surprisingly.. the gear design is much better looking than our Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • When u clone, everything will look better. Just see the ‘LVs’, ‘Guccis’, ‘Pradas’ in Petaling Street compared to ori Bonia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Mercfan on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:53 pm

My new merc round aircond vents are worse than contemporary iriz design

• Dingle on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Its not better in anyway and it will fall apart in 1 year when the Chinese made screws start rusting.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Well yeah I guess any brand has to undergo durability tests here in Bolehland since our pothole ridden roads can easily tear any vehicle apart. Oh let’s not forget our awesome floods and some abuse from Mat Rempits that any vehicle has to go through before being allowed on sale here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:57 pm

It will all depends on the attitude of the assembler here on how well they will service the car & attend to buyers’ expectations.

• gaviny on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Legendary VR4 engine

• Gong Gong Ka on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:15 pm

RM100k + for China car??

Sorry….I better buy a 2nd hand Japanese or Conti.
    When china car, surely just throw-away. No need repair. Waste time, waste money and probably no spares anyway. Just like their products flooding chow kit and Jalan Pasar….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • Henry on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Can give it a try. Belum cuba, belum tahu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Diesel-Power!!! on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Pay 110k for a mitsu-powered wannabe rather than the Ori Mitsu…? A No for me..

• drMpower on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Bring it in. Looks okay. But it has got to be sub 100k, to atleast try to make people part with their hard earner money. 30k kilometre milage is chicken feed compared to mercedes’s hundreds of thousands of kilometres testing. And please MITI, for the sake of najib, let they price it at 60k.

• Dont worry. They will give discounts of 40k to lower the price to 80k

• Suzuka Mayojita on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Thinking of cancel new civic booking and wait for this wild cat from great china Kingdom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Sonyman1 on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Saw this unit on the road 3 weeks ago. Making a u turn at the subang Airport. Looks not bad. But it has a Co fused identity. Looks like a macan. But front is a land rover. Side was like a small car. I feel design wise not bad but to make you stand out you can always design better. Probably that’s how you start a cheap Chinese company. Copy paste and crop.

• blitzkrieg on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:48 pm

The side section is reminiscent to that of X3, Volkswagen Touareg headlamps, and signature Land Rover grill. The rear is even more hideous, Macan’s profile accentuated by the high placement of the rear glass panel just like the sportage. Interior, it’s even worse, Mercedes-Benz C/S Class (previous gen) with a LR rip off speedometer? thanks, but no thanks.

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Own platform and powered by a Mitsubishi.
    Everything Proton could have been, instead they wanna build their own engines.

• Therealmaserati on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:02 pm

China car quality not there. Same as Korean cars. The driving quality and engine still sucks big time.

Its easy to make a nice shell, but its difficult to make a good engine with great driving dynamics.

Japs or German are still the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • nosushi on Jun 26, 2016 at 5:16 am

Japs driving dynamics is a joke, even p1 lotus/proton handling much better

• Kimchi on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:43 am

Your VW are the best. Your wife left you for Toyota Hailat.

• Pilipala on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Whatevr you say about.china. it
    Looks better.than any proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Rather add rm20k to buy a CKD Subaru Forester

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Fedup with failure on Jun 24, 2016 at 9:35 pm

Rather buy this than new Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Dafuq is Mitsuashi Power??

• Its to prevent them from being sued by real Mitsu. So if lawyer letter come, they can say its actually “Mitsuaishi Power” not “Mitsubishi Power”

• Scooster on Jun 26, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Just like those shoes named ‘Abibas’ he he he

• mitsubishi?i think its read as”mitsuAishi power” on the engine cover.

• I like the Leopard 2A7 more. But it’s a little more expensive…
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leopard_2#Leopard_2A7.2B

• CS10? I prefer Type 10 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Type_10). Since its jepunis, it got RV according to Samy

• You may be right with RV. But the 2A7 ist more powerful than the Type 10 (1,479hp@2,600 vs. 1200hp@2,300rpm)… ;)

• If the jepunis need more powah, just only need to add TRD stickers & badges, change to sports rims, add GT wing, and subwoofer with fengtau music.
          Sure beat them continentals & US & some say Russia too.

• The Leopard CS10 should be renamed Leopard Diversity as it has its styling copied from every other car manufacturer. Better still rename it Leopard 1Malaysia

• twogarang on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:10 pm

This car more great if got 4wd variant. Most of car maker its from china dude that is fact!

• intermilan on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Nice effort. Design wise easily the prettiest / most handsome SUV in RM110-120k price bracket.

But the overall quality must be at par with competitors to have a decent chance in Malaysia if not sorry la..

• It’s about time China stops the copycatting business and come up with unique ori products. I think they are talented enough and we all know they got the money to hire the best people. They can do better than creating clones or mongrels of the iconic brands. Go the KIA/Hyundai way – they were in the wilderness for a long time but now are beginning to make bold strides into the established Europeans’ and Americans’ home turfs.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 25, 2016 at 2:14 am

Great review. Actually, the Leopaard CS10 is quite… err… wait wait, before I continue, I want to address the elephant (or rather, the cat !) in the room… I hope the China HQ realises this cat-astrophic typo and fixes it… Leopard sounds ganas a bit… Leopaard doesn’t.

Ok, back to my point earlier.. err… yes, apparently, the CS10 is among the Top 100 best selling cars in China. Sales from Jan to May are around 31,000 units… which pales in comparison to the Haval H6 (203,000, no.3 best-selling car in China), but still not bad. At least, it looks quite modern and up to date, has a proven Mitsubishi engine, and I believe the safety specs are quite decent too.

Unfortunately, the biggest problem with this car is the price… sorry, but even the most die-hard hipster will struggle to choose this over some other Japanese or Korean SUV… it’s just too expensive (for a China badged car). The Haval M4 on the other hand is well priced… it’s true that the Haval is smaller and dated, but when it comes to Chinese cars, price is everything. Malaysia and most of the world is still not ready for expensive Chinese cars (cheap ones are ok). Sad, but true.

Anyway, I want to end this on a positive note, and I have a policy of supporting foreign car companies that invest in our auto industry as an ASEAN hub (like Subaru), so yes, I hope this Leopaard will sell well for Joylong Auto, and I wish them all the best. My advice to them would be to focus on developing a strong aftersales network (something which Haval/ Great Wall M’sia failed to do initially), ensure that QC and assembly standards are high or equal to the China plants (something which OASB/ Chery M’sia never did) and focus more on exports (because domestic sales will be slim). Also, they should consider assembling the LHD version too, then they can export to the Philippines and Vietnam.

• mrkthxbai on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:31 am

oh nooooooooooooooo!

• I doubt I will be “Joy Long” with this car.. But on the serious side, if this can prove itself with good crash ratings and continually improving on itself, like Kia and Hyundai did, then perceptions may change, but hey, that’s a long route.

• waemarc on Jun 25, 2016 at 7:23 am

Ini copy paste semua kereta kaw-kaw punya.
    Pastu jual kat Msia..

• Dinasaur on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:05 am

Remember that dinosaur from Jurassic World? Part frog, part chameleon, part t-Rex and part ‘I know why they won’t tell us what it is made of’ velociraptor. This feels the same.

• Ibrahim Ali on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:24 am

Selling 112k in China which is around 70k ringgit, now that’s a price can sell in here even at 80k

• Yokohama24 on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:31 am

I wonder how many star this Leopaard with a double A can get in NCAP rating. Safety features well equipped but China will always be China, the quality are yet to be known. It might take years to gain the Malaysian’s confidence in China Car.

Other than that, hows the RV for China cars?

• Yippie on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:53 am

Other than german and italy, i dont give a damn. Its funny some thought their myvi is a toyota in disguised. Its funny japanese car owner thought they driving premium car. I d been switching to german car since 15 years ago from japanese. My friend always try to convince me with her “premium luxury honda accord 2.4”. Tested it, nothing to say. To even consider switching bk to jap is an insult to me. They r really a big gap in between.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • camrydriver on Jun 26, 2016 at 5:19 am

So what’s so special about germany cars?
      I’m driving a camry, feeling very premium

• below 120k for this spec and design? wow. reability? safety-crash test?

• cpt2 lah lancar. next 3 thn lg harga jadi RM30ribu kita beli ramai2 yer (2nd hand)

• Tong Sampah on Jun 25, 2016 at 10:07 am

and Proton dont even have SUV at the future…another 10 years to get their suv i guess when others moved to EV and autonomous..

proton should just source engine else where and build own platform…seriously Perdana design is not bad, but just too lousy in safety and limited by Honda allowance modification, its so fall back to lousy strategy in the first place of why spend $$ do such Perdana project which cant export and limited to 7K …

• Plsread on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Why spent? Later can plonk in new engine and safety gadgets lor.

You tarak baca ka?

• Pijot says SUV is passing fad and will die soon

• Redline on Jun 25, 2016 at 11:39 am

The SUV actually looks good. I like the exterior design, and the interior is quite classy as well. But as much as I like the design, I think many people will not buy it. Chinese cars have almost zero resale value. If we were to buy this car, likely we would have to use it until its end of life. Then we wont get any money to put into our new car.

Then there is also the risk of being the early adopters, not knowing how reliable the car is, how easy it is to service or even get the parts for maintenance and repair. I heard enough horror stories of (non-mainstream brand) cars being left in workshops for weeks because waiting for parts to be shipped from overseas.

Maybe people with lots of spare cash (where resale value is not an issue for them) and using this as their second car (reliability/availability of parts is not an issue for them) can give this SUV a try. I think many of the rest of us would think twice before buying this.

• gave up proton edy on Jun 25, 2016 at 12:30 pm

as long as it isn’t a proton…..i will buy it…..

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 25, 2016 at 1:15 pm

At the rate China cars progressing, kimchis will be history within 5 years

• winners on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:09 pm

RM110k for this China car. Forget it. Not worth the money.

• Ootai on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Make it less than rm100,000 plus service + 5 years warranty for introductory model, then you can win many potential buyers.

• Better proton rebadge this model

• crash on Jun 25, 2016 at 6:16 pm

So low engine output for a 2.0L turbo. Plus a dual clutch gearbox. We Malaysians learnt a hard lesson from Volkswagen about DSG. If VGM cannot fix their DSG problem, i doubt a car company from China can fix it.

• FIST (Member) on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Not another China car crap

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2016 at 8:52 pm

decent specs but expensive….i will still buy cx5

• turbodiesel on Jun 26, 2016 at 7:02 am

mengapa kereta ini ada mph dashboard? LHD also! This better not coming to USA…

• Why list price in china @RMB125,000 but RM120,000 for Malaysia market? VW Cars in China from Polo to GTI has the same price tag in RMB vs RM. i.e GTI in China costs around RMB250,000 vs Malaysia RM296,000 with tech pack. Something is wrong with our CKD.

• marieta on Jun 26, 2016 at 11:23 am

External from Porsche, interior from Merc and engine from the best of Mitsu…what’s not to like about this car ?

• In china they sell this rm60k – rm80k. Come here mark up until rm110k. Ridiculos. End up like cherry tiggo.

• Seems that Mitsu has their hands everywhere..they gave Msian our proton saga..they gave their engine to Hyundai..now even to the Chinese…this is how they expand their influences..no matter what they gain from all those royalties..with Proton they gave us almost obsolete technology..then Proton proudly announced to the world they have manufactured Malaysia first car..where everything is Mitsubishi well except dashboard and some design changes in the front and back.

• Sammy Loo on Jun 26, 2016 at 9:46 pm

this car will not have RV and built quality

• tokok on Jun 27, 2016 at 9:12 am

you sure it can even go $120k?..when almost 90% of the cars sales is dominated politically?…
    shhhesshhh….

the stupid kronis are going to take 50% intake from China biz…
    that is how greed is….who cares 2017…2018….
    IF there is still “free-trade” and abolishment of stupid “import-tax”.

• Well, this brand Leopaard is considered as third class brand in China market. Its sales looks not so good even in its domestic market. Leopaard started its business by locally manufacturing the Mitsubishi Pajero decades ago but it does not performs so well in the recent years.

This specific car is neither the best product that can represent the true capability of major Chinese car makers, so, I believe with most of the negative comments above.

The reason for Leopard to expand its business to oversee market is mainly due to its lack of capability of expanding more in domestic market, and I also don’t think it will do well in Malaysia.

For those who think its Malaysian price is higher in china, man, please find out a car whose Malaysian price is lower than its domestic price.

Not the car maker to be blamed, the tax, tax, tax.

• tobefair on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:29 am

There is always many Chinese car brands that is performing very well which is non-copy but design their own platforms, engine, and etc, such as Geely, Haval, BYD, Roewe, Triumpchi, … This Leopaard is considered 2nd to 3rd class of their own domestic brand. Those keep saying ‘low quality or crap’ are those who never follow latest auto news especially what is happened in china. We should welcome more brands coming in as competitors as to keep pressure to the existing big brands. Buy or not buy is up to you, even Proton is deserved to be respectful especially in handling and stronger body structure in their new lineup (Preve series).

• JjTern on Jun 29, 2016 at 3:45 am

Typo in the article, should be Honda HR-V instead ofHonda CR-V
    Couldnt helped it… makes me cant sleep with such a big typo.

• Maynard James Keenan on Jul 08, 2016 at 7:02 am

Made by the chinese? OK, I won’t buy.

• Hakan on Aug 21, 2016 at 9:41 pm

The design and interior is very nice better as Nissan Xtrail Hyundai Tucson Renault Kajdar copy of Nissan qq and ugly Dacşa Duster but most inportant is the crash Ncap test and the engine it,s need a power diesel engine like renault nissan or Honda 130hp and 160 hp Aut. Gear or from VM Motori (Fiat Alfa Romeo) also petrol engine twin turbo like nissan renault with less petrolnconsume engine for competion in the european market. I think this company need some help from German engineers to get a name and good sales result in this big market… for better NCAP and better quality .

Very nice car for cheap price we are waiting also for hybrid engine in the future and a better brand name for europe