Canadian inventor demonstrates omni-directional wheels; meant for existing vehicle designs

How often have you had to make a three-point turn, or more? If you’re a city dweller, you’d be hoping for this to come to fruition. A Canadian inventor, William Liddiard has come up with omni-directional wheels to overcome the problem of manoeuvring in tight spaces.

The idea isn’t a new one; concepts such as the Honda U3-X also operate on a similar premise of omni-directional mobility. However, according to the inventor of these wheels, they are made to be installed on existing vehicle designs.

“Unlike other omni capable wheels, my wheels do not require the vehicle to be built around them. This is a world first bolt-on application for anything with wheels,” Liddiard said.

“Designed to be used in all weather and road conditions, they are stronger, faster and more accurately controlled than prior art. They can take a beating. The tires can have the same build characteristics as regular tires and you can drive in all directions, and turn on the spot when needed,” he continued.

It isn’t a production-ready innovation, sadly, but Liddiard said he was looking to sell the wheel design to a company like Goodyear or Honda, and currently it is very much a work in progress.

Initially the wheel design was said to produce 32,540 Nm of torque, which Liddiard later admitted was actually a mistake, and that the actual figure was much lower. Additionally, the wheels need to be revised to attain a more realistic speed.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 01, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Canadians are inventing. All over the world everyone is inventing. In Malaysia, our Proton engineers don’t invent. They just rebadge.

The collective 1000 over engineers in Proton can only rebadge. I wonder why are they even paid a salary?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 21
    • scientist invent, engineer apply.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • Willard on Jul 01, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Anyone can invent not just scientists

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • He dun know the difference cuz he still in secondary skool. So maafkan dia ye, go easy on him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Operation Manager on Jul 01, 2016 at 11:46 pm

No, its culture here… sleep more than everythings…

• Amriji on Jul 02, 2016 at 12:18 am

Brunel was an Engineer, yet he invents a lot of things.

• Isn’t the body coloured tailpipes on Perdana a new innovation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Nope. But wrenching out DVVT from engine and somehow still make it work cripplingly, is.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 02, 2016 at 2:36 am

Why u need p1 to invent something? What bout u, urself? At least that Canadian guy dont need car maker to make something or ask govt to fund the project. Dont u feel ashame that u incapable to do the same? u oni gud of pointing finger to others because of ur incapability..

• Tayar lembut macam ni sesuai untuk slow speed saja.

• Silthice on Jul 01, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Incredible effort. Current speed good for showroom. Maybe problems occur when there’s sight slope or potholes.

• Do you think this will it fit in my Honda?

• Anonymous on Jul 01, 2016 at 10:21 pm

NOW this is innovation… would be so cool to have this proof of concept turned into a viable product… great potential for investors… just luv it…!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 02, 2016 at 8:49 am

First of all, Proton has never engineered of invented any cars/engines themselves.

Mitsu Lancer=the original Saga (plus the many other “facelifts”)
    Mitsu Lancer=Wira (plus the many other “facelifts”)
    Citroen A1=Proton Tiara
    Mitsu Eterna=Perdana
    Hyundai Accent=Saga FL
    Hyundai Elantra=Persona
    Mitsu Townbox=Juara (aka herse)

plus many more outdated kimchis re-badged as Protons.

Bulk of the bodyworks customisation was done by LG automotive engineering.

So, the billions of ringgit that went into Proton R&D goes to foreign companies and the 1000+ so called R&D staff are just mayan gaji buta

• Gentleman driver on Jul 02, 2016 at 11:12 am

Good for lady drivers..

• Doesn't apply to some drivers on Jul 03, 2016 at 12:01 am

Even with this technology, you still can see many typical Malaysian drivers couldn’t park their cars within the designated car parks!