BBC Top Gear: LeBlanc issues “him or me” ultimatum following more friction with Evans – report

Top Gear trailer-04

Top Gear in its most remembered format with Hammond, May, and Clarkson was always going to be a tough act to follow, and the reboot has already weathered tough times with viewers from its first episode which aired at the beginning of this month.

The latest to emerge from the BBC show’s cast is presenter Matt LeBlanc’s frustration with lead host Chris Evans, with the former allegedly planning to quit the TV show if the latter is not removed from the team first. This allegedly took place ahead of filming for the second series of the show in its current format, which is due to begin in September.

Live viewers for last week’s episode numbered just 2.34 million, compared to the lowest reached by the previous team of hosts led by Jeremy Clarkson, at 2.37 million viewers. “The team does not gel and the atmosphere between presenters is frosty,” an unidentified source told The Sun on Sunday. “Matt’s indicated he won’t continue on any further series if Chris remains. He is far from the only one who is not happy,” the source added.

The BBC told The Telegraph it would not comment on those claims. Meanwhile, a spokesperson for LeBlanc denied the claims, saying there were “no discussions”. The show’s executive producer, Lisa Clark, quit at the end of last year amid claims of Evans’ tyrannical ways, with one source alleging the presenter thought he could “trample over anyone”. The BBC has denied claims of such bullying.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• abg gagah on Jun 29, 2016 at 9:34 am

simple, bring back the “three stooges”

• Notdumbperson on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:47 am

Dude.. Are you still using internet explorer ? That three dude already had their own show grand tour… Top gear fired jeremy In the first place and they will not coming back to topgear anymore.. BBC is done

• albag on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:11 am

this show has become redundant without Clarkson & the gang… Chris Evans voice sounds like pondan making the whole show looks sissy… perhaps the 2.34 million viewers are sissies too… BBC is digging its own grave on this motor show… let them rot in hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Obamama on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:16 am

Chris Evans is annoying. But even if he is removed, the show is just like Top Gear US with Matt LeBlanc being the lead host with dropping numbers of viewers.

• Bullying is everywhere

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:31 am

Why don’t BBC employ a Malaysian instead of Chris Evans or Le Blanc? Ooops, I forgot, the Malaysian might sleep on the job! And Perkasa and MAS Union boss will come and say that it is OK to sleep on the job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 42
    • Yes, lets bring back the white supremacist bigot.

Since he is gweilo so his vrooming is acceptable cuz he is Brexit colonial overlords, therefore cannot persoal otherwise u will potong my kepla to up ur talibarutness, isnt that right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • nabill (Member) on Jun 29, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Do u keep refreshing the page in order to give urself as much ‘like’ as possible?? Seems like a VW cheatcode to me!
      Back to TG, both of these guys are hardly car guys, bt they have such a big ego…. Bound to clash… Sorry to say, TG have been very irrelevant since the original one went out….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 29, 2016 at 3:25 pm

nabil, are you jeles if many people like my comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
        • nabill (Member) on Jun 29, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Nop.. Looks suspicious.. Abit too obvious!
          I have a life so im not here collecting likes… :D

• I just gave u 20 dislikes. As if nobody dun know how to jig it.

• rkbella on Jun 29, 2016 at 3:56 pm

watched the shows, the only guys I really loved to listen was Chris Harris and Roy Reid. Chris, Matt Leblanc are not technically opinionated or really good drivers. Their voices droning will put you to sleep. Keep Chris, Roy as program leads they might havea winner. Videography is still top notch.

• Jimcan on Jul 02, 2016 at 6:03 am

Get the team from the allegedly newly defunct Fifth Gear to take over TG. Should have has VBH there from the start.