Uber defined as illegal, service banned by Sabah CVLB

uber-cash-payment

Uber is finding no joy in Sabah – the ride-sharing service has only been operating in Kota Kinabalu for less than a month, but has now been banned by the Sabah Commercial Vehicles Licensing Board (CVLB), The Star reports.

The CVLB said that it viewed the transportation network company as nothing more than a mobile application-based “pirate” cab service. “We want to treat everyone fairly including existing taxi drivers. And just like conventional unregistered taxi services, it is illegal,” Sabah CVLB chairman Datuk Raime Unggi said.

He said that Uber only began operations in Kota Kinabalu last month, but taxi drivers in the city were already feeling threatened by the new player. Raime added that Kota Kinabalu Taxi Operators Association representatives had met him and voiced their objections about Uber, and had asked the authorities to consider blocking the ride-sharing service’s smartphone application as a way of stopping it.

Though the Sabah CLVB will look at regulating Uber so that participating drivers can offer the rides legally, Raime said that any changes will only come about after a study by the Land and Public Transport Commission (SPAD) on Uber and other ride-sharing services. He also said that the CVLB was aware of the need to improve public transport services in the state.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:53 am

i drive hilux 2.8G to take passenger at airport

• Taxi drivers feeling threatened? Do they want some tampons?

• Sabah taxi drivers r the worst. Don’t beleive me pls try it urself fr a wonderful exp of sabah taxi…wlcome to sabah hahaa bad rep fr sabahan n the solution shld be uber but…

• Black Dog on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:28 am

Taxis are the worst in Sabah. A 5 minute ride to the airport cost Rm10.00! I think not only taxi drivers but all the way up have a hand in ripping off passengers. That’s why they ban Uber that’s threatening their dirty money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Frize on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:45 am

Yes..totally agree..need to upgrade service for all public transport in Sabah..CLVB, work harder..

• There’s not even a proper bus service in Sabah, only cramped crowded vans and overpriced taxis

• franz chong on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:44 pm

I would like to ask how is the safety with the vans in that part of the world.It was after an accident in Vanuatu recently that saw some lives lost this had me thinking should more be done safety wise in regards to the vehicles used in parts of Asia too.

• So quick to ban. But how fast are they to improve service? Rakyat didahulukan or taxi monopoly didahulukan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • orang biasa on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:10 pm

itu sabah taxi company own private company punya or conney? Itu datuk siapa! suka suka publish kata haram ban uber/grab.

• Sabah is now 1st world thinking just like France. Hopefully Sarawak will join them as well and ban Uber. Better than 3rd world thinking peninsular trying to legalise Uber. SPAD dun wan to be like 1st world France.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 61
    • Wow John, you write the same sort of nonsense on any article about Uber. You must be one of those cabbies sitting under trees waiting for the next tourist to rip rm100 notes to go from bukit bintang to KLCC. These cabbies are worse than pirates. They’re daylight robbers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • If u wanna be 3rd world like Gabon then its ur and SPAD choice. I wanna be 1st world like France. U jelly for not being 1st world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
        • Are you 12? You can’t even talk like mentally challenged kid from a 3rd world country!

• Lee ignore that OKU john…that boy never been to sabah & obviously has the same metality of corrupt sabah minister

• Nasi Lemak gomen on Jun 27, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Just another retard like BN!

• kimochidesuneh on Jun 27, 2016 at 4:45 pm

wake up John, dont just sleep in the cab and claim this as malaysia kebudayaan and shout like a barbarian when uber take over the market

• Stupid monkey.. Taxi fares in KK is bloody expensive.. From tanjung aru to town centre will cost you between 25-30 bucks one way.. So if you are staying somewhere there, to get a decent meal in town you need to pay 50-60 ringgit for a 30 ringgit meal.. This Sabah CVLB been sleeping on the job all this while and suddenly when UBER set their foot, they suddenly wake up…. Idiots

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 27, 2016 at 7:48 pm

not mention terminal kk to tuaran… or tuaran to penampang you need go kk then take bus to penampang

• sabahan on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:57 pm

This is ridiculous. Ban Uber is only helping taxi’s to suka suka priced their ride. This is not treating everyone fair, but bias to taxi driver only.
    RM40 from Airport to KK center, less than 10 mins ride, fair price?
    Installed meter but it is only a decoration, to show this is taxi, you never know if it is functioning.
    And CVLB, if you are free enough, please make sure all the buses stop only at bus stop, NOT AT THE JUNCTION!!!!!

• Visitor on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:02 pm

If that is the case, then CVLB Sabah must ensure that registered taxi drivers charge reasonably (and I challenge them to offer rates as low as Uber’s). Afterall, public interest at large must be considered. If not, then we should keep pressing for alternative services like Uber to continue operating.

• DPCraft on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Sad case, ppl in sabah remain ripped off by taxis.

• Faidz on Jun 29, 2016 at 9:57 am

Funny.. they tend to protect taxi driver income..supposely they should listen to what customer want.. #BANDTAXIDRIVER

• Haters gonna hate haha.. I support uber anyways