Lewis Hamilton wants his own Mercedes-AMG GT LH

Der neue Mercedes-AMG GT R: Entwickelt in der „Grünen Hölle“

Now that Lewis Hamilton has returned to civilisation after seeking out the “Beast of the Green Hell” in an unknown jungle, the three-time Formula 1 world champion has expressed his intentions to design a special edition of the Mercedes-AMG GT sports car.

Speaking to Top Gear, Lewis said he is already in talks with AMG boss Tobias Moers on the possibility of his own limited-edition GT. “When they first brought the AMG GT R to me I had all these ideas! I was talking to Tobias, “you’ve got all this F1 technology, and you’ve got the world champion driving your car, let’s do something together.”

“At some stage I want to do my own car with them, like a GT LH or something like that. A limited edition series, which I can test, which I can setup, and which I can have a real hands-on approach with the design. When they eventually give me the budget to do so!” he added.

Just how Hamilton plans to spec a GT LH remains to be seen. The recently-unveiled GT R (again, not the Nissan model) is already quite the potent beast. Aside from the uprated 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8, now producing 577 hp and 699 Nm of torque, the GT R also benefits from several chassis and aero improvements.

In the same Top Gear interview, Lewis explained what he enjoys in road cars. “I’m always waiting for the new and next thing to come out, always about that sexy look. So it’s the look, the sound, and I’m always looking for horsepower. Everyone wants big horsepower.” A sign of things to come then?

GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG GT R

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 29, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Why don’t Lewis Hamilton buy a Proton? After all, our Ministers said Proton is BETTER than Volvo and BMW. Thus, it should mean, it is better than a Mercedes too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • samelordupe on Jun 29, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Kunta is back with his banal comment to stir up pipu expanding his tali barutness to next level.

• Dun mind him. At least it gip him something to do other than to snore in vios cuz nobody comes to his toyota showroom.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 29, 2016 at 1:50 pm

I think his LaFerrari looks better, though it is in higher (hypercar) league.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 29, 2016 at 5:36 pm

i want one in purple

• Max V on Jul 01, 2016 at 1:56 am

First he need to know his own steeringwheel and his options before he even thinks of designing an AMG :-)