Toyota GT86 Initial D Concept – modern day hachiroku

Initial-D-GT86-2016-1

Fans of the Initial D manga and anime series, here’s something for you. Toyota UK has finally reimagined the world-famous Toyota AE86 Sprinter Trueno for a new generation with this lovely creation, the Toyota GT86 Initial D Concept.

The special project is aimed to be a faithful homage to Takumi Fujiwara’s Corolla GT Coupe, starting with the manga car’s distinctive panda-style monochrome livery. The car also uses new versions of the same Japanese market components that were featured in the series.

Firstly, there’s the 17-inch, custom-made RS Watanabe alloy wheels attached to a TRD Sportivo suspension system (with a Cusco strut brace). Other nods to the panda 86 include a carbon-fibre bonnet, yellow-tinted fog lamps and a silver-painted engine cover that is a nod to the high-revving ‘Silver Top’ 4A-GE engine.

This attention to detail even extends to the car’s newly-added mud flaps, which were installed simply because they were found on the original Initial D car. The GT86’s boot lid spoiler has also been removed, and the rear lenses have been tinted. Carbon-fibre door handle protectors and mirror covers are fitted to add to replicate the black plastic material used on the AE86.

“Right from the start, the Toyota GT86 was developed as a car that would appeal to enthusiasts, whether in standard trim or as an exploitable base for further modifications,” said Joe Clifford from the Toyota UK’s special projects team.

“With this Initial D concept we not only acknowledge how important the AE86 was in influencing Toyota’s modern approach to sports cars but also demonstrate how the GT86 can be aesthetically and dynamically improved with relatively simple aftermarket accessories. But perhaps most of all, we just thought it was an achingly cool idea,” he continued.

It certainly is a cool idea, and to introduce the Toyota GT86 Initial D Concept to the world, Toyoto commissioned UK-based manga artist Sonia Leong to design a series of panoramic backdrops that effectively places the real GT86 into the manga. If you need some ideas for a modern day hachiroku, here’s got a good template to follow.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I always want to transport tofu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Manga fantasy again. GT86 is not even fast. Naik bukit terus kena tapao la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:45 am

Self-replying fantasy again. This not even fast GT86 can run donuts around your Proton

• volvo850 on Jun 30, 2016 at 8:35 pm

Proton yang tapao bila naik bukit la. My old, long gone gen2 1.3 cant get pass 10 on a decent hill

• hailthepurist on Jun 30, 2016 at 10:51 am

good luck not taken over by a bus at 4am..

• tokmoh. on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:40 am

This version of Takumi looks so ah beng, cannot re-draw original Takumi meh?

Anyway, nice concept. Fairly faithful to original panda in the manga.

Spoiler alert : this car appeared in final scene in Fifth stage. Cheeky producers, this car hasn’t existed in 90s, timeline of original manga.

• Notice the front of the car, it looks like Gen 2. Now you know why i still have my old Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • Fujiwara Bunta on Jun 30, 2016 at 10:28 am

How would the new Gt86 go head on the Subaru Impreza .. hmmm..

• pitan on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:25 am

i think if there’s any “reimagination” of any sort of manga, it should be done by the japanese themself & not coming from outside of japan.

• Really on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:57 am

GT86 facing off against RX-8, Civic Type R, Evo X, WRX STi, LF-A, NSX and GT-R. Would be interesting to see how the updated lineup of cars would fare in touge.

• mr1031 on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:13 pm

the current 86 doesn’t suit the fujiwara’s business..

• Ligor Queen on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Tofu business already closed shop decades ago. Now a days Takumi is a UBer transporter driving Prius

• kimochidesuneh on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:57 pm

i feel like a butterfly ‘steam’ like a beee

• volvo850 on Jun 30, 2016 at 8:41 pm

it lacks some creativity, which makes it end up looking like some random ricer with some cheap aftermarket stickers on

• You forum warriors have forgotten. Going through the twisty mountain roads is all about how agile the 86 is, especially when going down hill.