200 taxi drivers stage Uber/Grab protest in Penang

Malaysia-Taxi-02

The Chief Minister getting arrested wasn’t the only commotion to happen in Georgetown yesterday. Some 200 taxi drivers gathered at Penang’s Esplanade for a four-hour strike and protest against the legalising of Uber and Grab, The Star reports. They then convoyed to Komtar, the airport, Eastin Hotel and the Sungai Nibong bus terminal.

Penang Taxi Associate Association secretary Mohamad Shahimi Hadzri appealed to the Prime Minister to do something to prevent the taxi industry from collapsing.

“We ask that the government take our plight into consideration. Our income has gone down 70% since Uber and GrabCar started operating in Penang. The government needs to remember that we are also voters here in Penang. Taxi drivers used to earn over RM200 a day but now, we barely earn RM50 a day. How can we survive like this?” he said, adding that if Sabah could ban the app-based ride hailing services, Penang should follow suit.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 2

“We will also be filing a police report similar to the one filed by the Kuala Lumpur Taxi Association against Uber and GrabCar as well as another police report against former minister Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar for his stint as an Uber driver,” he added, referring to the former minister in the PM’s department, who ferried people to “try to feel the pulse of the public”.

Cabbies like P. Gunasegaran, 40, who has been a taxi driver for 14 years, are struggling. “Before both these services came along, I used to earn RM250 a day and now, there are days when we don’t even earn anything. Some taxi drivers have to pay rental for their vehicles on top of fuel. On average, car rental and fuel will cost up to RM110 a day,” he explained.

S. Valayutham, 42, who owns a radio call taxi company, said that the rise of Uber would create social problems. He said that Uber drivers with their big expensive cars were not doing it for the money, but only to meet women.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dr Vida on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:01 am

I am sponsoring 200 goodie bags for the disgruntled cabbies. It’s a month’s supply of facial whitening products to give our cabbies some glow while protesting. Nothing can go wrong with white cabbies right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • “The government needs to remember that we are also voters here in Penang.”

Taxi drivers are all bodo bangang. Why don’t they vote for BN instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Betui. Cuz they voted supreme CM, so Gov dun gip an F to them. Now they wanna cry to Gov. Why dun they cry to dramasamy lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • Same L00 on Jun 30, 2016 at 3:41 pm

If they wear BN flags there, they have high chance to get whatever they want. Malaysia looks on political party, not justice.

• There you learning something. Those that support BN will get what they want while those who oppose BN will be get rid of like LGE. Smart pipu know who to vote

• Adamant on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:50 am

You must be psychologically wounded in the brain to be continuously going around leaving naive comments by impersonating a person whose just as brainless as you are. Well done!

• When RBAs ran out of ideas, brains, and balls, they impersonate others just to run us down. Bunch of clowns who cant even save their supreme CM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
        • Raphael on Jun 30, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Your otak mmg tak betul. Your hatred only shows your stupidity. What does this got to do with supreme CM?

• OMG…ask SPAD faster solve this issue for u all, u attack Uber or protest also useless 1.

• RM250x30 days = rm7500? Omg. How much of that is by using the meter?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • Yokohama24 on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:16 am

While taxi drivers are busy protesting, Grab and Uber drivers are busy doing their services. Carry on protesting, better for them Uber and Grab drivers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
  • youdontsay on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:17 am

Protex la.
    people definitely go for cheaper ride to same destination.
    why give you earn so much when you dont even bother to turn on goddaxm meter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:24 am

Its a constantly evolving world. Some things are bound to be replaced by others, as humans come up with more advanced technologies. Wait till autonomous cars become prevalent. Neither cabbies nor Uber/Grab drivers will be working anymore then. Cos the car will drive itself to wherever the passenger wants to go. After that, Uber drivers and cabbies can combine forces and protest against Google.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • IrizX on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Google aka Skynet will send Terminators to terminate all cabbies/uber/grabcar drivers.

• Uber and Grab are haram. Why don’t Dear Leader in Penang do something about it? Ini semua salah LGE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
    • Some are programmed or brainwashed robots. They can’t help it.

• OrgSusah on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:38 am

Uber and Grab are haram, allmost taxi driver haram jadah.

• C. P. MOHAN on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:53 am

Opportunity to be an “entrepreneur” not “slave” or maybe the protest is actually from the so-called “entrepreneur”.

• firdaus on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:55 am

already informed all my Uber friends to prepare weapons in their vehicles just in case crazy taxi drivers buat kacau. enough is enough, dont challenge us! you come kacau us again, we will make sure your wont reach home at night!

• SelfAware on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:01 pm

For your info, charges for taxi in Penang is SUPER HIGH, not reasonable at all. It can be one time or two times higher than Uber charges. Dear taxi, please look into the mirror.

• cabby driver on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:06 pm

i stop driving taxi and join uber with my new perodua axia…income problem solved. my protest when i can earn better? =D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • mfhasbullah on Jul 01, 2016 at 1:43 am

One of the cabbies mentions that the cost of rental and fuel is upto RM110 per day. Assuming 22 working days a month, that’s RM2,400/month in cost. I don’t see how that makes any sense. It is my understanding that taxi cars are excise duty free. And these are old Proton cars. Comparatively, one can own a new Honda City (with excise duty and GST on top) and the cost of ownership will barely reach RM1,500/month accounting for loan repayment, fuel, insurance, maintenance, and tyres.

Either this guy is talking rubbish or the taxi system is seriously f’ed up.

• mr1031 on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:14 pm

nasib la labu..even retailers are having a hard time because of online shopping..but they adapt..taxi companies & drivers?? NO..they only complain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Exactly, 99speedmart is killing many small convenience stores, but did they go to 99speedmart destroy their stuffs?

For things to change, one must change first. You don’t want to change, the changes will force you to change. Please improve yourself before you go hoo ha and looks like a joker to the world.

• Only one thing don’t change: BN

It will always have control of Malaysia

• Association lagi? All these persatuan, gabungan persatuan-persatuan always have something to protek, protes and diperjuangkan. These people will form persatuan wherever they go or whatever they do. Afraid to act alone and stay behind persatuan.

• LGE mana… oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Support taxi = anti Uber = anti SPAD = anti Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • kereta_lembu on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:40 pm

It is one thing to protest and get your voice heard but another thing to be professional at your job. There is a meter in every taxi for a reason. For years many irresponsible taxi drivers had the luxury to rip off their customers and even gave a bad name to the country by cheating tourists. Out of all the protest, is there even any mention that they will improve their service or match the price that Uber or Grabcar are offering? They just want to get rid of Uber and Grabcar so that they go back to cheating their customers. I do pity the taxi drivers, I really do BUT only the good and honest ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • mikasa on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:42 pm

just stop driving taxi and join uber or grab car…be smart…took the chance/piece of cake laa

• oh mak lu cina on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Their car too substandard for uber / grabcar. Everyone see their car coming all cancel. Sama will be no income. hahahahah!

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Jul 03, 2016 at 8:29 pm

u think they want to join? Uber won’t allow them to charge the passengers without using meter. taxi drivers that use meter could either still doing okay or driving for Uber already.

• ShitTaxi on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:45 pm

I’ll boycott you until your service is better than Uber/Grab

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • RicoT on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:50 pm

“The government needs to remember that we are also voters here in Penang.”

Uber/Grabcar drivers are voters too. LOL!

• Face palm on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:27 pm

They obviously do not know how voting works. And we vote with our money and if taxis aren’t getting business, they are not getting the money votes.

• Ben yap on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Drive their big cars to meet women. Lol… joke of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • kimochidesuneh on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:54 pm

puasa but still thinking about hot hot sexy sexy wear short short girls. otak sperm

• Observing on Jul 02, 2016 at 8:53 pm

I’m pretty sure Mr. S Valuyatham is an Indian fellow and is not fasting.

• I m innocent man on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Mr S.V….You talk about social problem? …Uber drivers are not as pervert as you thought…

• 200 barbarians gathered at Penang’s Esplanade talk cock sing song.

• Ravi Kumar on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Uber drivers meeting women???/ Wakakakaka!!!!!!!! This is a good one

• Angel on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Maybe if they use the meter people would use them. They don’t use the meter, overcharge like hell, then blame Uber and Grab for “stealing” their income? Pui.

• Sepot Reem on Jun 30, 2016 at 2:48 pm

nowadays, with this immoral behavior, who’s gonna be your customers? mosquitoes and flies only la…
    why don’t all this scumbag ditch your cab and change to uber/grabcar?
    less bureaucracy, more income.

• Yokohama24 on Jun 30, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Tahu cakap orang lain “haram” sendiri tak haram ke? Tipu duit orang lain tak guna meter tak haram ke?
    Sentiasa protest protest block jalan jalan semua menganggu pemandu lain tak haram ke?

• Yokohama24 on Jun 30, 2016 at 4:50 pm

I personally don’t think Uber and Grab car is the main cause of collapsing the taxi industry.

I strongly believe it is the attitude of the uncivilized taxi drivers which are causing the taxi industry in Malaysia to collapse.

Which also cause those civilized taxi drivers ( who follow the law using meter, being polite, drive safely, no scam, clean and tidy taxi) to lose their business because of the perception the uncivilized taxi drivers have created towards the public.

• Aaron on Jun 30, 2016 at 5:16 pm

You must be service orientated in order to be competent! My supplier was charged RM40 for a mere 3km ride from hotel to my office. The f**king taxi driver didn’t even want to turn on the meter even my supplier requested for it, citing that peak hours, difficulty to call a taxi, etc etc. I introduced Grab app to him and the next day, he told me he was charged only RM12 even though the meter showed RM12.30. He was all happy. Please support Grab and Uber until the taxi drivers improve their service!

• Bernard on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Taxi drivers will never improve. Hold on to the grab number!

• Dollilo on Jul 02, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Monopoly is bad for cusmers, at least now we have choice : Ubber, Grab, Taxi last choice we have enough bad experience with Taxi Drivers, they have millions of reasons and excuses to get more out of their customers than the services they offer. Customers happy at lease the choice is customer privilage, public protest is not the best option for Taxi Drivers : polite, honesty, genuine, helpful, mileage or meter in use all the time, no go round and round to reach distination next street only. Customers have soft heart for any transport Divers, Ubber, Grab, Taxi if they experience good service. Please change your attitude etc to attract cusyomers, your luck does not drop from the sky. Customers are human they know who give a better service. Please don’t talk about votes, that is wrong, that is lift service. Everybody is voting include customers and Ubber, Grab, Taxi Drivers, secret and personal. Modern world no more old tricks, does not work anymore.

• malaizian on Jun 30, 2016 at 5:35 pm

never see McD protest when KFC, burger king, A&W or etc come to open their fast food market.

even now McD do even better to fight them back. this is call marketing competition. Cabbie should do this too. not think that we all should take cabbie.

we and also tourist has their own choices. we will choose your service if your service is cheaper and better than UBER and GRAB.

current attitude of you wont help yourself but just bring down your own business…

take this opportunity to join GRAB (previously know as MyTeksi). help bloom up your business instead of turn yourself protest like a monkey to ask Gov to give you Banana.

• jason on Jun 30, 2016 at 5:37 pm

>implying they vote for Pakatan in the first place. lel

with that sampah attitude they can all sau pei la

• Bernard on Jun 30, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Why are the taxi drivers complaining ? It is they themselves who have ruined their reputation !

The govt must support uber and grab. Please do it for the people.

These taxi drivers…are they not disturbing the peace etc? Arrest them

• Just stop driving taxi to protest