Another possible airbag shrapnel death in Malaysia – all you need to know about Takata airbag recalls

Honda airbag

We might have had another case of Takata airbag shrapnel killing a driver over the weekend. A collision between a Honda City and a Mercedes-Benz in Kota Damansara on Sunday resulted in the 44 year old Honda City driver dying after a projectile was suspected to have pierced her in the chest.

According to the Sungai Buloh Fire and Rescue Department in reports, the victim was found gasping for air in the driver’s seat with an injury on her chest that was oozing blood.

If this isn’t another strong wake-up call for Malaysians to check if their cars are affected in the Takata airbag recall, we don’t know what is. The distributors here have commented that people just aren’t taking up offers to get their airbag inspected and changed if necessary in the amounts that they would have liked.

As a result, we are hearing of more and more cases like this. What is going on and why are airbags killing us instead of doing their job to protect us in car crashes?

The recall involves airbag modules made by Takata. What happens is that there is an issue with the chemical that produces the force required to deploy the airbag. As a result, too much force is produced and this causes the metal airbag inflator to explode. The resulting metal pieces that are being sprayed at high force in the cockpit are what’s killing people.

What makes it worse is that Takata says risk is higher wherever there is humid weather. You got that right – Malaysia has humid weather. Malaysians, this isn’t some disastrous situation that we read in the news about something that’s happening far away in the US. This problem is serious and it’s here in Malaysia.

Here’s what you need to do to get your car checked. First of all, please get your VIN number ready. It can be found on your JPJ registration card under “No. Casis”. The same number is also available on your insurance cover note. Then follow the instructions below:

Honda Takata Airbag Recall

To simplify things, there are essentially two batches of Takata airbag recalls for the brand. The first batch consists of all the cars that were recalled for the driver’s airbag, and the second batch is the recall announced just a few days ago involving front passenger airbags.

For the first batch, the parts are already in. Dealerships should have stock for the airbags already. According to a Honda Malaysia representative, the following is what you should do to ensure you have the shortest waiting time possible in getting your airbags changed.

Use Honda Malaysia’s online VIN checker to check if your car is affected by the recall. The driver’s airbag recall involves the 2003-2007 Accord, 2003-2013 City, 2001-2011 Civic, 2003 and 2007-2012 Civic Hybrid, 2002-2011 and 2013 CR-V, 2003-2007 and 2009-2013 Jazz/Jazz Hybrid, 2011-2013 Insight and 2003-2005 and 2007-2013 Stream.

Visit a Honda service centre immediately and request for your car to be inspected and for the airbag to be changed. Do not wait for a call. Honda Malaysia has instructed dealers not to turn away walk-in customers. However if you call up and check ahead for part availability first, it would save you some time. If one dealer doesn’t have stock for the part, another dealer might.

For the second batch involving the passenger airbag, we have been told that parts should be arriving before the end of July. Please check if your car is affected using the same online VIN checker.

A total of eight models are involved in this particular round. The affected vehicle models are Accord (2003-2011 model year), City (2009-2011 model year), Civic (2007-2011 model year), CR-V (2008-2011 model year), Freed (2009-2011 model year), Insight (2011 model year), Jazz (2009-2011 model year) and Odyssey (2004-2008 model year).

In the meanwhile, we would strongly advise that you do not use the front passenger seat. Treat your affected car as a four seater for the moment – one driver at the front and three passengers at the back.

Honda owners seeking clarification on the matter can call the Honda Malaysia hotline number at 1-800-88-2020 for information.

Toyota Takata Airbag Recall

Toyota has recalled nearly 130,000 cars in Malaysia. The first batch was for 97,000 cars involving the Camry, Corolla Altis, Vios, Yaris and RAV4 models made between 2001 to 2007. The second batch includes Vios, Corolla Altis and Yaris made between 2007-2008.

toyota-recall-july-2015a

You need to call Toyota Malaysia at 1800-8-869682, from Monday to Friday, 8am to 5.30pm with your VIN number ready to check. You will be able to find your VIN number on your JPJ registration card. UPDATE: You can now use an online VIN checker.

If you are affected, please call up any Toyota service centre and make an appointment for your airbag to be inspected and changed. According to a Toyota Malaysia representative, the parts for most of the batches of recalls are in Malaysia and they just need to be sent to the service centre for your appointment. Click here to look for the service centre nearest to you.

Mitsubishi Takata Airbag Recall

There are two models involved in the Takata airbag recalls for the Malaysian market. There are a total of 895 units of the 2004-2006 Mitsubishi Lancer involved in a passenger airbag recall.

There is also a recall for the driver’s airbag affecting about 35,000 units of the Mitsubishi Triton manufactured between 2006 to 2014.

Owners can check their recall status by keying in the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) here: Triton recall VIN checker or Lancer recall VIN checker.

If you are affected, please make an appointment at any Mitsubishi Motors authorized service centres or contact the Customer Careline at 1-800-18-6611 (Mondays to Fridays, 9:00am-5.00pm) for immediate assistance. You will find a list of service centres and contact details here.

Nissan Takata Airbag Recall

There has been a recall of faulty front passenger airbags for 12,444 units of Nissan cars including the T30 X-Trail CKD, J31 Teana CBU, and M12 Liberty CBU. Most of these comprise of the T30 X-Trail CKD – over 12,000 units of them.

UPDATED: Models requiring the replacement of the front driver’s side airbags now include 12,634 Nissan Navaras (D40) manufactured between 2007-2014, comprising both CBU and CKD models.

Other locally-assembled models being recalled for Takata front driver airbag inflators also include 10,763 units of the Latio (C11) manufactured between June 2007-October 2014; 69,965 units of the Grand Livina (L10) manufactured between July 2007-October 2013; and 4,874 units of the X-Gear (L10) manufactured between November 2010-October 2013.

ETCM also stated that the Takata front passenger airbag inflator will also have to be replaced on 10,589 units of the X-Trail (T30) manufactured between May 2002-March 2007 and 2,101 units made between April 2007-December 2008.

Also involved are two units of the fully-imported Teana (J31) made between August 2004-September 2004, as well as 17 units of the Liberty (M12) made in 2003.

Individuals with questions are advised to contact Edaran Tan Chong Motor at through its toll-free hotline, 1800 88 3838, or visit this link to input your car’s VIN number to see if it is affected.

Mazda Takata Airbag Recall

Two Mazda models are involved in the Takata airbag recall in Malaysia. The 2006-2011 Mazda BT-50 is being recalled to replace the driver airbag while the 2003-2007 Mazda 6 is being recalled for both the driver and passenger airbags.

You can check if your vehicle is affected by clicking here to access a VIN checker. There is also a FAQ on the same page. In case you have trouble looking for it, scroll down as the VIN checker form is below the FAQ. You can also call up their hotline at 03-7627 8999 for confirmation.

You’ll have to make an appointment for this as airbag replacement stocks are very limited so there’s a high chance they may not have stock. Once stocks are in for your appointment, the replacement will take under 1.5 hours.

Subaru Takata Airbag Recall

We do not have any information to report at the moment on how Subaru owners in Malaysia can get their VIN number checked. Last we heard, there is a recall for the Subaru Impreza (including WRX) built between 2004 and 2007.

Motor Image confirmed that vehicles in Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Philippines and Thailand are affected by this recall. The airbag affected is the passenger airbag. At that point, it said it would be contacting affected customers to get the passenger airbag inflator replaced.

We asked again today about the status of this recall and how a customer could double check if the recall applies to a particular car but we were told information is still currently unavailable. We will update this story once we get any updates.

Ferrari Takata Airbag Recall

The Ferrari Far East office confirmed with us earlier this month that a passenger airbag recall affects 50 official import units in Malaysia. Affected models are the 458 Italia, California and the FF. Last year, another 11 Malaysian units of mixed models were recalled to replace the driver’s airbag.

If you drive a parallel import Ferrari it would be best to contact the local distributor to see if they can check your VIN number for you. You could also perhaps use the international Ferrari website’s VIN number checker – click here and scroll down to the “Recall Campaign by VIN” section.

Mercedes-Benz Takata Airbag Recall

No officially imported or locally assembled Mercedes-Benz Malaysia cars are affected by any Takata airbag recall so far. However, there is a recall for the C-Class and E-Class in the Japanese market, and some may have made their way to Malaysia through grey importers.

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia says it doesn’t have an online VIN checker, so the only way to know if a particular vehicle is affected is for owners to send their cars in to an MBM service centre to check. The company added that if the car is affected by the recall, and the owner brings it to an MBM service centre, MBM will replace the necessary parts.

Story being updated as we get full info of other manufacturers in Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• No Proton cars effected ??? how about waja / wira ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 88
    • George Abdul on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Called the dealer/SC last time BUT get this answer “We will call you and arrange to come and change the airbag” 1 year++ since then they never follow up !!! To dealer Please take responsibility and not just calling existing customers to wait !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
      • Same L00 on Jun 27, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Most of the Proton on the road now has NO airbag. Those safer Proton with airbags are mostly parked in the warehouse for next year sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 59
        • bagerror on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:33 am

face the fact, it’s better then driving a time bomb @kamikaze car, your ignorance might end your neck

• nosushi on Jun 28, 2016 at 5:39 am

Buy p1 much better, no takata, no airbags death

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • patriot on Jun 29, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Proton does not use Takata airbags

• nizam on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:31 pm

proton guna autoliv. mana ada pakai takata punya airbag….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
      • Dr Mamak on Jun 27, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Must think twice about your own safety before buying a honda incl. the new civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
        • YouDontUnderstand on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:40 am

Oh! You don’t even know what we are talking about here. Please read again carefully before you comment.

• hailthepurist on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:32 pm

u meant accordana..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Proton are using Autoliv airbags if I recall correctly for the home-grown cars, which would have included the Waja.
      Airbags for the Wira was introduced later in it’s life, so most likely it won’t be using Takata.
      I’m not sure if the Inspira and Perdana uses the same parts as their originals or Proton had them replaced with Autoliv’s also to keep to a single supplier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Perdana?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Don’t behave like a fool,.. we are talking about Honda here…what an idiot…issit difficult for you to read properly…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 14
      • Mitsubishi oWNER How on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Mitsubishi… we are very suspicious of your pin drop silence

• Seeee on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:52 am

Auto Frenz – you are dumb idiot – read properly – the article says so many different car recalls and not just Honda.

• Euro Five on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Proton airbags are NOT from Takata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • rogaz on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Proton Is better than all this car. Now you know

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
      • This case makes power window problem become a very small matter.

• badz_maru on Jun 29, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Nobody died because of faulty power windows! You’re seriously comparing life-threatening airbags to mere nuisance of faulty power windows? It seems like your head is already so far up these Japanese car makers’ ass you don’t even have your priorities straight anymore!

• Proton Fanboy on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Proton airbag have quality maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
  • Not enough taking offer? Seriously?? on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:22 pm

“The distributors here have commented that people just aren’t taking up offers to get their airbag inspected and changed if necessary in the amounts that they would have liked”. Sorry, I own one of the affected vehicles but when I wanted to change my airbag, I was told that the waiting list was 4 months long. With a list that long, doesn’t that show the distributors could barely keep up with demand? Or is this just a case of shifting the blame to the consumer?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 3
    • Fastwork on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Have you tried all the dealers where you are residing in? I have the driver’s side airbag changed in March 2016 and the front passenger’s airbag changed on 10 June 2016 for my Honda Jazz. Try Sri Utama Honda in Setapak KL, if you have not done so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Ollie on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Entirely Honda’s fault. Many many people are not even aware of the recall. And no replacement available. Irresponsible

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
      • Aziza Mansor on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:38 pm

I agreed with you…indeed is a Honda’s fault…my self too not aware that my Accord got effected to until I call care line today…
        OMG this is very serious case which involved our family life..HONDA as an establised company you should do something urgently.
        Why to change air bag for my Accord have to wait due to Honda have no stock currently.What a rediculious statement..
        How about our life…my car effected you think I have guide to drive b4 replacment for air bag done…

• Paul Tan on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Please email me at [email protected] with your contact details and number plate as well as which service centre you went to. I will assist to raise this with the distributor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 228 Thumb down 15
      • Is Nissan affected too?

• swoosh3553 on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Why is it that Paul’s generosity and initiative to assist also can get 1 thumbs down??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
      • Jonathan on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:48 pm

called sutera honda – wait 4 months, i been to wan long honda at senai – busy with existing appointment after Raya only available, i called kah motor line engaged forever…

Silly question: can i ask accessory shop to deactivate the airbag or have it remove? Rather go without airbag…

WMA3899.. 0197862591
        is issues is making ppl from hard to worst….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • 2011-2011 Civic?

• Paul Tan on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Please check here: http://paultan.link/hondavinchecker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Melvin on Jun 29, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Just sent you an email, Paul.

Thanks.

• RoCkie on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:26 am

Paul, any idea how should owners of grey import or recond cars go about checking the affected models such as Toyota Wish? Where can the owners go to replace the airbags even if it cost money to replace them?

• Not enough taking offer? Seriously?? on Jun 27, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Thanks for the offer Paul. Unfortunately, I received the letter in November 2015, and had the airbag replaced in March this year. I had called a few SCs but each gave me about the same timeframe. Reading the other comments here, perhaps the distributors have stepped up their game since then.

• Why are there 15 thumbs Down?
        I bet it comes from Takata or Honda employees. LOL!

• When dun replace airbags fast enuff, blame the owners.
      When dun get enuff votes, blame the voters.

See the game, play the game.

• MalaysianMalaysia on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Should include latest Mitsubishi recall as well in the writing.

• how about grey import honda cars? Will Honda Malaysia also take up the responsibilities?

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Honda is very slow. When I call service center in regards to a battery recall they say I have to wait for the letter. I called them in March and they say letter will come latest May. Now it’s nearly July, I walked into the service center and they say must get letter first. Must wait until the battery explode then only i can claim? WAKE UP HONDA!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
    • karam singh on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:57 pm

That’s what happening when Honda is represented only by dealers (all of them). Unlike Toyota, where 30-40% of service centres are UMW’s own branch. Branch take things more seriously compare to dealers (where profit matters)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • Takata airbag is out of stock. How to replace? Been call up Honda Malaysia many time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:00 pm

May be Honda should help all affected users to remove existing airbags immediately while waiting for the new ones arrive to be fixed.

• AhSiew on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Honda Malaysia also at fault. It took me 5 months and 5 phone calls to get my airbag replaced. At first wait for letter. Latet say no need lettet just walk in but service centre say no such thing. Previously it was driver side airbag need to change….now it was decided lpassenger side also need to change….if u know it is dangerous, change both at one go last year when u already know takata is not reliable….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • beehedge on Jun 27, 2016 at 3:57 pm

That’s what i’d put up with…
      Why Honda make customers come back & forth….what happen if got 6-airbags..

• It’s easy to say that the customers are not taking it seriously but at the same time I’ve tried to schedule my cars for Honda to replace the airbag but only got dates 3 weeks later. How Honda?

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:31 pm

It’s been a while since I’ve written here but this, well, this deserves a moment.

Honda Malaysia, and Honda globally is dragging their feet in solving the issues now. It’s really a ticking time bomb, and the problem is, we don’t know to what extent the number of cars that are affected, as over time it seems that more cars are being recalled when more units are discovered to have faulty airbags.

How did Takata engineers actually sleep despite knowing all of this amazes me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Some say Takata engineers were alredi sleeping- on the job, but of course this statement only applies to ‘nasi lemak’ ‘5 times’ ‘malam jumaat’ MY workers, oh no, not to jepunis overlords. So we cannot persoal our jepunis overlords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • Civicster on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Paul, is 2012 1st batch Honda Civic FB 2.0 affected??

• Paul Tan on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Please check your VIN number with the tool provided by Honda Malaysia.

• Honda on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:40 pm

Yes always say no stock. Have to wait for stock. Who will be responsible if die because of this?? I think have to wear full face helmet and put metal plate on my chest when driving my car now ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • scaryworr on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:40 am

Honda drivers must be the brave lots, imagine driving with something that will explode only with a 70kmh knock ♨️

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 22, 2016 at 8:30 pm

If I were you, I would get the complete body suit used by the bomb disposal squad for the ultimate protection against the explosive forces encountered from a safe device marketed as SRS Airbags.

• beehedge on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:46 pm

1) Honda Malaysia (HM) why send reminder letters to Honda car owners to change airbag inflators separately….1 for Driver side….and another for Front Passenger Side, the letters almost 8 months apart. Owners ended up taking time off to attend these issue TWICE, albeit its for safety purposes. Please try reduce the trouble to your valuable customers, which should not be happening in the first place.

2) How to effectively inform & make aware to those affected 2nd-hand (or even 3rd) Honda owners whom might still unaware of these dangers. HM might just be sending out Reminder Letters according to their data-base lists of owners but those affected vehicles might have already been sold off to others, whom are not in the said list, worst who still not aware of these problem within their cars.

3) Lastly, upon completion of the affected parts replacement, HM should issue a letter or certification to car owners as proof, lest the cars’ market value might erode further if the current owners chose to sell off in future.

• Jonathan on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Letter go out first, to save them being sued… as they already inform you… is time to change car… hopeless already with this kinda fake effort…

• May disable it first while waiting for the stock

• Boycott honda…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • Is there a way to deactivate or remove the airbags if there’s no stock available for change? In this case, it’s better to have no airbag than a killing bag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Mohd Faiz on Jun 27, 2016 at 3:40 pm

the thing u must understand is that not 100% the airbag would kill when engaged, the metal airbag inflator wouldn’t explode all the times. So it’s possible the airbags still can save life! Removing it is like playing russian roulette as well !!! And there is the legal issue, if drivers/passengers was killed or injured by the removal of airbags by honda they can too be sued.

• scaryworr on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:43 am

removing the airbag is like playing Russian Roulette, IED airbag not Russian Roulette meh

• azrai on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Tak apa attitude around Honda owners. Look at those aged Honda’s that wasn’t service at authorised centre. I think most of them fall in this categories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • Jonathan on Jun 27, 2016 at 5:20 pm

The issue already mentioned above… Dun make ppl flame your comment…
      Please read properly before putting such brainless comment…

• joyah59 on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:09 pm

my Honda Jazz don’t get any letter to change airbag. i just drove to nearest service centre in Gombak and ask them whether can change my airbag or not and they say can. So i proceed with the proceed and my Jazz have change airbag for driver only within 4 hours. thank god

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Are you the first owner of your Jazz? Maybe letter was sent to the first owner.

• tcmean on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:11 pm

3 passengers at the back and no one at the front? You will be dragged out by taxi drivers and beaten up!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • beehedge on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Hahaha….
      Out of a Hot Pan but ended up into the Fire…

• Sonyman1 on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:17 pm

How about Nissan cars. Like sentra?

• I’ve been calling Honda weekly and they are out of stock of their driver side airbags for over 2 months now. I have resorted to using Grab Car and Uber for past 2 months just to be safe- at this point, Honda should be paying for that accumulating bill too… :/

• Pemanduberhemah on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:21 pm

If the part is not available, can we opt to disable the airbag instead?

• david on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:24 pm

yes how about the parallel import ones?

• nabill (Member) on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:24 pm

I hold Honda msia full responsibility… U either have full stock n replace on the spot for whoever owns an affected honda.. Or i have the right to sue the sh*t out of u…. This is pathetic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Jonathan on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Letter issue to you, inform you already… how to sue?

• nabill (Member) on Jun 27, 2016 at 4:26 pm

No stock or wait god knows how long…r u jus suppose to park ur car n wait for the replacement??? That letter they send u is to protect their ass, bt can be challenged legally… And if one of ur family members die bcos of it(god forbids) …u will think of it differently

• LittleMin on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:49 pm

How about UMW’s Toyota Wish CBU from thailand? Not in the list? Cz I’m driving one 2006 unit bought from UMW..

• kenny_lim on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:53 pm

they blamed the owners? too many stated in the forums/fb…all asking them to wait for letters and turning them away at sc. so who to trust seriously

• azrai on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Actually the part to be replaced is not the airbag itself. it is the airbag inflators which consist of different chemical compound to deploy the airbags. Paul, I think in digital age Honda should have the numbers of their first Honda buyer. SMS blast them, or call them. This case is the 3rd known case in Malaysia since the recall exercise begin.

• farid on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Hey Paul Tan and the team,

Since there’s a lots of hoo haa and recalls regarding Takata airbags, maybe it’s better if you would give information which other brands uses Takata airbag too? Doesn’t matter if there’s a recall or not, at least the owner will be more aware. Not everyone reads automotive news every days.

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:08 pm

correct me if i am wrong…airbag also got expiry date..if i am not mistaken…10 years…after that need to install new one…

• contender on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Just go and disable the airbag system if you’re driving this honda city model … while waiting for replacement which may take some time.

• Jonathan on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:57 pm

I asked the service centre and the PIC just repeat saying to replace the airbag and need to wait 4months for the stock to come…

I asked again whether can TUTUP / off the airbag system he still repeat the above… speechless….

• ironman armour supplier on Jun 29, 2016 at 9:25 am

This is the time for you to buy an ironman armour

• J.S Heng on Jun 27, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Is not that owners not taking up the offer to change the airbag.

My aunt went there 2 or 3 times, and there’s no stocks. Which they plan to ask my aunt to go other service center. These service centers are located far far away.

• how about Nissan Elgrand 2011 bought from grey importer?

• kapchai on Jun 27, 2016 at 3:56 pm

I think its rather strange that all the incidents in M’sia involved only the Honda City (first gen). Must be some design fault with this model

• Din Yusof on Jun 27, 2016 at 3:57 pm

How about the car that was imported directly to Msia, i.e. not by Honda Malaysia? Will Honda Malaysia gives service to car that was not distributed by them?

• I am not sure why a lot people complaning. Just walk in and tell them i want to replace the airbag. Done in an hour.

• Just arranged a booking with Mazda after you posted about the recall campaign they are doing.

The cars that were affected were sold by the previous distributor Cycle and Carriage and taking that into account, the process was fairly smooth and I’m getting it replaced in a couple of weeks.

Thank you Paul for pressing this matter. As a KOL in the automotive scene, i’m glad your site is taking the steps to raise awareness.

I believe the RTD and other relevant authorities should play a bigger role in pressuring carmakers to be more proactive in reaching out to customers to prevent such needless deaths. I’m just nursing my car along until it’s fixed. It’s scary to drive knowing there is literally a bomb in front of you.

• supernan9 on Jun 27, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Time to ditch Japanese car makers for their egoist and arrogant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Will there be any recall by Proton for the new Perdana/Accordana?

• Instead of asking owners to call the main number which inmost time is engaged, Honda Malaysia should ask the Honda car owners to contact their respective dealers from where they bought the cars to ease the backlogs. Now with the internet age, there should no problems for dealers to handle such enquiries from concerned Honda owners.
    I am withholding buying another Honda car until this is sorted out.

• Jobless on Jun 27, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Need to check with Toyota on whether my car is affected or not but the 1800-8-869682 number is so hopeless. Can’t get through to speak to anyone at Toyota even after 10 times trying.

• justdoit on Jun 27, 2016 at 5:42 pm

What company/type of airbag does Perodua use?

• I wish to hear which distributor saying that owners are not taking up the opportunity to get it rectify.

In fact my wife have been asking Honda service centre for the last 10 months, either she was told it wasn’t affected or it wasn’t on the list until last weekend we receive a letter to request for a change at our convenient time. Let me put this in a driver perspective, will you still drive the car knowing that there is potential hazard in the airbag assembly and you are worry about it since the first day that the news of first incident broke out. How would you not change it if you are well informed?

A piece of advise to all Car Distributors, don’t keep bluffing customers., sooner or later, we will abandon you.

STOP BULLSHITTING!!!!

• Erman on Jun 27, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Guys how about recond cars? Like estima, vellfure and etc?

• Guest20160627 on Jun 27, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Talk about Honda & Toyota!
    What about our local cars e.g. Proton & Perodua, which accounts for over 60% of all cars??
    Ada baik ke, itu air-bag???
    Air-bag is such a critical device, and yet the great quality controllers there ‘nippon-go’ can over look such a defective manufacturing process.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • better you read all the comment. nobody want to answer your question.

• Joe & Moe on Jun 27, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Now all Honda drivers must remember you are driving with a gun pointed at your chest at all time. Be very careful not to hit anything or be hit by anything at least for the next 5 to 6 months.

• Alex Honda Accord on Jun 27, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Who can share with me, the latest model of Honda Accord, who is the airbag manufacturer?

I’m thinking that in near future the latest model also under airbag recalling.

• Anything car defect related to life threat should be taking at the highest priority. Honda does not take it seriously by doing proactive & aggressive repair to the car.
    The way sending recall letter and let car owner to decide whether they should repair it is very irresponsible & reactive action. As the car manufacturer they shall know better than all car owners on the risk.

Honda shall:
    1) proactively contact the owner with phone
    2) work with the authorities eg JPJ to find out the car owner latest contact if they found the owner does not turn up for airbag replacement or response to the recall.
    3) shall discuss with owner to decide whether agree to disable the airbag activation for the car owner if they need to be at waiting list for the replacement.

The authorities shall:
    1) review this case and get Honda to act aggressive on the recall at all manner.
    2) consider stop the issue of road tax for the unrepair car. This is a safety issue like puspakom will failed the car with safety issue and will not be able to renew the roadtax. This will force the owner to response and Honda to react fast for the repair, and if not shall bear the cost for the owner on car rental.

• Naim Ahmad on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:30 pm

How about the ever famous reconds? Caldina, Wishes, Alphards, Vellfire and many more?

• Honda shall take this case as highest priority. Any defect that can cause life threat is serious. I do not think Honda has taken the best steps to resolve this issue with the affected owner. Send out recall letter to the owner and let them to decide whether shall repair is irresponsible and reactive action. As the car manufacturer Honda shall know the risk better than any car owner.

Honda shall:
    1) proactively contact the affected owner with phone
    2) get assistant from authorities eg JPJ to contact the affect car owner since they may have latest contact info
    3) discuss with affected owner whether agree to disable the airbag activation until the safe airbag is replaced

The authorities shall:
    1) review and get Honda to act more aggressive on the recall and repair process
    2) consider the mandatory process to get the affected car repair by stop issue the road tax for the affected car that without any corrective action taken since it is a road safety issue. Just like puspakom inspection, those car that failed the inspection is not allowed to renew road tax until it is resolved. With this way, the owner will have better awareness. If they cannot use the car, they shall claim Honda for the car rental which will make Honda feel the heat too.

• david on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:53 pm

Paul, the honda provided link can only check malaysia honda

this link can check JDM hondas. yes even this link is burried deep in honda website

http://recallsearch4.honda.co.jp/sqs/r001/R00101.do?fn=link.disp

• RoCkie on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:22 am

Thanks david for sharing the Honda link to check the JDM Hondas, would you have the link to check JDM Toyota too?

• david on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:54 pm

to temporarily disable the time bomb, goto fuse box and look for the SRS. pull the fuse to diffuse the bomb

• Anonymous on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:16 am

It’s not about Malaysians not wanting to get their airbag changed. It’s Honda Malaysia’s poor responsiveness to the issue! I’ve been wanting to change my airbag after I received an SMS from them. And when I called to arrange an appointment, they said my car is not affected. After a month later, I received a mail that highlight’s URGENT to change airbag. And when I call to make an appointment, the soonest date that I got is almost 2 months from now! Honda Malaysia is doing a poor job at rectifying the issue. Disappointing! I hope the victim’s family sue Honda Malaysia for this! It’s negligence!

• Would it be better to disconnect the airbag in the meantime? My appointment is another month away.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:01 am

The team at Driven Communications is doing a great service to the public with this initiative. Hopefully, more people will take this airbag issue seriously now.

It’s very sad that someone has to die first, for others to take notice. Truly and utterly disheartening. Prevention is the best cure. Don’t put your life (and the lives of others) at risk for trivial reasons and excuses, your life is worth more than you think. Not just Honda owners, this applies to ALL Malaysian drivers.

• Daniel on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:46 am

Daihatsu is involved in the recall program, aren’t perodua affected too?

• Lee Kuan Meng on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:41 am

What if they dont phone yet but told you to wait for instruction and date but when you die, they shall said that you were informed but didnt turn up for replacement. Then what?

• Step1 – go to service centre disable/unplug airbag now
    Step2 – wait for airbag change/stock

Don’t wait for dealer to call you! Life is precious

• Rusmah on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:16 am

If you follow air bag news from few years ago.
    You may know that, Honda & Toyota Malaysia denied their air bag got defect! They said “Malaysia Toyota & Honda is not affected!” only happen in US!!

• I went to a honda service center in ipoh regarding the airbags. The lady asked me if i received a letter from the company. I said no. Then she asked me if i service my car at honda. I said no. I bought my 2nd car last year. She told me to get the letter then only they would look into the matter. What should i do?

• SL Chong on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:43 am

Hi Paul, I have a 2007 Toyota Estima X, which is a recond model from Japan. How do I check if it has a Takata airbag? Since it’s a recond model, Toyota Malaysia won’t support, so what can I do to get it changed if it is indeed on the recall list?
    Your kind advice greatly appreciated

• Yeoh gk on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:57 am

What agent said is not really true. I have been waiting for more than two weeks, Honda branch in klang claimed that they have yet to receive the stock for replacement.

• HH Goh on Jun 29, 2016 at 5:07 am

Paul, Thanks for taking this very seriously. How about Suzuki range of car as the previous distributor DRB Hicom is out of action. i did some google and find out that Suzuki Grand Vitara and SX4 in other country did have a recall exercise for air bag sensor. Why there isn’t any here locally?

• Hi paultan, do you have any information on whether BMW vehicles are affected? I understand they use Takata as their supplier as well….hope I’m wrong.

• What we should do for Honda Odyssey recon car from japan?
    Where we should go?

• RoCkie on Jun 30, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Found this website from Toyota Japan to check grey import/recond cars for recall models using chassis no.

http://www.toyota.co.jp/recall-search/dc/search

you may use google translate to understand the content.

• Kenny Tan on Jun 30, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Upon reading the Mazda Takata Airbag Recall, I made an appointment with Bermaz at Jalan 219. My model is Mazda 6 2.3l 2006. It was sorted our very quickly, however, when I collected my car, I was told they only changed the driver side airbag as they said based on my chassis it is only required to change the driver side airbag, passenger side airbag is NOT required. Is this true?

• same kot on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:00 am

Hey same Lorrr,how bout your ugly vios??are those effected too??LOL

• Risk taker on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:34 am

Tried calling Honda Malaysia. They confirmed that my car needs to change driver airbag inflator. However, they ask to check with service center to make booking. Now called the service center and they said no more airbag inflator stock. How now Honda Malaysia? Should we walk back to balik kampung this Raya holidays? Or do we want to risk death in a minor accident? Or will you give us a free courtesy car to balik kampung with. I think the least Honda can do is the 3rd option. Let’s see how many Honda owners give a thumbs up to support this request

• Was at one of Honda service centre in JB, told me no airbag stock available and don’t know when stock will be available. Gave me a blank scrap of paper to fill in my name, car reg no, and mobile so they can contact me when stock is available. They don’t even have a proper form for me to fill in!!

Called Honda Malaysia, no stock, don’t know when stock will arrive – told me to ask dealer. I wonder if they are really serious. They should at least have a reservation and appointment list where you can reserve a airbag and get a dealer to call you when the airbags are here.

Now just have wait for dealer to call you, if the dealer have not yet thrown away that piece of scrap paper I wrote my name on.

• lao yee on Jul 01, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Still complaining about DSG reliability? Malaysian still buying Japanese though, despite the killing airbags

• Proton Airbag is Autoliv on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:46 pm

I had told by a friend of mine. For a temporary solution you might go to any workshop to temporarily disable the sensor to prevent the airbag from functioning. Better no airbag for temporary rather driving your car with a time bomb.

• sepul on Jul 04, 2016 at 4:59 pm

It is good that the public finally took this matter seriously, but only after certain death happened and that Honda officially made a statement pertaining to the incident. Itself was a result of many causes, one of which (to my personal view) is lack of awareness among the general public, especially from the affected owners.

Do we have to get ourselves cornered to really take matters seriously?

• Maynard James Keenan on Jul 08, 2016 at 6:58 am

So it means a Kancil is safer than these cars….

• How about Honda record car from Japan? How to check if the airbag also defective?

• David on Jul 16, 2016 at 11:34 am

I have a City year 2010 and they told me that the passenger’s airbag is not affected in their recall. This is after the latest incident and recall when I spoke to their call center. Still feeling not safe. :(

• David on Jul 16, 2016 at 11:38 am

The FAQ at Honda website says
    “As for the front passenger air bags, there is still a global shortage and Honda Malaysia
    will improve the supply as soon as possible.”

So I don’t know now if it’s not affected OR simply they don’t have stock to replace…

• Jonathan on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:52 am

Thank you Paul, Honda customer service called, got it arranged monday after Raya, changed both side of Air bag! Your the best!

• Aravin on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:49 am

So far Honda Ambang Botanic doesn’t have passenger airbag parts, and when I called they said they don’t know when it would be available.
    I call bullshit on Hondas excuse that it’s the owners who are not interested to change.

• Vincent on Oct 26, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Toyota is charging me RM49 for input chemical when replacement of airbag inflator. I checked with Honda, they do not have this extra charges. Kindly take note.

• ijamz jáybêê on Jun 06, 2018 at 1:31 am

Haa..Use year model 1976 laa datsun tonggek 120Y and use Z18 turbo engine is definitely no problem.. :-)