Continental introduces five-year tyre warranty programme – first in Malaysia, from date of purchase

Continental Tyre Malaysia 1

Continental Tyre Malaysia (CTM) has officially introduced a new, first-in-Malaysia five-year warranty programme, which is applicable from the tyre’s date of purchase rather than the date of manufacture, as was the case previously. Other tyre companies like Michelin, provide a six-year warranty but is only applicable from the date of manufacture.

The new warranty programme is an enhancement from Continental’s global standard warranty of two years from the date of purchase of all passenger light truck (PLT) tyres. PLT tyres refer to all vehicle tyres designed for passenger vehicles weighing three tonnes or less including radial motorcycles tyres. Basically, all non-commercial passenger cars and motorcycles.

For customers to qualify for the extended warranty, the date of purchase must be within five years of the date of manufacture. The warranty applies to all Continental, Dunlop and Viking PLT tyres sold within Malaysia, with the original receipt or proof of purchase. You can check out CTM’s warranty policy, here.

“We are proud to be the first tyre manufacturer in Malaysia to launch this five-year warranty from the date of purchase for our consumers. We are confident of the performance of our products against manufacturing defects that we decided to offer consumers this extended warranty.

“With this warranty programme, we aim to deliver the highest level of confidence and customer satisfaction and be the most trusted tyre supplier,” said Cameron Wilson, managing director of CTM.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ContiCivic10 on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Wow, this is good. How about the Conti tyres that come with a newly purchased car, like the new Malaysia 10th Gen Honda Civic? Will it be covered by this new program and if yes, would it follow the date the car was delivered and received by the customer?

• I’m going to buy 1 and home keep and observe it for 5 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Stock tyres wud follow OEM warranty which usually is 1 year for wear and tear items. Just like WD wud gip 3 year warranty on their HDD but only 1 year for OEM when u buy PC

• Civic10_Tyres on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Regarding the 5 years warranty for PLT tyres that covers starting from its purchase date, will this apply to car manufacturers’ provided tyres that comes with the new car? For example, I have seen the new 2016 Honda Civic 10th Generation in Malaysia that comes with factory fitted Conti tyres, will the warranty cover these? And if yes, when does the warranty starts? From the delivery date to customer? Kindly advise, thank you.

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:51 am

According to CTM, the company follows its global warranty policy which is 5 years from the date of manufacture of tyres for all OEM tyres.

• kereta_lembu on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Providing warranty is one thing, being able to claim is another. Just beware what the warranty covers as I’ve had experience a few years ago where the tyre was ripped and torn but upon complaining, all they could say is that they cannot come up with a reason why the tyre ripped and because it was so badly damaged, they cannot conclude that it was a manufacturing defect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • azrai on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:58 pm

I just bought Michelin tyres 2 months ago and they already have 6 years warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • azrai on Jun 30, 2016 at 3:12 pm

For Michelin’s warranty stated like this:-
      The original usable tread pattern is the original pattern down to the level of the tread pattern wear indicators – 1.6mm of tread pattern remaining. Date of purchase is documented by new vehicle registration (where the tyres were fitted on a new vehicle) or original tyre sales invoice. If there is no proof of purchase, the warranty will be based on the date of manufacture.

• Hayenadeblue on Jun 30, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Good info. This means that Michelin was the first. Not Continental!!! Yeah, just changed mine to Michelin PS3. 6 years warranty from the purchase date. Paultan, pls change ur article.

• azrai on Jul 01, 2016 at 7:46 am

The title is right because Michelin’s the first with 6 years warranty, while Continental’s the first for 5 years warranty. If Continentals’s give 6 years warranty then they are the second one. Word playing right? Marketing people..

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:38 am

Michelin Malaysia’s tyre warranty is for six years from the date of manufacture.

http://www.michelin.com.my/Buying-Guides/Warranty/

• So-so on Jun 30, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Yup. Same thing happened to me

• Walid al abbas on May 08, 2017 at 2:09 pm

Continental is a good brand ah? because i never try it before.. i just use a cikai brand but first hand lorrhh.. cant afford to buy a continental tyre for my car..

• raja naga on May 08, 2017 at 3:39 pm

hahahaha don’t worry about the price lorh u can survey at any workshop that give affordable prices at first i’m also cant afford to use continental but once i use it, i’m fall in love with their smoothness and easy to handle on the wet road..

• urbanmethod on May 10, 2017 at 4:08 pm

seriously bro??? continental is expensive bro!! how come u can afford to use that brand??!! i just use the cheapest n not a famous brand.. not only continental tires can use for all season so, why u have to waste ur money hahahaha

• Handsome boy on May 12, 2017 at 1:29 am

tayar cannot use no quality one…it’s your safety bro…continental is worth to secure your safety on wet road..

• Walid al abbas on May 12, 2017 at 2:47 pm

seriously bro? because im afraid that i cant afford to buy their tyre… but i already ask few continental workshops, their staff very helpful me to choose which model suitable with my car..

• gordon456 on May 10, 2017 at 3:04 pm

not really because one of my friends said that continental sometimes cant drive at the wet road .. so, he recommend me a dunlop for premium tyres and roadstone for budgeting tyres. both of this not bad too.. hehe

• taikotailor on May 10, 2017 at 4:55 pm

not really coz my friend said better use the budgeting brand than continental hahaha nothing different we have to buy a quality not the brand

• tayramayra on May 10, 2017 at 5:45 pm

i guess continental not good as michellin did becoz michellin got highly recommended until they got ads on TV….

• meriya on May 16, 2017 at 3:41 pm

act both brand is okay.but Michelin model quite expensive.but performance quite same conti also have their own loyal consumer.it designed to perform last longer and heard bout the grip also good on every surface.

• meriya on May 16, 2017 at 3:48 pm

act both tyre is good.but miche model quite expnsive.but still the prformance quite sme.i use conti,for now so sstisfied coz the tyre grip is so good esp on wet surface and what i know this tyre also design for prform long lsting.

• kerown on May 11, 2017 at 2:38 am

woowww is this promotion extends still in 2017??? My myvi recently punctured kena with some sharp thingy…five years seems very worth to have it!

• Manufacturer warranty bro not road hazard. Any tyre damage not related to manufacturing defect cannot claim la. Nail puncture, kena lubang, not enough air, blah blah blah kenot claim la

• Handsome boy on May 12, 2017 at 1:32 am

their customer service is good…I always buy this brand because of the quality of the tyre and good service

• Walid al abbas on May 12, 2017 at 2:51 pm

budgeting or cikai brands cannot use for long lasting bro.. i’m use a cikai tyre at least 7-9 months i need to change my tyre.. but when i use this brand, really2 love it!! i will recommend this brand to my family & friends..

• Nick.Jian on May 13, 2017 at 2:42 am

warranty from the date of purchase is better than manufactured…before this I bought old stock tayar…around 2 years need to change again…5 years warranty great enough!

• Rusli on May 13, 2017 at 2:44 am

wow five years warranty worth to get one….just wonder the warranty is one to one changing?

• atiqah on May 13, 2017 at 3:27 am

is this mean we can use a tayar for five years? I think i’m buying one tayar soon
    will take this opportunity to test the customer service and quality of this brand :)

• good info