Honda Malaysia confirms latest Takata airbag-related death – three recall notices already sent to City owner

Honda airbag

Honda Malaysia has officially confirmed that the Takata single stage (SDI) driver’s airbag inflator in a 2005 Honda City ruptured in a crash on June 26, which resulted in the tragic death of the driver. No official cause of death has been yet determined.

The vehicle involved in this crash was included in a Malaysian recall announced on May 21, 2015, requiring replacement of the Takata SDI inflator of the driver’s front airbag.

Honda said that since 2015, the vehicle involved in this crash has been included in both driver’s Takata airbag inflator and passenger’s Takata airbag inflator recalls. Three mailed recall notices related to those recalls were sent to the owner, and the company says that its records indicate that the recall repair was never completed.

The company says it is communicating with representatives of the driver’s family in an effort to resolve their remaining concerns. Out of respect for the family, Honda will not provide any personal information.

Honda Malaysia added that it continues to urge owners of Honda vehicles affected by the Takata airbag inflator product recall to get their vehicles repaired at authorised dealers as soon as possible. Vehicle owners can check their vehicles’ product recall status via the company’s online VIN checker or call the company’s hotline number at 1-800-88-2020 for information, or visit any Honda authorised dealers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• There seems to be a disconnect on the urgency of the repairs between Honda and its authorized service centres. My wife just called Vivahill Penang and the person there told my wife the letter from Honda is required for them to change the airbags in the City. Luckily we have received the letter and made the appointment. We still had to wait for a few days.
    As for me and my yer olde Accord, I have not received any letter from Honda yet so I guess I will have to wait a bit having only registered my chassis number at the Honda website today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Bernard on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:04 pm

in KL, don’t have to wait for any letter. Just walk in any HSC. They will change for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • Honda is trying their best. The people here are unreasonable. All topkek. Why can’t you wait few more months?

Anyway, who ask you to buy Honda? Better buy Proton….padan muka, pakai Jepunis, pakai barang overlord, sekarang susah kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
      • OMG…when u sent ur affected car for routine car service to any Honda service centre, they will remind and inform u that they will change the faulty airbag immediate.Mine H.City 2013 already changed at Glenmarie HSC.

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:49 pm

Very sad news.
      Here’s a suggestion…
      I think Honda Malaysia should put a sticker on the windshield to verify that the car is safe and parts has been replaced.also take the initiative to go around and put a flyer on cars that does not have the sticker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Proton no issue of Takata. Jepunis overlord like to tipu.

Pakai lah Proton, tak ada hal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
        • nandakumar on Jul 12, 2016 at 11:00 am

PROTON?
          yes bro you are right.
          the existance ppl like you that cause the automotive industry suck big time in bolehland@jibbyland
          proton is waste of tax payers money
          i think you earn so little that you are not paying your damm income tax
          anyway enjoy your proton with all those cabin noise and rotten condition
          besides that send a thank you letter to mahathir for inventing proton
          what you know about honda cars???
          bloody fool

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:39 am

This is a classic example of the problems arising when a government practically owns ALL the car companies.

Now, the rakyat got to suffer with long waiting list to get the airbag changed. What happens if I meet an accident in the meantime and die? Honda Malaysia already washed their hands now since they already sent official letters.

And we have no where to complain to. Cause Honda is owned by the Government via DRB Hicom, there is no avenue or ombudsman where we can complain to. In other countries, their rakyat can complain to the Government and the Government will take action. Like in the USA, Government themselves prosecuted VW and Toyota without any complaints from their rakyat.

In Malaysia, you try to sue Honda if your wife die due to Takata airbag failure in your Honda, the judge with no balls will throw your case out of court!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 13
      • A lot work for Paul to cascade this to Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
        • how to cascade so many complains to Jepunis overlords? Can Dear Leader in Penang help?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • So ini semua salah jepunis overlords? Then u better stop protek protek them lah!

• I walked in Sg Pinang service center. And they replaced for me in 2 hours.

• Mohd Faiz on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:01 am

The govt should take a proactive approach to ban all affected honda vehicles on the road until honda certified the airbags inflators in the vehicle are all replaced and in perfect working condition!

• old horse on Jun 27, 2016 at 7:27 pm

very sad..RIP…

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:07 am

When she was gasping for air and blood oozing from her chest, that means her lungs have been punctured and fill with blood. She was drowning in her own blood. Very very sad.

• Jeffrey Ng on Jun 27, 2016 at 7:32 pm

What about second-hand cars? The recall notification letters may not reach the new owners at all.

Personally, the recall notification letter for my car arrived around the day I was supposed to trade in my Honda. I passed on the letter to the new car sales person and informed him to pass it on to the used car dealer. I’m not sure whether or not the new owner is aware about it.

It may sound extreme but maybe all the affected carmakers should work with JPJ to have some kind of mechanism to temporarily red flag the affected chassis number when doing the ownership transfer of these cars. The new owners’ address would be made available to the carmakers and the carmakers can send a mobile team to find the car and replace the affected airbags at the owners’ premises.

Also, matters of such severity should have used red coloured paper and envelope instead of white colour. A more direct “LIFE WARNING” should be printed in bold with big font size in multiple languages. Honda Malaysia may want to take note on this.

In matters of such severity, carmakers should actively and aggresively reach out to look for the owners instead of waiting for owners to respond.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 1
    • Tong Sampah on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:13 am

they should put up the recall in Honda Website, and all honda service center, so Honda owner just drive in to check the VIN number and register to change, so second hand buyers can also address the situation, WHY LETTER in this centuries!
      The letter is exactly their excuse to get our of legal as I informed you so, (available of stock not their problem)..

• tokmoh. on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:21 am

They send notice letter, but no stock for what then? So can claim “apa salahan saya” in court?

• Jeffrey Ng on Jun 28, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Talk is easy.

At the last estimate, this Takata problem is affecting like 90 million cars worldwide. Takata had to get its competitors such as Daicel, TRW, Autoliv, Key Safety Systems and etc to help supply the replacement parts.

2015 world car production data is 68.56 million units. Assuming an average of 4 airbags per car, the industry is already producing around 274 million units of inflators per year. Taking into account the complex redesign of toolings, machine compatibility & etc to support production of replacement parts, maybe they’re left with only 5% of spare production capacity to produce the replacement parts. That is equal to capability of 14 million units of replacement parts per year which means optimistically, they need at least 6.5 years to complete the production of 90 million units of replacement parts. This is not even taking into account the need for suppliers to produce replacement parts for airbags not affected in the recalls.

Why can’t they stop production of new parts? Millions of people’s livelihood are also at stake. I’m not saying it is right to do it that way but it’s just an objective analysis.

Why can’t they set up new production line?
          Simple answer. Anyone in mass production will know that new parts + new production line + new workers = recipe for disaster. It takes time to set up a new line and the chances of producing parts that cannot meet the basic standard will always be high.

• Joyrider on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:55 am

This is the 3rd death case due to defect in Airbag, and it happens to be Honda again, and it happens to be Honda City (same model) again. Can this really be coincidence? Takata Airbag issue affected approx. 100 Million cars globally. So statistically, 1/100M x 1/100M x 1/100M is the probability for Honda City to happen 3 times in a roll. It is lower than striking Lottery if it is purely a “Random” case. The highly suspicious verdict is that this particular Honda City Airbag system is one of the most problematic defect/design issue as compared to other affected models.

• Jeffrey Ng on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:48 pm

An online VIN checker has already been set up on Honda Malaysia website ages ago. In fact when the news about the original round of recall first broke out, I keyed in my VIN to the checker and submitted my contact details. That was how I got my letter in the first place.

For me, letter is fine. I agree that it is not the most efficient way but it also is a form of legal safety net for the carmakers. What about email? We just need to ask ourselves how many personal emails do we still open nowadays? Most end up unread in Inbox and Junk folders.

Part of the reason for the low completion rate is also because of owners themselves. Not all, but some. Yesterday, I randomly asked this Honda City owner if he has received any letter from Honda about his airbag, to which he answered yes but have not changed. Then I showed him this piece of news about this latest case and his face turned pale.

Another thing about online checker is that some owners are just not net savvy. I asked a friend who has a City and he didn’t know anything about this airbag story simply because he doesn’t read automotive news. He doesn’t speak English and I had to help him submit his contact details into the Honda website.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:45 am

Honda is owned by the Government. Just like Toyota is owned by the Government and their cars have no VSC, which is a dangerous safety hazard.

Our Government don’t care whether you die or live. Janji they untung lebih at the expense of your safety. If Honda had a chance, they won’t even bother replacing it.

That is how our Government thinks. Go look at all the buildings in Putrajaya. There is so much of leaking even until the roof also can collapse and kill people. But the Government not bothered about safety. Janji they can build a big project and many can sapu money. Maintenance is the last and unimportant.

Unless maintenance also, the crony contractor can make money. Then, he gives inferior parts or materials and sapu the bulk money.

Welcome to Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 19
      • What you can see above there is a Malaysian people attitude. Everything happen they try to blame the Gov. I bet his miserable life also caused by the Gov. Yeah..welcome to Malaysia..where we have a lot of 3rd world mentality citizen. Thats why our country dont improve a lot. Bashing local made product..bashing local leadership (not talking bout PM alone) and now outside brand also wanna bash?i thought Honda is Malaysian GOD like product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 56
      • kzm (Member) on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:17 am

Since when Honda own by govt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Since he started sleeping in daytime when nobody comes into his toyota showroom. Pitiful fella

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:37 pm

kzm, go and see who are the shareholders of Honda before talking big. john, I don’t sleep on the job. That is your culture. Even MAS Union head also said, it is okey to sleep on the job. The world got shocked what he said.

• Went passed ur showroom and saw u snoring in a vios with Sam Loo.

• LittleMin on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:19 am

If you are driving the affected model then you should take the initiative to call Honda Malaysia and check with them. I did mine for my old Altis even thou I didn’t received any letter from them due to I’m the second owner.

Of course, manufacturers should also publish this recall via mainstream media, for eg TV stations and radio stations. Not all owners are car enthusiast that will read car blogs like us here.

• beehedge on Jun 27, 2016 at 7:34 pm

“…the Recall Repair never completed.”
    And why’s that ?

• Yusoc2pid on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:28 am

Because the owner did not respond. Geddit?

• Add A Comment on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:52 am

Is either you don’t understand English or you are manipulating a full sentence like what some idiots like to do….

• Shaekey on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:37 am

There’s a post circling around in facebook (posted by the deceased brother if I’m not mistaken) that the appointment was set after Raya. Not sure why it took so long… the deceased didn’t received the first 2 letters? Ignored the letter? Couldn’t book an earlier time?

If the issue is backlog at the service center in replacing the parts, then I sure hope Honda (and other car manufacturers with affected Takata airbags) is more serious in finding a solution to this problem quickly. Deactivating the airbag perhaps? After 3 death cases, I can’t imagine anybody with the affected vehicles would still has the gut to drive the car. Minor fender bender could possibly kills you, and with traffic conditions in certain areas… minor fender bender just waiting to happen.

• even 100 recall notice has sent to owner is useless. You honda malaysia is out of stock on takata airbag replacement. im been waiting it for months… u are talking nonsense..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 4
    • Admin on Jun 27, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Where is the authorithy aka enforcement?

• Waiting for authorities in US to make arrests, authorities in Nippon to make arrests, authorities in EU to make arrests. Until then, tunggu saje

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:34 am

Jibxit curi billion2 pun tak kena apa.. And we are expecting they act firm on Takata issue? Sorry bro, won’t happen.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Its Rm2.6 bro, now, its Rm3.0 with higher US exchange rate.

• Its either 2.6B jibby, 3.5B Dear Leader, or 6.3B supreme CM.

Pity jibby is only 3rd place. Cannot winrar

• Exactly. Since the Takata Airbag issue came out I have to keep on remind my Honda service ctr about the replacement.
      After months of waiting finally last month they have changed. So the three reminder notice to the victim is……

• Do something on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:04 am

After this incident, are u going demand honda to get their replacement airbags stock faster?
      Unless u have spare car, ur airbags are killing machine.
      Hope those who affected by “the recall but no stocks” will make noise.

• Patrick Toon on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:26 am

I got my letter couple of months back, I made appointments and every time when it is about my appointment date, I find out from the service center that they are out of parts for the driver side. So my appointments keep on getting postponed. How do we get these fixed then? It is honda who is not taking their actions aggressively. Now I feel like I am driving a car with a shotgun pointed to my head!

• tokmoh. on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:25 am

Better to remove the airbag in the mean time. Safer to not have killer airbag.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:47 am

That is their strategy. You wait so lng until you get fed up. Then you say, “aiyaa, old car what, no need to replace. After all I will sell it off soon”

Then you won’t bother. About 50% of the Honda owners will think like this.

• exactly… i called the Muar service centre and they said the parts not arrived yet. then what the point honda ask us to call when they dont have the stocks

• Mangali Singh on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:30 pm

The govt should take a proactive approach to
      ban all affected honda vehicles on the road until honda certified the airbags inflators in the vehicle are all replaced and in perfect working condition!

• Honda on Jun 27, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Sad day

• When dun replace airbags fast enuff, blame the owners.
    When dun get enuff votes, blame the voters.

See the game, play the game.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
  • Tong Sampah on Jun 27, 2016 at 7:58 pm

those grey importer of Alphard/Estima/Harrier i wonder stucked in nowhere..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Ibrahim Ali on Jun 27, 2016 at 8:02 pm

THIS is the single event that could whip out all grey importers whether it’s for Jap car or Continental car..(since both all recall Takata airbags).
    No one dare to buy Recon car now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • possible panic sale of Honda car, then second hand honda car will be very cheap.

• Honda city black 2010 on Jun 27, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Hi paultan n all readers,

I have recently received the letter referring to the airbag call back for my black 2010 honda city which i have already sold. I urged all buyers of 2nd hand vehicles to check thier VIN numbers with Honda or any other manufacturers that are affected.

Especially to the buyer of my previous honda city.

PS: Concerned previous owner

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
  • TopGear on Jun 27, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Since some of the cars affected have been around for at least 3-5 years and above… i believe majority have been sold /traded in..
    I think Honda Malaysia should advertised in the major newspaper
    of the VIN numbers, and welcome the new owners to replace the airbags… and i also believe many owners do not update their mailing address too …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Ex VGM staff on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:24 am

Many won’t send their cars back to Honda SC for maintenance.

• panjang on Jun 27, 2016 at 8:52 pm

I know its not easy to prove but who is responsible for a death which occur is replacement part is not enough?
    I bet there will be new list of recall just waiting to be announce.

• saladin on Jun 27, 2016 at 9:00 pm

If u cannot provide the inflator fast enough, you might just called them to temporaryly disable the airbag. At least there is a chance of survival without airbag than 100% confirm get killed by exploding airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Honda is taking their sweet time and insisting on having the ORIGINAL letter before proceeding for repairs…WHY???

No letter means NO REPAIRS!!!!!

Dont they have a database to check and why 2 recalls to fix what is a single issue.

Why must they wait until fatalities before showing some urgency!?

TERRIBLE

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • Albert on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Patr,
      Toyota,this time deserves some praise.
      My camry airbag inflator was replaced at their dealer outlet.
      All that was needed,is the vehicle grant to show there was a change of ownership,as I was the second owner.
      And it was done in 3hrs.Sam Loo….wahliao…
      Apart from this,UMW still disappoints interms of sky high pricing.

• Derek on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:34 pm

I actually went to a Honda SC to fix an issue not related to the airbag beginning of this month. The SA actually informed me that my car was included in the recall and to rectify this along with the original issue I went to the SC. He did ask me if I received any letter which I did not. 3 weeks later only did I get a registered mail regarding the recall.. So no, you should not have to wait for the letter..

• jason on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:50 pm

After Raya la Bro.. Chill… now no stock, Good luck! lots of luck! better stop buying Honda… this is the service you get form calling their dealers…

• Jason on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:33 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6GUbs-ApA0

are they waiting for 5 life taken only Authority will take action? please act NOW!

• No more game of thrones on Jun 28, 2016 at 6:34 am

No need for original letter. Just bring car in for service and it’s already flagged for airbag change. Only problem is that subject to availability of air bag component in service centre

• Kenny on Jun 28, 2016 at 6:36 am

Agreed. This is an issue that requires immediate attention from honda. I think as long as they have the means to verify that the cars are affected, then just proceed, dont have to wait for the owners to receive the letters. To me, letter is just a reminder. Honda should just advertise in mass media for immediate recalls. This is not a bad bush /seal issue, this problem can cause severe injury or even death

• Jobless on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:21 am

Doesn’t Honda have any idea of the gravity of the matter, they are playing with people’s lives. They should at least check all the cars that are being sent to their service centers with or without a letter. More people might be injured or killed because of some silly red tape. Really, no sympathy from me if they get sued left right and center.

• They are trying to delay their customer..because they got no parts to replace. Just imagine..this is the WORLDWIDE recall…the Takata company also so close to bankrupt. I cant imagine anything can happen to the Honda owners while waiting for their replacement parts. Lets hope everything will be ok.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 27, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Can we trust what Honda Malaysia claimed in the first place?

• policeman on Jun 27, 2016 at 9:50 pm

Lucky family. Can claim insurance and can sue Honda. Money coming in left and right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:39 am

Honda Malaysia under DRB.

Dream on if anyone can lay a finger on them

• Policeman, don’t be so insensitive. No amount of money can replace a loved one.

• Roadside stranger on Jun 27, 2016 at 9:59 pm

What?
    I never receive letter, email or call from honda related authority.
    I checked the VIN and found my city is affected, went and changed at service centre, but without any letter.
    Honda Malaysia, you can do better.
    I suggest Honda Malaysia to order all the authorised service centres to give priority for fix airbag, rather than vehicle service.

• Honda Malaysia WHY so slow? Wait untuk sudah mati then only sorry. Others already recalling earlier, buat HM wait n see haaa? To the affected family, my deepest condolences and i really hope that you punish HM by taking then to court.

• Woot Woot on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Honda cost you life, VW cost you money. buy VW!

• Jimbo on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:38 pm

I used to have a 2003 City and changed to 2008 City. Have since sold my 2008 and guess what, I received registered mail on the recall just 4weeks back for both cars. To me, it seems like Honda Malaysia is panicking now and are afraid of lawsuits. I just wonder, we know this issue has been going on for years, why only now there is urgency shown.

• I wonder why the Gov don’t want to step in for such a serious issue. People’s life is at stake!

• Becoz defective product is not a crime. U can seek resolution in Consumer Tribunal, but its still not under Penal Law. Only when it kirr pipu then it is criminal, but then thats between the grieved parties and HM to be settled in court.

This is universal at all countries affected, thats why u din see anyone got arrested anywhere.

• Shocking incident. May her family be given the strength to get through this difficult period.

• Really disappointed with HONDA this time, all the while I support Honda very much, the 2nd generation city models has been in market the how many years? why Honda Malaysia now only call for replacement? is cause a life of your rubbish product and you Honda just keep quite for so long.

• carlover on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:16 pm

this is really sad news.safety item must not betaken lightly from cars makers.if no stock ,better deactivate or remove the airbags system.if even small accident can trigger the deployment of shrapnel in airbags ,better remove it.honda must find the owners and rectify it.well millions airbag need to be replaced,impossible for takata to produce it.probably takes years to replace it all.government must take action against this issue just like in the United states.please spread this issue to your family and friends.

• Operation Manager on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Shield the Master.. its bolehland policy… u think here is US…?

• Of course not. Here is MY, so we must shield our Masters: the foreign and jepunis overlords.

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Don’t get it why Honda Malaysia need owner to produce letter to fix the car itself. Its not like people are driving fake Honda or harap sangat to go service center. Just fix the blardy airbag and let people go on with their life.

• Sulaiman Zainudin on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Kurang ajar betul syarikat & pihak yg berkuasa ni !!

• Dr Mamak on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:14 am

Me last and final honda was that awful 2013 crv. So glad i sold it off last year. No more honda for me. Tq

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:17 am

Proton was right years ago when their cars had no airbag because they believe it kills..but since buyers wanted it give lor…ha..ha..

• ah bang ah beng on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:23 am

i suspect HONDA MESIA is taking damage limitation action… I agree HONDA (and all other brands for that matter) has/have not taken this seriously enough… even JPJ and NGO like NIOSH should be urging the public to wake up to this issue… one life lost is one-life-lost-too-many… in this case it is more than one already for heaven’s sake… and those responsible… (HONDA, other brands & “authorities”) what have u been doing? Lawyers… why don’t you initiate a class action lawsuit against Honda to start with… see if ‘they’ get off their lazy irresponsible butts and do what’s right?

• Honda Malaysia. You just proven how incompetent you are dealing with such conflict. If you really concerned about your customers safety, do some extra miles effort by advertise in TV how dangerous driving with this rupture airbag. But not at all even in newspaper.

My city brake issue since 2013 never solve. 2x change master pump cause serious fluid leak also you can’t even rectify. Quality went to sea already.

• Jason on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:31 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6GUbs-ApA0

why they focus oversea compare to m’sia.. bcos our authority is sleeping…

• LandoCars on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:51 am

On 17 March 2016, Honda Malaysia made a public announcement to recall certain models due to the 12V battery issue. When we call up Honda, we received a standard annoying answer “Kami belum mendapat arahan dari DRB”.
    Till today, still no news! Tidor ka DRB punya orang???

• Ganeswaran Nadason on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:04 am

I have bought a HRV in Oct15 & in the virtue of giving up with regards to real axle knocking sound. After few round of complaint finally they admit it’s a faulty and need a replacement. They approved the warranty claim on 1st April and until todate I’m waiting for the parts arrival. The best part, it’s a CKD unit.
    Do Honda really concern about customer??? I seriously have a doubt on that.
    Seriously I’m not sure what other consequences I may face on this lacking of sense of urgency at the expense of Customers safety.

• cOMMANDER on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:26 am

Putting the blame on the deceased is always easy but it’s still their fault.
    They would have a registry of cars sold by them regardless if its still being sent to a SC or not.
    Just spend a few extra dollars & pay a visit to owners whose car have not been addressed.
    Obviously, sending notices is the cheapest option and probably safest way out of potential litigations.

• I noticed no one here slammed Honda for this stupid tragedy. I’d prefer broken power window over this deadly airbag!!

• mohd ayub on Jun 28, 2016 at 5:52 am

If the airbag is the problem, then dont have it. Better safe then sorry

• No more game of thrones on Jun 28, 2016 at 6:31 am

I’ve read some great suggestions for contacting second hand car owners regarding this issue but I believe part of the problem is that Malaysians in general are not too concerned about their own safety. Its our typical “tapela won’t happen to me…” attitude unfortunately. Just look at how we drive whilst texting.

• Tubik on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:05 am

Bought a used 2007 CRV late last year. Sent the car to Honda Inanam branch, Kota Kinabalu last week to change atf fluid. Glad that they honour the recall move even though the car have not been serviced by Honda for quite some time. Asked to call back in July to check airbag.

• Littlebear on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:09 am

I’ve just replaces my driver airbag on a Honda City 2010 model on 27 June 2016. Now it seem there is another recall on the passenger side airbag. KNN!

• Amizan Abas on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:17 am

Battery issue with honda city is still not addressed yet… Honda wait until the battery explode , only then they do something….buying a Honda is a risk now….

• Just sue 'em on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:36 am

Notice already sent but customer don’t send in car, so Honda can wash hands, right. Typical tidak apa attitude from big businesses in Malaysia.

• azrai on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:39 am

We have MySikap system now in JPJ. Honda Malaysia, please liaise with the authority to know the current owner of the City’s instead of just sending letters to the original first owner. We also have facebook to find people nowadays.

• Surprisingly, there seems to an overly concerned with procedure at the expense of safety, efficiency and common sense while Honda take the responsibility to repair the defects.

I sold my Civic to my nephew and when he brought the car to the service centre in JB for the related airbag problem with the notice letter from HONDA, and they still asked for the original owner’s IC number and address. Luckily my nephew could still contact me for the information required.

I wonder what if the second hand owner does not have such information.

• gtmaniac on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:26 am

Still want to wait for official invitation and red carpet to be eligible to change the airbag? What a fuss! And playing with people lives.

As ‘cekai’ as proton, recent recall of Exora & Inspira’s fuel line change – you just drop by any SC, register your name, and wait for their call. No need letters, since they advertised is widely. Mine got replaced within 2 weeks time.

• Rusmah on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:27 am

First case happened in US. UMW & Honda Malaysia declare to everybody. “Not affected”!
    After few years, start recall, but in minimum advertising.
    Recall letter? Some ppl receive, some ppl don’t.
    I have 2 friends owning Yr 2013 & 2014 Jazz.
    2014 Jazz receive recall letter, 2013 don’t.
    The 2014 Jazz called to Honda request for replacement, need to wait 1 month!

• sulaiman zainudin on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:38 am

Kurang ajar betul syarikat & pihak yang berkuasa ni.
    Please publish my comment, TQ

• -BigBalls- on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:46 am

what bullshit is this

I’ve received 3 notices (auto generated likely) from Honda Malaysia for my daughters Honda City and everytime we make a call to Honda SC, they say no stock la, can’t make appointment la, this la that la, trying to push the responsibility to us to beg them for a replacement

i really hope Honda malaysia gets sued badly for causing the death of this unfortunate lady

Boycott Honda la! They only care for themselves, u die your problem, after u die already HM will still blame u for not taking actions, how can the dead defend themselves?

Boycott Lousy Useless Honda Malaysia!!!

-BigBalls-

• Azizul on Jun 28, 2016 at 8:47 am

This i absurd. Instead of apology to the demise of the driver, Honda Malaysia condemning the victim for not taking action to change the airbag.
    What happened to me shows that its not about the car owner fault, it is the lack of after sales management.
    I received a letter last November 2015 for replacement, thru HZN Cars Glenmarie they only arrange for replacement for my vehicle on February 2016. However, a day before the set date HZN Cars called me to cancel due to no parts. WTH, after 3 months time, 24 hours before the schedule replacement they canceled without giving next appointment.
    After another 4 months of silenced by HZN cars, i called to follow up and only to noticed that Accord 2.4 2005 is not affected. Why on earth HM send me a letter to replace the airbag in the first place????
    After clarifying with HM directly, then i was told again that my vehicle is affected. However no arrangement of appointment made due to insufficient of stock.
    what if similar incident happened to Ms Norazlin happening to me. Is HM also playing the same card all over again???

• Shaekey on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:00 am

“what if similar incident happened to Ms Norazlin happening to me. Is HM also playing the same card all over again???”

Most probably yes. They will highlight that they’ve sent the letter for recall “and the company says that its records indicate that the recall repair was never completed.” …conveniently left out the owner’s multiple efforts in trying to make the appointment for the recall.

• Mohd Faiz on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:07 am

I suggest we just get a mercedes benz in the meantime.

• LittleMin on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Disable your airbag for temporary. No airbag during accident is definitely safer than a over-exploded airbag that could take your life!

• karam singh on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Recall does not necessarily means replace. It can also mean inspect. Don’t get it wrong. The success of Lexus in the USA in 1990 was just because of complaint about cigarette light malfunction and Lexus recall all LS400 to inspect.

• Honda services center sucks

• C. P. MOHAN on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:47 am

Which owner HONDA, current or previous?.

• Why.... on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:00 am

Why if the foreign car good, puji brand or company. then if the foreign car no good, bash gomen pulak….ha..ha… double standard punya brain..

• Ayooooo, this page is full of excuses lah. Look, there’s a grenade in your steering wheel, in front of your face. Letter or not, get it done. Just go there and insist it gets done because your stupid life is at risk. Stop making bloody excuses…no letter lah, take too long lab..bla bla bla. You’re the consumer. You have the power. If your life is in danger, don’t let any excuse get in the way. Lazy la all of you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • azrai on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:15 am

To all affected Honda owners. Take your cars and parked it at Honda Service Centre until they manage to fix it. Thank god Honda Cub doesn’t have any airbag.

• Summer on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:22 am

Can the Malaysian authorities enforce all car dealers (new / second hand) to make mandatory declaration of the airbag supplier of the car before purchase? As I understand many car buyers are unaware of the Takada airbags being installed not just in Honda, but other brands including VW.

• azrai on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Takada airbag is for pre Myvi Perodua models only. The have no airbag or ‘tak ada’ airbag’.

• Keep delaying and blame owners for not changing killer airbag fast enough is the worst excuse and should not be protected at all by any law as they are putting millions of life at stake because of the faulty products they have sold! This is an example of irresponsible company simply worst than WV’s cheating case…

• old horse on Jun 28, 2016 at 5:35 pm

the DSG of VW brought them to ground locally, and thats not life threatening…THIS is..and i wonder if people still buying Honda if they still not giving official announcement..

yup, sayonara Honda,,,,life is more valuable than owning a Honday

• Rakyat Tercinta on Jun 28, 2016 at 5:39 pm

grab popcorn. bukan selalu dapat tengok honda kena hentam. better proton rosak power window daripada rosak airbag sampai nyawa pun terbang.

• ezani on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:32 pm

dont drive honda..exploding airbag..not worth the risk..u terlanggar parking kerb..u die…u terlanggar biwak also u DIE!

• ezani on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:37 pm

dont drive honda..exploding airbag..not worth the risk..u terlanggar parking kerb..u die…u terlanggar biwak also u DIE! h ha ah bengs so proud of their hondas..now staring at the own death…in the steering wheel…

• Phillip Tan on Jun 29, 2016 at 12:45 am

When can the concerned honda owners get their airbags changed?

Hearsay that some car manufacturers are claiming that affected owners are not proactively taking the recalls seriously.

Now I call upon all affected owners to copy and paste this message and spread the information pertaining the recalls to those who are not aware.

Life matters. Question is, when can we get our airbags changed?

Please copy, paste & share even if you don’t own a honda as other car manufacturers using related takata airbags are also affected.

Again, when can I get my airbags changed?

• Dolly Lee on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:21 am

My mum had sold her HOnda JAzz and my dad is still driving his HOnda CRV.. We have been a good supporter of HOnda for the past 10years.

Now, here comes the problem, and i have alot of concerns and why(ssssssssss) on the HONDA & TAKATA COMBO. Before I commit myself on another HOnda Car.

HOnda keep on making statements that they care about the car owners life and urge we all make appointment to change the FAULTY TAKATA AIRBAGS as soon as possible!

Dear HOnda – If u really care –

1) WHY ? For so many years ! The TAKATA AIRBAGS had cost so many life , and HONDA done nothing more about it apart from recall to change the airbags ?

2) WHY ? HOnda ald know the problem for the past 10 years , and yet still installing the TAKATA AIRBAGS on HOnda Cars ?

http://blog.caranddriver.com/massive-takata-airbag…/

IS IT DUE TO IGNORANCE ? I PERSONALLY FEEL THAT YOU HONDA DOESN’T CARE AT ALL !

MORE THAN 11 DEATH CAUSED BY THE FAULTY AIRBAGS !
    AND THE TRAGEDY HAPPENED FEW DAYS AGO WAS THE 4TH IN MALAYSIA !

http://www.cnbc.com/…/exploding-takata-air-bag-kills…

Now that my dad’s HONDA CRV is still waiting for the FAULTY AIRBAGS to be change. I have more questions.

1) WHO’s responsibility will it be , if before the changes , accident happen , and something serious happen to my dad ?

2) Should my dad still driving his car at the moment ? If he is still driving his car , it will be like he is HAVING A GUN POINTING AT HIM WHEN HE IS DRIVING ! EVERYDAY !

3) Can we disable the FAULTY AIRBAGS ? Which i have read from a few blogs, its strictly not recommended to do so because AIRBAGS are create and installed in our car to save life. NOT TO KILL !

DOnt just keep saying that Honda have SMS or CALL or SENT LETTERS to all owners with the affected Honda models , and appointment need to be make.

Even if Honda gonna change the airbags for all cars , WHAT AIRBAGS ARE YOU GONNA USE TO REPLACE THE FAULTY ONES ? TAKATA AGAIN ? IF YES , THEN YOU ARE JUST JOKING WITH OUR LIFE AGAIN !

If you say YES OUR CAR WILL BE REPLACE WITH A NEW TAKATA AIRBAGS , THEN I WILL GET MY DAD TO SELL HIS CAR AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AND I WILL FORGET ABOUT BUYING A HONDA AGAIN IN THE FUTURE…..

• These so called emails are just rubbish.
    For the past 1 year since the 2015 announcement, I have been trying to get my vehicles fixed.
    Latest is today – no stock the service center claimed.
    What is the purpose of sending email recalls if there is no stock to fix.
    Biggest hypocrite – HONDA MALAYSIA

• Jukey on Jun 30, 2016 at 10:45 am

What about recond car?how to know our car also affected..

• Alex Kuek on Jul 01, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Got my letter yesterday…immediately go Honda Service Center, they say no stock till after 15 July. Called another service center. Same Story. So what happens now that we are the ones waiting and Honda doesnt have stock? Is honda liable if anything happens in between?