Carmakers still using defective Takata airbags in the US – Fiat Chrysler, Mitsubishi, Toyota, Volkswagen

airbag

Over in the US, a congressional report authored by Senator Bill Nelson has revealed that at least four carmakers are still selling or have plans to sell new vehicles equipped with Takata-made, non-desiccated ammonium-nitrate inflators – the type of inflator that will be subject to recall by the end of 2018 (in the United States) and that has been responsible for several deaths and injuries.

According to NPR, Fiat Chrysler, Mitsubishi, Toyota and Volkswagen admitted they’ve been installing the airbags – which featured ammonium nitrate inflators without a chemical drying agent – in new vehicles. Five vehicles were named in the report – the 2016 Mitsubishi i-MiEV, 2017 Mitsubishi i-MiEV, 2016 Volkswagen CC, 2016 Audi TT and 2017 Audi R8.

As a recap, ammonium nitrate serves as a propellant in the inflators. When subjected to moisture and heat over time, the propellant can be rendered unstable, and can cause the airbag inflators to explode with excessive force, spraying metal shrapnel inside the car. A drying agent, known as desiccant is meant to prevent the build-up of moisture.

According to the report, the Consent Order issued by the US Department of Transport’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) currently permit carmakers to continue selling new vehicles equipped with desiccated and non-desiccated Takata inflators.

Takata Honda NSX

Only if Takata is unable to prove that its airbag inflators are safe will the NHTSA issue an order requiring Takata to declare all desiccated ammonium-nitrate inflators as defective. Even so, the Amended Consent Order requires that all vehicles equipped with non-desiccated inflators be declared defective and recalled by the end of 2018.

The report also said that non-desiccated Takata inflators are still being produced and installed in recalled vehicles. The Amended Consent Order does not prohibit automakers from using replacement inflators manufactured by Takata, including non-desiccated inflators.

These replacement inflators are a temporary remedy that is, according to NHTSA, at least in the short term, safer than the old recalled inflators. All of these replacement inflators will eventually have to be recalled by December 31, 2019, according to NHTSA’s Amended Consent Order.

Finally, Nelson also points out that the recall completion rates for faulty Takata-made airbag inflators remains unacceptably low. Data in the report revealed that the nationwide recall completion rates for 11 individual automakers ranged from 0.04% to 39.5%. Various factors like the inability to contact vehicle owners, change of ownership, scrapping have been attributed to the results.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Please stop sell the cars with defective airbags.

Manufacturers are installing them right now and knowing those airbags have to be recalled by 2018. What is the logic in their brains?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 29, 2016 at 7:18 pm

money?

• no solid cars on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:45 am

Most cars been designed to so light-weight with soft steels. They are all depending on other features such as the airbags to work together to maximize safety. Therefore is no surprise that this strike the Japanese first

• life is cheap on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:48 am

The more expensive you pay. The heavier car you get. Normal la

• Someone said something about willing buyer, willing seller or something like that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:09 am

At least in the US, Congress and Senate are aware of this and now trying to take action. This is because Government there is independant of the car manufacturers.

In Malaysia, nearly ALL car manufacturers are government linked or majority government owned. So, our Government won’t bother investigating car companies because it will affect their (Government) profits.

Look at Honda scandal also, even the lady can mati also, Government don’t bother to investigate and open an inquiry on ALL airbags. All have tidak apa attitude.

• Kunta Mamak on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:02 pm

http://paultan.org/2016/06/30/jpj-offers-assistance-in-tracing-vehicles-for-airbag-recall/

Wei Mamak! Stop spreading lies. As much as incapable our Government is, some do their job as supposed to. Seems like all your comments reeks of politics. Ptuuiii

• I will just leave this here for u to cry
        http://paultan.org/2016/06/30/jpj-offers-assistance-in-tracing-vehicles-for-airbag-recall/

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:05 pm

I’m also worried about my latest gen honda city. Can anyone in the know confirm the city is still using takata?

• Its still using takata. Congrats u have a gun pointed at u.

• Mangali Jiao on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:22 am

My foreman asked me to disable it , new or old honda, city or not city model, just be safe.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:59 pm

Takata good. Takda kata. No word to say.

• nosushi on Jun 30, 2016 at 5:35 am

Because they worship jepunis overlord so they cannot persoal it still in use or not

Your call, you buy you die.

• my Mitsubishi triton just replace new airbag today at 3s center by recall, takut mati….

• So let me get this straight, even the replacement propellant canisters are a stop gap measure to provide a lesser of 2 evils kinda thing?

Why are the world’s governments allowing this to happen? Sister wants to get a Jazz over the weekend. Might just tell her to look somewhere else. My Mazda is a literally a time bomb but have arranged a replacement already.

I understand ‘defects’ are unavoidable in manufacturing regardless of the reputation of the OEM or carmaker. However, if said defect is needlessly costing lives, it’s a very very serious matter.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 30, 2016 at 10:11 am

Thats because in cold and dry Canada (or the American snow belt north), this is probably not an issue at all. But in Malaysia, Yes its a big deal, after a few years. Brand new its not a problem, as the chemical composition is still stable . Hopefully, these cars don’t get sold in Malaydia. But I do believe the TT and R8 is already available here.