Kejara and AWAS will be implemented by this year

Click to enlarge Kejara penalty details

In a report by The Sun Daily, the new Kejara demerit points system and an improved version of the Awareness Automated Safety System (AWAS) is expected to be implemented by the Government this year.

According to Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, both systems will come into effect once they have received the Cabinet’s approval. “We will implement the AWAS and Kejara system together,” he said, although no expected starting date was revealed.

He added that these systems are related to amendments made to the Road Transport Act 1987, which was tabled back in May. Its enforcement however, was postponed due to technical problems, delaying the implementation of the aforementioned systems.

On a separate matter, ‘Ops Bersepadu’, which was launched by Liow, will be ongoing from June 29 until July 13. During the nationwide operation, bus drivers will be required to undergo urine tests, and enforcement officers will also carry out spot checks on buses.

Additionally, speed limits on federal roads will be reduced from 90 km/h to 80 km/h while the maximum speed for state roads will be dropped to from 80 km/h to 70 km/h. Motorists are also advised to not use their mobile phones while driving, and to obey the traffic rules.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:48 am

Every year also say same thing. Every year also delayed. then few years time, they say, cameras outdated, need another few billion to upgrade the cameras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Albert on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Kunta
      THe REASON why no motorist ever care to give a damn to the DEMERIT SYSTEM is ,the FLIP FLOP DECISION of the authorities.
      The AES was terminated,but gomen got to compensate the operator miilions of RM.
      Then,we have the perennial proBlem of DISCOUNTS for accumulated unpaid summons.Who wants to pay now?
      By the time this new system is activated,something will happen…and then gomen steps in and compensate the aggrieved party again.
      THis is called EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN.It never ends.
      The British Immigration officer asked Mat Sabu,”What happened to your country ?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Albert is Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Albert=Kunta Kinte

Why replying to your own dupe?
        You must be too high of drugs

• proofme on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Proof? Else you talk kok

• He too free cuz nobody coming into his toyota showroom. So he shiok sendiri by upping his like counts.

• Hahahaha! The brits oso flip flop. Sometimes wan in, suddenly wan out, now come out alredi, soon regret and wan to go back in.

Ur colonial overlords now tabouleh pakai alredi!

• paparadzi (Member) on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:57 am

“Additionally, speed limits on federal roads will be reduced from 90 km/h to 80 km/h….”
    Assuming I’m driving at 88 km/h and there is no traffic, will it be dangerous?

• bodoh betul menteri, how not to use our phones? Emergency call what to do? Oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Move to the side of the road. Go to SG and see whether you can be otp while driving.

• lao yee on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:34 am

Malaysia road accident not purely caused by motorist speed, the authorities and government didn’t use brain to analyze. Our eyes always need to take note the floor for pot holes, which not just cause damage on car but also may cause accident to the motorcyclist. The increasing of stray dogs as well which currently seems like lack of control by local authorities. And always we seen there is not proper road planning, 4 lanes narrow become 2 lanes, or suddenly to turning point. A more efficient public transport which come too late, limited to certain Klang valley causing all Malaysians a must to own a vehicle. Unlike other successful nation where citizens not necessary buy a car or bike to travel efficiently. It affects the numbers of road accident. Also a well planned pedestrian walkway is not a compulsory when developing a new residential area.

• what if the car been speeding and get AES….owner didnt drive the car….so the demerit point will deducted from the owner????

nowdays they will also check ur tyres….phewww

• lobang ma on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:00 pm

how much our money was used to paid AES? now new system again? new system new lobang loh, u know i know la…

• Sick&Tired on Jun 28, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Wow! 10 km/h drop in speed! What a great idea! Thousands , no make it millions of lives will be saved! Brilliant la our ministers!

• what a joke, 1km/j deduct 5 points ??? up slope and down slope no allowance ? is 110km/j the max ? not even 1km/j extra ! clearify this grey answer

• Dear leader says we dun need to care and we can speed as much and as high as we wan cuz his cronies will cover all AES cameras. Hidup Dear Leadah! Matilah Kitah!

• Mutusamy Muruku on Jun 28, 2016 at 6:38 pm

relek la…..semua ok nanti.
    If kena saman, sure can kawtim. So no worries, ok?

• Ini mesti salah Gov coz no population control during Raya